Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant De Seignelay 2 stars

2 à 6 rue du Pont, 89000 Auxerre, France

#18 of 20 hotels in Auxerre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a typical continental but seemed to have quite limited choice.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful, their English was a good deal better than my French. Is in a good location in the old town and easy walking distance to the town centre and it’s shops and tourist sights. There is a delightful courtyard within the hotel grounds where drinks can be served from the bar or restaurant meals eaten outside. The restaurant neals are served very professionally with a good choice of regional dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor was very dated, shower fitting was broken and the room smelt of stale smoke Restaurant food quality was not great and they made no concessions to acommodate children

    Brakfast was ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a cold night the bedroom and bathroom were warm as toast. The room was also large with plenty of room to stow motorcycle gear. Mine host was helpful and was happy to allow my bike to be parked in his yard, under cover and secure. Used the restaurant and had a relaxed, delicious meal. I love France me :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was free Internet, which I liked, but it was slow going.

    This is the 3rd or 4th time I have stayed here, so I must obviously like it. The location is perfect for exploring Auxerre and to get from to, at least by foot or bike, which are the only two methods I have used. The restaurant is good and inexpensive, the portions are generous and the service impeccable. The breakfast was buffet style, with more options than your typical French petit dejeuner. The hotel/restaurant has an internal courtyard which becomes an extension of the restaurant in season and the rooms are across the courtyard from the reception and restaurant, and very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife lost her glasses during the trip. I tried to check with the hotel to see if they found them in the room. Staff doesn't answer the phone; nobody returned voicemail message asking if they found the glasses.

    Clean comfortable room; good price; nice location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was very clean it was rather smelly! The food served in the restaurant is adequate but we've eaten much better elsewhere.

    We stayed in two-adjoining rooms, which was a good arrangement. Both rooms seemed very clean. The staff were generally freindly and helpful. The hotel is a short walk to the old centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was greeted by a host who was brusque and unfriendly. The door to my room was hard to open and close- it was sticking and had not been repaired.. The room was fairly clean but not pleasantly decorated - functional but unattractive. There was quite a loud noise ( from heating- sounded like an engine) all night although the room was away from the road. The hotel charged me for a double room although I was on my own- through Booking.com I had said I was on my own, this had translated into ' one room for one night' and the receptionist said that this could not be changed. I would have forgiven much if there had been a friendlier and more welcoming atmosphere - altogether could not recommend the hotel for anything.

    Location near the centre of Auxerre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with a little modernising / repairs.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly, welcome was very warm and the building itself is really charming. We had a family 'suite', which was two good-sized rooms with comfortable beds. The breakfast was basic but fresh and suited our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much. Maybe the rooms are a bit dated but an upgrade means the cost goes up and in someways loses it charm.

    You have to look at value versus cost and I think they got it just right. Great wine list. My salad and steak were delicious. Lovely outdoor dining area with lots of charm. Very friendly staff. Bang in the middle of Auxerre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con, no fans (temperature was 39C and over 30C at night). Public parking nearby was limited and expensive

    Location was fine and an easy walk to the centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was superb value for money and located in the old town. It had a lovely courtyard where you could eat breakfast and or dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful although their English was limited. The only downside was the lack of private parking and the restricted street parking although it was free between 7and 9. Auxerre itself is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location. The building and its garden The discussions with the owner over everything and nothing The impressive motorbike collection of the owner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We managed to get the last space in the nearby small public car park. Weird electronic toilet

    Rooms around a courtyard where we enjoyed an afternoon bottle of wine. Good location between the town centre and the river. Good restaurant (but beware the strongest cheese on the cheeseboard)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly old fashioned but with old fashioned values . Staff excellent , dinner excellent , good location in old town with secure garage parking if required

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a plastic, stand-alone, flimsy Tardis! Time the owners got a plumber and tiler in and did a proper job! Both the male receptionists were "cool" to the point of being abrupt and a little sour in their demeanour ... though they did all required of them well.

    Especially the evening meal in the courtyard ... and the lady-owner/chef was first class with her menu, cooking and delightful personal attention. The hotel was a very old building with lots of delightful character, so we accepted any minor short-comings on room size and fittings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs a fan or air conditioning

    Friendly, cheerful and helpfull service. Great breakfast, croissants, fresh fruit yoghurt, eggs, bagguettes, coffee, as much as you want. Nice town to lookaround, staff provided a guide map. Great courtyard, with budgie in tree, restaurant was fantastic, authentic french provincial food. Sample the cheese pram. We accidently left a cylinder with paintings behind and Gourdain from the Hotel posted package back to Aus for us, thankyou Gourdain.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to supply a fan for summer as the windows need to be closed due to mosquitoes and room like a sauna. Would be great to supply tea/coffee making facilities.

    The location is central to old city. Room and bathroom were a good size. Very quaint premises and the dining room and bar were well presented.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor, fittings and bathroom quite dated but it is a two star hotel and very reasonably priced. Parking is nearby in public car parks but you're in the middle of the old town so no more than a few minutes walk.

    Staff were all friendly and helpful and my dinner was excellent. Room and bathroom were spacious and very clean. The staff kindly allowed me to park my motorcycle in their courtyard which they locked at night 😀 The old town and shops are all within a short stroll with plenty of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real gem, no fuss just old fashioned French hotel - staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    good variety and value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not great

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facility was very old

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy road, super old building, outdated intetior

    Restaurant down stairs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very good location, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must try restaurant for dinner, very good food and services

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People on terrace making noise late at nicht.

    The owner and his wife werd very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Layout slightly confusing

    Nice outside courtyard for breakfast, meals and/or drinks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, made to feel very welcome. Good room and facilities, food smashing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Venue needs a proper makeover. Decorations very old fashioned in a not charming way.

    Location near river

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Bed a little hard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and hotel is in an excellent location. Lovely that they accept pets too. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dated

    Handy for town centre by foot. staff helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cabin door wouldn't stay closed.

    Delicious dinner and breakfast. Good location near town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter who served us

    Did not have breakfast but evening meal good. Waiter very grumpy but all other staff polite and helpful. Would return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very tired but you get what you pay for

    Staff were excellent, location is very good Would book again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A private secure parkilng a very good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent restaurant serving local fare

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi could have been stronger.

    Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great atmosphere, lovely people, the room was perfect for us and our dog. very warm with our dog also. thank u!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low quality breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Beautiful courtyard area and close to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit outdated, but it's still very comfortable for a night or two.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Group

    Restaurant not suitable for non meat eaters.

    All staff exceptionally friendly & helpful, my dog was made totally welcome, great central location, car parking available just round the corner & brought back to the hôtel immediately on request - great value, will certainly be back, thank you.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing.

    The hospitable welcome was awesome. The lady makes sure you are welcome and is very helpful, also in pointing you to a free concert at the river bank. And even though I speak reasonably French, she speaks very slowly and clear so my friends also understood. The yard is nice, but we didn't use it. The room is basic, but nice. Parking is possible around at the public

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be helpful if you could arrive up until 10pm - we drove a long way and struggled to get there by 9pm. It would also be good if there was a fan in the room to use if the weather is hot.

    The location, the staff, the evening meal

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived during a heat wave; the proprietress was unwilling to allow us to cancel despite the hotel not having AC (or fans) for its customers. She made a pretty poor first impression, although the other people working the desk were helpful enough--as long as we weren't asking about the temperature of the room. The hotel has seen better days, furniture and bathroom dated, tired and worn. Shower fixture didn't really work.

    The location of the hotel was good. The parking was a bit weird, and at €7.50 the most we paid in a small town. someone from the hotel has to walk you over, but it's covered, and close enough. If the weather is okay, the hotel would provide basic accommodations...but very, very basic.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sme things, that we have forgotten there, were not found. Parking was difficult. Prices for rooms are high, looking from a German point of view.

    Breakfast was better than average. The hous has a very pleasent courtyard. Most rooms are calm.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The manager (owner or whatever) had a rather brusque manner, which improved with acquaintance. Likewise, the sommelier. The restaurant was closed on Monday evening. The bedroom smelled of cigarette smoke.

    Excellent position in the middle of the city. Great character, far better than modern concrete blocks. Ease of access in the night. The dinner was of good quality, and the cheese board excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very pleasant country town hotel with delightful restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The two flights of stairs, a lift would have been an asset

    Enjoyed a delicious meal when we arrived that evening.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs a coat of paint

    Nothing special

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to parking was poor, Breakfast was extremley poor. general service poor

    Not a lot

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff. The room was a good size with comfortable beds. The evening meal was fantastic. Amazing value for money.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was awful. Stale croissants and buns, bad coffee.

    A nice old place with character in the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely staff, perfect location. Good food breakfast and supper. Parked in nearby private car park.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was hot. No air cinditioning

    Nice people

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the restaurant food, dinner very average

    Wonderful location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is a basic hotel with a smelly toilet! old furniture

    Location and friendliness of the staff Nice courtyard

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Location

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Garage facilities are very small and tight for a large car, staff very helpful.

    Right in the centre of the old town, short walk to churches and river.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi didn't respond to apple computers.

    room,location, staff and other guests

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find and conveniently situated near the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location for brief tour of the historic town

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was lovely. Gilles what a guy! It was a really fun place and the food was great. It must be wonderful in the summer

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: