Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Résidence Pierre & Vacances Les Dunes du Médoc 3 stars

67 boulevard Marsan de Montbrun, 33780 Soulac-sur-Mer, France

#7 of 14 hotels in Soulac-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Would not return, too far from town and very basic facilities.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unclean toilet and very little ventilation at night. Ground floor apartment with a French door that needed to be closed during the night.

    The toilet wasn’t clean. It was extremely hot with one tiny window to open at night. Reasonable location, a much longer walk to the town than stated in the information given. Once in the town it was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Overall this resort exceeded our expectations. Our family was happy and comfortable here for 4 nts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot so it would be beneficial if all rooms had a/c or a fan.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist who offered us the office fan because we had a newborn. It made our stay a lot more comfortable! Thank you very much! The room was clean and we were provided with the necessities. Great place for families!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    3.3
    Horrendous experience. For your own good steer well clear.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Firstly, this is not a hotel. Secondly, the reception is only open part-time (even in the day). Thirdly, the staff members are an absolute disgrace. Fourthly, on arrival you are expected to make your own bed. Fifthly, there is no room servicing. Sixthly, the stench in the room in which I stayed was horrendous, thus forcing me to leave all doors and the window open each time I returned. In spite of my complaint a very scruffy fellow didn't wish to know. Seventhly, the place was filthy. The aforementioned male asked, "What do you want me to do about it, paint it?" In fact that was precisely what it required. The list goes on . . .

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    Stay in Soulac -sur- Mer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Could do with an onsite cafe as it was quite a walk to get somewhere to eat or have a drink locally. Weather was very warm during our stay and we found the heat in the bedroom quite oppressive at night, could have done with a fan or Air-con.

    Nice pool area, and gardens well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.9
    Lovely short stay in beautiful Soulac
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception opening hours could be longer. We needed to leave before 0900 in the morning and it was frustrating not knowing what to do when we found the reception was closed. For a 10/ 10 marking I believe the complex would benefit from a small shop or bar as it is a fair way out of town to get provisions otherwise without using the car.

    The staff were great. Seems the email address on booking.com was wrong so I had to forgive them for not answering my question about whether our dog would be welcome too. When they found out this they were extremely helpful and appologetic. The apartment was clean and offered everything we needed for our stay. The little cleaning kit supplied as a starter pack is a nice touch. Free wifi a definite bonus. It was lovely to see they encouraged recycling everywhere in this region.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    5.4
    disappointed not 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (4-5 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not a 3 star campaign would have been cleaner. The cleanliness of the apartment the floors were so dirty have not been washed since the place has been open and running. I asked the reception if someone could clean the floors the following day when we were away from the apartment but that did not happen. I washed the floors everyday to try get them clean but it was impossible. Had to put all cutlery and crockery in the dishwasher due to finding a glass in the cupboard which still had coke in it. Nobody abided to the etiquette of the pool. Rules are in black and white all languages and still there were balls and air mattress in the pool. Foot bath to cleanse feet before entering the pool had some sort of worms swimming around. The pool water did not seem very clean.

    we liked the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Clean, good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Room Apartment (3-4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.7
    It's a fantastic, big, beautiful domain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms were old, very small, no separate bedroom for parents, too crowded at the swimming pool

    It's a fantastic, big, beautiful domain. Very nice view on the habour.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.8
    Good pool, great access to tennis courts right behind, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool closed quite early. Would be good to have outdoor bar b Que areas

    Good pool, great access to tennis courts right behind, great bikes for hire, good to be able to order Bread and pastries for brekky, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    6.7
    Staff, girl at the reception and other people where very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds where uncomfortable. We booked a one bedroom appartment but had to sleep in the livingroom on sofabeds with the whole family. Our 3 year old was too young too sleep in the bunkbed. We were most surprised about Soulac sur Mer: apparentely a really nice town but like a ghost town when we where there! Like driving trough a Hollywood filmset: we drove for minutes without even seeing anyone! All houses empty, shops have ridiculously long closing hours and all the amusment parcs and stuff where only open July and August. Not welcoming at all!

    Staff, girl at the reception and other people where very friendly. Bike hire on site was ideal and a lot to do for our little one (3). Smaal playground, the pool. Felt very safe and appartment was clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.9
    The apartment was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I hated paying for wifi when the rest of France do it for free!!!!

    The apartment was nice and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was nice and secure for children to run around and play safely. Lovely place for young families to stay. Good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Cycle hire was an added bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cycle hire was an added bonus

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: