Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Saint James 2 stars

1 Rue des Halles, 64200 Biarritz, France

#64 of 136 hotels in Biarritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 457 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy at night on the weekend but that’s what you get for being in such a central location

    Perfect location for the conference centre but also for visiting Biarritz in general. Laure is a wonderful host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is difficult in the immediate area.

    Very nice manager, comfortable room, great location and a very good café adjoining the hotel which served an excellent breakfast. I left a book in the room and the manager quickly called me so I was able to collect it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute little hotel, comfy accommodations, easy walking distance to the beach, and some excellent pubs/cafes super close by. Note it is located on a busy (foot/pub-traffic) Street, but that didn’t bother us. We really enjoyed the sunshine and overall laid back vibe of our 1-day stay in Biarritz. Would love to go back and would stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was really tought. You could also hear everything what was going on outsite of the room (guests coming back partying, room next door..)

    The location was awesome, you could go everywhere walking. Everything was so clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Saint James is located above a restaurant in central Biarritz. The beach and casino are within easy walking distance. The rooms are average with thin walls that may necessitate the use of ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Okay for a 1-2 night stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, no sink, no crockery, cutlery, not even a glass. Crazy bathroom design: the toilet is too close to a giant vanity: you have to tuck your legs under the vanity.

    Great location. Hostess very nice. Room very clean. Terrific markets and supermarket across the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic hotel rooms are not a problem as long as there’s a working shower and comfortable bed. The shower would not stay up and made it almost impossible to it use with ease - that was disappointing.

    Fantastic location and the room was fine for a budget hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to being right in centre, it can be noisy with the windows open

    Superb location and comfortable rooms. I had top floor room with view of the ocean which was a nice bonus. Beds are comfy and the rooms are very clean, overall a great stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room N11 -it wasn't clean, we found two cockroaches (one in the bedroom) -it lacks a door between bathroom and bedroom -the shower/bath is not confortable, it is impossible to stand up and it misses a curtain -cleaning time ends no later than 12:00 and typically wakes you up at 10:30am -No electrical outlets close to the bed

    It's super well located and the reception is welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street is too loud, so you cant keep the balconly door open, and the room gets hot. The room was very small, and the bed was not too comfy. There is no parkingat the hotel, and parking in the whole city was quite difficult when we stayed.

    Very centric location with several good restos and bars around. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super central location.bed and matress super confy.room and bathroom super clean Room was ultra quiet. staff is really helpful,welcoming, want to give you the best experience. They lend us a parasol for the beach, gave plently of advice, booked our cab.best experience ever

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in the room next to us had their television on all night for three nights in a row so the only thing I would suggest is that the walls are very thin so I would recommend earplugs and/or being a good neighbour by not keeping your television on loud all night... Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

    The room was very clean and was cleaned each day which was nice. The room stayed cool and we were really happy with the location and the service provided by the receptionist/manager.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, got extremely hot in the room Awkward bathroom, needing to put legs under the sink to sit on the toilet

    Great location Reasonable sized room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the best part of the city, with great views of the ocean, great restaurants right downs stairs, with a fun nightlife! The property owners are really nice as well and very helpful for whatever you may need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Bed nice and comfy. Friendly and helpful staff. Room cleaned daily with regular towel and linen changes. good location giving easy access to beaches, restaurants and shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was late. The hotel brochure said 8:30 am but when I went down at 8:45 am and went to the kitchen to enquire, I was shooed away by the staff, not so politely, and told to come back after 9:00 am. So I had my breakfast elsewhere, nearby.

    Restaurant just below, under the same management. Cheerful, friendly management.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In very hot and small attic room. Bathroom consisted of a sink, a half bath with shower attachment, & toilet. The toilet was disconcertingly loosely attached to the floor, the bath had no shower curtain and the sloping ceiling meant you couldn't stand up anyway. The room had no air con or fan so on a hot night you either had to grin and bear it or open window and be kept awake by the revellers on the busy street below. I was treated to a "choir" of female partygoers from 2am-3am. Although wifi is stated as being available, there was no signal in my room. More of a hostal than a hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In one of the 5 nights we stayed one of the bars nearby was playing quite loud electronic music until 1am.

    The location is really amazing - in the middle of city centre, literally in the corner of the two most hyped streets in Biarritz, with a lot of great restaurants, cool bars and beautiful people. Also, it's located exactly between the three nearest beaches, so it allows you to explore easily. Besides the location, the staff was incredibly nice and gentle. Good things to know - bed and pillows great; a Carrefour 1min away by foot; amazing breakfast just downstairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    I struggled to get into the hotel....never saw a single staff member and left without seeing a sole either! Not my idea of hospitality especially as I don't even speak the language. Thank heavens for the help of a delightful chap at the restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a little tight, but tub and shower were good size

    Best location! So many bars and restaurants within 1 minute! 5 minute walk to harbor and ocean. Comfortable beds, very clean and neat

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect for exploring Biarritz and also there were plenty of restaurants and bars close by. The walk to the small beach was easy where we swam every day. We also visited St Jean De Luz and San Sebastian which were in easy reach by train

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mosquitos got into our room during the night, room was quite warm when we closed the window making it difficult to sleep.Otherwise, great location, friendly staff and clean room. Very close to supermarket (carrefour city just up the road) and les halles markets.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could not be prepared earier than 8am for early departure

    I booked at last minute, was arriving late via plane and leaving early on the train.. The staff initiated contact several times to provide door entry code and wifi.. I wished I could have met them to say thankyou... Centred in town easy taxi from airport and to train. Lovely clean comfortable hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy bar across the street open till late (3 AM). No airco or fan so need to keep windows open for ventilation. Place could use do with some refurbishment ..

    Location in the heart of town and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was warm and the bars outside were very noisy until late. We'd usually have been out and joined in but after a delayed flight unfortunately we just wanted to sleep. This is no fault of the hotel though

    Bed was really comfy, room was clean. Really pretty building and the staff were very helpful. The location couldn't have been better

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signs of wear and tear more apparent than when I stayed last year (i.e. Shower hose mount was falling off shower wall and couldn't adjust height for shower head).

    Amazing location and very clean. Very simple and starting to show signs of slight need for reburbishment. Good value for money. Very friendly staff and easy check-in and out. If you want to be in then middle of it all without having to pay too much, this is it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any internet in our room and there is no lift so it makes it difficult to get to the third floor with big luggage

    The room was clean and the beds comfortable. I didn't have any breakfast cos we had our own

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at Hotel Saint James for 2 nights with 2 friends which was the final leg of a bike ride through France. Our host Laure was fantastic from start to finish - nothing was too much hassle and she made our stay a pleasure. She was kind enough to store our bikes safely in the hotel which was great. The room was perfect and the hotel is located on the nicest area of Biarritz on rue des Halles close to all the cool bars and markets. I would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paint peeling off the walls. Location right on main street. Extremely loud all night long. If you close the window to block noise, the heat will melt you. No electrical outlets. If you're not a night owl/partier, don't pick this hotel. Overpriced.

    Manager is superfriendly and cares about her guests.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is surrounded by bars and restaurants so was quite noisy at night but with the windows shut it wasn't a problem at all.

    Really helpful staff who let us drop offvour bags early and then transfered them to our room when it was ready.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near sea.Great people

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed very comfy. Great location for eating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No

    Great hotel in tidy old building. Close to the ocean. Historic district. Fast wi-fi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centre of town in weekend is noisy. Take that into consideration

    Litteraly in the heart of town. Clean, friendly staff and very affordable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central very helpful great value good breakfast ideal for short break

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant below has very good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great.

    Excellent staff, Laure was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Location is also perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. Everything was very good

    Location was great, staff was very courteous and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower, very hot room.

    Great area with excellent restaurants. Wonderful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff. Poor communication. Very noisy. Old. Needs some renovations. Would not recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice and close to everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the attic and smelt of damp.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ac No curtains on window

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My phone charger got stuck in the power point and cannot be removed. I purchased a replacement but no offer of compensation was made.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not recommend this place to anyone. It is dirty an scruffy. No service all, this is not a place for humans, even animals would run away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great. Rooms are small but adequate. Bathroom was average but that's common with France.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small rooms but fine for this price

    perfect location in Biarritz

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host and staff, clean room, perfect location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't the best.

    Good location, many restaurants nearby. A short walk to both beaches. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would help if any of the staff would speak other languages

    Great location and lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    climbing upstairs to my room on the top floor

    location,it was easy to find your way around town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Excessive noise from the bars outside very hilly

    Location superb bed very comfortable lovely staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit hot and noisy

    The location was great and breakfast in the cafe was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy guest next door. Noisy club across road until late night. The room was very small.

    Good location. The room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size adequate for one person.small for double occupancy

    Great central location at the market. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located on a popular corner which can be a little noisy late at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact, very hot and noisy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi could be improved on top floor.

    The location was great - central to markets, restaurant and short walk to beach. Cosy room with ocean glimpses.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as described and no negatives.

    You buy your own breakfast in the restaurant next door, and was very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When the staff were told I was not traveling out of Biarritz until 3pm on the day I checked out they offered me free late check out - which was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit noisy on week ends.

    Very nice and helpfull staff. They speak perfekt english Sea view from my room in 4th floor. Perfect distance to center and beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room...number 15 was located in the eve of the roof. It was impossible to stand up in more than half the room because of the inclination of the roof line. We had to sit in the bath to shower as the roof line prevented standing.....you get the idea...

    The location was good and the exterior appearance of the hotel was charming.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No option for late check-out. No facility for freshening up if you have a later flight and need to pick up your bags after a day on the beach.

    Brilliant location. Very friendly check-in and assistance. Very clean and aesthetically pleasing

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved being in the centre of town, very close to restaurants and Market, really easy to walk around centre of Biarritz.Also loved the Brass band that played outside of our window on Friday night, very cool. Sorry for having a French name but unable to speak any French. Will learn for next time.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can be noisy until 2 am because of bars. And you could hear people talking and even snoring from the next room.

    Great location. Easy to reach both northern and southern beaches. Halles(market) and Carrefour city are right in front of the hotel. Lots of restaurants, cafés, shops nearby.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was quite noisy at night with lots of bars surrounding, often until 3am. The walls are paper-thin so you could hear TV, snoring, toilet from next door. There was no door on the bathroom and it faced the window (it had a blind but it could only be used if the window was shut).... bit awkward with the facing building!!!

    The staff were wonderfully friendly & helpful... My arrival was delayed to late evening & they made sure I had transport sorted to bring me to the hotel. The hotel & rooms were kept exceptionally clean & were comfortable. The location for local shops, market & beaches was ideal.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No coffee/tea facilities, no breakfast Noisy with night club across road - music thumping till 6am on Friday night!

    Was greeted so enthusiastically by Laure (manager) and shown to beautiful clean room.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed for three nights (my mum and I)there is noise from the street and no aircon but if these don't bother you it is perfect.

    Look no further you have found the perfect place to stay in Biarritz. You are right next to the most extraordinary food market and restaurants - no where we saw on our travels around the town compared. Plus the lady in charge is utterly charming. Stay here and get a real snapshot of day to day life in Biarritz.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was very small, and the shower was barely a trickle.

    Great location, clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff. Great value option to stay very lose to beach restaurants etc.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is small.

    Friendly staff. English spoken.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got noisy at night

    Close to everything - beaches cafes markets shops very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite noisey

    Location and staff

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: