Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Résidence du Golf

745, Digue Gaston Berthe, 62100 Calais, France

#25 of 34 hotels in Calais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1124 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down. Toilet door lock was faulty. Pillows need updating

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The view was amazing, watching the ferries come in to Calais was great. The restaurant is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ecellent buffet breakfast and if you go equipped with a picnic bag and some food you can use the microwave and fridge in some rooms which is ideal when travelling a long distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel Golf is one of our favourites. Close to the beach and just a short walk to the town centre. I regularly visit Calais and hotel Golf is my favourite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child we were given a double room. My husband showed them your booking form and he was told we should have booked a triple room and we had to pay 10 euros more. Not happy!

    We had lovely meal in the Hotel de la Plage next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and value for money. We were staying overnight before a long drive south. Due to delays on the tunnel we arrived after the kitchen had shut at the brasserie next door which is associated with the Hotel du Golf. However, the man who checked us in offered to make up plates of cold meats, salads etc which was very welcome. Room was basic but very clean and more than adequate especially for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, good for an overnight stay near the ferry

    Close to ferry, 5 mins drive away. On the beach front, if the weather was good it would be a great stay. Food in the hotel next door was great as was the breakfast, reasonable prices for France. Felt secure as the police are always close by. Good security system in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main issue was to be charged on arrival rather than departure.On return to the UK found all three rooms had been debited to my credit card 4 days in advance of arrival.This was in spite of the fact that had explained to the hotel that all three persons would pay for their rooms separately.The £185.44 was only removed from my card on return to the UK.If the hotel has pre-debited the person who books then can hardly see the point of demanding advance payment unless AT THAT POINT the three room charge came to be removed.Hope you follow this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The double bed is small The toilet was out of order in the 1st room so the receptionist has changed the room

    Location Beach Several play areas within a short walking distance Quite No reception in the hotel, it is in the hotel next door that the reception is based

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a decent size, but the bed was quite small with the mattress being smaller than the bed itself. There was little storage space , however this was not a problem as we only stayed a couple of nights. The shower was not very good, it was over the bath type and much of the water seemed to go on the floor as there was neither shower curtain or screen.

    Location is really good, the staff polite and the sister hotel Le Plage next door serves really good food. wine and beer at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems the double bed bedding were not washed after previous guests! Disappointed with that. Especially the top bed wasn’t made, just had the duvet over it.

    Every close to Calais as needed to rest before driving down to Paris, because we came with a very late train. Key pickup was very brilliant, stress free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All a bit tired but it has been like this for a while whilst everything in the rooms are clean except the windows its time for an upgrade - still great value for French 2 stars have stayed here many times before

    Good value food, service with a smile, clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple room. The third bed was a mattress on the floor. This wasn’t a problem as we had a toddler with us, but for someone who needed a third bed for an older child or adult this would have been insufficient. The hotel was quite bad value for money given how basic it is.

    Excellent location close to the Eurotunnel terminal. Pet-friendly. Kitchenette in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress on bed could have been more comfortable

    Friendly & efficient staff. Bedroom good. Separate restaurant, excellent menu, very good food. Travelled by car ferry from Dover & hotel very close to the port. Were travelling on through France on holiday so location very convenient. On way back we stopped for lunch at the hotel restaurant before catching ferry home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get charge 2 times,I pay online like security deposit and on desk reception. Men on reception told me when I do check out online money return back to my account,I have nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was cold and the room heating didn't work. Wonder who chose the garish colour scheme! Noisy children in neighbouring room who arrived late and tired. Not too sound-proof. Mattress on bed designed for a different frame.

    private well-lit parking. Enjoyed the view of boats coming and going. Very reasonable price. You get what you ask for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet tank kept refilling itself throughout the night and could be quite noisy. Again, it was ok for just the one night

    The room was clean and comfortable. It was great to have tea/coffee making facilities and also a fridge. The room was in the middle of being redecorated and was only half finished but it didn't bother us as it was just an overnight stay. Breakfast was lovely and everything was fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would say 'didn't like' is a bit strong but the finish in the bathroom was a bit poor and switches/sockets didn't seem to be very secure. Also, when we arrived, there was nobody on reception and I had to go to the bar to check in. On a sunny day that would have been fine but it wasn't!

    Room was very comfortable (Only did one night). Restaurant next door was friendly and accommodated us well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the 3rd time we've stayed at this hotel and we're lining it up for another stay in September. So handy for Eurotunnel, just 12 mins away. Dog friendly, good parking, reasonable bar /restaurant next door. Basic but perfectly acceptable, very clean and tidy. We did have breakfast one morning which we hadn't done before. Very good. Lots of choice, high quality food. Only 7.50 euro, a real bargain. Everything I've written in previous reviews still applies, all good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet to close the door one had to manoeuvre to the side of the toilet base in order to close the door. Which when shut was nearly touching ones face.

    The bed was disgusting it had a three quarter mattress on a king size metal base.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From last three year I am staying in this hotel last time there was no Wi-Fi this time the bed was so small even not comfortable, in the bath room there is no soap no shampoo in April I am gpoing there but I will find something else

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing stay! We loved the ambiance, the food and the care of our hosts. It was a great place to stay to ski in the Alps if you have a car. There are numerous resorts less than an hour away. Combloux is a neat little resort, great for families. This is the best value stay we've ever had. A gem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a small kitchenette but no plates / cups / knives / forks / pans etc, so ended up having a microwave meal. Just needed a few basic kitchen items.

    Very large room. Right by the beach with sea view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at this hotel before but the standard of the rooms appears to have fallen. it was difficult to close the bedroom door was our main issue and from the noise of other doors closing it would seem that there were similar issues with other doors

    Rooms have kettles in them which helps with the early morning coffee Restaurant next door (sister hotel) is friendly and welcoming and for a vegetarian does a good cheese or mushroon omlette

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Felt the room was unclean but can't put my finger on exactly what was dirty. Bath had some stains on the bottom. Was a hole in the wall where it looked like a plug should be. Fridge was noisy overnight and only one channel on the TV was English speaking. Bar closed early but they did give me one last drink.

    Well the cost for an overnight stay was OK. E54. Being right in the beach was handy for a quick walk. Bit to far to walk to the town centre but lots of parking. Bit basic certainly wouldn't like to stay much longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived (as planned) after normal check-in times; we were directed by a sign on the door to the neighbouring hotel where the staff were very helpful; they even directed us to the restaurant just in time to get a meal as well as checking us in and giving us our room keycard. The family room we had booked was clean and functional and it also had a small kitchen area, which would have been useful if we were staying longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were given a set of keys to a room with 1 double bed in it. We were a family of 5 that had booked a quadrouple room ! The first room looked unfinished and not in good condition. After raising the issue a replacement room was supplied without the requested sea view which was much better. Maybe a simple mistake or maybe not? Either way, after a long drive across France, it was not a good arrival. We shall not be returning

    It was really close to the eurotunnel terminal for an early morning crossing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms feel quite dated. Double bed not very comfortable. We couldn't make the heating work, but didn't get too cold overnight.

    Close to the eurotunnel terminal, quite cheap, good restaurant, great staff and service. Small kitchen with fridge

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family room for 4 but had a table and only 2 chairs. The write up described the TV as having UK channels but there were none

    Proximity to seafront, good parking, good Wi Fi

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most modern but for the cost you couldn’t ask for more.

    Couldn’t have been closer to the beach or we’d have wet feet. Great location, friendly staff and lovely restaurant attached.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was only 3 degrees outside when we arrived and the heater in the room was set at a very low level. It took a very long time for the room to heat up. Our friend had a corner room with windows on 2 sides and although the view was good, it took them even longer to get the room to a reasonable temperature. They had even resorted to switching on the 2 electric hob rings

    Evening Meal was very good - large succulent steaks. It was very noisy during the night as there were a lot of police staying there (because of the troubles with refugees fighting) and they seemed to change shifts at about 1.30am & again around 4am - talking on radios, slamming van doors etc. Breakfast at around 8.30am was looking a bit sad as a lot of the food looked a bit dried up. The croissants were ok though. As the room was equipped with a fridge, microwave, kettle and hob (but no pans) I would by French bread, croissants, cheese etc, and do my own breakfast if I stayed here again. As the hotel is right at the beach and next to crazy golf, I would think it is very busy in summer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and had been told that the key would be in a locked safe. Got there and key was not there. Had to go next door to get key, man in desk was grumpy (clearly tired). Got into hotel and it looked lovely, walked into room and it was awful. Dirty. No quilts, just sheets. Beds were horribly uncomfortable. Bathroom had clearly been re-done and was nice to look at but shower leaked out into main room. Also, money was debited from my card prior to stay but still had to pay. Still awaiting refund of the pre-authorisation payment.

    Breakfast was nice although very limited amount of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the purple walls left opinions divided.

    cheap and cheerful and did the job. We arrived late and left early and for that it was fine. I wouldnt have wanted to stay any longer because it isnt really equipped for long stay comfort. for a quick top over though, it beats sleeping in the car

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was an odor of cigarettes. All rooms are supposed to be non smoking, well its either being ignored or not enforced. We had to open wide all the windows to refresh the air. We really should have requested a different room, though as said above, excluding this problem it was a very nice room.

    The room was large and well appointed. Only there for a quick stop over but comfort and facilities very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used this hotel for many years, opposite the beach so great for the dog. However, it is getting very tired now. This time the tv didn’t work, one of the electric sockets didn’t work, bed side tables had been removed and chairs from table put in there place. Evidence of damp etc. Perhaps now is the time to look elsewhere. Pity,

    Check in very friendly as usual.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE HOTEL

    Basically a very cheap hotel with a well worded description. They had obviously revamped the reception area, but you still had to go to sister hotel to check in, but should have spent the money on the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one there when we went to check in. Had to read signs and go to hotel next-door to check in. Although that was very good Wi-Fi.

    Location was great and came in a timely manner for us being tired travelers we appreciated it very much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged us 10 euros for our dog which was extortionate. It did say when we booked that a small charge may be made for the dog, however, we have stayed in many hotels and have never paid more than 2 or 3 euros. I think this should be on the Booking.com website as this would have definitely put us off from staying here. If I had known this, I would have chosen somewhere else. After travelling all day and possibly running the risk of not finding anywhere else you have little choice other than to pay it. One of the rooms was very dark with no proper lighting. Our room(we had booked 2 rooms) had no bedside lamp which meant getting out of bed and crossing the room to turn the light off. There was a fan in the room which was not closed in any way and kept whirring around. Someone in an adjoining room must has been cooking or something as the smell in our room was disgusting when we came back in. This was coming from the broken fan. I had no air freshener so I had to spray deodorant to try and eliminate some of the smell. The toilet seat was broken - swinging round. Lastly, at about 2.00 a.m. We had workmen right outside our bedroom window banging around and slamming doors. This hotel seemed to be part of the hotel next door. Our reception area was very dark and everything looked closed and unwelcoming. There seemed to be lots of young people hanging around in the reception area which made me uneasy when we went out for something to eat. Sorry to moan, but lots of things could have been better.

    Nice breakfast, good choice of food. As we had booked a dog friendly hotel it was good that we could take her in the dining room with us, this however was spoilt by the ridiculous amount of money we had to pay for her- see below for what we didn't like. It was good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The site does not make clear that a sizeable supplement is payable for dogs and local taxes, so not such good value as you think.

    Everything is ultra clean, but basic and battered. The rooms are soulless but functional. The tv is all French so don’t expect much entertainment. The restaurAnt next door is good though a trifle expensive. The location is great if you have dogs but not so much if you want to explore Calais.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really although needs an upgrade

    Good for an overnight stay. Looking tired and in need of an upgrade but everything is clean. Extremely handy for Eurotunnel and ferry. Food at hotel next door was lovely and the buffet breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    worst stay ever. we had to check into the hotel next door which was very confusing, there was almost like a police station in our hotel with about 4 police officers in there. the room was horrible and pink, the toilet was broke making a noise every 2 minutes. couldn't sleep was awful never staying here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One bedroom was smelling of tobacco. The hotel is very echoic and doors difficults to shut quietly, therefore it was quite noisy and we felt uncomfortable on late arrival as we created lots of noise.

    Very reasonable price for the quality of the hotel. Staff was nice. The bedrooms were fairly big, ckean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a dental problem, and the staff very kindly helped me to find a dentist for a couple of hours afterwards, who solved the problem perfectly. This really saved my journey.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of crockery/cutlery. Small bed

    Room was clean & tidy. It was basic though. Although it had a kitchenette, it had absolutely NO crockery or even cutlery. Not a spoon, knife, glass or plate in sight!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet floor covered in water. Toilet leaking. Bare wires in toilet. Mattress not big enough for bed frame. Electric heater rusty. No cutlery, no plates, no anything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the bathroom not user friendly for us. Much prefer when it had a bath and overhead shower.We would have preferred twin beds as requested and some units to put clothes as we usually stay a few days

    We like the idea of kettle, fridge etc. The room is acceptable,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was delayed in arriving due to the chaos at the channel ports. Despite the fact that I arrived after 23.00, when reception normally closes, a member of staff waited up for me so that I could get to my room. I had not received the email message telling me the code to open the box with my room card. Such thoughtfulness is very rare.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal disappointing (for the first time) the lamb filet was tough and the magret of duck rubbery. Such a shame as the ambiance was excellent. It was saved by two Baileys and a large single malt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were stranded at Calais port due to port closure so v hasty booking made based mainly on price and location and Booking.com review of 'Pleasant'. We were very pleasantly surprised - esp as there was a lovely warm, friendly restaurant open that served v good food and drinks too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cups in the bedroom were small plastic cups...small point but we would have preferred a proper cup when we made our morning tea.

    The food in the restaurant was worthy of the Paris Hilton. All the staff were very polite and friendly but the service given by the barman/waiter was exceptionally good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some updating & decoration.Very scruffy, hole in ceiling, toilet dirty. Bed disgraceful - lumpy, springs poking through & holes under sheets.Worst night of no sleep.

    Eating area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was awful.

    The location. We've been going to this hotel for many years but it has gone downhill. The divan beds been replaced with the most uncomfortable collapsible metal beds and the mattress was to small so when you got in and out of bed you got your legs hit my metal and with having arthritis in both knees the experience was very painful. No one on reception we had to collect and drop off keys from hotel next door. We were on ground floor and on second floor sounded people having a party in corridors which went on for hours. Late in the night noise outside of the window when we looked there were police vans and policemen talking and had guns. Lastly only 2 medium towels between 2 of us. Will not be going back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot, pretty basic but that's reflected in the price.

    Excellent location when using car ferry, first class Routier style restaurant next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is like a barracks. We had a spring bedstead, and the mattress was too small for it. Pretty grotty, really.

    The restaurant next to the hotel is very good. Lovely position by the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds uncomfortable, smell in room, constant unexplained noises. No staff in hotel, had asked for ground floor room as had our dog with us but were given 3rd floor room, no lift & very difficult for dog to go up& down stairs.

    Size of room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While our room was fine the friends we were with were not so lucky. They were put in what appeared to be a staff room with little natural light, very small and poor internet access.

    Good location. Food lovely. Parking easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is run through the hotel next door and the bathroom is next to the third bed. Parking was sketchy broken lots around the back, and there was no staff anywhere nearby. It got the job done, I suppose.

    Cheap, complete, mostly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The second time we've stayed here. It's quite basic but it's location is excellent for breaking up the journey home. Ideally suited for Eurotunnel, just 10 - 15 mins away by car. Basic but spacious room. Next door to a very reasonable dog-friendly bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Probably the worst place we have ever stayed in. Would not recommend to my worst enemy. Seems like the hotel is waiting to be demolished.

    Locality to tunnel crossing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was an unmanned annex to another hotel - no onsite reception. The outside was very run down with all the pain flaking off The inside of the room was way overdue a refurbishment. No doors on the sink cupboards Fridge door was badly dented Toilet was wonky and the seat was loose Ceiling had patches of paint coming off Black splash marks up the wall I could go on and on. If we were not so tired we would have asked for another room Would not recommend and would never stay there again

    Other than the location being close to the Eurotunnel nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exceptionally hard to reach the hotel the final 200 m or so. The GPS could not handle the new streets and the one way directions made us make several attempts before succeeding. The room was very simple. Skipped breakfast as it looked too basic for the price. Better to have a proper Eng breakfast the other side of the tunnel.

    Just by the beach - it is all about the location. It was reasonably priced. Plus for accepting dogs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It all looked a bit tired noticed building materials so hopefully it's to be refurbished.

    It was close to the beach and cheaper than most restaurant was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is annex of hotel next door. No reception staff and door open through night. Felt insecure. Armed female security guard one morning was no reassurance! Breakfast in hotel next door Bed was metal frame with undersized mattress. Room very basic and in poor maintenance. Electrical sockets loose and unsafe. Shower was worst I have ever used, wish I hadn't! Way overpriced, and expected a lot more!

    Good location, with sea view. Good breakfast in hotel next door

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in Hotel du Golf not as good as usual.

    We've stayed here many times.quiet location,easy parking,beach and breakwater walk,fridge,handy for ferry and superstore.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very out dated and in need of new furniture and a coat of paint (as does the exterior of the building). Carpet mucky and stained and the building smelt of smoke. Having travelled from Greece through Italy and France staying in a number of hotels, this was the only one which charged us for our dog (€10 per night) and yet the least clean of them all. I have no idea what the charge was for. Maybe put the money towards getting the carpets cleaned! Apart from the fact that the Hotel Residence du Golf is near the ferry port and shuttle I really can't find anything good to say about it! Couldn't wait to check out in the morning and get on our way.

    The Hotel de la plage next door where you check in is fine and has a decent bar and restaurant. However, the rooms are in the building next door (Residence du Golf) which is in need of major refurbishment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 9.30pm. The restaurant was still quite full so we asked if we could eat. We was advised we could have the cold buffet. We was very surprised when we received the bill. The cold buffet was 20 Euro each. We would stay again but would go elesewhere to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the position of both hotels on the beach front, with an outside seating area where you can eat or just drink and watch the boats, people etc. Next door is mini golf (weather permitting) car park for hotels is big, plenty of spaces front and rear of hotels. This is a great hotel to stay and eat if you just want to leave the car and enjoy your holiday

    This is the sister hotel (Hotel la plage) which is next door, the golf hotel has larger rooms with a kitchenette but take your own plates, cutlery etc. Hotel de la plage is the main hotel so you have to go there first to get your key. The restaurant in the Plage is amazing great selection of food - duck, moules, chicken, scallops and children's menu also a buffet is available. The dessert are to die for!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reception desk, restaurant next door was quite good, the room upstairs below description. Do rather not offer rooms for this price, then decide to close the shop!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby and worn. The linen looked clean but I got bitten a lot, so think there were flees. Had to slam the door to shut it

    Location on beach, short walk from town centre, new bathroom, very quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First impressions weren't good. The reception desk was shuttered off. There was no-one in sight apart from a large group of un-smartly dressed men having a private party in the only public room. Check-in turned out to be in a bar-restaurant of a different name next door. The hall outside the bedroom acted as a magnificent amplifier to any noise no matter how quiet. People coming and going all night without making any effort to be quiet. They turned out to be policemen coming off and on duty. There was only one bedside table and lamp for two people. The TV had been fixed so that external inputs from a computer or hard disc were blocked.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Convenient restaurant with good food. The bedroom and bathroom were a good size, warm and clean. The room was set up for self-catering but there were no plates, pans or cutlery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was smaller than the bed frame. Nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom. Unfinished upgrading of the room. Noisy fridge.

    Decoration of rooms improved. Improved kitchenette.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need up dating, plug sockets dangerous had two shocks on them.... self catering kitchenette no kitchen utensils in room... restaurant attached to hotel not good would not recommend, had mussels for tea then suffered with sickness and diarrhoea for two days...

    The rooms are basic good for over night short stay.... close to euro tunnel, ferries..... easy access to Calais restaurants, beach front and wine warehouses....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like it is being updated from a hotel/ motel for lorry drivers Was OK but not quite what we thought we had booked

    Location Access to channel tunnel and ferry port

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are tatty and the bed a bit un comfortable ok for one night

    Great location for catching a ferry or tunnel the next day. The restaurant next door is good and very convenient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms, felt uncomfortable and disgusting.

    Nothing to be honest, we had two double rooms. Both were very very poor. The rooms were in a very poor state. Our room when we walked in smelt of damp and rotten cabbages!! There was one bedside table, which was a suitcase stool with stains, and a table lamp with no where to plug in. The floor was stained and dirty. Generally it was VERY disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness was not what one would accept

    The beds where very comfortable and considering there where 4 plus our dog in the rooms, we had enough space

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: