Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel et Résidence Chez Gino Le Touquet-Etaples 2 stars

22 Rue Du Rivage, 62630 Étaples, France

#4 of 8 hotels in Étaples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated room and decor, It was supposed to have a fully equipped kitchenette, and whilst there was a microwave, fridge and two rings with pans, there was only one knife and two forks.

    Only an hour from Calais.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nowhere in the shower to put soap or shower products. And it would be helpful to have instructions on how to operate the television

    The location is excellent and the private parking a great asset as parking can be very difficult in Etaples on market days and especially in the summer. The microwave and refrigerator were very useful. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed uncomfortable, 2 very small towels, and 1 chair, my wife was on crutches and we had to climb stairs, did ask for downstairs room but all booked but they had not turned up when we booked in, so feel he could have swopped rooms for a ground floor room.

    Breakfast was good, owner was friendly and polite, but could have accommodated my wife's disability a bit better I felt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like for us.

    Despite the studio being small we were very comfortable including the bed. The shower was great and there was plenty of useful storage space. Chez Gino is in a very central but quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely unhelpful and looked miserable and were not welcoming, I felt quite uncomfortable and at times felt I was an inconvenience!

    The room was clean and location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike .

    The rooms were very comfortable and clean each room was self sufficient with small kitchen area with microwave, excellent shower and bathroom facilities. Breakfast was very good continental and you could eat as much as you want. The accommodation is in a central location with easy access to the town facilities, restaurants, bars, shops and history sites of Etaples.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit soft for my bad back but this is a matter of preference.

    - Secure parking. - Well equipped Kitchen (pots pans, cutlery, plates, drinking glasses). - 10 minutes drive to the beach. - Grocery store walking distance. - ATM walking distance - Family friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (no 7) was on ground floor with window opening directly on to public footpath/road and also adjacent to main entrance to hotel - very noisy and very disturbed night's sleep due to group talking directly outside window at about 3am - car doors banging and diesel van with engine running for about 20 mins. This was supposed to be a "superior" room but it was very basic and needed attention (bathroom sliding door in particular which is broken). Very overpriced for what we actually experienced. Much better quality accommodation available in the locality for less - Les Hauts de Montreuil in particular which is fabulous and only a few miles away. We only visited Etaples to eat at Aux Pecheurs - we won't be returning as it's not an attractive town and we felt slightly ripped off by our experience.

    Location close to restaurant where we had a dinner reservation and also the secure parking. Exterior of hotel is quirky and standards of cleanliness are high.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We come here time and time again for a quick break, chez Gino is always excellent, and we love the breakfasts and the owners are also so friendly. We come so we can have a walk round estaples and le touquet. There is a lovely restaurant in the town square at estaples too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is nothing to with the Hotel but I wish the local council would clean up the dog fouling

    Although in a built up area the Hotel grounds are pleasant and open spaced, Cars are secured

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been more comfortable. It had a dip in the centre which meant you rolled that way.

    The breakfast was really good and value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been warmer

    Good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed. Excellent tv projector system. Secure car park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pastries and croissants where excellent. Staff super friendly. Room clean, good facilities and comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely breakfast, fresh bread and croissants. We loved our room, with a projector, and a bath!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to comment on.

    Good room, pleasant staff, excellent parking on site. We'd stay there again for another overnight stay if required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    it was a bit on the expensive side.

    the breakfast, comfortable bed , location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cramped, only ok for a stopover night.

    Near to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread was straight from the bakery and all the food on offer was fresh and good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking mais payant...

    LIT CORRECT

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not very comfortable

    Bed very comfortable, kitchen facilities very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV

    Everything just fine

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was strange decor, The bed matress, pillows and coverings were very basic. There was noise all through the night as if there was an air conditioning unit running somewhere nearby.

    The room had everything required. Good secure car parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress wasn't wonderful, the bathroom / toilet had only a curtain, not a real door, and one of the electrical outlets was not properly fixed in the wall. Not a problem for adults, but wouldn't want to have small children staying.

    Staff was friendly, location was great, stay was quiet and private, price very reasonable, kitchen was well equipped, enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing we didn't like but the rooms are functional in case you expect anything fancy (i.e. no frills)

    The owner is really nice and helpful. The location is really good for Le Toquet and other places, corner Le Carre for food, and local main street. Also lots of genuinely fresh fish available. Secure parking. We have stayed twice and would return. Good if you want to make your own meals.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet/Bathroom didn't have a door - just a curtain. Not much privacy as it was part of the Bedroom.

    We had the separate garden apartment which was great as we had our dog with us. Excellent secure parking. Nice big TV. !! Kitchen well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    couldnt figure out all the buttons in the shower etc.

    easy to get to and well located in the town.it was a comfortable room with all the mod cons etc.clean and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location,secure parking,shops,bars and restaurants in walking distance. Apartment was very clean,comfortable and well-equipped.Fresh towels provided every day. Our two dogs enjoyed lazing in the sun in the lovely garden . Thank you from Tony, Brenda,Caesar & Lottie

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This was supposed to be an apartment, when you opened the door you went straight into bedroom with 2 beds, with a very very small ketchenetre off to the side with no windows and an even smaller toilet with a shower in it, again with no windows!!! How anyone can say this is an apartment is beyond me!!! We was right by reception with a seating area right outside our room so whenever we opened the curtains for the only windows we had ( looking straight into our bedroom) everybody just looked in so we spent a week with no natural light in semi darkness.... Fantastic!!! Not !!!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed very uncomfortable as it sagged in the middle. Shower doors didn't close properly

    Private car park. Breakfast was ok

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gino was lovely - very cheerful and helpful. Breakfast much better than I expected for the price.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Etaples not the nicest place I have been to in france.

    Fantastic value for money,great bathroom and projector TV in bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a larger room then we booked . The manager was very helpful .

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly staff, lovely well equipped room

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy location near Le Touquet. Quiet and friendly. Coffee and snack machine useful if you arrive late as no late opening shops nearby

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    location, cleanliness, value, staff

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No door on bathroom. All rather "tired". Needs updating. Etaples isn't very interesting.

    Clean. Friendly manager.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower room needs to be changed so the shower doesn't make the bathroom wet .

    Spacious room and the breakfast was really great.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Freezing cold fruit salad

    Breakfast

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: