Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Côte d'Opale

19 Rue d'Herambault, 62630 Étaples, France

#6 of 8 hotels in Étaples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to park, good location and perfect for us to head off on our bikes and enjoy the lovely area. Staff friendly and everything was as we hoped. Thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plumbing might need a bit of attention... getting cold water from wash hand basin was problematic... I think the cold water pipes may be located too close to the hot water and therefore often run warm. Obviously for a 2* no A/C so on a warm May night room was hot

    Booked on day of arriving - general availability in the area was low. Given the 2* classification received what was expected. Is located by a quite busy road, but right opposite a large free carpark! As a last minute one night stay it was perfectly OK. Some rooms, fortunately not the one I had, may be quite dark due to the layout of the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was a little unsure about no one on site at night although proprietor did give us a telephone no to ring in emergencies

    very fresh and new as it had just been renovated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously the disruption of renovation - but we knew that when booking.

    Stayed there a few times as a short stay/overnight break. Good location and over the past couple of years or so have encountered the disruption of renovation (due for completion in May 2018). So comments have taken that into account. Ideal location with convenient public parking opposite hotel. This is a no-frills, unpretentious and clean hotel, and is good value for money provided your expectations are that when booking. Friendly staff with little or no English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in the process of renovation but this didn’t interfere materially with our comfort. No lift at present, not sure if one is planned.

    Basic breakfast - bread, croissant, juice, coffee but all excellent quality. Room clean with comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. And exceedingly good value for money. We stayed there in order to eat an evening meal at the nearby Pecheurs d’Etaples fish restaurant and all in all it made for an excellent overnight break. My friend left behind a ring in her bathroom when we left and we much appreciated the phone call to my mobile to alert us about this. Plenty of free parking immediately outside the hotel. And readily accessible free WiFi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a building site, ceilings were down and electric wires were exposed everywhere, there were dust sheets on the stairs - a serious trip hazzard. I noted that a board forbidding entry by the public had been removed from prominant display and was shoved in the bar. The over priced breakfast was available in a half renovated room that was also the owners pet dog room if the over powering smell of dog was anything to go by, we also had the joy of it whining incessantly as we ate. The by line on Booking.com was that rooms were rarely available at this price (100€) they were right! It should only have been 40€ and that is being generous.

    Ease of getting to from the motorway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some notice about the overall state of the rebuilding would have been helpful.

    The room was very clean and modern, but the hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment, so there are few other facilities. There is no private parking, but a free public carpark immediately opposite the hotel usually has spaces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's an owner-run hotel currently undergoing refurbishment. They are doing an excellent job of keeping business going while works continue. Felt most welcome there travelling with my kids!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice young couple, currently refurbishing the hotel. It is not a building site - work is behind screens etc but some of the rooms etc are modern, others are work in progress The hotel met our needs - clean, comfortable and ideally situated. Parking right outside - a miracle!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a building site not an hotel!

    I really do think that it should be clearly stated that this property is undergoing an entire refurbishment, and the common areas are more akin to a building site than an hotel! It's location is good with free public parking outside - ideal if you want to enjoy Aux Pecheurs d'Etaples the noted fish restaurant, which was my reason for staying. The first room we were showed into, the mirror collapsed as I walked past and chopped the light switch off the wall, fortunately it did not hit either me or the female owner! The second room we were shown to had clearly been refurbished with a very good wet room although literally everything got wet when you had a shower! The room was small but acceptable for a one night stay. As basic accommodation it would be reasonable once the work has been completed, but it is ridiculously over-priced as things stand at the moment. The other aspect that I feel I should comment on is that the owners keep their dog (which barks a lot) in the reception area in a cage - as a dog lover myself I can say that not everybody loves the smell of a dog in such a situation - rather unprofessional. I believe that listing this hotel on booking.com does not enhance the confidence of a customer in the brand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last time we stayed here they had a fabulous restaurant, which unfortunately has now closed. They are expanding the number of bedrooms so there is still building work going on, but the finished bedrooms are a really good standard.

    Really helpful people running it. Roll down shutters on the windows (I'm a light sleeper so this really helps me). Fantastic shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel mid building works and therefore we found the price very steep. However there was no availability in other areas we looked for the 1 night.

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, although it was ok. I didn't think it was good value for money. One croissant, a part baguette, cereal, juice and coffee for around 20 euros. We could have done better in the services.

    We had a nice room at the front of the hotel. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant although showing as being registered With Logis de France

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel owner/manager is so helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean. The breakfast is lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for what was on offer Breakfast was very sparse and overpriced at 9 Euros

    The room was small, clean and very basic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are always very friendly and welcoming. They do their best to help.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small choice for breakfast .

    Easy to find. Clean. Good location . Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, very helpful, welcoming and friendly staff. Wonderful tea and coffee, croissants and bread!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work underway at Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here before about 6 years ago. Property is being upgraded and decorated. Don't be put off. The rooms are clean and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel appeared derelict. No staff around. Building rubble inside. Dust so thick on the windows you couldnt see through them. Do not stay here

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea / coffee facilities in the room would make the stay near-perfect.

    The hotel provided all we needed for a 'budget' stopover. Easy parking, good nearby restaurants and, for the money, good accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere in the reception was friendly but difficult to communicate with proprietor unless proficient in French speaking and listening.

    The position of the hotel is good. The town is full of interest - a real community.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was very tired looking and in fact the town centre appeared to be the same. Restaurant was closed but fortunately the Bistro in the town square was very good

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was better than we expected.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant in hotel had closed but no indication of this in ad for. booking.com

    En suite bathroom, location

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    central location

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For an overnight stop close to the town centre with good access to parking this was exactly what we needed at the right price.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Looked as if it was derelict. Did not stop

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant despite one being advertised

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had expected a restaurant and would hope refurbishment helps.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Booked the hotel because it had its own restaurant. The restaurant was closed - no advance warning - not impressed.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As it was Easter weekend some local shops were closed

    Convenience

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Usual no guts pillow.

    Comfortable bed and clean.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: