Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fasthotel Saint-Amand-Montrond

Zi Les Noix Brûlées, 18200 Orval, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Orval

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for stopover travelling through France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No local (walkable) amenities; well located for our stopover but in the middle of an industrial park

    Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Good value for money. It is what it is! Would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    All in all very good for the price and conveniently close to the Peage. This is my 2nd time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shelf below the mirror in the bathroom (Room 2) projected too far into the room and was set just inches above the sink, making the sink practically impossible to use conveniently. Also no sink-plug... Maybe the bathroom was equipped for the handicapped as the shower arrangement was a bit strange with a large corner seat which meant wearing the shower curtain like a cape to stand and shower. No big deal, just a new experience.

    Home cooked meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    No frills good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As across most of France- no food - restaurant NOT open on Sunday evenings but try the Hotel Amandoise in central St Amand Montrond

    Good value for the money - no frills.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Exactly what you expect for a night of sleep while on a trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly what you expect for a night of sleep while on a trip. All the basics are available (WiFi, towels, 24/7 machines, etc) The staff is friendly, polite and helpful Confortable, Cheap and right next to the highway, efficiency maximum for a nice night and a good sleep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value for overnight half board.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is small.

    Close to motorway exit. Good wifi. Fuel station opposite and cheaper than motorway ones. Able to eat at the hotel, which is rare for this class of hotel - set menu at €15. Breakfast dear at €7.5 for what I want. Staff friendly. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.0
    Perfect for overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An overnight stop crossing France to Spain. Good location just off main road. Good to be able to park outside room. Clean, comfortable, room decor a little dated. Staff friendly & helpful. Evening meal delicious, breakfast plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff were welcoming and obliging and the bed very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were welcoming and obliging and the bed very comfortable. Meals were quite good even though the menu was limited. A very quiet night even though the highway was not far away. Saint-Armand-Montrond was a large and interesting town a pleasant walk about 2 km away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Super-friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a single-night stopover the hotel was great -- convenient for the motorway, exciting (for the children) motel format, tasty evening meal and generous breakfast. What really made it for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient location, and more than decent breakfast choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since our last time, redecorating meant they've removed the table by the entrance to the room, which was very convenient. I understand they may want more flexibility in the room space (to put cot beds for babies there instead, if needed, as I saw in one case), but for my family it's a point down in comfort.

    We've been stopping at this Fasthotel for years now (when it's not booked already) and apart from the convenience of its location -quiet, just off the motorway- one of the things that has kept us coming here is the choice at breakfast time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Easy access from motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet door wouldnt shut. decor is very tired needs updating. Noise from adjoining rooms

    Evening meal was excellant didnt have breakfast as left before it was served. Easy on site parking outside your room. Aircon was very welcome as it was very hot. Staff very helpful Easy to find from motorway. and of course a comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and warm welcome for dogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit small but it was clean and efficient.

    Very friendly staff and a great location. Especially good that they accepted our dogs and were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great Hotel Very Impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Complaints from me

    The best bit was location to the A75. However I was extremely impressed with the cleanliness and helpful attitude of the staff. The restaurant was superb. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    You trying to make me do a survey !
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You sending me a survey ! I don't do surveys Your hotel was superb Thank you I would use you again

    You trying to make me do a survey !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    Useful and easy stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy location, warm and comfortable. Breakfast good, nice restaurants in town near Place Republic. Cheap fuel and car workshops like Halfords accross the road.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for a night stop with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower curtain does not reach to the bottom, so the floor by the basin gets wet.

    We've been stopping to this location for several years now. For one night, it's perfect for our trip by car between London and Barcelona. The breakfast is very complete compared with similar budget hotels.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    A good place to stay to break a journey. Comfy room and bed, basic but good shower.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not care at all about the visitors (perhaps because we could not speak French) and the food was extremely basic and some of it was un-eatable

    The bed was very comfortable and the room and linens were very clean. The price was good for the accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    Minutes from the motorway, comfort and quite.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcoming, very clean and in good decorative order. the food was good and the whole deal was very good. Just a couple of minutes off the motorway and it was very quite. It helps if you speak French.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    A clean, good value overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi did not reach into room.

    Convenient and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and Cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet and shower very cramped and smelling of mould

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for an overnight stop, very convenient, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for an overnight stop, very convenient, excellent breakfast, extremely good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Ideal stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large cobwebs and no alternative places to eat. Spoke poor English.

    Good location off motorway comfy bed and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good, wood recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast,very good dinner available for excellent price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Very clean easy to locate basic occimodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit basic

    Convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again, it is ideally located and the grounds are very pleasantly maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had difficulty getting hot water, I was at the end of the line.

    Bed was good, communication with me before my early arrival was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    excellent hotel for a short stay and easy access to the autoroute
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Parking right outside the room, heating was lovely and warm and plenty of places to walk the dog

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Location, WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, shower head loose, looking a bit tired, only one electrical socket

    Location, WiFi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfy motel in the middle of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money and very helpful and accomadating staff. Got there at 10pm left by 7am on route to alps and it was really straight forward.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Perfect break in a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Very pleasant staff. Parking next to the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Used this hotel often and is always the same standard
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Always a pleasure to stay here, very convenient and the staff are great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Used this hotel often and is always the same standard
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff are lovely and helpful, breakfast is always good and is in an excellent location for our onward journey

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Très bien.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have exactly what we pay for. It was super nice for one night! (The lady even gave us an water boiler, to prepare a tea in the room).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Great stop over on way to holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower not hot

    Staff friendly. Location excellent. Breakfast good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    It was what was expected great value and comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just food menu

    Food choice limited but what we had was nice & fresh , staff were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Cooling/heating worked perfectly.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection truncated for hours.

    Cooling/heating worked perfectly. Beds quite comfy. Room was well cleaned on a daily basis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.7
    Excellent stop en route
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom too small

    The garden, and meals prepared on premises and very tasty

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    A Convenient Motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and toilet could have been slightly bigger

    It was convenient being just off the Auto route but without any traffic noise

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Top rate hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No faults.

    Absolutely faultless: wind down steel shutter on the window: excellent temperature control

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    4.6
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nobody to receive us, only a 'box' which dispensed our room key.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find. Comfortable and clean. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.8
    In good location for overnight stop on way to Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In good location for overnight stop on way to Spain

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    clean tidy and quiet, easy to find just off the motorway, ok for an overnight stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a bit on the small side but adequate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    will be nice when it's been re-decorated
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs an overall update but owner is new and will do so gradually

    air conditioning was appreciated

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location, extremely help and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpets could be refreshed, only reason I didn't give an excellent marking for cleanliness

    Great location, extremely help and pleasant staff. Comfortable rooms and great showers. You leave the motorway are at the hotel in 1 minute and parked outside you room, which is so convenient, within 10 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    It's perfect for what I was looking for - a motel I can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The big problem is the bed/mattress - it is too stiff and hard. This was very important to me, so the grade is significantly lower. Would give it a 9+ if the bed was good.

    It's perfect for what I was looking for - a motel I can use as a pitstop halfway thru my South France-Calais trip. Clean, good, parking, has an automated key dispenser so you can arrive late.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    4.6
    It was a comfortable bed and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had booked 2 rooms for the whole family (3 children - 2 adults) , both rooms where not next to each other but on the opposite side. Difficult if you expect to have this next to each other but ok it was manageable. 1 of the 2 rooms didn't had Airco only ventilation. Room temperature was above 40degrees. I told the staff but no solution was found and no compensation was proposed or given. Toilet was not completely cleaned. A lot of spiderwebs were still visible, luckily without spiders.

    It was a comfortable bed and a good breakfast. Enough parking place for your car but not always in front of your room like indicated.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.3
    We were on a long drive and it was close to the freeway but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was firm and the pillows were lumpy.

    We were on a long drive and it was close to the freeway but still very quiet. A basic room but excellent value for money with a generous breakfast and a great espresso machine. Very helpful hosts.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.2
    Easy to park outside the bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet is very small and cramped for people with restricted mobility.

    Easy to park outside the bedroom. Beds are comfortable and clean. Toilet and bathroom very clean. Good choice and plenty of coffee at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    10
    We had our dog and room was on ground level perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had our dog and room was on ground level perfect for taking dog out

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    I liked that I could keep my car right outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked that I could keep my car right outside. It was clean and comfy and right off the motorway. Perfect for overnight stay on my way to Spain.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    4.6
    The basin had a leak resulting in wet towels and could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The basin had a leak resulting in wet towels and could not connect to wifi toilet facilities very cramped, lack of electric plugs

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location Lovely welcome Great food Value for money Clean & comfortable

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Great location close to motorway, but quiet, easy to find,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location close to motorway, but quiet, easy to find, very good supper for the price, fuel available opposite, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    Motel just off main route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Motel just off main route.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location. Convenient check in despite my late arrival.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    8.3
    Easy to find, safe parking and pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easy to find, safe parking and pleasant staff. Local town has a good Brasserie restaurant if hotel one is closed on Sundays.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.8
    The price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived on a Sunday. Nobody there. Just automated key dispenser. access only to a motel room.

    The price

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Easy to find, pleasant staff, quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easy to find, pleasant staff, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff . I ate in the hotel which was very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Convenience and staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sunday booking-in via machine..no people

    Convenience and staff, good food

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Very handy for the autoroute, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy for the autoroute, friendly staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Arrived sunday no reception booking machine that did not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived sunday no reception booking machine that did not recognise me so had to pay again. Should have been phoned with code but not happen

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    5.4
    Location to Motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room stunk of cigarette smoke and was very basic

    Location to Motorway

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    7.9
    Friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    4.2
    Leaving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Scacely possible to be more basic and yet the price is more than many very good chambres d'hotes.

    Leaving

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.5
    One towel missing but got compensated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One towel missing but got compensated

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    5.4
    Easy to get to main road system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hair dryer. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Food in restaurant basic , best to avoid .

    Easy to get to main road system.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdated interior

    Friendly staff Good (free) WIFI Good parking facilities

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    6.7
    Near motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Zero ambience Tiny pillows Very basic. Dinner was fodder from microwave. On industrial Estate

    Near motorway Good mattress Warm

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: