Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Standard Design 3 stars

29 rue des Taillandiers, 11th arr., 75011 Paris, France

#956 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location for the metro to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best location for walking I would say to stay more central if you want to walk places.

    Great location for the metro to get around. Very clean and modern. Very helpful staff. I would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Good. To be repeated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We consistently were handed the wrong room keys when we got back from our commute from the office to the hotel. It's then when you start wondering who else from outside can get into your room just by asking a key - any key.

    Friendly cheerful staff, good breakfast, good bed, reasonably quit room - no street noise. Close to two Metro stations. The Marais neighborhood has a nice atmosphere and is packed with little restaurants and café's.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money. Great location - lots of local shops, restaurants and cafes near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Lift was extremely small and unsteady. Advise to use stairs if possible. The walls were thin so could hear others talking/moving around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.8
    Top location poor facilities not the best value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Please read all this review! I had 2 reservations for this hotel the first for 6 nights and after a gap of 2 days another 2 nights. I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago for only 2 nights. It was presented to me as a 4 stars hotel. I remembered it favorably so I wanted to stay there again but each time it was either too expensive or fully booked and now the time was ripe for a substantial staying as the price was attractive. I got a room at the 3rd floor and it was a bitter disappointment. The room was much smaller from what I remembered but not really an issue for one person who spends most of the day out. There is no closet to put your things in and worst of all there were no hot water! The receptionist send 2 employees to see what's wrong, one of them even tried to persuade me that if I wait long enough hot water will appear. It was fixed by the night when I came back from a concert but even so I demanded another room which I got the next day. This was definitely the best room I've ever got in a hotel: very big and spacious with shower and toilet completely separate and to my absolute satisfaction a closet. But soon I discovered that again no hot water. I wanted to call to the reception but the telephone fell off the wall, its wires not even connected. I was furious but somehow it was fixed in no time. The heating was not ideal as well but they already knew about it and from the next day until check-out everything was great. For the additional 2 nights I got another small room which was ok for such a short staying except that the lights in the bathroom was flickering. I asked that it would be fixed but it was not and I have the impression no one visited the room for that. The heating yet again was not ideal. Breakfast is basic but fine.

    Top location. Close to a big metro station with 3 useful lines. Lively neighborhood lots of people all the time lots of restaurants and a supermarket just under the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel in lively area.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here before and the staff were friendly enough. Lady at reception this time was a little grumpy. She may have been having a bad weekend.

    Lively location. Not too far from metro station. Surrounded by lots of restaurants, bars and clubs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant and renovated hotel. Friendly staff in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The neighborhood is a little noisy, so you have to close the windows and turn on the air conditioner when you want to sleep. The problem is that the hotel does not operate the air conditioner in October, and if there are hot days it is impossible to stay in rooms facing the street. Note: Some rooms do not have a door to the bathroom. Not suitable for those who need privacy. In a room with a bath - there is no curtain or shower wall and when you take a shower you splash water all over the room.

    Well located. Close to public transpotation. Courteous and attentive staff: They took care of our request to change the room into a quieter room and made sure we were comfortable. Many pubs, restaurants and meeting places for young people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, Issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is also an issue with street noise even on weekdays, so request a quieter room. (I did that, but it didn't result in one, however.) Lack of tables and counter space in room and bathroom.

    There is great variation in room size, so request a larger room. Mine was huge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good price in a lively area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a bit too small. Doors closing loudly. Churchbells, as usual.

    Great and lively area, full of cafes, restaurants, bars, clubs and shops. Despite all of these the room itself was nice and quiet. We didn't need the full breakfast so we took a simple one in the Cafe Anges below. Try restaurant Le Chat Ivre oposite side, right from hotel entrance. Fantastic tapas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Great, friendly little hotel with big rooms. Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic value. The restaurant / bar on the corner below is excellent: great atmosphere, excellent food and service, great place to sit and watch the world go by in the morning for breakfast too. Loved it - would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.3
    Great Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Fridge

    Close to te Bastille and the Metro and Bus station, street next to it is great for Nightlife and its surronded by caffees and Restaurant of all sorts, a quite lively neighbourhood. It has that special charme.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.2
    Paris for a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower area in bedrooms do not have a door which is a problem with a baby that likes to crawl everywhere. Very small elevator. No kettle in rooms or chairs. Small wardrobe.

    Location and metro access. Helpful receptionist. Good shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad wifi, noise from the street. There were three socks in the room from the previous guests.

    Location, easy to find, close to shops, bars, restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    A nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was not at the main road, but I can imagine that the noise on weekend evenings could be a nuisance.

    Close to a lot of bars and restaurants. Also on walking distance (+- 20 mins) of Ile-de-la-Cité. If you need to go further, metro Bastille is a 5min walk. Rooms were clean. Breakfast, even though small, was in a comfortable and quiet place with about 10 other guests. Would recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    This hotel has everything a traveler needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel has everything a traveler needs. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean linens and bathroom, high speed internet, and a wonderful breakfast. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly, check in was quick and easy. It is a very modern high tech hotel, but felt comfortable and quaint at the same time. Great location with easy access to restaurants, bars, etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    Staff good, room poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not cleaned on one day and we had to ask for clean towels. The staircase was like a crooked house and dangerous to walk down. The lift was big enough for two at a squash.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get a little noisy outside, but I know it's because it's in a lively area, not the hotel's fault!

    Location was great, friendly staff, decor was cute and modern.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Don't take care about your guest but only think about yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personel who was not cleaning breakfirst tables dispite they where with 3 talking instead of workibg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Clean, ok hotel, but it was fashion week so of course overpriced!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stay wasn't worth the money!

    The staff was gentle and the location is perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    not what i expected for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    receptionist not very polite nor friendly

    situation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Clean, smart hotel with friendly staff in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing street are slightly noisy as in a busy, popular area.

    Clean, smart hotel with friendly staff in great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Carpet was dirty and air conditioning was broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet was dirty and air conditioning was broken...we did not alert the management to the problem since it was late and we had already unpacked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Noisy a little bit because of the bars, and Church bells, but in general, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the elevator doesn't reach the breakfast lounge (the last floor). hotel must mention that.

    location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is situated in a very convenient location which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a very convenient location which makes it easy to access all transport links.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    staff was really helpful and smiley all the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff was really helpful and smiley all the time

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendliness, breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small bedroom and bathroom

    Staff friendliness, breakfast, location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a great location with friendly +helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Adjacent Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were really small and there was a lot of noise in the street until late.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    nice and neat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is in between 2 sub lines, which is quite convenient. The personnel is very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - close to all the restaurants and bars

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    The staff at the reception desk were really helpful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room sizes are a little small

    The staff at the reception desk were really helpful, the hotel looked exactly the same as the pictures. great location too!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    5.8
    The room was bloody hot and you could not adjust, only by...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room was bloody hot and you could not adjust, only by opening a window wich gave a lot of noise from outside. Paper thin walls. Very expensive for what you get, not even a little thee set to serve some thee on your room.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.3
    Perfectly located in the city center of Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfectly located in the city center of Paris. Walking distance from Gare de Lyon (approx. 15 min.) and right in the middle of everything (restaurants, bars, cafés, clubs, shops). Given that my room looked towards a courtyard, it was nevertheless surprisingly calm. Small rooms, but this is what you have to expect in Paris. Nice design touch.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.2
    Safe,clean and every staff was really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no airconditioner but yet comfortable. if they have refregirator,it will be perfect.

    Safe,clean and every staff was really friendly and helpful.It was my first stay at Paris and I could fully enjoyd it because of their support.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.1
    good staff, and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small rooms , the windows can not stop the terrible noisy from Friday to sunday morning, trerrible expensive for parking , and really difficult to have a parking nearby the hotel.

    good staff, and location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    The location was great very close to bars, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some of the rooms were small but very adequate to sleep in. Not good if you stay in your hotel a lot. Would of been nice to provide a hot breakfast as well but the continental breakfast was sufficient.

    The location was great very close to bars, restaurants and clubs if you enjoy the nightlife. Clean hotel with nice decor and very helpful and polite staff always happy to fulfill any requests. The wifi was brilliant as well! We left some shoes behind in the hotel and the staff contacted me shortly after checkout to let me know and shipped the shoes back to the UK which I thought was excellent as most hotels wouldn't bother. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Very clean and modern looking (except the elevator and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very clean and modern looking (except the elevator and stairs). Well positioned in the night area, 2 minutes walk from Bastille metro. Free wifi. Very kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    The room was comfortable yet unique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing I did not like!

    The room was comfortable yet unique! There was a huge bathtub, shower, and nice hair dryer to use. (Really, some big name hotels have really awful ones!) The temperature control for the room was easy and the staff was very friendly and offered me passwords for free wifi upon check-in. The free wifi becomes necessary these days when traveling. There were also two complimentary bottles of water in the room, which was a nice surprise and very much appreciated. I did not try the breakfast, but I was told where it was located. I now wish I had an opportunity to try it. The staff gladly called me a cab for my next destination.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    5.0
    - close to Bastille Metro (conveniently located on yellow...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -The carpet was dirty and gross (in the room as well as the corridor) -did not feel comfortable to walk bare footed - there were tiny bugs on the bed the first night - shower water leaked

    - close to Bastille Metro (conveniently located on yellow line) - bed has comfy mattress -toilet was pretty big - sink had a cabinet for you to store your toiletries

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My request for a quiet room was not taken into account. Upon arrival I was told only this room- located on the street side with music and partying all night -was available. The hotel staff made no effort whatsoever to compensate or help but rather claimed the room was quiet.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    6.3
    Excellent location, very close to metro, can walk to Notre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked it because from the pictures it looked new and modern, however we were disappointed to see broken bathroom cabinets and scratched walls and doors. Carpet looked very dusty, it seemed that it hasn't been hoovered for ages. Even shampoo tubes were dirty. Bathroom bulb was off when we arrived and we asked to change it on the first night, but after 5 nights stay it wasn't changed. Hairdryer was also broken. It felt more like a B&B rather than a hotel - very small, narrow corridors and staircase, a tiny lift and walls and doors did not keep any noise out at all. This hotel could have been so much better with a bit of TLC...

    Excellent location, very close to metro, can walk to Notre Dame and loads of cafes and restaurants. Bed was very comfortable, having a free wi-fi was handy.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpfullnstaff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely no negative comments

    Friendly and helpfullnstaff., Food breakfast buffet. Clean and comfortabel rooms and clean bathroom. Perfect location in 11th arrondissement. Close by excellent brasserie wit Value for money food, in fact next door to hotel: brasserie des Angers.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    I love the location-the hotel is very nice and close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The dark moquette seems always dirty even it it is clean

    I love the location-the hotel is very nice and close to the tube station

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Good location near the Bastille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location near the Bastille

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.6
    🌺🍀😇
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    🏆💝🎶

    🌺🍀😇

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    4.6
    Le bruit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Le bruit

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.5
    Close to good restaurants and transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paper thin walls, other guests can be heard easily

    Close to good restaurants and transport

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    I know Paris so I took a chance on the 11th.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I know Paris so I took a chance on the 11th. Perfect, far away from the tourists but close enough to the metro.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    7.5
    clean and convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed sink down, no free water in the room

    clean and convenience

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location. Bastille is fab!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Close to Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to Metro. Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Room size good especially for a city like Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room size good especially for a city like Paris. Restaurant next door on corner very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.7
    The 3rd bed made so much noise (originally it was a sofa)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The 3rd bed made so much noise (originally it was a sofa) that I laid my matras on the floor

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    Party hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The dirtyness

    Party hotel. Dirty.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    The rooms, staff and neighboorhood are exceptional good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms, staff and neighboorhood are exceptional good! Helpfull with a storage for our bikes:). Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    clean friendly hotel in buzzing area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    clean friendly hotel in buzzing area.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, loved the black and white decor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff, loved the black and white decor, great location, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    staff was very nice, good service
    • Solo traveller

    room was small breakfast so so

    staff was very nice, good service nice location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.9
    Convenient location, nice rooms, but a bit small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location, nice rooms, but a bit small

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    6.7
    Small bathroom for to adults.
    • Family with older children

    Small bathroom for to adults.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Standard Design traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: