Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Saint Trophime 2 stars

16, rue de la Calade, 13200 Arles, France

#37 of 44 hotels in Arles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 356 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.5
    A wonderful old world experience. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t get the WiFi to work but we didn’t try very hard. We got bitten by mosquitoes but there may have been a screen I didn’t check.

    I think we were lucky. Our room was spacious and had a lovely old grand feel, so did the hotel entrance area and stairs. The staff were really nice, and understood my french. It was low season and we were left alone with a key to get in and out. Right in the old and interesting part of Arles, near nice places to eat, every morning as we we left the hotel there was a party of tourists walking past.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Location was very good for walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to find by car. If a French woman hadn’t taken pity on us we would still be riding around. Even she struggled by repeatedly telephoning the hotel. WiFi very spotty. Some bathroom updates needed. Halls and elevator very dark. We took breakfasts in the Place de Forum

    Location was very good for walking. Comfortable bed Quiet😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the shabbyness, the communication, noone cleaned the ceiling parts which fell on the stairs, in the bathroom - out of three lights, only one was working, in the room - the fan was dangerous as the front cover was falling off...

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Highligth antique Roman museum and Mediaeval Arles is a must! Charming people. Better than Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Fabulous! Located in center didn't need the car which the hotel took care of. Majestic room with high ceiling and antique furniture. Just the place to experience mediaeval Arles! Excellent breakfast with hot pastries and fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Very nice spot to go everywhere in the old town without the car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No easy to get in, you have to be there at 3pm, not before to check in!!. TV miserable to make it work ( but this is not so important) some repairs to do in the room26, fixe the plug on the wall in the bedroom, the heat in the bathroom is not attached to the wall.

    The hotel decoration, very beautiful, very much art-deco, very close to the old town. The bed is very comfortable, and cooconing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    This was our second stay at St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second stay at St. Trophime Hotel. The hotel occupies a superb characterful building in the centre of Arles. You can wander around the town until late into the evening because the hotel is so central. I love the style of this hotel, more like an ageing National Trust property than a Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful décor throughout, quite charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not available until 8:15 and we had to leave by 9:00. Wifi signal was strong in lobby but weak in room. Plan leaving early, as they have to get your car out of the garage.

    Beautiful décor throughout, quite charming. Very comfortable mattress, very clean facilities. Right in the heart of town. Staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here if you want wifi
    • Couple
    • Double Room Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was woeful - never worked in the room and intermittent in the lobby. One of the lights in the bathroom didn't work and the owner refused to fix it. The owner was rude and claimed the wifi worked when it didn't and openly argued with other guests about their complaints. The housekeeper tried her best but could only do what the owner allowed. Breakfast not available until 8.15 when we wanted it at 7am.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, limited amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is pricey for no protein. 5 different kinds of bread and I'm lactose intolerant, so I couldn't enjoy the butter. The staff was nice, but it's a good thing my rusty French works, because the hostess/breakfast lady/ all in one lady didn't speak English and she seemed a bit casual in common courtesy. Wifi was spotty...worked for mobile phone, but not for laptop. Room temperature was warm, so we had to leave screenless window open and I think I got mosquito bites...plus, neighbors were noisy...and noise would come through window. Shower glass that was supposed to keep water inside bathtub would detach from the tub and water got everywhere in the bathroom. Toilet needed some extra flushing. Soap dispenser knob fell off. Fan knob fell off. Possible bats outside window.

    I'm based in China, but I'm really American if that affects your consideration of this review. Excellent location within walking distance to everything. We even walked from the train station and back, but only because we're fairly young and like to walk...it was not easy to drag our suitcases through cobbled streets, but we did it! Breakfast was good if you REALLY like bread, but it is an extra 10 euros...the courtyard for the breakfast was very pleasant. Elevator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location but beware everything is not as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the booking site we were promised a queen bed and wifi in all areas. Neither of these were provided. Neither the staff at the hotel or at booking.com were helpful. We were promised a 10€ per night compensation but that never happened either. Not happy at all. Hotel is run down. Sisal carpet is shredded in spots and bedspread is threadbare. Toilet seat broke and took hours to fix.

    The location was over the top convenient. Very close walk to everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Central hotel with great location but minimal comfort/amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was very run down -- paint chipped, one of the shower doors was missing completely so water would get everywhere, lightbulbs burned out. Wifi didn't work in the room at all, so maybe they had wifi but there was no evidence of it. The noise from the street was sometimes so loud that I was woken up in the middle of the night, and also the walls were so thin that I could hear neighbors in the hall and also their enthusiastic lovemaking next door.

    The location is very central and perfect for exploring the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    4.6
    An eery atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you like an eerie strange musty atmosphere, go for it! The hotel staff don't know a word english. The hotel claims to have parking space. When you enter the hotel you must block the main street. Their parking is 500 meters away in very narrow streets, and they want to keep the car key if they have to move the car when the rightful owner of the space needs the place (dodgy). I found by my own advice cheaper indoor city parking garage within the same distance.

    The location if you do not have a car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    A stylish hotel in an unbeatable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only staff on duty until 7pm. Our room was quite dark and the view was of another tall building about 3 metres away.

    An excellent location for historic Arles. The hotel had tasteful and interestingly decor. It had the feeling of a luxury hotel but at more budget prices.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    Seen Better Days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Run Down

    Seen Better Days

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Parking by payment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking by payment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THERE WAS NO WIFI AS PROMISED

    LOCATION

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    ???
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old

    Well situated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Very quaint room and antique property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in not available until 3 pm.

    Very quaint room and antique property. Staff were helpful and rate was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.6
    This hotel could be easely upgraded but it is not !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark light everywhere, small tiny room, very small bed, basic bathroom. Very noisy

    Location and architecture of the old building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Unpleasant and non hepfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    2x pay for one room!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    2x pay for one room!!!!! First time when make reservation on BOOKING and second on the HOTEL after check in. Staff doesn't speak english!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location - basic accommodation - cost far more than it was worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building that could do with some paint. Lift shudders and shakes .

    Very good location near the Arena

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.1
    Accomodation in old historical building in the heart of Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lightening was terrible

    The location is great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    very near of the historical top interest,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    location , very near of the historical top interest, and old building with full of charm and reasonable prices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff don't speak English at all.....didn't make us feel welcome......No wi-fi in the room.was offer a breakfast witch i didn't use ,but when i ask for some plates an cutlery i wasn't given any because i was told that there was no kitchen....no kettle in the room.water in the shower has no pressure. try to charge me extra 30 euros for some old towels (on picture)with spots on them and i think it spoused to be my foult (whole thing was explain to me in french witch i don't speek)...no one at the reception all night and most of the day.if you lost your front door code you will have to sleep on the street,i promise ,since there is no even a number you can call in case of emergency ;( we travel a lot but that was probably the worst hotel we ever experience ; ( good location tho

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.2
    Inspiring, quirky decor in public areas of grand old house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old heating system not on initially but remedied on request. Wi-fi only works at reception and no private parking but close to free or paid public parking..

    Inspiring, quirky decor in public areas of grand old house. Comfortable bed with good cotton bed-linen and luxurious down duvets for cold weather.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    4.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi close to nonexistent except in main lobby. (The one) radiator in the room was barely warm to the touch during the day, and apparently the heat was turned off completely at night. It was in the mid-40's F. outside! Tried complaining, but....

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.5
    We enjoyed staying in an old building that felt authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Petit dejeuner was a total rip! 10€ for one croissant and 3 pieces of Baird bread, coffee and orange juice Disappointment, no Van Gogh emphasis

    We enjoyed staying in an old building that felt authentic The Roman ruins were interesting

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    Right in the centre of Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi only worked downstairs Shuttle bus doesn't run on Sundays Some bits of the hotel need upgrading

    Right in the centre of Arles Free local shuttle bus from rail station drops you at the end of the street

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.6
    The location was amazing, right in the heart of the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was amazing, right in the heart of the old town and literally within a few minutes walk of the main sights. Despite this it was very quiet. The hotel itself was individual and full of character. Although it was August and very hot outside, the stone of the building seemed to keep the room very cool. I didn't even need to switch on the fan which was provided.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Location and room were great, so was the interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi was very slow if accessible at all. The staff spoke French only.

    Location and room were great, so was the interior. Old-fashioned and personal- not like the typical chain business.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work. Two lightbulbs we're not working either. Bathroom is very basic. At 12:00 am the social/cultural club located next to the hotel started playing loud music, what made difficult to sleep.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    5.0
    The city,the fitment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No aircondotioner!no wifi!the TV is broken!the room is too hot to sleep!then we opened the window,you know, the mosquito wants to eat me!what a terrible night!the worst room that i've sleep in before.

    The city,the fitment.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.5
    Great location: easy to find and right in the heart of where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you don't speak fluent French be sure to bring your phrasebook as staff speak no English. The room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke (though there are huge windows that can be flung open). Was not offered WiFi though this could have been a language problem. Room is sparse, no kettle and not enough powerpoints to have lamp, fan and phone charger all going at once.

    Great location: easy to find and right in the heart of where you want to be as a traveller. If you get an upstairs room you get a lovely view of the St Trophime tower. Staff don't speak English but were very nice and allowed me to leave my bag when I arrived before check in time. The room was very spacious and the bathroom clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.3
    The room was extremely nice and atmospheric.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brusque staff. No towels on arrival, sorted that and then realised we only had 1/2 a toilet roll! The noise from other guests in the other rooms and from people walking in the street was quite loud. Wi-fi didn't work until about 4am, but due to the noise I was awake then!

    The room was extremely nice and atmospheric. The bed was heavenly

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    4.2
    The only positive thing is the central position of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi signal was ridicolous, almost no signal in our room. The staff doesn't speak english at all. There was an event in the city with the impossibility to reach the parking: nowhere was indicated this thing. The bathroom was like a swimming pool after each shower. The hotel was not clean and all the staff were dated.

    The only positive thing is the central position of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    3.3
    Broken shower, smoke odor, torn carpet, no facility in lobby...
    • Couple

    Broken shower, smoke odor, torn carpet, no facility in lobby when checked out

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Nice room with view to the Pyrenean Mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower had some black humidity spots

    Nice room with view to the Pyrenean Mountains

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.3
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No one spoke any English. Wi-fi hard to get, only worked in foyer.good central location

    Central

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    great location Christian helpful with parking the motorbike
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was very hot when we were there and the room was extremely hot

    great location Christian helpful with parking the motorbike

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.1
    STYLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we speek your language ! english NO WAY PEDRO RESTRICTED ACCESS TO COURTYARD

    STYLE MUST HAVE BEEN TOP HOTEL 30 YEARS AGO

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Location was brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff wasn't very friendly and the internet didn't work.

    Location was brilliant

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.4
    the bed is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi only in the reception front desk

    the bed is good

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent only one night there and we didn't find anything to report

    Excellent location The building is very cozy Quiet Nice price

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    5.4
    nice location, weird but nice decoration.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rude staff. No English speaking. No hair-dryier. Noisy building and a bit creepy in general.

    nice location, weird but nice decoration. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    6.3
    Clean room, in middle of older city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean room, in middle of older city

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: