Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Château de Fontainebleau 4 stars

41 rue Royale, 77300 Fontainebleau, France

#9 of 17 hotels in Fontainebleau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure could be higher. Couldn’t get a taxi to the train station on Sun morning and had to lug my large suitcase over cobblestone to the Carrousel 15 mins away.

    Amazing location for my purpose (INSEAD and Chateau). Very clean, spacious and v nice bed. Staff was kind and spoke good English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not ready on arrival. Interruptions of electricity. Expensive breakfast €19 pp so did not partake!!

    Quiet and close location to Palace of Fontainebleau . Majority of staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel / staff has chosen us as guests of the day! We received a free upgrade to a suite room, together with a free drink and a bite. This was a very pleasant surprise, which we appreciated very much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel has by far the best hotel staff ever seen in France. Group of young people, very pleassant, polite, helpfull, clear etc etc...... Although we travel a lot. Even children were talking about the positif attitude of all working in this hotel. Compliments!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room where the toilet flush did not work, despite the staff knew about that problem (as they told us, it had been "repaired" that day). In the evening, I was offered an express check-out, that I accepted. Despite that, I was stopped in the morning while leaving, just to get my email address for no reason. I would expect a more professional staff in a hotel of this category.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent locación, quite confortable room, excellent breakfast and bar, intelectual ambience, good wifi connections ,exellent for Insead and Chatear de Fontainebleau.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms look way nicer on the pictures. Swimming pool was not available

    Good food and nice staff and located right next to INSEAD so if you want to visit the business school - Mercure is the best place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The music in the bar/restaurant was overwhelmingly bass driven. Made eating uncomfortable. They would be better off playing jazz than hip-hop.

    The beds were comfortable. The room was well designed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was in offer, the rate for 1 night was expensive, both for the room as well as for the breakfast

    Simple, quit and nice hotel in Central Position. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's only a very minor quibble in what was a really nice stay, but it was a shame that none of the English speaking news channels were working during this time, although we did point out the problem a couple of times.

    Staff were pleasant, helpful and very professional. The decor and design throughout the hotel was imaginative, and our room was quite large.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. The staff were very helpful in accommodating our preferences which included a disabled friendly room.

    The room was very comfortable. Our purpose in staying at Fontainbleau was to visit the chateau which was about ten minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is a bit of a hit or miss. They do not have any vegan food whatsoever and one night we ordered pasta and we had to wait a full hour (!) for a plate of pesto spaghetti even though the restaurant was almost empty.

    The rooms are really nice and modern. We were on the 3rd floor. The bed is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the trips to and from the airport was exorbitantly high. The drivers lack basic manners. I am not an English speaking person but speak English so that others can understand me. The drivers attitude is that French or nothing. I must say I have been to France trice, it is a beautiful country with great facilities but this issue make me not want to go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no bath tub and only one small dustbin in bathroom. I found myself walking in room much just for the dustbin.

    The breakfast is comfy seating, peaceful, relaxing and the variety of food is good. The location of hotel is near Insead or town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was busy with renovations so the passages, etc didn't look very welcoming.

    Nice size rooms. Walking distance to the Fontainebleau Chateau.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing we did not like it was longer from the town we would have liked, but after dinner it was nice to walk it off before going to bed

    it was a shame that the hotel was steal being done up, but it will be lovely when it is done, staff very helpful room ok, there is a fifteen min walk to the town and restaurants room clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor dining facilities; poor shower; excessive rate for a hotel of this quality, should be in the order of 100-120 euro, certainly in quiet times

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really enjoyed my stay at this Hotel! I was very well treated and all the staff were friendly, kind, helpful and real professionals. On our check-in we met someone - Miss Gerline, that was very kind and helped us to feel comfortable till the end! Breakfast was very good and at the Lounge 41, food was very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By accident we double booked our double room , because the booking.com site didn't indicatie that our reservation was complete , we repeated the proces but the next day we found out , that appearantly our first booking did went trough afterall. Upon arriving we found out that the hotel had a reservation for 2 rooms , we explained that a mistake had been made an that we only required 1 room , the hotel manager told us bad luck , the rooms are prepaid by your creditcard and you won't get a refund !! We ofcourse complaint about this misconduct but they still kept the payment for 2 rooms while we never took possesion of the second room for the whole weekend. This is fraud and they are criminals , booking.com should do something about this !!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Afternoon tea service wasn't up to standard.

    We had dinner in the hotel, b/c of bad weather. The dishes on offer were tasty and well prepared. Nice staff. The breakfast room was well stocked. Pastries maybe a bit limited (croissants, pains au chocolat). Otherwise, plenty to fill in with before starting the day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco didnt work

    Great location (especially for INSEAD visitors), excellent breakfast, nice staff, spacious rooms, easy parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was good and parking on site easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 minute walk from INSEAD campus, big room, comfortable bed, new bathroom, and clean. Plus friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in a separate "room"

    Really quiet, great beds, good restaurant, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice location, walking to Fontainebleu is very easy in 10 minutes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not open

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for us. Close to our daughter house and school

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was mot vert helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cafe gourmand at dinner was poor standard.

    Clean, modern, young staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive but excellent breakfast. Location very good. Smart clean hotel with nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior - good design

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite costly. Rather dull breakfast.

    Located right next to INSEAD. Spacious rooms. Good service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad wifi if you have to be there for work

    Great service, bar, restaurant and even live music during dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the interior design and the blue color

    located close to INSEAD Business school

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small rooms....but freshly renovated.

    Perfect location for Insead

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo No slipper

    Poor shampo quality No slipper!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful , location good for visiting Fountainebleau.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for visiting the Palace. You may need the GPS/satnav to find the hotel. Room service very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - the bathroom is really outdated - too late refills at the breakfast during rush time

    - comfortable bed - location near INSEAD

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was cold!

    The location and facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    location and car park really good , easy find and near the town center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast area is small.

    Very friendly staff and a very clean room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had connecting room, both rooms are big, very confortable, service is very nice, good recommand

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size room, comfortable for 3

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Desk clerks were a bit crabby.

    Room was clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    19 euros for breakfast was too expensive

    Great parking and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I liked the happy hour

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Various rubbish on statues at the front.

    Cleansiness,bathroom and separate wc. Door separating bathroom and toilets to bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - comfortable modern hotel. Good value for money.

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no problem.

    This is a good standard hotel of this chain. Pleasant location for a tour of the castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy building/garden work disturbed our sleep early in morning

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff helpfulness

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom, but I guess the rooms will be redecorated this year

    breakfast although well expensive for Eur 16

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do not like carpets.

    location was good for me.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room size

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs some upgrade and to add some soap.tooth brush lotion and comb to all rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was pretty poor,the curtain caused the bathroom to flood. The girl at the breakfast bar was miserable and rude behind our backs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was spacious and quiet, the bed was very comfortable. The location is great - you can reach the castle by foot in 10 min. Delightly surprised by the choice of American pancakes for breakfast and Nespresso pads coffee.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too expensive for what it was offered. At this rate and with this sort of facilities, at the very least breakfast should be included! The decor was really dated, the heating did not work properly, deficient soundproofing, the hairdryer was a joke...

    Location, perfect if you are taking an INSEAD program. Only reason why I would book again.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lunch and dinner was scanty. There should be robust food choice options

    I enjoyed my stay. Very close proximity to INSEAD...which made my training stress-free and much more interesting.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were greeted by the most friendly woman who arranged an interconnecting room and an extra bed for our family. She aslo provided us with a map of local area and pointed out areas of interest. Her friendliness and helpfulness set the tone for a wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was no air con..it was too hot. we left the windows open and there was too much noisr from the restaurant below. the coffee , sugar milk was in sufficient and there was no staff to ask for more the price is quite high and does not include breakfast..all in all very poor value for money

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room price is a bit on the high side

    Very close to INSEAD which is a plus if you are having a course over there also if it is raining outside and you need to run back to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    claimed to have a dinner restaurant, which was a single member staffing the bar and eating area with extremely limited options. Basically bar snacks which is not great when arriving late and expecting to be able to have a reasonable selection of hot dishes. Disappointing.

    Clean, convenient, good parking, nice friendly staff. Good breakfast options.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Excellent service friendly & helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not 4 stars!

    Location near INSEAD is Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -breakfast is not worthy

    -perfect location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very close to insead

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One of the front desk staff Justine provides v good services!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air-conditioning during the heat wave in Fontainebleau.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor plumming. No air conditioner.

    Good location close to INSEAD, very helpful and hospitable staff, close to chateau.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the staff was less cheerful than normal

    Clean and large rooms

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: