Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Barrière Le Royal Deauville 5 stars

Boulevard Cornuché, 14800 Deauville, France

#19 of 76 hotels in Deauville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 638 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    A lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much . This is an old hotel but was generally made very comfortable.

    Our 4 night stay was a most enjoyable experience helped by very friendly and welcoming staff . We will most certainly return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    A romantic stay in this wonderful hotel in the heart of the beautiful Deauville
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Truly no negative points. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel.

    The atmosphere of the stylish hotel is special. The staff is wonderful and there to make your stay perfect. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Service was awful, even though staff were nice they did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was awful, even though staff were nice they did nothing. Delayed my check in two hours. Virtually no service at the pool. Just subpar in all aspects of service. Don’t know how they got their five stars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Only place to stay in Deauville if you can afford it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink prices ridiculous. Spa was nice but checkin strange. Not offered robe or option to use sauna or steam beforehand (they are there) so not ideal. Only other small thing was no hair conditioner in the room which is standard for a 5 star hotel.

    Stunning almost perfect hotel in every way. Service was amazing across the board. Loved the piano bar. Young artist Hugo Silver was mesmerizing - must see him if you go.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay in delightful Deauville and in a majestic hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a room on the fifth floor and wife allergic to lifts, we did not need the Fitness Centre ! Maybe therefore we found the room very hot. Some form of cooling is essential.

    Style. Atmosphere. History. Polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    1 of 2 key hotels in Deauville
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is big and it is difficult to keep everything in the perfect order. We had small problems with water supply in the toilet and with tv cables. The hotel's gym is tiny, however we had a great morning jogging on the plain ocean air, using park fitness facilities. The corridor walls of the ground floor are covered with photos of celebrities, even so, I didn't feel any particularity in the hotel, any character. It must be good for high-grade corporative events.

    There are only 2 "grand" hotels in Deauville center : Barriere Normandy and Barriere Royal. Royal is relatively new and big hotel, which is a bit further, to the left from the center of the town (looking at the ocean). I find that such location is better, cause the beach is nicer, cleaner and calmer, more it is to the left. The hotel is facing а beautiful garden, laying along the beach. I would say, the location is ideal. Big enough open swimming pool is definitely a rare advantage for a hotel in Deauville. We had a side view from the 5th flor: the ocean view was gorgeous! The ocean, cape, estuary, Trouville hills, marina, casino and whole town at a glance!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.0
    What a major disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was incredibly and unnecessarily slow. Response times generally took over one hour. Lack of air conditioning in the rooms was a complete surprise. Being pressured by the concierge to make a booking for the hotel restaurant, claiming how full it was, and then when we arrive, the dining room being less than 40% occupied. The price for the meals, both breakfast and dinner, were completely overpriced considering the limited choices and quality of the food. For a 5***** star hotel, we were expecting so much more. Unfortunately, this experience has us questioning why this hotel has such a rating. The location alone doesn't merit the price or its rating.

    The location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    An old fashioned hotel with great ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor english speaking staff, small gym, bit old fashioned. Babies crying in restaurant, babies crying in room next to us, prices in the bar.

    Location, friendly staff, room size, great restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    2.5
    My mother passed away suddenly and they would not refund my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother passed away suddenly and they would not refund my payment because it had a non cancellation clause. Not very empathetic management team. I'll never recommend them or stay at any of their money grubbing establishments.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Dog friendly luxury
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff are amazingly friendly, kind and helpful. It's beautifully furnished, but the staff made our dog welcome everywhere. In the bar you are given beautiful cheesy pastries and the most amazing olives with a glass of beer and petit fours with a coffee. The dining room is very grand with helpful staff and great food. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Royal is not really ROYAL - needs a lot of refurbishment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too slow check in and long lines to the reception desk; No air-conditioners in the room (is this at all possible these days for the room at a rate of 330 EUR); very old bathroom, where the door needs to be pushed heavily to be opened and closed; the hot/cold water in the tube - watch it out, one might get burnt under the boiled water running from the tube, once you switch from a shower

    Beautiful location; extremely nice staff at the lobby bar;

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    Lovely historic hotel with great staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices at the hotel restaurant too high. Breakfast as well. So I never ate there, other than a drink or snack at the bar.

    Staff, building, location, style, ground-floor bar

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.8
    We liked the location and the facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is overrated. For the rate we paid we at least expected to have breakfast included. We were charged for the parking without being told in advance. We also asked for a business assistance for some documents and people were not responsive.

    We liked the location and the facility

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    I asked a member of staff to do something and it never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked a member of staff to do something and it never happened...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good experience. Relaxing location in a historical atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food choices and tastes in the pool bar to be improved

    Always great experience. Very friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    The respond to a request made by phone was bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The respond to a request made by phone was bad

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice overnight stay on the way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service a bit variable

    Sense of the 1920's Comfortable room Excellent internet access

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Great locati9n for this luxury hotel but Normandy is better!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and communal spaces decor looks tired

    Nice luxury hotel Central location by the sea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Amazing experience, excellent personnel and view from the rooms, totally worth visiting! recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast and the lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if the room was refurbished it s a little bit old

    The breakfast and the lounge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff, a great room with a magnificent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, a great room with a magnificent view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast is too expensive- 25 euros it is not acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nonaffordable breakfast

    Breakfast is too expensive- 25 euros it is not acceptable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Proximitiy to the beach,great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could do with a decor update. Like a five star hotel in the 80s.

    Proximitiy to the beach,great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    I would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town & beaches

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic comeback after 25 years :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink blocked

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Allowing dogs in dining room might please pet lovers, but a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Allowing dogs in dining room might please pet lovers, but a turn-off to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Best choice in Deauville!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could remember

    Amazing staff , great hotel and great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Beaches near the hotel.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite dilapidated.

    Beaches near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel and great service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Grand hotel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    A grand hotel near the beach. It's grandeur is maybe a bit passé but it was still very nice to experience it. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. Bacon terrible. The hot food was often cold. They ran out of hash browns very early on Sunday. No milk in bedrooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Bad value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is Old , cheap, packed, they must refurb it soon

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Exceptional Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great experience! Fantastic Hotel! This was the one of the best hotel I've stayed in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the room was perfect but not a friendly price compares to the room s price :(

    Beautiful hotel in Deauville at a friendly price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Great Hotel + Great Location ( Deauville 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I though a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Hotel would have Airconditioning also I thought 70 Euro's was excessive for breakfast 👎🏿

    Staff, food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    cama confortavel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel old fashion

    cama confortavel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    5 stars indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was adorable. Loved the french cuisine at the restaurant! I will go back for sure! 5 stars indeed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    A surprise gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private coffee/ tea making facilities in the room- small point

    Staff were extremely efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didn't dislike anything

    everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Knightsbridge on Sea
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV no real English Channels Toilet remote from Bathroom

    Great Service Beautiful Area Great beach and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Perfect for Beach, Races and Oysters !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Time to see horses exercising on beach !!

    Wonderful concierge made our stay a joy !! Ask to arrange table at the races !! Thank you so much !!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    6.7
    The bar & the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In GENERAL, this hotel URGENTLY needs COMPLETE REFURBISHMENT!!! The Old DRAPERIES & FITTED CARPETS STINK EVERYWHERE!!! The Breakfast was VERY POOR ! BOTH the VISUAL Presentation & The Quality were DISGUSTING!!! Certainly Not suitable of a FIVE STAR HOTEL!!! POOR HÔTEL ROYAL!!!

    The bar & the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    There was no info on Booking that the sauna/hammam was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no info on Booking that the sauna/hammam was closed for renovation. This was one of the reason we choose this hotel, so we are looking for some kind of compensation.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    5.8
    The decoration of the room, the bath and shower, the...
    • Couple

    It was our wedding night and not even a breakfast was offered to us. My new husband asked reception to give me a surprise at breakfast to celebrate the fact we were just married and they did not do anything, saying their breakfast is nice enough. All he wanted was some flowers or chocolate. They did not suggest anything else like a glass of champagne for instance. I went to other hotels less expensive that make better efforts. One of my friends works in a 5 star hotel in Paris and he was shocked by the poor quality of service of the staff. Also I almost missed my train because the concierge took 20 minutes and 2 phone calls to collect my bags. I will not go back and regret I paid so much with the hope to have an exceptional hotel which ended up average. There was a bug in our bed as well...and no air conditioning or fan whereas there was a hit wave.

    The decoration of the room, the bath and shower, the bathrobe, the sea view and small balcony.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was very traditional and located pretty close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very traditional and located pretty close to the beach and casino. It was old school and proud of it. Some would say tired, but I thought it was still very posh. The dining room was great and the chefs did not disappoint.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    We booed a superior room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booed a superior room. It had a nice bed, eighteen inches from the wall ! Not room to barely walk past it ! The whole room was TINY , ! Ridiculous for 1125 euros for three nights !!!!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.5
    I liked the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Always big groups. Breakfast good food but so many people. Looked like a huge canteen. Huge tables,a mess

    I liked the room.I didn't see air conditioned but we didn't need it.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    The friendliness and kindness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing serious to mention here. It was an enjoyable stay with no complains. But I thought the roon price was a bit high considering the furtniture and bathrooms were not that luxurious.

    The friendliness and kindness of the staff. The location of the hotel with our room having a fantasic sea view.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    9.6
    Bedrooms have been refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Still no air conditioning. Wash basin in bathroom with bad crack (room 446) No tea/coffee making facilities in room for a 5 Star hotel.

    Bedrooms have been refurbished. Long overdue

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa not working

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    beds were super confy and staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    weather

    beds were super confy and staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    The location, the decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is over priced.

    The location, the decoration

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs an update at the moment. Value for money is a question mark

    location Staff Food

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    buffet breakfast not up to par

    location

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.5
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    BATHROOM AND TOILET AT OPPOSITE ENDS OF THE MAIN ROOM?

    LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Very helpful staff, lovely meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bathroom with a dinky bath.

    Very helpful staff, lovely meals.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disco van festival ernaast

    Super

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Everything is going well
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything is going well

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    staff where great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no kettle in room

    staff where great room was good quality food was good hotel position parking was very handy

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Absolutely superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My stay was way too short

    Absolutely superb

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful hotel. Excellent helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No 24h room service no possibility of late breakfast

    Bed room view very good in general

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner in the evening was rather let downl

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with great style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel with great style. Perfect location to the beach, tennis, golf , swimming, cycling, walking through the beautiful town.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff are accommodating and friendly without being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are accommodating and friendly without being overbearing.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Everything was fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was fine!

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price of breakfast, not given price for full or continental.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The humane touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The humane touch

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Everything is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything is perfect

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: