Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Restaurant du Château de la Tour 3 stars

2 Avenue De La Libération, 33410 Béguey, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Béguey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in a very nice hotel with friendly and priofessional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to dislike in this hotel - perfect hotel

    Hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was excellent and pool was very clean including the surrounding of the pool area. The garden was great and the location was perfect. The whole team from reception to the restaurant were very professional including the housekeeping team. Breakfast was great as served inside with tables dressed on the terrace in the sunshine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    would stay again if they dropped the nightly cost by a few hundred!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously used to be a very classy hotel but they have failed to maintain the rooms and grounds adequately to continue charging luxury hotel rates, the onsite restaurant was very good though and the saving grace for a disappointing stay

    Food served at the on site restaurant was divine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff and food first class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and food first class! Grounds by chateau delightful and good pool. Bathroom a bit dated but overall very good. The quality of meals at lunch and dinner wass superb. Staff were some of the best we've encountered in France. Pretty local town of Cadillac.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stopover point for comfort and quality dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel was a perfect stop over for us in July. The staff were very helpful room was perfect size and clean, pool was great. The star of the show however was the restaurant, some of the best food we had while in France, top quality with great flavours and well presented. Will stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is close to town and has a beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially put in a very tired and dilapidated room which smelled of nicotine. We showed them photos of the room we were promised on Booking after which they said these were pictures of the comfort rooms, but we booked a standard room. When we complained about it they gave us a better room. The breakfast is very overpriced (€11 pp) so we went to the local bakery instead.

    The hotel is close to town and has a beautiful garden. They allowed us to put our bicycles in the locked garage which we appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    nice enough hotel - the town of Cadillac is limited for evening meals or atmosphere though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the food seems to be geared towards fine dining which doesn't really suit a family - too expensive and slow - but very good quality on the other hand

    pool is great and our main reason for booking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Thanks. keep it up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds were beautiful, the view from the window as well. Restaurant's food was very good, keep it going. Service was good, front desk helped us book hotel in Arcachon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming, friendly but not fully operational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The staff were great but the hotel was running down because it was closing for refurbishment. There was no English Breakfast tea which you would expect in such a good hotel. Breakfast was not up to standard for the rating of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely stay in a cute, functional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower head fitting so you literally have to hold it up yourself whilst showering There was no shower curtain either but the hotel put one up as soon as I told them

    Large spacious and comfy room Beautiful hotel grounds Lovely terraced restaurant Nice pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    This was a last minute booking as the place I was booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle.

    This was a last minute booking as the place I was booked into had over-booked. In fact I found it very good - likely nicer than where I was expecting to stay. The outdoor pool was great and the restaurant not bad (though the portions were enormous). They gave me a double room but only charged for a single.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall a nice place, comfy, quiet; Would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is "average": choice for a savory breakfast is very limited (only one choice of ham and cheese, no eggs, no bacon). On the sweet side good selection of pains au chocolat, croissants, etc ... Only plain Kellogg cereals. No shower curtain over bathtub meant we either had to take a bath or shower sitting in tub, unless of course you are comfortable flooding the bathroom ...

    Clean place, comfortable bed (albeit bed was only 140 wide, but then we where 3 in room, maybe with double occupancy bed is queen). Rooms are indeed a bit dark, but it didn't bother us at all; After-all the goal of our stay was not to stay in room ;-). Location is very quiet, never heard our neighbors either although hotel was full. The morning receptionist is a bit "cold" at first but once she warms up to you she is actually very nice and of very good advice. The rest of the staff is very friendly. Pool is nice but water was a bit cold (they do not seem to cover the pool over night so after a few cold days/nights the pool temperature drops). Diner (if you choose to eat at the hotel) is excellent but a bit rich for my taste - highly recommend the Pavlova for dessert (had to accept the extra calories but it was well worth it)! Many choices of simpler, less expensive, restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely quiet location, great food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea or coffee making facilities and no iron in the room

    The restaurant was superb. Small selection to choose from, but everything on it was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    A hotel which has clearly been updated but which is still badly in need of a design makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't enjoy our stay at the Chateaux de la Tour at all and it compared very unfavourably with accommodation we have enjoyed during the rest of our holiday. The hotel is quite an attractive building on the outside with ample and secure parking. There is a swimming pool and a nice veranda for dining. But even the outside appearance of the hotel could have been made more attractive by having planters with geraniums and so on. The hotel had no "personality". The decor was drab, corridors were gloomy and poorly lit. To us, everything seemed black (dining chairs), brown or grey. This may well have suited business people using the hotel but holiday makers in the south of France? - our advice would be to look elsewhere! We stayed for five nights and couldn't wait to move on. It was expensive for what it was.The restaurant was fairly well patronised on some evenings but the hotel felt empty. We shall not be returning to Chateaux de la Tour any time soon. There was one receptionist who showed warmth but others - no. The desk was so high that the receptionist couldn't be seen very well sitting behind it.

    The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were spacious and the en suite facilities were excellent. We did not have breakfast because it incurred an extra 11 euros per person and we felt that the hotel was expensive enough. The restaurant was underwhelming. A bit of a time warp, we were not particularly impressed by the food though others might disagree. I asked the maitre d if he had a copy of the menu in English to which the reply was a monosyllabic "No." He could have said, "No, we haven't but I will make that suggestion." Or he could have responded, "I will try to help you understand the various items on the menu"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Very efficient new furniture, bathroom modern albeit a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet paper roll holder. Hallways sparsely lit.

    Very efficient new furniture, bathroom modern albeit a bit small. Restaurant to be highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    I will return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A Thursday night at the back end of October is hardly the height of the season, yet I was made to feel very welcome, important even. My room, very comfortable with adequate hanging space in cupboards, was on the top floor, looking down to the outside tables, needless to say unoccupied at this time of year, but would be lovely in warmer times. Restaurant service was excellent, as was the food; there were 20 in the restaurant that evening, and not all were resident.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    The restaurant was very flexible (we were 20!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very flexible (we were 20!) and the staff was very nice The rooms were very comfortable and all refurbished

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to...
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to give us a flask of coffee and croissants for our 6am start Delicious dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Awesome restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facility in the room

    Awesome restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Location and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor

    Location and pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and staff/ restaurant service was slow.

    The environment is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Huge bed lovely pool and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of food

    Huge bed lovely pool and great food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, will request to stay again if we are in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whole stay was excellent. Facilities very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Superb in every way, can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing.

    Excellent restaurant, wonderful food, beautiful grounds, very attentive friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.6
    I liked the outside terrace and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost, not very helpful staff.

    I liked the outside terrace and the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Hotel itself not particularly handsome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice enough place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    The local beer they had
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    The local beer they had

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger bath towels

    Great location. Larger bath towels would be great and kettle and wAter in the room would be great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stop on the Bordeaux wine route
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely situated next to the stunning village of Cadillac. Very calm. Spacious room with good cupboard space

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Always pleasant. Food exceptional
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Marvellous in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. We will stay again. The dinner was particularly stunning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    Greeting, surroundings and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    attiutude from the male staff (only one out of two staff and the other was female) was not welcoming and did not want to know when trying to sort out THEIR mistakes with serving dinner to our children. Had the female member of staff not sorted matters then the meal would have been a disaster. Not good when the meal cost nearly €200 for 6 which included a half bottle of wine! Breakfast was basic and expensive. Nothing cooked and no discount for young children! Food was just as expensive as the accommodation

    Greeting, surroundings and room

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    Very helpful and pleasant staff who accommodated us very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very dark rooms No tea/coffee making facilities

    Very helpful and pleasant staff who accommodated us very well. Particularly excellent restaurant and maitre'd. Nice gardens and outdoor pool with seating areas. Nice decor.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    Food was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    French never have washclothes for some reason

    Food was fantastic. Gave us river view for mountain view price. Staff has pretty good English

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.8
    Location and surrounds very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aging facilities - bathroom had no hook for shower head, TV did not work, sparse breakfast.

    Location and surrounds very good. Staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    Fantastic setting for dining in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic setting for dining in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Town is not up to much. Room was very dark. Overpriced for what it is.

    Clean. Lots of parking. Pool was nice to have. Nice grounds.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.5
    pool, village, dutch speaking waiter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    pool, village, dutch speaking waiter

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: