Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Magdalena 3 stars

1 Rue Paul Eluard, 58640 Varennes Vauzelles, France

#5 of 12 hotels in Varennes Vauzelles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 8

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    2.5
    Hotel charged us for an extra night without advising us as...
    • Family with young children

    Hotel charged us for an extra night without advising us as we could not make it in time to check in. They did not have the decency to even try to negotiate anything with us. PLEASE BE AWARE OF THEIR SNEAKINESS !!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Friendly owners, understood English.
    • People with friends
    • Family Room up to 4 Persons
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think coffee making facilities wouldn’t be too much to ask for in the rooms.

    Friendly owners, understood English. Basic amenities but clean and comfy. Nevers is a 20 minute walk. Quite a quiet location which was good as we had the motorbikes and felt they were quite secure parked outside with they’re alarmed disc locks on. Good base for bikers going to the area for Magny Cours wsb.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Absolutely fine for our purposes but wouldn't choose to stay here for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle with tea and coffee in the bedroom would have been nice. The hotel in Briare that we stayed in on our way back from holiday offered more for the price (refreshments and bathroom cosmetics).

    The hotel is large and a little shabby but it is clean and fine for our purposes, which was an overnight stay on our way to holiday in the south of France.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The room has average size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi works bad, it was not possible to connect notebook at all. The personnel is not English-speaking, so we had some problems with getting a room. And finally by some reason we were sent for 1st floor (though actually the room we got is at 4th floor). At leaving we had to wait for elevator to be free about 10 minutes and had some conversation with chambermaid which was using it to transport bed clothes and others things.

    The room has average size. Also it has balcony. We got room for 3 persons instead room for 2 persons we ordered. The (major) bed is real double one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant facilities, room was large and a clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except perhaps the local area shops close rather early, so be aware ! Nevers is beautiful though

    Brilliant facilities, room was large and a clean and comfortable bathroom. Parking was really great and safe! The accommodation was safely quiet and calming. Nice and fun pool table and pretty lobby. The gentleman working at the desk was helpful and spoke English (which was very helpful!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    My grand children appreaciated the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room up to 4 Persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Good breakfast and beds. Situation very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    6.7
    Fairly good
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room up to 4 Persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater not working. Bathroom floor has no drain, there is no waste bin in toilet and in room, only one in bathroom

    Location, environment, bathtub

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.2
    Great staff, excellent breakfast and dinner, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a great location for us (on bikes) as it was too far out of the centre of Nevers

    Great staff, excellent breakfast and dinner, very accommodating to our needs as touring cyclists

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 8

Guests also reviewed these properties: