Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Hôtel 3 stars

1 place d'Assas, 30000 Nîmes, France

#12 of 34 hotels in Nîmes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Quirky and close enough to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs and a simple breakfast. The bathroom was a bit tired. Very nosy outside the room but that stopped at 12am in the dot.

    Quirky and close enough to the station. A great spot to see the sites of Nîmes. The superior room is definitely worth the extra.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Location and quirky decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom felt claustrophobic as windows small and high up so unable to see out or any view. Although I appreciate the age and it was once a convent.

    Location and quirky decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Central is god but Ned’s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning system needed an engineering degree to operate

    Basic breakfast enough to start the day. Difficult WiFi set up. It took thre staff to get us on line. That’s stupid. We booked a dinner in the hotel restaurant and arrived to our table to wait over 20 min for a drink. Not a good sign so we went to a fabulous restaurant called Le Vintage very nearby. Great veal dish. Location of Royal is exceptional and it’s nit uncomfortable if you want to wait 5 minutes to get hot water for a face wash. The WiFi let me down as I had a FaceTime plan which didn’t go ahead - same night as restaurant blues set in. Nice staff and central just don’t expect too much.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, right price... awful entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. ... price... bed.. Pillows

    Location... pillows... bed Entrance awful..,, had to go over all kinds things to get to the front desk. And it was stinky 😱

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Nimes is good and this is a good centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We could not master the wash basin tap for hot water. The shower was hot and ok. The decor is dated in our room and needs new tiles etc to improve the first impression. There was noise from the bar and bar-food facilities that lasted until around 1am. There was no heating in the bathroom which in early spring leaves it cool.

    The room was large and had good ventilation and an adjacent bathroom which was large and airy and also had a window. There was a large wardrobe which was useful. There was a door to separate the corridor from the hotel bar to reduce noise. We were on the 2nd floor (3rd floor French).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful retreat in the heart of the action yet perfectly peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really that distracted us from having a good time. Shower head drowned the bathroom but we didn't complain about it, really not a big deal and I seemed to drown the bathroom far less than my husband!!

    What a great find. We hadn't fully appreciated the proximity of the hotel to the Maison Carree, I let out a 'wow' when we arrived. The square the hotel also overlooks is pretty and peaceful but you're right in the heart of the action, ten minute walk to the Arene and other hot spots. Hotel is everything as described. Worth upgrading to a superior room, we stayed in 18. Fantastic bar 'Bling Bling cocktail amazing, beautiful food/tapas, excellent value for money and a real top spot for locals - always felt classy though. Superior room for 3 nights, breakfast, drinks in the bar on 2 nights and dinner/wine was €525.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a considerable price, we stayed in the smallest double room I've ever seen. The room we had was that small that we could not open the door entirely as it was touching the bed. The bathroom was very small with a plastic scrolling door as separation that was looking much like curtain than a door. Some parts of the wall was cracked and we had to manage the light with 3 little table lamps.

    Comfy bed. Good location. Nice shampoo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Boutique hotel , centrally located with a great restaurant and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room flooring needs repairs. House keeping needs to improve

    Excellent location and staff. Was impressed when they offered to bring breakfast to the room after hours since kids were asleep. Every staff member had a personal touch and made sure you are comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful. Very noisy due to outside bar with DJ till midnight &, due to not having tap on radiator, I couldn’t turn it off. Bathrooms in both our rooms were in major need of updating & looked really tatty. Definitely wouldn’t stay here again.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    During our visit to france, we stayed in four separate hotels, some of them 4-star. The Hotel Royal
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little crowded, and the baguettes were not crisp. For the price, the breakfast was poor.

    The staff was super helpful with our luggage and with directions. The location on that square was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Central, convenient location, good staff and breakfast, but facilities are a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room and the common areas were a bit tired, particularly the bathroom. Be mindful of the steep stairs and lack of elevator.

    Staff were helpful and informative. Very nice breakfast on the sunporch. Very central location -- our car never left the underground public garage nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    One night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor was a little tired on close inspection but quite satisfactory for an overnight stay.

    The hotel was preparing for a major city festival commencing the following day and a lot of the facilities were closed down. Regardless of this the staff made us very welcome, with a complimentary upgrade to a Superior room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.0
    Our stay at Royal Hôtel was a heart-warming welcome to France!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower head came off on out first night and flooded the bathroom. It was no serious problem and we fixed it ourselves. Maybe the staff should just check all connections when servicing rooms.

    The Royal Hotel is in a perfect location for all excursions into Nimes. We walked all over the place! The staff are this place's biggest asset. They were always patient, friendly and helpful and really did go the extra mile to fulfil our needs and assure that we were comfortable and happy. The eclectical decor is very interesting! The room was wonderfully quiet with a delightful view of the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Quality, affordable, hotel on a first rate location with very convenient, public, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel restaurant was good, however, the staff were not helpful when my wife was tired and wanted to take her drink back to our room. My only other constructive comment is that a lift would have been a bonus.

    We were very kindly upgraded to a suite to accommodate my wife who has a walking difficulty and needed a first-floor room as there is no lift. The room was spacious, stylish and the seating area and bed very comfortable. The suite has a view of the road through high windows. The location of the hotel is terrific. The square outside has great character with world-class statues & fountains plus the outside dining area of the hotel's own restaurant and two other quality establishments. The Royal Hotel is a short walk from the centrepiece of Nimes, the Roman Amphitheatre, plus the old centre of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice clean and comfortable hotel ,centrally located for all the attractions .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small but adequate . Could do with a new shower head but couldn't most hotels 🤔

    Very good location for everything . Ladies on reception were very helpful and friendly .Room was clean and bed comfy and aircon was effective and quiet . Restaurant looked nice and very busy most nights.Had fresh Oysters on menu but sadly never sampled ,maybe next time .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Nothing Royal as the name promises - it's absolutely disgusting!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny, dirty, extremely humid and with a horrible smell of humidity room overlooking a small internal court with aircon motors in it so the room was not only noisy and we couldn't open the curtain to let in the fresh air and daylight but the window was extremely hot because of the heat released by the aircon motor and this increased the high temperature in the room!! Air conditioning system absolutely obsolete, extremely noisy and with no possibility to change the intensity or go below the established by the hotel temperature! A curtain instead of a wardrobe! Spiders on the ceiling of the room! The toilet was so old and dirty that we didn't even took a shower after a long trip from Italy, it was absolutely disgusting with the toilet door full of footprints and dirty spots, broken sink and broken and dirty shower! At 3 a.m. we were there still trying to get asleep and we wanted to go to sleel in the car but the reception is closed during the night! All this horror at the official rate of 82 eur per night - stolen money!!!!! The restaurant is just like the hotel: in perfect French we asked them for a very very well done hamburger but they brough a medium one, I asked once again for a very very well done explaining the reason and once again they brought me a medium one....I stayed without dinner and they had the courage to put it in the bill and they took it out only after I refused to pay for sth I never ate! The hotel and restaurant absolutely to avoid!!!!!

    The only positive thing of this hotel is its central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Lovely, quirky hotel right next to Le Maison Carrée
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was ineffective but I'm sure this is just a repair as opposed to it being common throughout the rooms.

    HUGE room, HUGE bed - and all very comfortable. Nimes is beautiful and our view of Place d'Assas was equally so.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Good place for overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didn't seem that friendly due to our late arrival. Hotel restaurant very busy late but appeared primarily for drinks vs. meal. Menu wasn't that varied as next door.

    Old style hotel was nice. Breakfast was good. Coming up from underground parking area was right in front of hotel. Although paid parking, it was convenient. Hotel had restaurant and also restaurant next door. Arriving late, about 10pm, hotel restaurant very crowded but menu offering wasn't as good as next door. Their restaurant staff friendly with info about breakfast. Nice decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    4.2
    A Faulty French Hotel Shabby But Not Chique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the hotel reception to be unhelpful, frosty, more keen to take a payment then welcome us as guests, also quite, frosty, more keen to take a payment then welcome us as guests. Whilst we managed to secure an offer through booking.com the children's room was great but our double room was very poor with holes in the carpet chipped paint etc Upon complaining of the duty manager in the evening he changed the rooms but this at a price. I think staff need to recognise that many others work long and hard to pay for our holidays and to be placed into a room that is shabby but not chique is a bit of a let down!!! Sadly, service at the restaurant was very poor and slow, we had to ask for water three times. Also after asking for a desert menu we tired of waiting for the waitress to return answer left Finding a good ice cream parlour nearby. The continental breakfast was both limited and poor however we found a great patisserie across the road .

    The hotel is ideally situated to visit the city tourist attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay for a 3-day concert trip to Nimes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect accomodation for a 3-day concert trip to Nimes. The location of the hotel is optimal near the inner city, the amphitheather is a 3min walk. Our room was small, but clean and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    A very different property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor room with NO LIFT This should be made very clear on the property description Public areas very shoddy Room clean but very odd ( to be kind ) Exposed plumbing, circa 1960 animal skin rug

    The only thing going for this property is the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    The room was excellent so old yet so very modern loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking difficult to get to reception with all the one way systems but obviously not the hotels fault. No elevator and we were on second floor !!!

    The room was excellent so old yet so very modern loved the mix

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    If you avoid Festival days this is a really good spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poorly presented and not as good as other places but overall for the money it was still reasonable value.

    The position in the city with underground parking just outside was excellent. Unfortunately a Festival was beginning the next day so half the square was being covered in hospitality areas. Perhaps because of that the helpful receptionist freely upgraded our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    Hotel with character in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift

    Great location close to Nimes station and great choice of restaurants within a short walking distance Very comfortable room Friendly. helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    Very good location,Lovely welcoming staff, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nowhere to sit outside, apart from the bar/ restaurant. Lounge inside uninviting. Bathroom badly designed, not very clean. No storage space in bedroom, apart from a wardrobe with four hangers for two people for a weeks stay! Price reflects the location, although there were cheaper rooms which we weren't offered. No lift, difficult staircase with luggage.

    Very good location,Lovely welcoming staff, very helpful. Bedroom comfortable, if a little oddly furnished. Would use the hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Excellent location, size and facilities....and fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really!

    Great location. Right next door to a parking station. Soundproof rooms. Excellent size, comfort and facilities for one or two people in the room I had. Location in the heart of town was great for walking places. Great terrace, restaurant etc. and wonderfully funky decor. I loved it and will return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.0
    Very welcoming staff, excellent location, stylish design of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing bathroom - rather durty with hair of the previous guests on the floor, old amendities there

    Very welcoming staff, excellent location, stylish design of the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The character of the hotel. The lively tapas restaurant downstairs ( with great food). Fantastic location, close to the park, food market and centre of town in a lovely square complete with fountain. Ten minutes walk from colosseum.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Right on the edge of Roman Nîmes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit tired, but this is an old building and absolute modernity can't be expected.

    Location: excellent right on the edge of the historic quarter, across the road from the Maison Carré and Tourist Information Office from which the historic walk starts. The Arena is about 10 minutes' walk away. Paid car parking: (P Maison Carré around 37 euros for two days) is right by the hotel. Good cold buffet breakfast. There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    2.5
    Nothing Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The room was too basic! There was no bar fridge, the room was not vacuumed before me arrived. Although they say there is a cancellation policy - good luck trying to get that right! I emailed and went onto booking.com to cancel one night due to my travel plans changing and I never received a response via email nor did I ever get the chance to cancel the one night. When I did arrive it was a matter of tough luck ! The pillows were terrible! There was no cushion left as they were so flat. The bed stated that the bed is a queen size - but joining two single beds does not equate to a queen bed. You keep falling down the middle of the bed. The bathroom was terrible! It says a shower and bath yet it's a hand held shower only. The hairdryer ! This was laughable! The only thing that was achieved was movement of remote air molecules. The heat in the room - it did not matter how many times we tried to turn the heat down we felt as though we were constantly roasting in an oven. Terrible!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    4.2
    Unlucky room number 13
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the first time I have ever been utterly shocked by the horrible condition of a hotel bathroom. It was like something from an Alfred Hitchcock movie. The grouting between the tiles in areas around the bathtub was black, the sink had a large crack in it, the shower head would not stay in an upright position on the wall - so showering would have to be done whilst holding the shower head and spraying yourself like you would clean a dog. There was no shower curtain to contain the water within the bathtub, so water would flood the floor. We paid a little more to have a superior room (room 13) and apparently it was the only room available, so we were stuck. We checked-out feeling dirty and uncomfortable. I looked at the reviews after we left and sure enough a review in September outlined exactly the same problems. Everything within the bathroom could have been fixed quickly for a total cost of approximately €100. Instead, 2 months later, we were subject to the same horror as the previous guests. Generally the hotel needs refurbishing which is what the manager wrote in an apologetic email after check out. I was however pleased with the service and the email I received. We were offered a free night once the refurbishment had been carried out. Unfortunately, If their speed of fixing even the quickest and smallest of conveniences in a bathroom is not done after 2 months, im doubtful of a good refurbishment anytime in the near future.

    Good location. Staff were pleasant and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    Good location and comfortable. B'fast over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast added 14€ which i felt was abit much. Eat elsewhere as better value for money. Room small. Didnt meet my 3 star expectations.

    Very good location in lovely 19thC renovated building. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Amazing hotel in the heart of Nîmes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel for this price range. The staff was just amazingly nice. The room was nice and spacious. Very nice noise reduction, I would say no noise at all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    A super stylish hotel extremely comfortable A delight possibly the best boutique hotel in Nimes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe easier parking especially in summer but really not a major problem

    Beautiful boutique hotel in a superb part of Nimes Extremly stylish but not pretentious a true delight

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Fair hotel, bathroom needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom was dirty, cracked sink, shower was terrible with no curtain and water took a long time to get hot, minor problem maybe? but the tile grout was badly stained and overall bathroom was uninviting

    comfortable and lovely soft big pillows, staff nice and friendly, made me a lovely coffee, and relly nice milk shake, The hotel is in a nice area, close to the old town, but does need some updating bathroom wise, our room was an upgrade with a balcony at the front on the second floor, some people have moaned about road noise, but when the windows are closed its really quite with no road noise and we slept well, Nimes is a lovey place and the people seem nice and friendly, the restaurants are nice and reasonably priced serving good quality food, there are some nice shops and good supermarkets to buy food from, the airport is small but functional, one tip, do not go too early into the departure lounge as there is nothing there and not many seats

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    1. Hotel is situated in the center of the city.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Bathroom. Despite the room was very nice, the bathroom was old and uncomfortable. 2. Lack of own packing spot. The hotel doesn't have own parking. It is possible to leave the car at a public parking on few meters from the hotel, but it is quite expensive one. The hotel has a special discount for this parking but it is valid only if you leave your car for more than three days. 3. Fee for our dog. We had to pay 10 euro supplementary in order to keep him with us. When we were booking the room nobody told us about this fee.

    1. Hotel is situated in the center of the city. 2. The room was big end very well decorated. 3. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.9
    Next to Maison Carrée
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift.

    Very good position in the historical center. There is a public car park situated underground the hotel. A bit expensive, but comfortable. There are no free parking in the streets. Nice and quiet room, comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired. Restaurant closed even though it said open all day Sunday

    Location and upgrade to superior double. Public car park very close to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    awesome!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service was very (!) nice and welcoming and helpful! It was a really nice stay there, even if there's been a road construction nearby, it wasn't a Problem at all. It's right next to the maison carre and just a 15mins walk if you walk slowly to the train station. Underneath there's a nice bar with a lot of live music but you don't hear any of that in the room. The room was set up real nice, with a luxurary disgn in the eyes of two students :) we felt very comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    great hotel/great location/friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom wasn't as beautiful as the room.

    the best location for everything we wanted to see in Nimes - and near some great restaurants as well....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    4.6
    Overrated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Completely overrated for what it is. We booked a double bed superior room and what we got was two twin beds placed side by side. The carpet had a big weird stain and the bathroom had stains on the floor (not dirty but chemical stains). When we complaint they said it is the "Italian style", might be but I've never seen that in my many trips to Italy. We managed to be moved to a better room, in theory one of the best rooms in the hotel. It was nice but still, not a three star-level hotel. For instance, the bathroom also had the stains on the floor and the sink well design was badly done, the water of the bath fall all over the floor since the bath-screen lost the bottom plastic that prevents the leaks.

    Location was excellent. Overall clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift installed but with staff assistance not a big problem

    Location for access to city centre and adjacent restaurants made the Royal a pleasant stay. Very friendly staff made the stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location and attentive staff :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loud music at La Bodeguita Restaurant on Friday night would have been terrible for my husband if he had stayed in the hotel, luckily I was on my own and I enjoyed the Latin music but obviously could not go to sleep until 1:30 am.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Good central location and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Good location only 15 mins walk from Gare SNCF.Big room and a bathroom,very clean and comfortable bed.Fair amount of choice at b'fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for quality of room no lift and bathroom needed update

    Position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant surprise!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift/elevator

    All staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location in the centre of Nimes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from restaurant below our room window. Slightly tatty room and carpet

    Good location in the centre of Nimes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Loved the comfortable bedding. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    a lovely weekend break would go back to the Royal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location comfortable room with view.

    location perfect. Staff get helpful. Restaurant good excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location. Clearly the place to be for the locals too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or Tea facilities in the bedroom.

    The Staff and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    Thank to the kindness of the staff my luggage was brought up and down again to the 4th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on 4th floor without elevator Bathroom not very clean

    Room nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend and will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Great location. Beautiful reception and warm welcome on arrival and throughout! Thank you ❤️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Despite Thursday night festival in Nimes, our room was quiet. Nice value for central Nimes location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs on the bathroom floor but clean overalll.

    Location and artsy style!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    beautiful comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower was super, except for the fact that when you use it the floor gets very wet

    the room was beautiful and comfort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant inner city stay for those with light luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift. You lug your cases up the stairs without assistance.

    Location & lovely front desk receptionist. Loved the quirky decor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Two lovely nights in Nime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no elevator - we were on a three week trip so had a lot of luggage!

    Rooms were lovely - right on the plaza

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.4
    Not renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and looked dirty. The room wasnt renovated. ONly redecorated.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Despite that lovely place and very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast times were different from what we were told so missed it!

    Location was superb! Staff very good and rooms were big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not elevator

    Everything! Nice room, nice staff, good location, excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    6.3
    Good location, nice hotel but the room was old and the facilities very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room, it needs to be renovated, the bathroom is in an awful situation, b=very old and it smells really bad.

    the location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Greatest hotel in the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Loved every bit of it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.3
    Great staff, it was Christmas Day so most restaurants were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, it was Christmas Day so most restaurants were closed, they looked for open restaurants and offered to book for us

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Excellent address in Nimes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better...

    Excellent welcome. Stylish hotel. Great location just 50m from the Maison Carrée

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.8
    Good location poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and lack of shower

    Location and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €14 for breakfast was too steep.

    Great cocktails and great bar on the weekend eves.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    The sheets were clean but the bedspread had a few stains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only available parking was over 20 euros.

    The sheets were clean but the bedspread had a few stains which may have been body fluids.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    3.8
    The location is good, very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    VERY noisy, horrible small, dirty room, airco not working, but you cannot open the window, because the Bar/Restaurant downstairs is busy until 4 in the morning. The staff is just not interested in any solution. The bathroom is not acceptable, didn`t want to take 2 different credit cards (said it is not working, very anoying, because it worked at any other place in this town, I think they are just interested in cash). No bill given! Would never book it again. Only good if you want to party all night long. We are travelling a lot and this was the worst by far for the last years.

    The location is good, very central

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    The staff there is so nice and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff there is so nice and kind. They helped us a lot. The dinner there is also fantastic. Love this hotel. If I go next time to Nimes, I will definitely stay the same hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Welcoming staff, great room with funky design (suite), great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly chaotic arrangement of the breakfast which meant juggling trays and drinks and food. Breakfast room is cramped for space if weather precludes eating outside.

    Welcoming staff, great room with funky design (suite), great location and the lively cafe.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.6
    We had a superior room for our one night in Nimes before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a superior room for our one night in Nimes before flying home. My wife, being pregnant at the time, loved the comfort of the room! Big bed, big windows opening onto the square outside. The location of the Hotel was also great. We were able to walk anywhere we needed to go, be it shops or the city sights.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Location, staff was very friendly and helpful, outdoor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very small rooms and a refurbishing is in order. Very bad internet. Breakfast buffet was not served one day.

    Location, staff was very friendly and helpful, outdoor terrace was great for pre dinner drinks.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was poorly lit facing the courtyard and the fan was not enough to cool the room during hot summer weather. They really need to invest in air con where rooms have so much fabric and thick carpets.

    The location of the hotel was great.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.0
    Location plus the helpful ladies at reception who seemed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation rather spartan and primitive. A detailed list of the same would be lengthy. We didn't try the rather expensive breakfast option.

    Location plus the helpful ladies at reception who seemed always willing to help.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: