Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Saint Lô Centre 4 stars

1, avenue de Briovere, 50000 Saint Lo, France

#5 of 9 hotels in Saint Lo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service in dining room. Short staffed.The few on duty seemed split between reception, bar and restaurant. They weren't always around when you needed their services. Poor if any clearance of glasses, plates etc when finished with,I think because of the shortage of staff overall.They needed to be in two places at once. If I was staying for more than one night I would be upset at there being no drawers to store belongings. Window blind broken.

    Good breakfast especially bacon.Lovely bathroom.Liked the safe in wardrobe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the small side for 2 people - we booked 3 rooms altogether and the other rooms had one person in each and seemed bigger than the one given to the two people.

    We did not use the restaurant, however we did use the bar and the night porter / bar lady was outstandingly helpful, and very nice - there was an issue with the keg and she worked and worked at it for ages so we could have some beer - lovely lady! Locations superb - everything on the doorstep. Near pubs, restaurants etc. Hotel staff accommodated the bikes we had and stored them securely overnight which was a great relief.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we booked a standard double and our booking clearly stated so, we found ourselves in a very small room with a bed which was only just big enough for the two of us. The room though had been set up for two people, two coffee cups, bath towels etc, so we assumed this hotel just had small rooms. In the morning the receptionist apologised and said she couldn't understand why but we had actually been put in a room intended as a single room. It was a Sunday night, the place was empty so no reason at all for the allocation. Dont stay at St Lo on a Sunday , the place shuts down

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly expensive for the standard of hotel, but it is worth it for the location, in the center of the town next to the cycle route.

    We chose the hotel as it was on the Voie Verte, no busy roads to cycle on. Our cycles were locked up in a garage overnight. Breakfast was good, but dinner was disappointing taken in the restaurant. For a Mercure hotel we expected better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room or fan so uncomfortably hot. Also the TV had English speaking channels despite the menu list stating that there were. Windows opened so wide it was dangerous plus too noisy for them to be left open to combat the heat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are incredibly small, wifi is a distant hope, and air conditioning is a JOKE. There is a vent on the wall, but nothing comes out of it. Also, if you are on the north side of the building, loud drunks by the railroad tracks (which are immediately behind the hotel) will keep you awake all night (because you have to sleep with your windows open because there is no AC).

    The hotel is in St-Lo and the staff is friendly. The restaurant is decent but not great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One end of the hotel is next to a raised road which can be a bit noisy if you have your window open. When closed it's fine. I don't think there is any air conditioning and my room which was west facing was a little bit warm. However the weather was hot so this is quite understandable.

    This was a very conveniently placed hotel. Right next to the river Vire which you can cross by a pedestrian bridge to get to the main town centre. The hotel is opposite the ancient walls of the town. We were cycling along long-distance cycle/footpath beside the river Vire. The route runs right past the hotel. If you are travelling by train to St Lo, this hotel is ideal as it right opposite the railway station. A good breakfast was available and the hotel was very clean. Staff on the reception were very helpful and the Wi-Fi worked very well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very quiet but that is because it was a public holiday.

    Great facilities, good location and a lovely town. very good meal in the restaurant also.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had booked this hotel because it had a restaurant as we were travelling by bicycle and didn't want to have to search around for somewhere to eat, so was a bit disappointing when we were told that we couldn't use restaurant that night because we have 'a large party in tonight'. Should have told us beforehand. Otherwise the place is first class.

    Very comfortable hotel with excellent facilities. Helpful staff .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon and egg breakfast. Met friends, briefing room facilities, good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price!

    Good bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only because it was a very hot day....a lack of air conditioning...but a large fan was readily provided

    Friendly staff, modern room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast hot option was lovely ,especially being able to boil eggs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    High quality of the room and bathroom fixtures and fittings, the helpfulness of the reception staff. A very good welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed!!!

    The food in the restaurant was amazing. The room was basic and the bed just a put me up 🙁 Not at all comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good but pricey at 14€, in comparison with other similar hotel buffet breakfasts.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, same every day. No imagination!

    Comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours outside staff should've told them to be quiet

    The fact two Tour de France teams stayed the same night as me

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep steps up to the entrance - hard with a suitcase.

    Good location, quiet, nice rooms and comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    105EUR is a bit too much for this hotel. It is really more like 80EUR per night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had been newly decorated & the walls had decoration dust on them. Hadn't noticed this until I brushed up against the wall & got my suit covered. Otherwise the room was nice. The heating engineer undertaking work in the breakfast area during breakfast.

    Friendly staff & good location.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are pretty tired. Needs a good refurb as the walls, carpet, bathroom are very scruffy

    Location was good - opposite old town ancient city wall . Easy, free parking

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Same comfort as Ibis Budget. But they charge 3 times Breakfast is not respecting Mercure standards Next time i will book Another hotel for sure

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stained carpet

    Location very heipful staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of hotel, and view from room Size of rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom tired and dated shower curtain black with mould, not healthy mattress needs replacing.

    Position and staff food good

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was really expensive - €14 for a buffet.

    Friendly english speaking staff - very happy to help. Hotel is very easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms not ready when we arrived. Did not get exactly what we had ordered.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant and expensive for one night bed only

    Bed was comfortable

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Mercure Saint Lô Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: