Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel-Restaurant Le Normandie 2 stars

71 Avenue Michel Cabieu, 14150 Ouistreham, France

#11 of 12 hotels in Ouistreham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stop for the ferry with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Happy with our experience so nothing to criticize

    The hotel is brilliant as a stop over for the morning ferry. Our room was everything we wanted, comfortable bed and a roomy bathroom. We could not eat the breakfast as we had to leave before it was served, so cannot comment. Although there are a few restaurants in Ouistreham, we had dinner at the Hotel Normandie and the three course dinner was excellent. We will definitely use this hotel again when we use the ferry home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Good overnight stop for ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starting at 7am would be good for travellers.

    Great location for the ferry. Large car park. Friendly and helpful staff. Good place for an overnight stop. Good value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Stop before catching Caen ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scary walking around in dark or too late at nights due to Sudan illegals hanging about

    Close to ferry port. Clean and friendly, close to amenities good wifi

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    A handy site for the Brittany ferry to Portsmouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite cramped and the concierge didn't simile and seemed rather grumpy, but he improved later. I was on my motorcycle and the car park is gravel, so we parked on the paving alongside the car park approach. Shower head was very high and the bathroom was quite a confined space. Breakfast starts too late for the 08.30 ferry. Have it on the boat!

    The proximity to the ferry port, it was about 200 yards away. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Very useful for leaving France on the Brittany ferry. Beds were comfortable. Plenty of clothes hangers. We were told the restaurant is good, but we didn't use it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Ok for late night halt and off to early morning start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding. Old fashioned sheets and blanket. Very small shower/ toilet. Poor pillows.

    2 minutes from ferry. Easy to get to even when ferry docks late

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    A good basic hotel for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic for the money compared with other hotels.

    The hotel is perfectly appointed for an overnight stay after the ferry crossing. The rooms are fairly basic but clean. The manager was very welcoming and eager to please.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.0
    convenient and comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    single room shower and toilet small

    beds comfortable family room excellent. we left early so did not have breakfast as ferry left before service began.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Warm welcome for all the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Good value for money and very convenient.

    Warm welcome for all the family. Premises very clean. Restaurant both interior and exterior waswelcoming and pleasant and the food was of very good quality and using a lot of local produce. Overall a very good place to stay when co ing off or going too the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location for ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were getting a ferry at 8:30 but breakfast didn't start until 7:30 so we couldn't have any. Couldn't get WiFi in the room.

    Handy for the ferry. Safe bike storage. Quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of noise from kids on motorbikes up/down the road around 11pm which lasted about 30 minutes. Bit annoying but we were only there one night so may have just been unlucky.

    We stayed in the block of hotel rooms opposite. Free parking and couldn't be more convenient for the Ferry. Good basic rooms and a very comfy bed. We ate in the restaurant, the menu is a little limited and not very child friendly but the food was very nice and the service excellent. Can't fault the hotel staff in any way. Event let me try my schoolgirl French out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.0
    Will stay there again but eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner - inexpensive but not good. Fish overcooked and swimming in butter with no vegetables to speak of.

    Breakfast - good and varied. Baguette much appreciated after a year in Britain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.2
    Frightening, we wont stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, there were many refugees his year in the town and a high police presence, and we had very kittle sleep due to a major fight in the street outside, yelling and shouting, scooters revving, the gendermes turned up about 4am. The whole ambience of this little town has changed. We wont stay in Ouestram again, what a pity

    The room was cheap, and everything was clean. We have stayed before many times, and been pleased with the value for money we have experienced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    It served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park could be more secure, lots of migrants going round in groups late on. But that is not the hotel owners fault. I just felt that it was too open.

    Location for ferry

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.3
    Desperate - avoid it at all cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. This used to be a fine dining venue but on arrival we were told the restaurant was closed despite the fact that I had telephoned a dinner booking a long time before. It seems that what was once a fine venue is folding. We felt cheated and mislead. I suspect that the place is about to close.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    A goid nights halt at the start of our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was adequate for our needs.

    It was very convenient for the ferry. We arrived late evening and we were at the hotel in 5 minutes. Breakfast was very adequate and the staff were very pleasant. Would book again. It had orivate and safe parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Convenient for the ferry, good food, but if you want a good nights sleep forget it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room. One of the worst rooms we have ever stayed in and we have traveled the world. We were placed in the annex across the road from the main hotel. The room was on the top floor in the roof space. There was a skylight with no blind, a flushing noise which occurred almost every half hour. A tiny bathroom . We had to climb 3 flights of stairs, my wife being 77 and myself 74 Very difficult with our cases. The price was 70 euros certainly not worth it.

    The restaurant and the food were excellent. The staff were very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) No fault to the hotel but in my opinion, it's worth a mention....The hotel is very close to the port but so are the influx of Sudanese refugees ( i'll use that term loosely!). They wander up and down the the streets 'mob' handed scavenging for cigarettes and running to break in to the lorries trailers as they are moving, all done within 50 yards of the hotel. They also wandered in the hotel car park whilst we stayed there. 2) The Wifi signal is non existent. 3) The food in the restaurant was average at best. 4) 5.30euros for a coffee is scandalous! 5) The shower cubicle was tiny, good luck trying to wash your feet!

    The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff were very pleasant. Close to Sword Beach. Checking out....but seriously, it was ok but nothing special and over priced for what it is.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for the first night off the ferry, not difficult to find.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult stairs to get up with luggage (narrow and twisting). It was the most expensive of all we booked and I thought it might be a bit better class. Adequate though. No problem with hot water

    Quite a nice breakfast, but was the most expensive of all the hotels. Pleasant personnell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Ideal for early ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facility in rooms. No WiFi except in reception which was across the road.i stayed here a couple of times but always seem to get the annexed across the road, never the actual hotel.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Quiet and comfortable excellent menu and convenient for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything negative to say.

    The hotel was quiet and comfortable and the eveing meal was excellent, fresh ingredients and good wine list.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Although a good "short" stop during our moto trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot's of migrants that try to jump on Trailers, taking the Ferry, to get to the UK. Not really a nice place for the moment to stay a while. As a major remark, do NOT go to the restaurant named "Le Channel" which is at the right of the hotel when you stands for it. Never had such a disgusting fish soup in my entire life. Send it back to the "chef" ! We where with 8 persons having different dishes, quality is BAD ! Sorry for this harsh opinion but people need to be aware of this situation.

    Although a good "short" stop during our moto trip of the coast of the North of France.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    The bed was comfortable, the staff agreeable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable, the staff agreeable and the location excellent because the hotel is close to the ferry port. The only drawback was that the bathroom was rather small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location to the ferry and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing isn't great. Could hear other people walking down the hallway/talking. Toilet facilities were just okay.

    Very convenient to the ferry port access and friendly and welcoming staff. Clean and cozy rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient and clean but basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed at 10pm - even to residents so no coffee or drinks after that time

    Plenty of parking. Central Ouistreham is 10 mins away with good restaurants. Just 5 minutes to the ferry terminal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    OK for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom floor was kind of soft, as in spongy. It wasn't tile. There was a nice tub, but only an unmounted shower hose and no shower curtain. The bathroom was sub standard.

    Good location. Big window. The bedroom was nice enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Usual good service with comfort and convenient for the ferry, but slightly expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We both had entrecote steak which was not as good as expected. The rest of the meal was fine. The weather!!! It just poured with rain!! Previous years staying with you we have been able to explore ouistreham, so disapointed to be unable to do so again. Clearly we picked the wrong time to travel.

    Service was excellent. Only had dinner as had to leave for early ferry Part of the dinner, including drinks, was excellent Was quiet at night Lots of room to park, and easy to find

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location for ferry. Very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower room very small. a much larger person would not have got in and comfortably used the shower at all.

    Welcome very good. breakfast adequate though there could have been more croissants. none there when I had breakfast. some did arrive later. provision was made for non-gluten guests by way of rice cakes. We will specify need for NG when booking next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    It Iwas adequate for length of stay and for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person in the bar was rather rude until we told him we were staying there. Room l;ittle small for the money paid.

    It was near to the boat. Food in the restaurant was very good. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Dissappointment due to the miss information about the food,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told there was a gluten free menu however my husband was served only 4 ham goujons and green salad €14? We would not have dined there if we had known the lack of gluten free menu. When we commented we received a shrug of the shoulders.

    Close to the ferry

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Extremely disappointed as the weather was horrible and we went to bed cold and without a hot drink.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains on window Put in separate annexe no one else there No facilty for hot drinks. No kettle. No food allowed in room Reception in main building closed about 8:30pm. So unable to get a hot drink anywhere as everywhere closed

    Bed and pillows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    an overnight stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was starting to look tired and beds need to be replaced in very near future.

    This really was an overnight stay hotel to access early departure ferry. Hotel is well located to access the ferry. Good on site parking. Good access to local restaurants or there is an onsite restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Very handy for the Port and Ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel on other side of road to reception. Room decor dowdy, and dull, No reception earl.y morning (7am) and had to leave key on doorstep.

    Very close to Ferry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped bathroom in need of updating, but adequate for overnight stay before ferry.

    Good restaurant. Location for ferry. Private free parking at rear of hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant Hotel, great staff but rather dated property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't cater for Gluten intolerant/Coeliacs. Bizarre list of rules in bedroom, felt like in a boarding house from middle of last century.

    Convenient for ferry. Friendly staff. Good off road parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great all round little hotel, perfectly placed for touring and ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used the hotel as a stopover to catch the early morning ferry, it's position is perfect, only 5mins by car, almost the same walking. Clean, comfortable perhaps a bit dated in the bathrooms but otherwise perfect. The food in the resturant was good and sensibly priced. We arrived at the same time as a tour party but the staff were brilliant at managing , keeping their cool and remaining amiable throughout the meal. Will recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for an over/nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, no space on one side of the bed (maybe 20-39 cm max, but I guess this is reflected in theboruce

    Adequate for a short overnight stop, good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    This hotel is situated very conveniently for ferry travellers,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding is a bit old fashioned. There is no lift that we could see, so lugging heavy cases up 4 flights of stairs is not ideal for the elderly like us. Disabled guests would need to check facilities first. The area seems to have become infiltrated by immigrants hoping to get to the UK.

    The hotel is situated close to the ferry port. Off road free private parking is a huge advantage. There are many near restaurants to choose from, including the hotels own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient to the ferry port - we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a treck up to the room which was in the 'attic' - fortunately we only had an overnight bag - and the soundproofing was not good as stated above.

    The room was very comfortable and clean. The sound proofing could be improved as we could hear the people in the next room very clearly. We were not told that we would be in a separate building and that we would have to return to the main hotel for breakfast. However the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Very convenient stay if using ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with minute bathroom but ok for one night. I found the traffic noise kept me awake and would request room overlooking car park next time.

    Very convenient for the ferry port so useful when getting off the late ferry or catching the morning ferry back to Portsmouth as only five minute drive. Very simple but clean and comfortable. Didn't use the restaurant or have breakfast so cannot comment. Would probably stay again as so convenient at beginning or end of holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.2
    Not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and cramped and the bathroom was minute and smelled strongly of chemicals so much that it filtered into the bedroom and we had to sleep with the windows and the shutters wide open.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.2
    Thanks but no thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated , smelly , noisy, rough worn paintwork , broken units, creepy floors, toilet and shower In a room too small to move in .....I've seen bigger cupboards, poor lighting

    Only the Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Very disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very small and poorly equipped no drinks making facilities apart from the bed the only other piece ofequipment - a table lamp did not work, there were no proper curtains. The bathroom was too small to use, it was impossible to sit on the wc because there was not enough room in front for your feet. Every thing was very tired and drastically needed updating. All the facilities were closed. We couldn't get a drink. The restutant and breakfast was useless , closed when we needed them in the evening and for onward travel in the morning. Generally overpriced and no service.

    Good location for the ferry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable but next time we would insist on ground floor or area with a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in annexe across the road with mother with poor mobilisation and there was no lift and we were on the 2nd floor which made it very difficult. Lighting in the staircase was poor.

    Staff were efficient and helpful and meal was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Adequate hotel near to port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was not particularly good value for money. Room and bathroom were small with low headroom over the bed. Staff seemed to want to close down by 10pm.

    Position near to the port at Ouistreham is excellent. Parking was off-street and good behind the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    A functional hotel that is fine for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't particularly like Quistreham - it felt quite bland.

    The hotel is located two minutes from the ferry port, with plenty of parking, which makes it ideal for an early ferry stopover. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable but was more basic/traditional in its appearance. The public areas of the hotel are pleasant and we had a satisfactory meal in the hotel's restaurant. Drinks prices seemed a little higher than neighbouring venues.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Very convenient location for the car ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been very nice to have a drink at the bar and relax on our arrival but the bar closed at 10 and despite getting down to reception at 10.05 it was too late. As the boat docks at 9.30 it doesnt leave much time. In fact Ouistreham seems it close down at 10!

    Very convenient location for the car ferry. Its a simple pension, no frills but perfectly acceptable for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Handy for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The main advantage of this hotel is its location which is very convenient for arriving on a late ferry or leaving on an early ferry. The hotel is very comfortable and also has a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Great for a night before catching the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tiny and antiquated. It was clean but the tile grouting in the shower and a few places elsewhere could do with a little freshening up. However, everything worked OK and for only one night it was hardly a problem.

    Extremely convenient for the ferry at Ouistreham. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has its own spacious parking too, which was a big plus for us. Our bedroom was old-fashioned but very clean, nice yellow paint on the walls, and the beds were comfortable. The public areas downstairs were most attractive. The cooking is accomplished and we enjoyed our E14.90 menu dinner very much and the good wine list, some of which were available by glass, 50cl carafe or bottle. Would definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in easy reach of the ferry for either late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our particular room was small. It was clean and had been recently decorated, although the decor was generally a bit worn. Fine for the one night we were there, but doubts for longer.

    The hotel is in easy reach of the ferry for either late arrival (check hotel closing) or early departure. There is a bustling seaside area within a 20 minute stroll of the hotel and there are plenty of options for eating out in easy walking of the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location for ferry terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a hospitality tray - we like to start the day and end the day with a hot drink (which we did as we went prepared!)

    Good restaurant with alternative eating places within walking distance. Great location for ferry terminal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.0
    Okay fior 1 night if you are catching the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dingy and small. The bathroom was so tiny you had to reverse in. The shower has a very difficult entry. Not at all welcoming. I was glad to only be staying 1 night.

    it was convenient for the cross channel ferry. The restaurant was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late arriving in the ferry. The bar was closed, no alternative but to go to our room, on 2nd floor, no lift. Very basic room, tiny en suite. Very squeaky floor.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    The staff were welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed were poor quality, and the bathroom was particularly below adequate standard. We decided against breakfast as it was poor in quality and scope, and expensive.

    The staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO THE BRITTANY FERRY PORT AND EASY ACCESS...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT WAS VERY CLOSE TO THE BRITTANY FERRY PORT AND EASY ACCESS TO THE BUS SYSTEM SO THAT I COULD GET AROUND TOWN. THE STAFF WAS EXTREMELY PLESANT AND HELPFUL.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    Fine for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and basic and the bathroom was minute - as a tall person, I found it difficult to sit down!

    The hotel was very convenient from the port and we were happy to stay the one night before travelling on. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was good. It was very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Excellent value, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room but appreciate this is not common in French Hotels

    Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Very good dinner and excellent value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    good for overnight stay for ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are a little tired looking with very small bathroom. Breakfast is extra.

    Very convenient for the ferry, good onsite parking and restaurant choices nearby as well as it's own.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.6
    Completely unacceptable behavior of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was quite good until I tried wi-fi in my room. It didn't work -- ok, it happens sometimes. A hotel employee has told me that they had "technical problems" and that wi-fi worked in both lobbies (the hotel has rooms in two buildings so there are two lobbies). In fact wi-fi in our lobby also didn't work so I had to take my notebook and to go to other building' lobby. After 10 minutes this guy told me that "HOTEL IS CLOSED" and that I had go to my room because "I HAVE PAID FOR ROOM ONLY AND CAN NOT USE LOBBY". I could not beleive but he makes me go out of lobby. It was absolutely unacceptable and I definetely can not recommend to anyone this hotel.

    ---

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    It was OK for an overnight stay prior to getting thye ferry home the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and the shower/toilet was very small.

    Restaurant was very good, although the menu was limited what there was we enjoyed. Location is great for the ferry port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 19, Clean, comfortable, great location, welcoming staff. Only a short walk to the front where other bar / restaurants are located and a short drive to the 'old town' Finally, after five days traveling throughout Normandy and being left somewhat disappointed by hotels this establishment ticked all the boxes, well done to all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Excellent hotel and good value for an overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom. Very compact. Difficult to sit down/ get up when using toilet!

    Very convenient for access to/from Brittany Ferries Terminal.Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Would not use this Hotel again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff just wanted us to Eat & Go ...closed Hotel & Bar at end of our dinner at 2300hrs. yet we were a party of 17 high fun spenders..staff only motivated to finish and go home ! my shower in Room 8 too small to use..

    Food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location for overnight stay if catching early morning ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor boards in room and corridor very squeaky , wifi a bit hit and miss . Room clean but basic - shower cubicle a bit on the small side ! Trying to open the shower gell sachets was a bit of a challenge !

    Friendly staff, free onsite parking, good value restaurant and very close to ferry terminal .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Proximity to the ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to have breakfast from 7.00. (Breakfast only served from 7.30 so we went to a brasserie around the corner who served breakfast from 7.00.)

    Proximity to the ferry port

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    Great if you don't mind missing a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En-suite was far too small. I am large but I think even regular sized people would have some difficulty not to bang bits of themselves on the sink, toilet or shower door.

    The room was fine for a night. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. For the price it compares well with the Ibis up the road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was superbly located for an early ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was superbly located for an early ferry. Excellent restaurant (GVFM) with fab food & service. Our room was very comfortable & clean although a bit tired compared to the public areas, however still good facilities & a car park too! We will use again & wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Stop over for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to do anything about it as it is an old property but the floors were very squeaky.

    Convenient for the ferry. Plenty of parking. Evening meal in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, delicious food but room not as comfortable as desired.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed extremely hard and shower tray very small with bathroom cublicle also very small.

    Food was excellent. Dinner delicious and fish/seafood very fresh. Breakfast adequate with fresh bread and croissants as well as range of spreads etc, fresh coffee and cheeses and ham.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Hotel le Normandie Ouistreham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room overlooked a flat roof. It did not really bother us as we were only there for one night prior to boarding our ferry, early the following morning.

    The location of this hotel is excellent for restaurants and the ferry port. Having private parking on site is an added bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    I really can't comment on this hotel as we were there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't comment on this hotel as we were there for 18 hours at the most. We were in transit home and caught the early ferry back to uk. We travelled on a Sunday, and as the restaurant is not open Sunday evenings, we obviously didn't use it. We have used this hotel before as it is very handy for the ferry back to the UK.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    The dinner in the restaurant was good and service good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very dated but linen ok. We asked for a 7am call but although the manager put it on the phone it did not come through and we very nearly missed the ferry.

    The dinner in the restaurant was good and service good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.5
    Good restaurant with limited menu , staff friendly enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for two with decent size shower facilities would have been nice our,s was a little tight.

    Good restaurant with limited menu , staff friendly enough

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing but with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks prices way over the top. No house wine offered at bar. Bedrooms very tired and totally lacking in ambiance. The main course (catch of the day) was tasty (very small portion - so watch out if you have a good appetite!) but the fish soup was thin and uninteresting. We took a walk after dinner and all other restaurants were practically full whereas only one other couple ventured into this hotel. Overall, rather disappointing by French standards.

    Fantastic location for the ferry port, along with several other options online. Staff were friendly and accommodating, providing extra pillows for us. Bar and restaurant offered pleasing environment although hard to judge when there was only one other couple dining. Kir was brilliant and strong as I requested!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    4.6
    fab location but feel owners could offer meals & snacks to late arrivals x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    disappointing on arrival at 9.45pm ferry to discover Restaurant closed? but several guests were seated and remained in restaurant/bar until the early hours? The staff although friendly enough didn't go out of their way to offer snacks etc. - our first evening meal in France on this occasion consisted of crisps and chocolate that we had in the car for the journey - no restaurants open in the area and no shops open either! The room although fair was on the 3rd floor and quite cold - floor boards extremely creaky - in need of an up grade desperately!

    location to cross channel ferries

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    9.2
    Only 2 star? I feel the establishment could rate another star with just a few 'Tweaks' no problem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Room (No1) had the worlds creakiest floor & the shower cubicle could have done with a bit of an overall, Pillow's on the soft side which meant the spouse nicked mine ! But we slept well in a comfy bed

    It was really close to the Ferry Terminal, Great food & wine served within the establishment, no need to go wandering around on a cold Winters eve searching for a venue

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: