Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Particulier Richelieu

17 Rue Richelieu, 62100 Calais, France

#8 of 34 hotels in Calais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 762 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    good, convenient hotel for ferry crossing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only fault was the shower. It probably needs a new shower head, as although the water was plentiful, there was no power, so the water ran very close to the wall. It was possible but awkward to shower.

    The owner was very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was simple but good. Bread, croissants, juice, tea, coffee, chocolate. Bedding and towels clean. Excellent place to stay for ferry/ tunnel crossing. Property undergoing extensive renovation which didn't affect our stay. Once completed should be lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great place - book now
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Tous bon

    The whole place is great, excellent location on the park, close to bars, restaurants and the train station. Benoit is a really nice host, very friendly and lots of good tips. Also the bathroom is amazing, huge space with clawfoot bath.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great Calais stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were upgraded to a loft apartment which was clean, spacious and comfortable. We have stayed at Hotel Richelieu many times and Benoit is always very pleasant and helpful. Having secure parking at such a good rate is also a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Check in and check out very straightforward.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the bedroom was tired but the place was having some renovation work done. Lovely big bath.

    Check in and check out very straightforward. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly Private Hotel
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was being refurbished but no problem shoud be really nice when finished

    Really friendly staff good bedroom Excellent Breakfast Good location opposite a park close to main street

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Bizarre but charming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds instead of requested double bed.

    The quirkiness of the interior decoration. The monkeys on the wallpaper, the leopard print carpet and the 1940's wardrobes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location for us to catch the ferry and in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like, it was a decent price for the area and I slept great in a big comfy bed. Lots of refurbishment going on but no disruptions during our stay.

    Great location for us to catch the ferry and in the heart of Calais. The host was really helpful, friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    We will definatly use this hotel again, lovely owner and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast could have been a little better with a little more variety, however coisants were warm and coffee was fresh and set us up for our journey

    Prior to arriving I received an email asking what time we were to arrive and would we like a twin or double room We arrived later than expected but the owner was there waiting for us and asked us if we would like a room with a shower or bath and allowed us to look at both on our own. The rooms were clean and the bedding was super white and for me that’s the most important for a hotel. The hotel is being refurbed but doesn’t affect your stay, will be lovely to see the finished building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Refreshing overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing property under going renovation currently

    Roof top apartment allocated unexpectedly.... amazing value and owner very friendly and knowledgeable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Basic but clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms decorated in a very quirky way - leopard print carpet and very loud wallpaper.

    Good location, friendly welcome, free parking in street outside although we paid to park out the back of the hotel as our car full of luggage. Rooms were basic but clean. Didn’t stay for breakfast so can’t comment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for final night before ferry home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Benoit is a super host and very helpful. He is busy renovating the hotel.Rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. There is easy on street parking but for added security you can park at the back of the hotel in a secured yard for 5E a night. Super location very close to restaurants and ferry. Overlooks a lovely little park. Really excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to a lift. Ben did help us with our luggage which was quite unexpected. Not sure if renovations will incorporate a lift.

    Ben spoke and understood english which was helpful for us.. He catered for gluten free breakfast. Our bath and bedroom area was very clean with an extremely comfortable bed. The hotel was being renovated but it didn't impact our stay. Signs everywhere made reference to apologies and hoped our stay was good. The location was great and very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly adequate for an overnight stay before Eurotunnel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handheld shower over bath. Wallpaper on outside wall needed replacing as signs of damp.

    Friendly owner. Quiet location next to park. Easy on-street parking. Spacious bed with firm mattress.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Location is the best thing! Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing steady renovation but it is perfectly safe and clean. The shower was awkward, it's attached too close to the wall, and no shower curtain or door so floor gets very wet.

    The room was lovely, location absolutely fantastic, Benoit was helpful, polite, and speaks perfect English. The park over the road is gorgeous and the town is nice. Good beaches in very short driving distance, and great location for the Eurotunnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the room was not clean and the room was very small. Saturday night was quite loud outside the room - poor choice on our part though.

    Very friendly owner and excellent bread and jams for breakfast. Bed linen was very clean. Parking along the pretty park in front of the hotel was free. The police station is right next door, so the area was very safe. All in all, fair enough for a quick stop on the way home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location opposite a lovele park , 5 mins from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wallpaper was mouldy/ water damaged in my children's bedroom by the radiator and adjacent walls- hopefully part of future renovations .

    Great location opposite a lovele park , 5 mins from the ferry- around the corner from good restaurants and a handy food market on Saturday morning across the road where we bought lovely meat, veg and pastries

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise on the street outside and the risk of having your car broken into when parking on street around the park

    The hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    If you can overlook the renovations this place is good for an overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult as the hotel is undergoing some renovations but when complete will be a fine place. Decent location opposite the park and a short walk to various place to eat. The host was very helpful and for anyone staying the night for a ferry would be a decent choice. They also have secure parking at the rear worth the 5 euro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Good but not outstanding. Carrying the suitcases up two flights of stairs was not easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked well in advance but the room we were given was on the top floor. The building is under renovation. The breakfast was simple but filling and worth the money

    Benoit was enthusiastic to help and the location was spot on

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    The owner of the hotel was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find the hotel, because there wasn't a sign in front of the house.

    The owner of the hotel was very friendly. You have to know that the hotel (an old, historic house) is not completely renovated yet. The owner is doing this on his own in a very lovely way. The rooms are already finished and there are absolutely lovely. In front of the house there is a nice park. We enyoyed our stay, although it was just for one night. We would come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice small private hotel situated in the center of Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice small private hotel situated in the center of Calais. The owner Benoit was very friendly and welcoming and gave us a lot of tips about what to see in the area. Our room had very high quality bedsheets and mattress which I find to be the most important thing in a hotel. It was really a pleasure to sleep in them. The hotel is undertaking some modernization work which is all done by Benoit himself so ""Chapeau!!" for that. We will happily return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Calais overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked the park. Benoit, the owner, was very friendly ( put his number in your phone as there is no full time reception and I had to ring him when we arrived but he was there in less than 2 minutes on his bike!). Hotel has a small amount of secure parking for a small fee - keep your wine safe!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    just the ticket for a stop in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as usual, good, clean bed & bath and an excellent continental breakfast overlooking the park with easy street parking outside: what more could one want for a night in Calais?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Renoir was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not obvious to find from the street. Could maybe do with a better entry system. But really, that just added to the charm.

    Renoir was lovely. The hotel wasn't obvious from the street and we were unsure about how to enter. However, Renoir came to greet us, he was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is small and quirky and in the middle of lots of renovation work, but has lots of character. Amenities were as expected at a low price hotel, but everything was very clean and done with love. Would definitely use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Boutique accommodation in the heart of historical Calais overlooking a park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we could fault. There were stairs to be climbed to our suite so check this when booking.

    Comfortable accommodation, daily service, excellent location - we could walk everywhere we wanted.Musee des Arte just down the road. Beautiful park opposite so not hemmed in by buildings. Fascinating history all around. The Richelieu is also being decorated and furnished to reflect the period of the buildings - all with no inconvenience to us! Great eating within walking distance in the square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic value in a great. location and secure bike parking. Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good unless the refurb bothers you. It didn't us.

    This hotel had some refurb work going on but was clean and in a great location for restaurants and bars. The owner could not have been more helpful. Should advertise as motorcycle friendly as he had very secure parking (was an extra but worth it) and even had side stand supports on hand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    It's our second time here when we love it. We hope the building work is finished soon it will look g
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television does not work very well there is clearly a problem with the aerial connection

    Everything was lovely the breakfast was delicious and lots of choice. Benoit was extremely nice and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable and welcoming.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having curtains at the windows was a little disconcerting, although being on the top floor meant we were not overlooked. I was a little concerned that the early morning light would disturb our sleep but this wasn’t really a problem and we did appreciate the view.

    Loved the roll top bath and the classical music accompaniment to breakfast. The owner was welcoming and helpful and allowed us to practise our French although he speaks impeccable English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, and very helpful owner. The bed is very comfy plus lovely decorations. The place is under renovation but not still a good place to stay. The communication was excellent. The private car park is right behind the building which is very safe and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Cheap,clean,centre of tow.Couldnt ask for much more (breakfast 😁).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just feel breakfast could have been little better for the additional 8 euros each per night.Maybe hard boiled eggs and some cold meats.Perhaps it’s just me being picky! Host was lovely fella though so was hard to say something to him as we could see he was trying his best whilst trying to modernise the place. Maybe a croissant and coffee is similar price in the town.Back in September so will try it out.

    Access very easy with free on site parking. Can see the owner trying his hardest to renovate as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    We always stay here when we are in Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We always stay here when we are in Calais. The only (very slight) drawback is the Renovation Work which has been going on for ages. BUT that does not detract from the excellent comfort of tyhe rooms, cleanliness, wonderful breakfast (continental), and the staff (Tres Sympa). Gorgeous view of the park opposite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Really friendly and helpful owner, who is renovating the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really friendly and helpful owner, who is renovating the hotel himself. First impressions of the hotel itself were a bit mixed because of the renovations but he's doing a good job and the room was finished - and very nice. I'll be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Easy to find, close to the center of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Hotel is under renovation. No one said it before, breakfast is also not serving because of it. 2) There are no power sockets near bead! 3) You need password to enter hotel, you need to reply to the owner’s email otherwise you could not enter hotel (you need to call) 4) There were only 2 bath towels and one face towel. 5) There is no shower curtain, so it becomes extremely wet in bathroom. You could not put anything on the floor as there is no special towel for this purpose.

    Easy to find, close to the center of city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stop over before the start of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Communication was excellent, we arrived after the ferry at past midnight and could access the hotel and our room with no problem at all and the man on reception told us about a great bakery for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like this place always have a comfortable stay, the bath tub is great and the bed linens and pillows are really soft. I didn’t review last time as I was travelling and so I’ll give it 20

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Great, Benoit is a great host and the hotel represents great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about, even though renovation work was being undertaken, there was no mess or building materials lying around. The refurbishment work looks very good and will only add to the quality of further guests.

    Upon arrival we were met by the owner Benoit who offered us a choice of rooms of which we selected a first floor room with shower and balcony. The room had a huge bed , multi channel TV and was very clean and comfortable, all for a bargain price. Benoit kindly provide us with a map of Calais and recommended some nice restaurants within walking distance. Next morning 10 minutes to the Chunnel, overall very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.5
    Faulty Towers doesn't seem that bad, after all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need a phone to get in. OK if your mobile is charged, I guess. The owner is renovating the property himself! So I reckon it might be acceptable in about 3/4 years time. We had to go and find the owner to get some milk/sugar- the hotel does provide tea/coffee making facilities( a rare bonus in France) but they presume we all drink tea/coffee without milk and sugar.. Infor says bar available-nowhere to be seen? The shower was worse than useless

    I liked it when we left! The bedroom was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous typically french friendly, comfortable and clean hotel with exceptionally obliging hosts.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, its great as it is.

    The hotel is great!! True french style and when fully completed it will be even better than already rated. Room was very clean and comfortable, the oval bath is fabulous, just what you need after a hard days shopping. Extremely well situated to cater for all tastes regarding restaurants, we ate at the Sole Menuire and it was exceptional!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Handy place to stay although undergoing renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to spot the hotel - not much on the outside of the building to say it is a hotel! As others have said, most of the building is being renovated and that is a pitty since you can't escape that point no matter how charming the host is.

    Good location being in the centre of Calais. Bedroom had all the basics for our stay and we were able to have a lovely meal nearby. Our host gave us a good welcome and helped us with suggestions were we could eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Friendly owner and good location, although we arrived late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly owner and good location, although we arrived late and not many restaurants were open. Room was clean and comfortable but the hotel was clearly under major renovation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Goo location with off street parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they should have said when booking that there was renovations going on

    Goo location with off street parking. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it and will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are still renovating and it’s a long way up to the top floor without a lift.

    It’s is friendly and very well located. It’s clean and tidy. Well worth the cost.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Everything about the room was nice and comfortable.. The shower was very hot sealed it for me!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn’t stay longer😰

    Although the Hotel is under renervation .. very clean very tidy.. signs every where telling you to be careful!! Communication with the Hotel was spot on .. can fault it at all..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Local favourite, the Meurice, was closed for renovation. This hotel did us very well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the process of slowly being done up. To some extent staying there is a little haphazard. It will be better when whole corridors are completed.

    Room, location and price all very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is good value for money . Extremely easy to find and very central for all the restaurnts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a lift would be very nice. We were on the 3rd floor and it was quite a climb.

    we were made to feel very welcome and the room was warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    We ate and slept well and will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is currently being re-furbished and whilst the room and bathroom were newly fitted, clean, newly decorated and the beds very comfortable, the corridors were somewhat dusty and un-decorated with some partition walls missing. I found it a bit off putting, however this won't last long, and this lovely spacious old hotel will soon look refreshed.

    Our reception was both warm and friendly. The proprietor was extremely helpful and went out of his way to satisfy my needs for a Gluten free and Dairy free breakfast. He also provided a map and detailed directions to local restaurants and sites. A selection of local restaurants are in short walking distance, we had a good meal just minutes from the hotel. The bathroom had sufficient space to sit on the toilet in comfort ( not always the case) and the shower was also spacious. We were able to reserve an off street parking space by phone beforehand, behind the hotel. The front door requires an entry code and it helps to ensure that your time of arrival is announced up front so that someone is in reception to let you in if - like us - you knock on the door. Otherwise there is a tel. number written on the door for you to call, only as far as I recall, this was written in French and of course this requires that you have a charged mobile phone with you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Lovely little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently undergoing renovation in the hallway and landings. The owner of the hotel was extremely welcoming, helpful and spoke excellent English. The bedrooms were traditionally decorated and very clean. Excellent value for money. Will stay again if visiting Calais again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Although the place looks somewhat outdated from the outside and the hallway is beeing renovated, the room is very comfortable and the owner is ultra nice. We loved our stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's undergoing renovation so going to be even nicer when completed.

    Everything was lovely, such a good and friendly host. Will Deffo be returning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could here other people in the hotel sneezing, but as the property is in the process of being renovated sound proofing will improve.

    Fabulous location with safe parking in the centre of Calais. Just a short stroll to numerous cafes, bars and restaurants. The owner is very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, he also speaks excellent english. Just a 10 minute drive to the ferry or the tunnel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Our third visit here, and probably not the last. the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and spacious room overlooking the park. The hotel is very convenient to many bars and restaurants. Excellent continental breakfast, but would be better if the coffee pot was left on the table instead of just having one cup poured out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely relaxed stay - felt really traditionally french!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous host. Quirky hotel with bags of character - undergoing renovation but despite this the room was clean and comfortable. Great location with lots of restaurants and easy access to the centre of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel, great location & helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some refurbishment underway but the work stopped by early evening so didn't cause any issues noise-wise. Breakfast OK comprising croissants, bread & cereals although only having jams as fillings wasn't ideal for a diabetic like myself. Ergo, cheese or cold meats would have been appreciated. Hotel does need a sign outside though as easy to miss which I mentioned to Benoit.

    Nice location overlooking a park. Room itself very comfortable with a large bed, balcony, crisp linen and a lovely clean bathroom. Hotel is run by Benoit and his wife, and the booking process was straightforward with good communications. There is secure parking in a locked yard behind the hotel with some street parking at the front.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    It was a clean, tidy and pleasant place to spend the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the renovation work has been completed it will be much nicer. We didn’t need one but there is no lift, be warned! The hall courtesy light doesn’t come on until you reach the stairs, when leaving the bedrooms.

    It was an incredibly convenient location for our purposes. The staff were extremely helpful. The coffee at breakfast was very good and kept coming just the way I need in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    High quality price rate, clean, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom fully equipped, enough water temperature, easy to use shower, good view through window, comfortable sheets and quilts, high quality/price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    Generally disappointed except for the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside was like a tenemant block in a backstreet wasn't happy about parking on the street and nobody to meet us hallway and stairway looked sad and in need of a good facelift

    The Room was clean the bed was big and comfertable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location but would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road noise even with shutters closed and the fact that on arrival we found the door locked with a number to call with a promise of a call back that never came. Stood out in the rain and wind until somebody arrived at 16.15.

    Place was clean with a comfortable bed and bathroom with toiletries was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is very convenient and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is very basic and require renovation. No fridge. You hear every noise from a corridor.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient and close to everything. There is a possibility to park a car in front of the hotel. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, very comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine.

    The owner was very helpful and gave us some good suggestions for restaurants. We arrived earlier than expected which was fine and we're given a choice of rooms. The hotel is currently being done up but is still very clean. We would go again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    A lovely clean and comfortable stay in Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was excellent value for money. The hotel is very central, easy to find and the owner was really helpful in making arrangements for a late arrival after our ferry arrival. The room was clean and comfortable. It was absolutely perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly. Would like to try again once renovations are completed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather on the small side. Property undergoing renovation so it will be interesting to see the final result before judging.

    Very friendly welcome. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Decent accommodation for a couple nights stopover in calais. host is very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was exceptionally small.

    second or third time we have stayed here. property is still in process of upgrading & renovation. breakfast is basic continental. ideal for Calais center with a good choice of bars/restaurants etc., within few mins walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay overnight in Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a better breakfast selection. What we had was good though. No lift so need to be able to climb stairs

    Secure parking. Great welcome. Room comfortable. TV excellent. Close to many restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Friendly owner, great location, work in progress - as all the signs in the hotel remind you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy. Given its a ferry port I suppose late arrivals happen. Someone turned up noisily at 1am and wood floors and stairs add to the sound effects!

    Very well located for town and ferries, secure parking for motorbike (or cars) but charged for, rooms are ok but need finishing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hospitality,Nice breakfast, near to restaurants Looking forward to going back next year.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Benoit is extremely helpful and courteous. We always stay here when we can. It is so near to the restaurants, and the beach is within walking distance. It's the perfect stopover.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient stopover in a good location with close proximity to restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Manager was very helpful. He answered e.mails quickly. He was there when we arrived and was able to offer us parking. He was very informative regarding the area and recommended a restaurant which we found to be excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in an un-renovated room which was fine - all was clean and comfortable. The step-up shower was good and completely tiled but did present a hazard when stepping out as walls and floor were slippery with no grab handle/rail. There was no shower curtain to stop the floor getting wet.

    The staff were most welcoming and helpful. The ambience of the breakfast room was calm and relaxing with a good range of food. The views from the balcony over-looking the park were lovely. There was easy on street parking outside the hotel that was free. In a good position as a base to visit Calais and surrounding towns with Le Touquet just 45 min away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location in Calais to local restuarants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift to any floors!

    The owner Benoit is extremely helpful from your original booking, check in and through out your stay. (speaks good English) The hotel is in a good location opposite a park just off the main street through the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great, central hotel with friendly staff and generous continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being renovated but no work is currently ongoing. Some interior paintwork and renovation is still required but the rooms are complete

    Rooms are spacious (unusual for France!) and very clean with comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a welcome alternative to the large, impersonal chain hotels. Excellent location for visiting Calais and for quick access to the tunnel or ferries. Benoît is a very helpful host, providing information about the area and a warm welcome. Comfortable bed and quiet atmosphere. Secure parking for our motorbikes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    The kindness and thoughtfulness of the owner Benoit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, consisted of croissants, traditional French bread, cereals, yogurts, fruit juices, fresh fruit. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate........ Our car broke down late evening, fortunately right outside the hotel. The owner Benoit, rang his brother who dropped off jump leads the next morning. The next morning Benoit helped start the car, but alas the battery would not charge for long, so he (Benoit) rang his local garage who put a new battery on for us. A kind and thoughtful man who helped us out in our time of need. Thank you Benoit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Croissants were the best ever.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I sat outside for 45 minutes when I arrived with my brother as the hotel was locked. We were not using cel phones at random; when he did call, the message was in rapid French that neither of us could understand. Perhaps you could install a buzzer. Also, with my knee problems, the climb of 55 steps to the top floor was very difficult for me.

    Croissants were the best ever. Room very quiet and restful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    An experience we will repeat next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A property with genuine character that is being sympathetically restored.Very pleasant and helpful owner.All amenities within 5 minute walk.Very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Was overall a pleasure to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a few more sockets.

    The convenience of being close to the town centre but a quiet area. The manager/owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly guest house in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast at 8 euros each had limited choice of things to eat. No boiled eggs, cold meat or pieces of cheese.

    Very comfortable king size bed in a large room with balcony overlooking the park across the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: