Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Restaurant Des Remparts 3 stars

70 Rue De Verdun, 52000 Chaumont, France

#4 of 8 hotels in Chaumont

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Would recommend to anyone, pleasant town too.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car breakdown.

    Found by chance after a car breakdown. Room airy and clean. Bathroom excellent. Staff extremely friendly and helpful with our problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Booked at short notice, worth the visit 👍🏻👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not so good!!!!!!

    Friendly welcome. Clean & comfortable. Good restaurant for dinner & breakfast. They provided a secure garage for our motorbike, bonus!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to first floor, as far as I remember - so not 100% accessible for everyone

    Perfect location with easy access by car from the west, and restaurants, cinema and old town all close. Quiet but charming town. Good facilities in the room. Friendly reception and very good breakfast (worth the high price).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t figure out how to use the hair dryer - the plug was in the light fitting. Other than that it was a good experience.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming! Breakfast was lovely too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    it served our purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening food was disappointing -- especially the mussels but the breakfast was very good

    the hotel was well situated, the town han many very interesting features and was surprisingly historical.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Room spacious enough, near town center, restaurants in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too pricy for the comfort offered, but OK for a 1 or 2 nights business stay.

    Room spacious enough, near town center, restaurants in the neighborhood, easy (paid) parking on the neighboring streets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel for overnight stay, not keen on the feel of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel met all our needs but I was not keen on the town. We wandered out when we arrived, it was very quiet and had a "ghost town " feel. The people at the hotel state this was due to the holiday time. There are not many restaurants in the town and the 2 that we felt looked nice were fully booked, hence why we went back to eat at the hotel.

    This hotel was perfectly located for an overnight stay on our way back from Italy. The people at the hotel were friendly. Our room was compact but comfortable and very clean. The hotel has a restaurant on the ground floor, it was expensive so we chose to eat in the Brassiere of the Hotel. We all had a great meal and felt it was very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    A great welcome and a top chef...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Euro 15 fee for our dog was more than necessary and not flagged up in the description.

    We enjoyed a fabulous evening meal. It was gourmet food at quite a gourmet price - worth it in my opinion. We didn't have breakfast but this looked excellent too. The lady who handled reception was also serving in the restaurant and was very welcoming and thoughtful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    A bit too expensive and not really a gastronomic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room costed 100€/night, but was really outdated and in need for some restauration. The food in the gastronomic restaurant was very tasty, but not "gastronomique". Price value is here not in balance. We also got a room at the street (y junction) so there was quite some noice at night. There were almost no other guests, so why not giving us a garden room?

    Clean and spacious room and very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    The owner of the hotel was lovely, very helpful and pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the hotel was lovely, very helpful and pleasant, and the hotel was so typically French in a slightly old fashioned way which made it a great place to stay. Good breakfast, with homemade cakes on offer. Good location for our purposes, and we found a great restaurant just across the road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is clearly essential for anyone with a car - surely most of the guests. We had reserved car parking, but the receptionist tried to persuade us to find parking elsewhere - which would have been a nightmare with the cases. This hotel has an excellent restaurant - we have eaten there before - and is the main reason we booked. It was, however, closed - even though it was not a Sunday. It was, admittedly, the Feast of the Assumption but the hotel's own literature makes mention only of Sunday closing and other hotels offered dining. We will not be returning.

    Location is important to us and this central location is both pleasant and convenient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    5.4
    good restaurant, bedrooms need mode
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe reception was very very small and also the bedrooms were very small and below par. However the shower room whilst small was spotlessly clean and few toiletries supplied.

    the restaurant and food was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.5
    Quaint hotel near town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi which is a must for us. The receptionist said it was because they were busy, but I couldn't get it at 06.30 either. The hotel was overpriced for what it was (€130) and breakfast was €12 extra per person. It wasn't worth it. Also charged €2 for a small bottle of water in the room. I didn't like that we had to keep walking through the restaurant to get to our room.

    Spotlessly clean room and bathroom with lovely linen and towels

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Very clean throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean throughout. Only slight prob was no lift and a lot of stairs to climb to top floor. Staff great !!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was only average both in the evening and the breakfast buffet. Pillows were por and left my wife with a stiff neck.

    Easy to find

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Helpful staff, wonderful manager. great Boutique hotel and rsstaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small front door

    The Restsurant meal was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous people

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    No complaints/ good room, good facilities, good food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Two restaurants on site. Room excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    good hotel to visit the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything OK, nice room, nice bathroom, nice breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location for a one night stay have used this hotel on 6 previous occasions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small and room a bit small.

    We had problems with the air conditioning it was dealt with quickly, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    It was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lady spoke great English, nothing was too much trouble, and they found a safe parking for my car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Good traditional hotel in a nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived for breakfast at 8.45 but supply was limited. Dinner was good but not cheap

    Comfy bed. Staff spoke English.good toiletry supply

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Friendly staff very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien

    Friendly staff very convenient

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Pleasantly surprised no parking available but outside hotel parking spaces payable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly access to room But old building

    Very good selection breakfast Comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    clean and comfortable - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stairwells were a bit dark and not very inviting

    the room was clean and newly decorated. the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent meal choice in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent meal choice in the evening. Good central but quiet location in a fun town. It made an excellent stopover on our drive south.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    6.3
    OK, but eat somewhere else in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is far to expensive for the standard of food. Not value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food , good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and cool on a hot day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and cool on a hot day

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.3
    5th time to stay at this hotel good as usual
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a proper bar

    Food good. Room comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel for stopover, not too far from motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little disappointed about the cost of breakfast, especially for children. I paid 12 euros for a bowl of cereal for a 10 yr old who refused anything else on offer. On the other hand, the rest of the familiy ate a good breakfast and it was worth it.

    Great hotel for stopover, not too far from motorway. Very clean rooms, well presented. Staff were friendly and helpful,

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The staff were the best I think I've come across.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were the best I think I've come across. They were outstandingly - so helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The room was excellent - even had an adjoining "lounge area". They also have a cosy well appointed bar. I parked outside (metered during the day).

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    The room was very nice indeed and the staff were friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was not particularly good. At least my meal was not and I felt it was all a little over priced.

    The room was very nice indeed and the staff were friendly enough.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Hotel in a great spot for visiting Chaumont's hidden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is on street, meters have to be fed. I was however quite happy leaving my new car because it was visible from my bedroom window

    Hotel in a great spot for visiting Chaumont's hidden gems. like its cathedral and its viaduct. The centre is active, friendly and interesting. We ate in the restaurant at the hotel, both dinner and breakfast and it was v good

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Excellent staff, excellent dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lot of steps to room and in restaurant area.

    Excellent staff, excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Location, easy to reach in center of Chaumont, lots of shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Location, easy to reach in center of Chaumont, lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.9
    Quiet peaceful for town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom could have been bigger.

    Quiet peaceful for town centre. Good evening restaurant. Welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Great friendly hotel comfortable with good food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great friendly hotel comfortable with good food and wine. This is our 6th visit and found the hotel upgrading even better this year.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Very luxurious bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    Very luxurious bedroom. As good as many 5* hotels I have stayed in elsewhere

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    6.7
    Location - very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - very good. Hotel a bit quaint. Overal quite satisfied

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Couldnt find a single restaurant open at 10pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldnt find a single restaurant open at 10pm.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    9.6
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was intermittent

    Great staff. Very accommodating.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: