Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Maison Saint Louis - Vieux Port 3 stars

2 Rue Des Récolettes, 13001 Marseille, France

#55 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 929 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend and go again. It achieved what it set out to do and how it is advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps 2 chairs in the room, but for a short stay it didn't matter and you can sit in the attractive bar

    Good value for money. Felt you were in an interesting/historic area close to the centre but with interesting cafes and restaurants very close. The air conditioning had been switched on in preparation for us. 24/24 staff available at reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    This place needs a major refit.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the words superior room got lost intranslation. The hotels room was very tired. Basic broken pine furniture and over priced poor breakfast. Being where its located this hotel could be a gem of a place.

    Location really thats all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable & frienfly English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no windows & phone & hairdryer as it said it had

    The helpful advice of the staff, they speak English & the breakfast was good & refreshing & they helped to print out my boarding pass

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Second visit & more to come!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (1) More efficient service at breakfast (2) Cleaner cushions on bed/s (3) More hangers

    (1) Old building (2) Excellent position for best parts of town (Cours Julien, Le Panier & Markets) (3) Good breakfast (4) Efficient A/C (5) Fab room with balcony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.0
    I wanted to love it but it should have been better at 80 euros a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What I did not like was that with a little more effort and expenditure this hotel could have been top of the class. It is starting to get tired. There was nowhere comfortable to sit other than the bed, one chair was smashed, mold in the shower was unacceptable. Paper thin walls - I could hear the man in the next room snore all night.

    Fantastic location and great staff, nice looking building, air conditioning fantastic, large room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Air con in the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff does not speak English very well, but we could understand each other with gestures at least :D

    Air con in the room! Amazing since marseille is extremely hot and humid in July!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A perfect location in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to its central location it was noisy during the nights.

    Our room (triple) was spacious and clean, with a view on a lively street leading to the old port. The breakfast was very good. The location is perfect - very close to the center and to the ‘hipster’ area of Notre Dame du mont. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.6
    Confortable good sized bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole room was not very clean, with dust on the light holders above the bed, some hairs on the bed sheets, and very old and durty pillows. The whole room needs some renovation to become more confortable and neat. They promised us a baby crib would be included but all they did was to leave us a travel crib in the bedroom which was not working and couldn't be assembled besides not having matress nor sheets for it.

    Confortable good sized bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Stay! I'd say it's a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was really comfortable, and the hotel is quite strategic as in 10 min walk to the old Port and a great sea food restaurant near by...the room is quite spacious to be honest! I didn't pay 4 star prices so have to keep expectations in check

    Bed was really comfortable, and the hotel is quite strategic as in 10 min walk to the old Port and a great sea food restaurant near by...the room is quite spacious to be honest! I didn't pay 4 star prices so have to keep expectations in check

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Good bang for you buck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was AC in the room, although it wasn't particularly strong, with the room feeling warm overnight even when the AC was set to the low 20s. While many things in the hotel and rooms have been renovated recently, the room was still showing its age with worn, loose carpet and being in need of a fresh coat of paint. No fridge in the room.

    The building has a lot of character, and it's very centrally located in Marseilles - close to the old port and the St Charles train station. The brasserie downstairs was clutch when it was pouring rain.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Budget hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reported a faulty shower on arrival. By the time we left three days later it still hadn’t been fixed. The surrounding guests (a family) were so noisy my partner was woken up and unable to get back to sleep. I booked a balcony expecting somewhere to sit out but they are only Juliette balconies.

    Location was great and the value for money was ok. Good for traveling on a budget.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice cosy room at the roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you live on the 6 floor be ready for the narrow staircase, elevator goes only till floor 5. Carpet a little bit shabby.

    Great location, nice cosy room at the roof. Cheap option for those who need a decent place to stay. Clean towels and bed linen. Nice food at the restaurant on the ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not comfortable at all and was not easily reachable. It was not cleaned with good care daily. Internet connection wasn’t good. 2 days no internet at all and took long to solve the problem. 1 day elevator broken.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    A perfect start to our French holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have improved our stay.

    The bedroom was really lovely. Light an airy and a very comfortable bed. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Staying in the hotel was a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the eventing from the streets below was bothering us a bit. But we closed the balcony door and al was good again.

    We loved that our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of Marseille!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Avoid room 61 and 62 the ones described as classic twin room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a classic twin bed room which proved to be a room in the attic of a very old building .It was dirty ,the furniture as if abandoned, picked up from the street,no windows only small glass openings in the roof that would let the light in but could not open so as to get fresh air.In addition I had to climb about 15 vertical and ultra narrow stairs carrying my bags since no one from the staff offered to help.A nightmare.Hopefully the ghosts were not there.

    Centrally located in the touristic area of old port and La Canabiere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant surprise at an excellent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic sounds and sirens around until around 9pm, but it is a VERY busy part of the city.

    No real lobby, a tiny elevator, but a spacious room with two large louvered windows that looked down the road to the old port. It was our tenth hotel in two weeks, and had the best bed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    It was good for an overnight stay, I could not say it is a restful area to spend a lot of time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they need a secure room for people bags.

    I like the bar downstairs as it was handy for breakfast and a drink. The neighbourhood was a bit confronting at first. it was great to have a lift for our bags, although there was no secure room to leave our bags in on checkout to explore the city and pick up our hire car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    The decorations are autdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decorations are autdated. On terms of security I felt it lacked, due to the fact that everytime you when out of the hotel you had to return the room key to the lobby, and when you ask for your key they didn't make security filter in order to assure you are staying on that room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    Tired Hotel ... not a lot going for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was located in a very squalid area, not pleasant and didn't feel safe. 1st bedroom was atrocious and tiny, but staff moved us to a slightly bigger room. Very shabby furniture & balcony not nice ... overgrown with unwatered plants. No kettle for making a drink and no facilities to speak if in the hotel with the exception of a cafe. Bathroom Towels were very old & threadbare & only one coat hanger provided!

    Bathroom was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    F1 weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not the best, reception staff were polite, others didn’t want to know. Breakfast was a lottery, Continental was fine but on one of the days the omelette came laced with dried herbs. The chefs need to know how to cook eggs, scrambled and omelettes were terrible , over cooked. One member of staff in the dining area was great he made sure you had everything and that it was fine, and if you wanted more coffee he made sure you got it, others were not bothered. The room was very basic , definitely not a 4 star. One of our groups shower didn’t work properly and it stayed like that. Overall a very basic 3 star.

    The bed was comfy.room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Cheap and cheerful and ideal central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby furniture, noise from outside

    Basic hotel but friendly helpful staff and ideal having a coffee shop below it. I missed not having a kettle in the room and the furniture was a little shabby( broken lamps, leg off bedside table, damaged tiles on floor) but the bed was comfy and aside from noise outside I slept well. The bedding and bathroom were both clean. For the central location I’d stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place, confortable and beautiful view from de balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t have parking

    I loved the place!! Very near the port and you can walking around the city !!! little bit dangerous after midnight but around the hostel have a lot of pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    We can’t wait to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful as they made recommendations of things we could do in the area. The front desk staff spoke English reasonably well which made communication easier. The room was beautifully decorated with a lovely four poster bed. My husband and I sat on the balcony at night and enjoyed the night air. The hotel is ideally located just steps away from shops, bars and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Location is great, but take ear-plugs and your own mattress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were terrible - every spring dug in and mattress was much more worn-down on one side. I couldn't have slept there more than one night. Walls were paper-thin - the couple doing 'je t'aime'-style orgasmic panting in next room sounded like they were in our room. I hardly slept at all. Receptionists not unfriendly, but not very welcoming.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Do not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found bed bugs in our beds in room 33 at night after reading for an hour or more. They moved us to room 34, but it was hard to sleep. My friend was really freaked out and slept on a table that night. Spent another night in room 34 and never saw any bed bugs. They gave us one free night. I didn't get to sleep til 4:30am that night.

    LOCATION

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Close to the train station, close to the old port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Who writes the reviews about the rooms? Are you guys serious? The place was completely dirty, the floor was disgusting. Dust everywhere. We were scared to touch anything. And the smell.. oh my... Walls were cracking. It looked like a creepy doll house from one of those horror movies where Anna bell comes to get you at night.... The hotel organized a yard sale of their first floor - are you serious again? We had to ask to change to a different room cause it was so dirty and the receptionist was nice enough to do so... didn’t risk to try the breakfast.. if you don’t care about the hygiene and only location then the place is great, but otherwise..

    Close to the train station, close to the old port

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent room and location, good value and friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No BBC and as said the croissant

    I thought I had made a terrible mistake. I arrived early and decided to have a coffee and a croissant. The croissant must have been a week old...awful. This was shocking a and really coloured my expectations which improved once i saw the room and the friendly staff. Someone needs to have a word with the cafe staff. This was shameful and ridiculous,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has the potential to get noisy due to location and the view of the balcony is not exactly great.

    The staff were lovely and helpful. The room was bet nice. They were very accomodating as I wanted to have a quiet new year's eve at the hotel. The location is very convenient, too, walking distance to the train station and the port and right by public transportation for further afield.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel tucked-in a small street in Marseille city center just few steps next to the "old port"....Great hotel to stay in during your Marseille tourist trip...excellent value to money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Amazing place with friendly staff and great base for exploring an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super easy to get to from the train/bus station and super close to the old port and old city. A bunch of amazing restaurants and bars within a close distance too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Would not however choose this hotel again when there are so many others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unwelcoming staff. Breakfast in open bar area instead of on first floor where there was a table seating room. No tea / coffee facilities in the room. Damp towels on arrival (no problem getting them changed though). Breakfast options not made clear (prices etc.) and no obvious way to help yourself. Poor lighting in the room to be able to read.

    Location was excellent. Short walk to harbour area and all facilities - transport, restaurants, sights, shops etc. Small balcony to view the neighbourhood. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    A good value for money that guarantees a good night's sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The understood there was a restaurant and assumed it would be open in the evening. However, it only served lunch. If I had realised, I would have booked a different hotel. I didn't feel safe in an evening in the area around the hotel, lots of shuttered or empty buildings and many beggars. I may have felt differently if I had been travelling with others. On my first morning I was told breakfast had finished at 10.10 but it is advertised as being served till 11am. The cafe au lait is extremely weak and has no taste or flavour.

    The pillows were really comfy. The night receptionist on arrival was warm friendly and informative. I was allocated the room I wanted and had seen in the pictures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.6
    The room was adequate, basic . Furniture was mismatched and very dusty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The young man on reception spoke very little English. The lift took us to floor 5, however we had booked a twin room with mansard roof . Thhis room was on the next floor up a very narrow almost vertical staircase, the carpet of which was filthy. I went to reception and said there was no way I could climb that staircase especially with a suitcase. The manager was called and initially inferred that we would have to manage, until I said we could not and that I had agreed to that room as I believed the lift went to all floors. She reluctantly found us another room on floor 5.

    Location, not far to walk to port and restaurants, shopping good around area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    A good location, a reasonable price, hotel very tired, needs a good spruce up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise.. All night way past 1, 2, and 3, o' clock.. Then the street cleaning on a Sunday morning. Yes it has to be done at some time and that was good, it gave a sense that the whole area was working towards a clean tidy environment. But it was carried out as if everyone else was awake, at 4:00am..! Closing the windows, would have helped but it was a hot night. Also we are not town people we live in the country, so please take that into account.

    Location ideal for seeing the culture and old port area. The room was o.k. the bed o.k. the location o.k.The ability to get to the areas we wanted to see within a couple of hundred metres from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    2.9
    I can't terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like any of it, it was a mess

    There was nothing to like, it was needing a huge amount of attention, the room was appalling and grubby and very, very noisy and it was the worse room we have ever stayed in , nothing how it was advertised

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    Very very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic. That's it. Basic: two beds, bathroom. Came in late at night. Streets were dark. Parking was a five minute walk. Which was a long walk on dark streets late at night in that part of marseille. Outside looks charming. Inside very plain and basic. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    3.8
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the room or kettle.Surface of the floor came off on your feet and loose tiles . Hairdryer didn't work also they tried to charge for so called mini bar which consists of water and haribo sweets would not return.also neighborhood very unsavoury.

    Sheets on the the bed all cotton that's it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Extremely clean room with a modern bathroom, & view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in the bedroom could have been better; including more power sockets, a proper wardrobe, bin and full length mirror. Unfortunately, even though the windows were double glazed, the street was extremely noisy at night.

    Extremely clean room with a modern bathroom, & view of the city from our balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Marseille - room with a balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one little suggestion - a small kettle to make tea/coffee in room would make such a difference.

    One of my favourite places I have found on booking.com - the location was fantastic, 5 minutes from the marina, close to the main streets with several good restaurants nearby. Enjoy seafood, Tunisian food or pastries - lovely. I had a spacious room with a very good bed on the 5th floor with a balcony - an absolute dream to stay in Marseille. The staff was good and the place clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    A good place to stay, when in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower spray holder was already broken,but had a good spray. If it had an area that stops the run-off of water, the floor wouldn't be sopping wet and therefore dangerous to stand on after the shower process. The bathmat couldn't mop all the water up

    The photos looked VERY amazing on Booking.com. I was really excited to think we had such a lively 'view'. The building is, of course, very old. The value of the room was ok. Bed comfy and plenty extra pillows and blankets. A large room for us to spread out bags 😊 It was noisy down below us, but I had earplugs rammed in my ears. Was ok. Staff were helpful enough. Stored bags till we needed to collect for departure. The bathroom had been done up recently. Looked nice, but the shower was a bit hopeless to have the water splash the wall at the end of the tray. Rotting wall plaster. Overall, a nice place to doss down for the night. Breakfast was either sparce -Continental-which was a croissant and a hot drink! Mine was cooked, and very filling. X2 the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Stayed for 8 night on a business trip. The place was remarkably quiet for such a central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. I would definitely stay again

    The staff were excellent. As a business traveller without any French they made my stay easy telling me great places to eat and find entertainment. The location was superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    3.8
    Extremely disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom: there was a massive leak in the shower. Every time we showered, the water would flow into the bedrooms. The toilet is so cramped that ppl with long legs can't sit comfortably cos your knees is pushed against the shower. Breakfast: there's either €6 or €12 breakfast. The difference is that the €12 has a small glass jar of fruits that's not even fresh and is filled with some sort of liquid (preservatives I suppose) and small jar of yoghurt. The fruit jar literally had about 3 small cubes of apple, 1 cube pineapple, 1 cube orange and 1 cube watermelon. Laundry: I thought it was universal and common sense to put whites and colours separately in the wash. But apparently not. In spite of mentioning two loads, they put it together and 3 of my white dresses turned pink (dirty pink) and they lost one of my inner wear and all they did was wave off the charges from breakfast and laundry.

    The location was the only thing we liked about this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    We stayed on the top floor and the room had a little balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room had seen better days, the closet and drawer chest were broken. The room was very dim without a main ceiling light, there were only bedside lights which were insufficient.

    We stayed on the top floor and the room had a little balcony overlooking the streets, which was quite nice. The room was very quiet, and had good wifi connection. We liked the shower and that it had rain shower head.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.3
    Close to transport beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One female staff member needs to be more professional in her attitude to the guests. The manager and other staff helpful. The electrical wiring needs some work done, as wires were hanging out of the wall socket. Balconies need some freshening up and new chairs to sit on. There are building works going on next door so expect noise and they have no time restrictions. A skip bin was being filled from 11pm to 5am. The builders were dropping the building material being removed from the 5th floor!! We lost a nights sleep.

    close proximity to transport. Marseile is a beautiful city and worth a visit. A lot of building and road work is being done to improve the city for visitors. The room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for couscous and hammam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Safe in the room locked shut when I tried to set it ( luckily empty). The receptionist checked, agreed but did nothing to sort the problem. I was not keen to leave my "valuables" in an open cupboard in full view of everyone at reception.

    A strange shaped room with a tiny outside courtyard surrounded by high walls. Traditional furniture but adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location once you find it. Very close to the Old Port and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When arriving by car was hard to see the signs for the hotel. The road in front of it is crowded and noisy and unless you know exactly where it is, it can be stressful to stop to unload bags.

    The front desk person was very helpful and nice. He spoke English well. The hotel has an elevator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Amazing value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction around the property, not hotels fault.

    Great bathroom, newly renovated, cool balcony, friendly staff. Would stay here again. Good location. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Charming hotel with charming staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    This is my second stay at Hotel St. Louis. Will stay there again and will recommend to others. Charming rooms, nice touches with local soaps in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean around the streets and if you don't know your way around at night it might be best to stay close to your hotel. We didn't feel safe as there are quite a few unsavoury people always about.

    It's close to most things like cafe's and restaurants and 5 min from the dock. The night shift staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to write about really.

    Good location and an easy walk to and from the train station. Close to the Old Port and easy to find. Close to cafes and shops and has a lift so no issues getting your luggage up to your room. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Property 's history,keep and maintain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleanliness outside the property, it's not the hotel's problem but both the city and the people

    Design of the rooms, keeping the vintage and history of the property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking.

    Staff were lovely and friendly and the rooms were very clean. The location is great, just a couple of blocks from the main shopping strip and then 5 min walk to the port.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Caring reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Caring reception staff. A real French vibe and feel. Old world mixed with new. Location in between train station and water and shops. A good location. Sound proofing. Quiet once dark. Great cafe attached to it. Rooms not small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay in Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just being picky but the lighting could do with kicking in a bit earlier when going up the stairs. You go from the 2nd to 3rd floor in almost darkness!

    Really great location, close to all kinds of eateries and food outlets, shops, the harbour, bus and trams. The room was lovely with air con, bath & shower. All very clean and comfy. Would stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    Nice hotel but they need to take care of it more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found it expensive for the service it provided. The carpet at the room was old and dirty. They didn't change the towels. Very poor breakfast. The last day we decided to take breakfast. We paid 12 extra euros for a croissant and a coffee. They didn't have a lot of stuff so the poor girl had to prepare our coffees and be a receptionist as well!

    It was at the center of the city and it was a nice building (not well preserved though). The personnel was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    Tired!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pushing shabby chic to new level...shabby-shabby. In need of a serious makeover, urgently! Breakfast 12euro, go down the road, much better and half price.

    Not a lot to be honest.....unfortunately! The hot water was hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    You can't go wrong here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first impression of the hotel was "what a beautiful charming place". However, looking closer, you can see it's not the best place. The rooms are nicely designed, yet a few minor issues come up like the closet not closing properly (the door broke off a hinge), the bathroom wasn't properly cleaned (stain on the wall and in the sink), and the floor was run down near the entrance. Neighborhood was very noisy till late at night - but keeping windows shut did take a bit of noise off.

    Cute, little, privately run hotel that provides a charming experience with vintage decorated hotel rooms. The view from our room was wonderful as we could see the neighboring houses with their beautiful architecture as well as look down Rue Pavillon. The bathroom seemed to have been recently redone, has nice tiling and a large enough shower. Weirdly though, for the third time being in a hotel in France, the was no shower curtain so you'd flood the floor if you're not showering correctly. Location is perfect as it's just 5 min from the Old Port, 3 min from shopping areas, and right opposite a tram stop. The metro stop is just another 3 min up hill. A farmers' market and nifty little shops (Tunisian, Moroccan, Turkish, ...) are just around the corner as well as several convenience stores. Didn't try breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment on that. You cannot go wrong staying at this place, it really is a good value for the price, however, if you're more of a "modern" travel and want all the great amenities that 4* or 5* hotels can bring, this might not be the place to go. Stayed in room 45, generally a great room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    perfect location, you would rarely need to ride use any means of transport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saint Louis is a very nice place, very close to the old port has a very nice seafood restaurant close to it. Staff are friendly. Only issue is one of them could not speak english which was very odd since she was sometimes at the reception area on her own, but the rest was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    5.8
    The location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi is weak. I had to stay close to the door of the room when I used the Wifi. The safety box in the closet didn't work because there was no battery in it. The electric outlet was also unstable. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't.

    The location is perfect. It can be accessed from the main station in 10 mins by walk and it's very easy to use public transport like metro and tram.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.8
    Location is good in terms of proximity to the old port and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only curtains for 1 of 2 windows; the towel rail in the bathroom almost fell off due to loose screws; one of the night table legs just came unstuck when moving it. Noisy in the early morning.

    Location is good in terms of proximity to the old port and to the nearby shopping area. Clean and pleasant desk staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel if you're looking for a no fuss booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned, there was no mini fridge. Shower/bath area could be better as side wasn't properly sealed and therefore leaked onto the floor.

    The room we booked was a twin room with balcony view, very basic and didn't include a fridge (if you wanted to put own-bought food/drinks) other than that everything else was good. Staff were friendly!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horrible air freshener, Bath room smelly and lots of mould in the corners of the shower

    Nice room, friendly staff, in the middle of the city and near to Le Panier and Vieux Port but romm is quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Great location for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet could have been updated but beds were very comfy and large bathroom with lovely local toiletries.

    Location was great and very close to a good fish restaurant, Toinou Couillage, that also sold fish from the counter. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    Falls short on eco-friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an unidentified brown stain on our sheets, and the "eco" aspect of the hotel is not real - it just means that there is only one outlet in the entire room, and it stops charging your phone if you turn off the light in the bathroom (which meant it had to be left on day and night to charge our batteries and phones - accomplishing the opposite of its purported eco-friendly goal). The area is also creepily deserted at night, with the exception of a couple of creepy dudes, and a bunch of aggressive rats running the streets. Definitely not a good choice if you want to walk from the train station at night, as we discovered.

    The balcony (which I paid extra for) was a nice touch. The front desk attendants were pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Location was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and old. Bathroom was old.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner rooms

    Great location, very good served breakfast, friendly stuff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Comfy bed
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the whole place wasn’t clean. Cigarette smell

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed my 24 hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very central and the check in was simple and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location. Not alot of money spent on the hotel to make it nice but if budget is your thing then
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The crummy feel to the place.

    Well located. Nice receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Hôtel Maison Saint-Louis is an utterly charming hotel in a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hôtel Maison Saint-Louis is an utterly charming hotel in a very vivid, colorful area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the room is not that clean. The air conditioner did not work well either.

    The location is good. And it is relatively cheap.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    That hotel is a joke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist at the night shift was rude and unprofessional. We asked a room with a double bed and the gave as with 2 single beds

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: