Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais de Margaux - Hôtel & Spa 4 stars

5 Route de l'île Vincent , 33460 Margaux, France

#3 of 5 hotels in Margaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 603 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Golf resort hotel. Big bedroom, bizarre toilet. Poor bar timings . Excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The set up has potential. We arrived at 17.30 and decided to unpack and then go to the golf bar for a drink on the terrace in the sun. We arrived at the bar at 17.55 having unpacked only to be told that the golf bar and restaurant closed at 18.00 so they could not serve us. This seemed extremely short sighted as the golf bar is nice, has a large decking area and looks over the course and lake - so its a very nice place to sit and have a drink....probably. We then went to the hotel bar, waited for a while, no one around and so sent to reception - ah no, the hotel bar doesn't open until 19.00... As we had booked the restaurant for 20.00 we decided to go back to our room, freshen up, change and come down early for a drink before dinner....still no sign of life at the hotel bar at 19.30. Reception said it was open, although there were 4 other couples sitting around outside the in the bar garden without drinks. We waited for about 5 minutes before going to find bar staff - who we found all chatting together in the restaurant next door. After a fashion we finally got a drink just before dinner. The food at dinner was excellent and we sat outside. Shame they didn't also keep the golf side of things running as they would get a fair bit of business there too! The bedroom was very large, clean but felt relatively old. The bathroom was a bit of a surprise, whilst being big, it had bizarre frosted glass doors on the separate toilet which closed on your knees when sitting. They would not be pushed back without swinging shut again, why they re necessary is a mystery, but they were very annoying and even more inconvenient....for reasons I will not go into here!

    The Hotel is situated on a golf course. It is relatively remote so not overly near anywhere in terms of walking to a restaurant for the evening. The bedroom was very large and the bed was big and comfortable. Staff were helpful. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Hotel bar is quite small (for the size of hotel) and opening times not great, poorly planned and not coordinated well with the golf bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    We stayed at the property before and we enjoyed it so much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food disappointing for the price. Choice of 3 entrees on a menu is limiting if you don’t like two of them especially if your staying more than two nights! Room dated and needed decorating -

    We stayed at the property before and we enjoyed it so much we decided to return. The area is quite remote but lovely scenery and we enjoyed the golf and the food in the restaurant. However, this time we had not been informed by the hotel that the golf course was shut until next year. As it happened my husband had a knee injury that meant he couldn’t play but he had intended to when we made the booking. Also restaurants menu was very limited and we both felt the food was not as good as before and service was slow when restaurant was busy. Staff did their best and were pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    In the Medoc countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The structure needs to be revamped outdoor and in the main lobby. In general, the maintenance status of the common areas (especially the long corridors) was poor for a 4 star hotel.

    Large rooms. Nice staff Many facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Great welcome, great service, nice hotel with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 1 lady at the breakfast service ( dressed in black) was not friendly and enjoyable, all the other staff were excellent and very kind and nice I beleive the value for money is a bit expensive vs the amenities offered in the room, need to be a bit refreshed to justify the prices, but a very good hotel in his globality.

    Great welcome, great service, nice hotel with good facilities. To recommend if you want to spend couple of days and specially if you like Golf or want to do wine tour. Nice location and beautiful environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing & beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single bed is small (in the twin room)

    Rooms are spacious Hotel is very clean Staff is very helpful Beautiful spa available Outdoor pool is beautiful Variety in breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Great Location, large rooms, excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Location for exploring the area. The rooms are spacious rooms, although could probably do with being updated. The on site restaurant was excellent serving both breakfast and dinner and lunch could be taken at the spa/club

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we did not like was that we could not hire golf buggies although there appeared to be golf buggies in use. As a consequence we only played 9 holes As it was very hot. No sandwiches in brassery

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel and golf were great. Food in resturant was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Great for golf fanatics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not up to scratch, only three choices and those weren't delicious. Breakfast completely overpriced and they added it to the bill when we hadn't even had it!

    Good location for Margaux. Great if you want to play golf. Lots of free parking. Reception staff very friendly and English spoken.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Location, facilities, golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe there is the need for a little more maintanence and restoration in some points. Although the rooms were very clean the restaurant and some common areas not that much. We liked the restaurant but three starters and three main course are really too little choice. So the second night we had to eat out.

    Location, facilities, golf. Very good value for the money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, service and facilities; we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would suggest to add a cuttle in the rooms to prepare a tea / coffee.

    We were back again to Relais de Margaux...and never get disappointed. Location is excellent, the hotel is well ordered and staff is welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.6
    Friendly english-speaking receptionist, although he could...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    By far not as nice as the pictures make it appear, old brick, completely runned-down, the breakfast was a bad joke, before 10 o’clock there were already things missing at the buffet and they cleared it while we were still having breakfast which is an absolute no-go for a 4* hotel. Spa needs quite a facelift. Such a disappointment 😢

    Friendly english-speaking receptionist, although he could have taken one of our bags on the (very far) way to our room. Nice garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Price value OK - but very dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the entire estate comes across as very dated and not well kept. Spa was closed on Sunday afternoon.

    The dinner was great along with good local wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    In my opinion, it’s not quite a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pressure in the shower and the water kept going from warm to hot to cold. I informed the receptionist but the next day it was the same. It was very difficult to get a room service. I spent 20 min ttrying to reach reception with my phone and the room’s phone and ended up having to go to reception to place my order. Also, i didn’t have a nice experience at the brasserie.

    The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was excellent and generous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Want to see others frolicking from your room?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Quiet location with golf course and spa. Otters frolicking in the ponds. Great food but a bit pricey (however the whole area is). Large bedrooms with separate lounge area. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    In general - good choice to stay in Bordeaux region, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the towels was dirty, hotel needs some renovation

    In general - good choice to stay in Bordeaux region, nice territory, good breakfast, big rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Poor second stay - Won't be returning.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second stay at this hotel and I will not be back again. First stay was fine. This stay staff were so lazy and problematic. For heavens sake don't be 30 seconds late for breakfast or you will be steered to the brasserie for a tiny croissant and terrible coffee - even though I paid for breakfast in the room price. This is although the people are still filling their plates with eggs etc. I had to just walk in and get it. Very poor service indeed! The attitude of front desk staff was the poorest and rudest I have encountered. Air conditioning in room didnt work.

    The food in the restaurant is great and hotel is genuinely dog friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    the whole complex is very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady in the breakfast room on Sunday was very unfriendly because we only wanted coffee and not a full breakfast! My 11 year old nephew was not allowed to go for a swim with his parents To check out on Sunday morning is a long process as there was a long queue of people and one person only on the reception desk

    the whole complex is very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Tired large rambling golf convention hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was definitely a bit tired and shabby. Staff tried hard to be welcoming but it really does not merit its 4 stars. Coffee was poor. Rather cold atmosphere - bit like a convention hotel.

    Nice welcome and quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Great staff - nice overnighter.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi would not work effectively in my room. Coffee with breakfast was not great - was not offered an expresso as in other similar hotels.

    Very friendly & helpful staff. Nice clean and large room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel really needs a refurb/freshen-up, although every where is clean, it's looking a bit tired.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the restaurant was first class for dinner and the breakfast was also great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Quiet Luxury Amongst Margaux Vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, but a bit pricey for what is offered.

    Super comfortable property. Doesn't feel particularly French, but definitely has a posh resort feel without a huge price tag. Wish I would have brought my clubs. Great location in Margaux, but for a treat head up to Le Saint Julien for dinner. Fantastic service and great food, and very well-priced wine list for smaller Bordeaux producers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.8
    Out of season but dissapointing, tired and poor 4-5* experience. Needs investment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is tired and needs upgrading. Sauna was closed on the first night and the Bistro was closed throughout our two night stay. We wre out of season but thats no excuse for an alleged 4-5* hotel. Bar area was a waste of space and staff in short supply! Looks like its run on a shoe string out of season.

    Room was a good size and staff ok and friendly but not 4* service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    Slightly dissapointing at this time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea making facilities in room on arrival, had to ask and took an age to drum up kettle, tea bags etc.This is a 4star hotel. Winter and no fire in the salon which was very dreary.The pastry on my lemon tart was an insult to French pattiserie.!

    Comfy bed, very quiet and lovely dinning room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.7
    The restaurant was good - not cheap and small fine dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned bedrooms with musty smell, although clean.

    The restaurant was good - not cheap and small fine dining portions, but food was well cooked and service good. The spa was great, the location was good and we enjoyed playing pool. Staff in the bar, restaurant, spa and reception were all very good. Breakfast was quite good too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tired, cannot meet up for comfort you may expect. Also the gym is not up to date.

    Great location. In the middle of the vineyards. Nice pool areas and good restaurant. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - not very friendly/welcoming staff/reception - some refurbishment or modernisation will increase the overall feeling and quality of the property

    - location - cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice property.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    CHOSE THIS PROPERTY TO PLAY GOLF! NO ONE TOLD US THAT THE COURSE IS CLOSED UNTIL 2020 !!!!

    Nice property. Nice location. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Location, quality of food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices are limited.

    Location, quality of food and drink. Th property was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was good with the exception of a very old SPA. It requires immediate renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA

    Location. Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Restaurant was lousy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was lousy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Good SPA zone and outside pool. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Amazing service, beautiful hotel, excellent facilities. One of the best weekends of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Reception staff very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff poorly trained.

    Reception staff very helpful and welcoming. Rooms very spacious and excellent breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location to relax far away from city noise. Very good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are outdated.

    The restaurant offers a very good cuisine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    average french hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    forgetting our desert and coffee at dinner

    pleasant surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    Ver tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ver tired

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great venue location and amazing evening meal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated in some of the bedrooms

    Great venue location and amazing evening meal!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Big room, confortable but the hotel needs overall renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, confortable but the hotel needs overall renovation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Warm welcome and excellent facilities close to Margaux village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi can be temperamental at times.

    Warm welcome in a quiet hotel in this season. Rooms and facilities were also excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice Golf hotel, clean, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice golf hotel, clean, a bit remote, great staff, big rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    Staffs are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room condition and tap water quality (yellowish)

    Staffs are very nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    2.5
    The door as I left
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude. The room was dirty the bathroom was dirty.

    The door as I left

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is beautiful, our room was spacious, dinner very gourmet and breakfast excellent. Worth its price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Would like to have stayed longer to sample the spa part of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not brilliant and waitress was surly.

    Reception staff, location and room were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    The food was outstanding and the service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in the room was very worn out. The bed old and lumpy.

    The food was outstanding and the service excellent. Quiet area, easy access.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Large, comfortable rooms, nice and quiet location, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, comfortable rooms, nice and quiet location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant was perfect.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was perfect. Dog friendly to. Food wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Wait till renovation is over...............
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities on offer

    Facilities advertised

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Poor really for a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    Poor really for a 4 star

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Quite and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would expect more choices for breakfast.

    Friendly staff, nice environment, quite, big room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    It was an extremely lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect for our stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    I would recoimend the place very highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe bathroom : strange hairdryer ( room 104), more towels necessary

    breakfast OK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Had to wait 15 minutes in the bar for a drink no staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait 15 minutes in the bar for a drink no staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Close to The best wine Chateaux
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna was closed. Pool and sauna area need renovation

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    SPA area was too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA area was too small.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Well worth the journeys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room and very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    6.7
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in huge need of an update and a major renovation.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent set up to visit the west bank wine region

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.7
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Brasserie (closed), access to SPA are in renovation and hotel definitely needs renovation (old style rooms and mattresses too soft)

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast, fair lunch (International hotel)

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    The room was spacious with a lovely bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spacious with a lovely bathroom. We also had a view of the golf course and the lake. The pool and surroundings were great and the restaurant and staff were really good.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    Relais de Margaux is situated at a very nice place, old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was perfect for us.

    Relais de Margaux is situated at a very nice place, old trees and lots of green surrounding it. Its very calm and a place to enjoy. Good food, very nice breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    4.2
    Wonderful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful building. Attentive staff. Magnificent restaurant with hardly any diners. Golf course - very average. Great value for money by booking through Booking.com.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    This was a favorite spot for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was perfect. I can't say anything at all that was negative.

    This was a favorite spot for us. The staff went out of their way to make this stay special. Pauline at the golf course went so above and beyond to make our trip special I am speechless. We feel like we made friends there! These people just seem to love their jobs. Dinner there was some of the best food I had in France and was very elegant.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    The location and the food at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi connection and the scores of mosquitos biting you while you are eating on the terrace of the restaurant

    The location and the food at the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.3
    Great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was fully booked and we had to use room service. Maybe hotel managment should arrange special service during august bank holiday that is usually very busy to make sure all customers are served? Just a suggestion

    Great customer service. Nice to have bicycles available for vineyard sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff, who were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room needed tlc. It was tired with wallpaper coming off and the water leaking out from the shower made the floor very slippery.

    The staff, who were very helpful and friendly. The wildlife seen on the golf course, river and lakes. Accessibility to cycle routes.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool outdoor small amd only open at 8.30am. Pool indoor and spacarea good and re-done. Again though, opens at 9am only. Then breakfast only until 10am at a golf/spa place.

    Great location. Golf course and all. Ok rooms would have expected more fot a 4* property. Note; fantastic food at restaurand with lovely straff. Here, worth every penny.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    very big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We ordered eggs in breakfast and they simply forgot... : (

    very big bed. old hotel but everything in good condition. beautiful interior like a chateau grade. unexpectedly beautiful. very close to Margaux!

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    4.6
    Staff polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very disappointing hotel, room smelled of mildew, very run down, golf course in very poor condition. Spa facilities only open from 9am. Very expensive not worth it

    Staff polite

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.5
    Our large room was one of the nicest in the main building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our large room was one of the nicest in the main building with large windows and a door to the outside garden. Staff was nice. It is a quiet location near the center of Margaux. We did not play golf, but it was still a good place to stay while touring the nearby wine country.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Purpose built for golfers or other outdoor activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Take plenty of golf balls, water everwhere!

    Purpose built for golfers or other outdoor activities. Course tough Look out for Maitre D Ronan, very helpful and amusing Dubliner Excellent dinner

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    Very kind reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We should leave.

    Very kind reception. All the staffs tried their best to find our baggages which didn't arrive even until our departure. I have not seen such an impressive service for serveral years. I will always stay at this hotel whenever I come to Medoc area.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    Nice location and large comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requires refurbishment. Expensive restaurant

    Nice location and large comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.2
    Nice and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nice and comfortable

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: