Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Au Cheval Blanc

122 Grand Rue, 68150 Ribeauvillé, France

#28 of 44 hotels in Ribeauvillé

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful town, quaint historic hotel, lovely dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Because we arrived when it was hot, the temperature inside the room was very hot. The Windows do not open and no air conditioning. But most hotels in France do not have air.

    Facility was clean. The restaurant was lovely. The room is very quaint.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    2.5
    After our drive, hauling our luggage up a few flights of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was just a little concerned that the fire exit plans on the doors didn't match the physical layout (and there was no fire door ironmongery on our entrance door), but once the fire exit was within 'the loft'; I didn't really care about the guests of two other rooms on our floor. Once I had paid and checked out, I discussed the 'features' of the property with the manager but she didn't appear to see things the same way I did.

    After our drive, hauling our luggage up a few flights of stairs was just the exercise we needed. Some may think the three-bedroom 'loft' are rooms shoe horned into an attic, but these hoteliers have creatively created an impression of space by fitting low beds under the slanted roof. Granted, the bedside lights were at/above our heads, but aesthetically this didn't matter as there was no headboard anyhow. Besides, the TV was high enough on the wall for us to watch lying down. Our demanding 4 and 6 year old insist on the internal temperature being a few degrees warmer than the external one in winter so I yanked up the radiators; turning them down at bedtime incase the sound of water going through the pipes might keep us awake. I need not have worried, as management had kindly thought of turning off the heat from about midnight till 7am. The dropping temperature overnight did wake us, but this must have been unusual as it appears thin summer duvets are normally adequate. Extra covers were left, but - and perhaps this was an oversight - they may have missed one or two of the last wash runs. This might have explained the odd insect or two. A lovely view of the sky and glimpse of the three castles can be seen through the fly screen on the roof windows, if standing at the very end of the bed. The advantage of the roof window being over the bed, is being soothed by the sound of rain drops tip-tapping throughout the night. In our case, it was pelting rain, so the effect was somewhat accentuated. Sanitary facilities are considerately designed so that users from each of the three rooms can use the WC room and separate shower room in the hall (with a sink in each bedroom for convenience, if not hygiene). Reception kindly provided us with toilet rolls when the dispenser stopped working, and it was kind of funny being short-taken and sending my husband down all those stairs!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay, despite rude manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, primarily the lady manager, was incredibly rude, dismissive, unfriendly and outright hostile. l really liked the hotel and would stay again, I guess. Some of the other staff was okay, I had the feeling it was all coming from the manager. At least, three other families staying there said the same thing. It's a pity, really.

    I liked the location and the hotel. The town is fabulous. The rooms were clean and big enough for what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    3.8
    Not a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had asked for parking and was told they had (verbal), when we arrived the only parking was in the public car park next to the hotel and being a Sunday was full. We drive a open top sport car and good parking is essential. Lady on reception was rude and having offered us a room in the attic, did offer us one on the second floor but again was dark and of poor quality - nothing like the one shown on the web site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.5
    Great location with croissants for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with croissants for breakfast! Small room, but why spend much time in the room when the village and surroundings are so beautiful! Highly recommended, great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.7
    While a number of reviews mentitled thin walls, we did not experience any issue in that regard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meal was mediocre. Young server presented us with meals for another couple and we had to ask two different staff for bread. Under certain circumstances that would not be egregious but I ordered as an entrée escargots.

    While sleeping area was rather small, bathroom was modern and super clean and everything functionedone perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    7.5
    Probably the best hotels location in the village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No spacious Parking on aside and room size.

    The hotel's location is very good, the top of the town, just for a couple of house are hiking trails to the mountains, where there are 3 castles (select suitable for walking shoes ;) Room small but cozy. Bathroom small, dark. Beds relatively hard and narrow. The room has a kettle, and facilities for making tea and coffee. Next to the hotel is a few places to park, but they are usually busy, so need some 10 min. walk on foot to a large free parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel but with rough spots.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at dinner was poor. We were ignored for a while before desert and were served later than a reasonable time. Room was comfortable but small.

    Excellent breakfast. Satisfying evening meal in the restaurant, but see other comment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2016

    10
    Staff was very accommodating and restaurant very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very accommodating and restaurant very good. Parking is in a public lot but there are arrangements are made so you don't have to buy hours. Great access to the the town. Room was typical size we see here in Europe.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    7.1
    Other paces in town were less expensive with better locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a bit of a hassle....had to move the car for the parade/event.....people did not speak English well as the website had stated and were even a bit rude! Rooms were very hot and stuffy!

    Breakfast was good....the rooms were small but well equipped ..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    6.7
    Early bird gets the Bagette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff didn't seem motivated to serve you. I had the feeling there was low morale. The breakfast was fine, but they did not replenish. I arrived for breakfast 40 minutes before closing and there was only one piece of baguette remaining which I promptly grabbed. Nothing arrived to the buffet for the rest of the breakfast period. The young lady in the breakfast room seemed disinterested. We made the mistake of reserving a table for dinner. There was a group of about 20 very loud middle aged Belgium bikers in the small dining room. It was so loud that we couldn't carry on a conversation.

    The room was very clean and pleasantly decorated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    La situation centre viille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    La situation centre viille

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    Spacious room in quiet and pleasant end of old town Ribeauville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff a little brusque.

    Good location in high, quieter part of old town Ribeauville. Easy access to the attractive parts of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, bathroom

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and restaurant under one roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel and restaurant under one roof

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    6.3
    Poor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above.

    No internet. Parking difficult. Many stairs and corridors to negotiate. Not recommended for those with mobility issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly. The Location was amazing. The breakfast was excellent. Our rooms were extremely clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely town and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and jacuzzi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    10
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect service, good situated therefore quiet, very friendly people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    7.1
    Okay, but there are better locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not very friendly (except Lady for breakfast) Small bathroom

    Breakfast Location Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.6
    Great location, lovely spa area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed was two singles pushed together.

    Lovely spa area with jacuzzi and Finnish sauna. Great coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    8.3
    The bed room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not anythink

    The bed room Area Spa Breakfast Situation in the Town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    10
    it was so good that we booked when went back home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was ok

    Excellent bread for breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful location right in the heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No reserved car parking for the hotel. Difficult to find a proper place near the hotel.

    Beautiful location right in the heart of town. Possibility to rent a bike in the hotel. Hotel restaurant is a great place to dine but reservation is recommeded!

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2015

    7.9
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bad wifi too many stairs hard to find parking but its free no facilities such as kettle, iron machine. ... staff doesn't understand any ward in english

    good location beautiful place

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2015

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had to drag cases up several flights of stairs no lift and got to the restaurant 3 mins before 930 and they wouldn't serve us we then had to trapse through the whole town to try and find food which was difficult as everywhere closed at 930!! Not what you need after driving all the way from calais.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2015

    8.8
    Good location to access and to take a walk in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking of car is a bit of lottery

    Good location to access and to take a walk in the city centre Very friendly staff Excellent restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner Comfortable and very clean rooms

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    7.9
    Too low for my head at wc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too low for my head at wc....

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    8.3
    Location is great, hot tub, private outside space to sit and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location is great, hot tub, private outside space to sit and bikes for hire were a great bonus

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2015

    8.8
    ambienceC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    complex getting into wifi

    ambienceC

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2015

    7.1
    Appearance of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to hotel and both bar and restaurant not inviting.

    Appearance of hotel

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: