Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Résidence Les Balcons de Val Cenis Village 4 stars

Planchamps, 73480 Lanslevillard, France

#3 of 10 hotels in Lanslevillard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment - 2/4 People
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows weren't so good.

    The flat was clean and had everything necessary. We took our own pillows as had read reviews saying they weren't so good-we were happy we took ours the reviews were right! It's perfect for skiing, 5 minutes walk to lift and everything required within 5 minutes: ski school, 2 supermarkets, ski rental and shop, restaurants and bars! The view is fantastic! It is pet friendly and a fantastic place to walk with your dog!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Room Apartment - 4/6 People
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not very comfortable mattresses and pillows. Bed linen is old enough. ski room is in need of repair and a clean. it would be nice the availability of toilet and kitchen accessories for the first time.

    a very convenient location. very warm in the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Superior Apartment - 2/4 People
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If we come back to Val Cenis, we probably won't stay here. The check-in/check-out process is absurd. There is no one at the desk until 1600. They have a great lobby with seats and a great waiting area, but it's locked most of the day. At checkout you go down, give them your key, they send someone up to your room to do an inventory of the things, and then come back down. This doesn't sound bad, except that it's not at all like what the documentation says will happen -- which talks about making an appointment. Everyone was cheerful, and things went well. However, things were never as we were led to believe from the documentation. We expected to make an appointment and someone to come to our room (at least so said that material we were given). The apartment is nice enough, but is not well designed. Our biggest complaint is the lack of a proper shower. If you like a bath though, you are covered. The apartment is self-catering, and they took that to an extreme. There is nothing extra there to help you out. No kitchen soap. No bathroom shampoo or soap. No kitchen towels. Certainly no salt or pepper or oil. We expected to bring everything, but didn't expect that we had to buy dishwasher pods! In the past, we have always found those basic items included. I almost forgot about the pillows. We read other reviews that talked about how bad they were. So we brought our own. We were SO glad we did! The reviews are spot on. The pillows are small, lumpy, and not fit to sleep on. All that to say, this wasn't a terrible place, and we truly enjoyed our time. There were just so many little annoyances that make it hard to recommend.

    The staff were generally friendly, and seemed optimistic. The location is great. There is a supermarket and a ski rental place a few steps from any of the apartments. They have ski lockers that are quite convenient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Apartment - 2/4 People
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed wasn't very comfortable and pillows were lumpy. Also seating in the lounge area wasn't very comfortable. Shower quite small. Wi fi connection a bit hit and miss.

    Nice apartment with lovely view over the village, adequate for a short stay and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment - 2/4 People
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, uncomfortable beds, horrible pilows. The property offers free entry to the local swimming pool near by- I would strongly recommend not to go there- swimming pool rules are absurd and staff members are hostile!

    Great balcony view, well equipped kitchen, most staff members were kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment + Cabin - 4/6 People
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the food in restaurant not to our liking. very little fruit and vegtables.

    very near ski lift, shop and restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment - 4/6 People
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment + Cabin - 4/6 People
    • Stayed 7 nights

    poor heating on the ground floor, the floor heating didnt work

    skiin skiout garage parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Superior Apartment - 2/4 People
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting until 5 pm to check in

    Big appartment with well equipped kitchen Towels etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3-Room Apartment + Cabin - 6/8 People
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were at the ground level and it was difficult to maintain an intimacy.

    Very good price. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    checkin poor. did not get notified of room availability, until we chased. No Welcome pack of cleaning products for rooms to get you going (self catering) Room 204 right beside boot room, no capability of a lie in. Limited reception hours

    Shop on site very well stocked Bar staff very friendly close to ski slope and to village centre Missing light bulb and tv not set up properly were resolved within 10 minutes of notifiying reception.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    did not have bad experience but the pillows were sooooo bad .They are so important to a good nights sleep after skiing all day.PLEASE put in some decent pillows.

    I liked how close the apartments was in relation to slopes and village. Apartment was very comfortable.Couple of fab french restaurants very close to apartment .

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very saggy mattress. Uncomfortable settee. Lighting in 'lounge' hanging off wires. paintwork shabby and curtains very faded (studio in Chalet 6). Needs updating. Usually book with Peak Retreats as they only rent out quality rooms so will be booking with them next time.

    The location is fab and have been to Val Cenis before and will certainly return.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a very pleasant stay there. We could manage an early check-in before arriving and during our stay everything was fine. The apartment was big enough and clean.Very quiet place with is a supermarket just in the corner. Parking is good too. The staff was very friendly and helped us to solve a private issue by calling a local vendor which was not able to speak English.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kitchen needs more utensils, better sauté pan, some dishwasher detergent. There is no place to hang anything (e.g., wet towels) and no shower (the bathtub has a handheld shower head). Pillows were tiny.

    Wonderful location, inviting furnishings, great town, incredible grocery on-site, nearby chair-lift, access to village swimming pool, great restaurants close by. It was nice and could easily be excellent!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had hot water issues, we reported it to reception but it was very much dependant on demand and time of day. They never followed up our complaint except when we asked if they had fixed it, they told us it was. Fine if you ran your bath with hot water only but sometimes it was not sufficient even like this, we gave up complaining and timed out baths outside of the Belgium timing! This needs to be addressed. The double bed was not comfortable and needed replacing. The pillows were old and Lumpy and need replacing. The odd and slightly unhygienic habit of not providing new duvet covers (we came with our own after reading other reviews). The wierd swimming pool regulations requiring tight swimming shorts (you can rent them!). Unfortunately the resort was very busy for Easter and wasn't as relaxing as it could have been. There were many belgiums who weren't very courteous.

    Loved the size of the appartment, excellent facilities for self catering. Oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher, big fridge freezer. Location close to slopes.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our family of five rented an apartment which we knew had one double bedroom and three sofa beds. It was much too small though even though we only spent a few hours in there each evening. The furniture needed rearranging every time we made the beds up and that then blocked access to the fridge and wardrobes! Too tiny

    Right by the slopes, supermarket, ski hire and ski school and a couple of bars.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wi-fi and poor phone signal in the apartment. Inadequate wifi at the reception. Do not count on having an internet connection while staying here :(

    The apartment was spacious and well furnished and the location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and amenities on door step.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staying outside of ski season great value and excellent base for hiking. Be warned that office not open for check in till 5pm. Otherwise good.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Double bed uncomfortable. Pillows not comfortable, lumpy.

    All facilities close together. Access to ski slopes excellent. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No WiFi at the most appartnents, closed lobby while reception is not working.

    Price, location, restaurant.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: