Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Saint Daniel 1 stars

4 rue du Bouffay, 44000 Nantes, France

#96 of 109 hotels in Nantes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 506 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    Wi fi and tv both not working, airplanes toilets, very hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi and tv both not working, airplanes toilets, very hot room no a.c or any type of fans where provided. Very loud street you can hear doors slamming all the the time nd people talking in the next room. I left the hotel after 1 night but still i paid the full price on the arrival and still was not refound!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Cheap and convenient location.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location it was quite noisy, there were empty shampoo bottles in the bathroom, there was hair in the bed. The bathroom was very small and hard to negotiate, and smelt really bad when we first walked in. Parking is not included on the property, you have to park in a public car park which costs €15 for 24hs!

    WiFi was good. Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Overall, good value for money. Perfect for a short visit to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel only checks in customers from 17:00. Too bad if you arrive earlier with cumbersome luggage. This being the town centre and a pedestrian area, there are lots of bars and at night, the noise of conversation, plus the occasional drunkards' argument at closing time may be annoying. Bring earplugs.

    The staff were helpful. The location is in the centre of the historical sector, a 10mn walk away from many places of interest, as well as the tramcar service connecting to the railway station. The bathroom is cramped but clean, as is the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BED BUGS. THE MORNING WE LEFT WE STARTED SCRATCHING AND SPENT THE NEXT TWO DAYS REMOVING BUGS FROM OUR BODIES AND OUR CLOTHES. THEY COULD NOT COME FROM ANY OTHER SOURCE APART FROM THE HOTEL ROOM. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE

    the hotel was basically good, apparently clean and good location. very noisy at night because of being in bar and restaurant area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    3.3
    I do not recommend this hotel for women traveling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aside from being very rundown, the facility does not seem safe or secure, particularly for women traveling alone. Single men hang about, coming and going and congregating just outside the hotel entrance.

    The young woman at reception was very helpful, and it's located in the heart of the historic district of Bouffay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is well located, very clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reception is closed from 11 am to 17pm. Even though I had arrived at 18 pm, I stayed outside a couple of minutes ringing the bell and waiting for someone open the door. This was quite unusual and gave me an bad impression of the Hotel. However, the cleanses and organization are very good, and I would recommend the property for other travelers.

    The hotel is well located, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Mostly good, especially if you don't mind stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put on the third floor with no elevator, I am disabled and wasn't aware of this a head of time.

    Very clean, big room, nice staff, good lication

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    2.9
    Not a good choice; plenty of other choices around
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconvenient check-in / check out procedures, unreliable staffs, noisy, very tiny room, very basic facilities, cupboard is dirty

    I was too jet lagged to be too fussed about everything unpleasant about the property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Interesting location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Timestable of reception -The noise : the hotel is located in the most frequented streets (bars and restaurants), I stayed a Saturday and Sunday night of Easter and the church is right next to the hotel so you can hear the bells.

    -Perfect location -Staff were helpful and friendly -Beds were comfortable, extra pillow and duvet in room, towels and basic toiletries provided.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.4
    Good location, that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is from 17:00 to 20:00 hours or something but arriving at 17:10 hours, we rang the bell, the hotel phone number and all the other bells but nobody answered for some 10 or 15 minutes. They had put me in room 25 initially but the bed was kind of a small double bed and since the other person staying with me was another guy that I have absolutely no romantic intentions with, I asked for another bed. The only possibility was upgrading to a family room with 2 double beds for 30 euros extra. The interior is pretty cheap but it sufficed and as my friend wouldn't arrive until the next day I didn't find much else to complain about. However when my friend arrived the next day and we wanted to go to sleep at 23:30 hours after we had dinner and some drinks, we found that the other bed wasn't made! It just had a thin blanket covering up the bare mattress and the bare pillow. We couldn't fix it at the moment because all the hotel staff had gone home already. When my friend asked about it the next morning, the lady said she thought we were a couple... but if that was the case I would've stayed in room 25. Maybe the owner of the establishment has good intentions and ambition with this hotel, but his staff certainly doesn't. I would not recommend this place.

    Stayed in room 17 without breakfast for 3 nights. The location is perfect, right between the bars and restaurants and very close to the castle. Despite all that you won't hear any street noise. The shower is also great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    4.2
    Terrible experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As per other reviews the hotel was shut when I arrived. It is very basic but a hotel that has taken your booking should not have locked you out when you arrive after a days travelling. At the prearranged time of 2015 the hotel front door should have been open not locked with a sign saying opening the next morning.

    The staff - when he arrived later was polite

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WI -FI didn't work. Reception only open very limited tiime. No lift 85 steps to top floor. The showering facilities left a lot to be desired

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice room in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did have a short wait to check-in as the hotel closes during the afternoon.

    Good location. Nice size room. Fairly clean. Underground parking nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Nantes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in Nantes. Comfortable stay. Super nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value location with very small bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very compact bathroom, no lift and lots of stairs.

    Shower, location, breakfast and cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Good value for money, I got what I paid for. For one night accommodation I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not find how to flush the toilet. I used the shower head to to do this.

    I did not have breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    fuss free and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , friendly staff , value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Room in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is open few hours. The bathroom is very very tiny, a big person can't manage it. There is no elevator.

    The hotel is very central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    Hotel St Daniel - dissappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly appointed. Could use a good cleaning.

    Close to all main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    6.3
    Good location .
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise at night

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.5
    The hotel has a fantastic central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no elevator, and the rooms are on floors 1 to 4. The reception is closed everyday from 10:00 to 17:00, which is bizarre. This can be very inconvenient. At most hotels you take it for granted that after checking out you can leave your luggage at the reception and collect it later, and maybe even sit in the lobby for a while. Not so here - the reception is literally closed and locked from 10:00 to 17:00, so on the day of departure, unless you can afford to come back after 17:00 to take your luggage, you have to leave the hotel with your luggage by 11:00, since there is even no place to sit once you leave your room! The security needs to be improved. The staff did not check my passport, and the rooms and front door have a physical key (which can be stolen, duplicated, etc), not a card.

    The hotel has a fantastic central location! You couldn't ask for a better place. The room and bathroom were fairly comfortable. The breakfast was ok and overall my stay was comfortable and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.4
    The hotel is extremely central and staff is very gentle.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are not very clean, furniture is very old, my bed linens were broken.

    The hotel is extremely central and staff is very gentle. Breakfast is ok. Bathrooms were recently redone

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    8.3
    This hotel is great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no lift - not a problem for me, but if you don't like (or aren't able to climb) stairs this would be a problem.

    This hotel is great value for money. The room was basic but comfortable and clean. It has everything you need, but not much more than that (bed, shower, wardrobe, TV). Plus excellent, fast, free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.9
    Large space, Nice view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of lift. Problems with WC

    Large space, Nice view. Kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Communicative and helpful personnel, perfect location in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Probably in rebuilding status, no carpets on the floors, no elevator.

    Communicative and helpful personnel, perfect location in the city center.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited opening ..closed between 10am - 5pm....if you arrive at 2pm it's a long wait

    location

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    2.5
    Reception closed despite what stated in the opening hours...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception closed despite what stated in the opening hours notice. Room old and dirty. Ants on the blanket! Ew!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: