Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madame Vacances Les Terrasses De La Plage 3 stars

760 bd du Général Sizaire, 80410 Cayeux-sur-Mer, France

#12 of 12 hotels in Cayeux-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 634 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (6 People)- Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the internet! Rather run down and shabby. Children’s bedroom was tiny and had no window

    Right by the sea. Good walk through nature reserve to Somme estuary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nasty surprises: being asked to pay 50 euros (for 4 people - 2 adults and 2 young children) for towels and sheets - being then asked to pay an extra 3 euros for a bathmat. Swimming pool out of service. Bedding (especially sofa bed) very uncomfortable. Staff: uninterested and rarely available. Parking: difficult to get a free space in car park, and street parking in whole town was expensive. Value for money: far too expensive for very basic self-catering accommodation with very basic kitchen facilities in a tired building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (6 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired accommodation, extras such as linen, poor towels and car parking make it more expensive than it first seems. Surprised when they tried to charge us 35 euros for use of the television.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dishwasher, it had been removed, staff told us that this was the owner of apartment 113’s fault and nothing to do with Madame Vacances. Madame Vacances advertises that all apartment have a dishwasher. No smoke alarm, asked for it two days running, finally they put a smoke alarm in when we said that we understood there was a legal obligation to have one fitted, after which the manager immediately produced one and had it fitted. Manager said previous guests had removed it, not Madame Vacances fault. Broken chair in apartment. No electric power in three of the four rooms There was no bulb in light fitting in the kitchen above the work surface and sink. Filthy extractor vent in bathroom, clearly not cleaned in months. I sat on a chair in the reception area and this chair was broken, I insisted they removed it and the answer was one of the guests had broken it. No enquiry whether I was hurt, and no accident book was produced. After all these problems we asked for a discount and the answer was you don’t need to pay for cleaning. We were never aware that cleaning was at an extra cost. Wifi to pay for, television did not work, it is at a cost.

    The town and location, and if apartment 113 did not have a number of problems it would have been okay. Madame Vacances staff were very unhelpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (6 People)- Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    This place is so old and so not to the price and standards. Very sad, very rusty, very humide, very old. It was a terrible experience Only good thing: a fellow that worked there and who was very nice. For the rest, please avoid this place Last but not least, they make you pay extra for all sheets and towels!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electrical socket functions except the kitchen one. There was a multi plug with long cable we manage to charge our devices.

    Best part of this place is very close to the beach. We enjoyed a lot sea view from our apartment during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (6 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful welcome by the receptionist Sea view booked but at ground level :-( No curtains at the windows Dirty bathroom In the kitchen, not enough forks, spoons and knives for 6 people - dirty pans

    Only positive thing is the discount offered by the manager to cover the bad surprise we had (1 TV daily fee)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Do not believe in the images shown by booking.com, they are not all applicable. In fact, on arrival, we were told that only the 6 person rooms are located facing the sea side and thus offer a view to the sea from the balcony, all other rooms don't. Many rooms have the balcony facing the parking lot which is frustrating in a building 50m away from the beach and not indicated when you book your room.The receptionist told us that this was a practice of booking.com to attract customers which i do have a hard time to believe though.Free parking is guaranteed but on site, the barrier was open all the time and we had to leave the car outside on the street for 2 nights as no parking space was left, not even in the garage.The room was not really clean, some places showed dirt that must have been there for quite some time. The wallpaper showed stains. Under the bed there was a dust layer and even some fabric label definitely older than just a few days.Overall state of the place needs renovation.The beach is beautiful but there is no sand, only stones, so not quite what you like to see if you travel with children or pets. Offerings for leisure are absent and there is nothing you can do in the evening as every place except the casino (which barely deserves the name) closes at 22:00 No bar, beach bar or café or what ever open later than that. If you only need a place to sleep and you are not allergic to dust, then you might consider the place but only if you're very last minute like us and don't have the time to find something better suited. First breakfast is for free but be careful, it consists of a baguette and one croissant per person (factory quality) but nothing near to what you'd expect in France. Definitely a one and only time experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View (6 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to small for 6 persons!

    seaview

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely town center in cayeux... ..sadly the apartment was very dirty, we had to clean on arrival. Furniture in bad condition & inadequate for a family of 5. Definitely not possible to sleep up to 6 guests! Bedding & mattresses very old & in need of replacement.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    thought the deposit was very high for cleaning check & damages it was three times the price I paid to stay!!!! Also the pool was tiny & too busy. Must be awful in high season

    The view & location were wonderful

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room not very clean.

    Just in front of the sea. Confortable room.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bedroom window was broken and screwed closed which lessoned much needed air flow in a little apartment.

    The view, the view the view.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: