Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Saint George 2 stars

12 Traverse de l'Étoile, 84000 Avignon, France

#35 of 48 hotels in Avignon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone has smoked in room :( windows can't open in safe mode (important if traveling with small children). Neighbors (from opposite house) a little bit noisy.

    There were two bathrooms in the family room. Cosy beds, great reception. Parking in "backyard".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a run-down, shabby and not very clean establishment. And it wasn't affordable either. We were there during the Festival d'Avignon, but still, even if it was a lot cheaper I wouldn't stay there again.

    The staff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ok

    It was basic, but we only needed a night there on the way to a wedding. The staff were very friendly & helpful, the breakfast was just what we needed, & they were well able to cope with a gluten free diet. It was quite central, but in a quiet street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Three mature cyclists on tour so - Fantastic breakfast including lovely freshly baked pastries and bread . Helpful friendly staff,secure storage for our bikes Nice patio area for breakfast .Fridge in corridor . Basic hotel off a side street but everything you need for a stopover would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Dirty rooms - Mold in the bathroom - Old and loud bathroom fittings General this objects requires general renovation. Relation oprice to quality not acceptable. I do not recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have reserved 2 rooms but one of them did not have air conditioning.

    The property is a small but cozy one, with a free parking space just outside the property. Although one of the hosts does not speak English, he is super friendly and eager to help, and provided much useful information for us about the nearby dinning places. Although it takes 20 walk from the property to Avignon city centre, we enjoy the peaceful and quite stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time I stayed in this hotel and I will come back again. Very friendly owner! Room was very clean ! Free parking on the territory. Good air conditioning! Good price and quality!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was very poor - No presure, even though the water is very hot, with the poor presure you freeze straight away

    Very helpfull staff, the lady working there has been very kind. The room was great and the bed very cosy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are clean, cleaning rooms every day and changing towels every day, theres airconditioner and hair dryer. Secure parking and good wifi. The stuff is very kind and nice! they printed our tickets for bus like we ask. walking to the city center is 20 min. Thank you! especially for Serge!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It takes at least 20' walk to city center & others attractions, as well as to the center train station. There is no food / super market nearby, you have to feed yourself before come back to hotel only for sleeping.

    The owners are very nice & well supportive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom. Slightly difficult access to shower.

    Interesting location away from the tourist centre. View of the famous SNCF Rotonda locomotive shed. ( 1946 ). A wonder of industrial architecture.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and clever host that really uses its direct client feed back to improve his service. By asking and relaying tips of clients on good restaurants and nice walking routes through the city you become very well informed on arrival and are not just a tourist consumer but also part of the service to next guests, very innovative and clever idea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very quiet despite being just off a main road It was ten minutes walk into town.The place was spotless and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. The first night is a bit noisy because of the football championship.

    Clean and tidy little room with all necessary facilities. Not far from the town. The host and hostess are very welcoming and helpful. The host offers us a free ride to the train station when we check out. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in slightly run down neighbourhood.

    Very friendly staff. Basic hotel but good value. Late check out available. Proximity to old town which was only a 10 minute walk. Secure parking available.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not Very clean, not comfortable bed. Facilities are in general three decades behind the current standards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff! I really appreciated the comfort and the French lively atmosphere of Provence region.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff made us feel wecolme

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and washer were looked, but the stuff was very kind and easily helped us with this issue.

    Very kind room for 3 people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft bed

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really calm and authentic accommodation. The staff was super nice and welcoming. We decided to stay another night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic very tired and whilst staff were lovely the place needs a revamp

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    Staff were great location was brilliant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are so friendly! And they help me a lot since I was traveling alone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Able to walk to castle easily

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice personal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really scruffy neighbourhood, rooms very basic. Lot of noise at night Flooded bathroom after shower blockage

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind and helpful staff. Excellent value for money A secure hotel car park

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad Wifi in the room.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, available parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm welcome. Comfortable and clean ensuite, 15 to 20 mins walk from the centre. There is a bus nearby which goes to the train station (central).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean basic hotel within 15 min walk from the historical Center. Secured parking on site. The staff is super helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found few pieces of hair on bed. Comforter was without cover and not clean.

    Walkable distance to town centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, the quietness and the bed. The kindness of the owner and the staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed a makeover

    Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from neighboring rooms during night that we've stayed in this hotel.

    Car parking spot, Very reasonable priced.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the location is slightly away from the city centre but was great for the exercise, so much needed.... but plenty of buses.

    Serge the owner was great, friendly and helpful, welcoming. Avignon is a great town to visit. Enjoyed the weather, the city and its history and culture, the friendliness of the people and the food.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strongly recommend this hotel this couple of host. His welcome is indeed over our expectations, he even helped us make our one-day tourist program for next day. Service and consulting is rather more important then a downtown location. Merci bcq. ^^

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Family with older children

    The neighbourhood is a bit rough.

    The staff are very friendly and helpfull, the on site parking was handy and reasuring. The wi-fi worked well, the breakfast was good value and good quality. It was as much as you could expect for 2 stars maybe even a little more.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was situated 20 minutes' walk from town, in a dingy neighbourhood, on a tiny street.

    The proprietor and his wife were very friendly and helpful. The carpark was locked at all times and you were given a key.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need to walk about 10-15 minutes to reach the wall. Not such a big deal, but be aware of this.

    Very friendly host. He gives you plenty of tips where to eat out and what to see. It's a nice place for what it is and meant to be. Good for a shorter stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a 10 minute walk yo the walled city but we felt safe.

    The husband and wife owners were excellent. Hugo the owner was very helpful he looked up train info and printed it off for us. Lent umbrellas and recommend excellent restaraunts in town for us. Exceptional value for a two star.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had top leave our previous hotel before 11 and needed a place to park our luggage while sight seeing in Avignon. StTrip has been great. We are now in our last week, Paris. The bike trip was both challenging and fun. We are both thinking we would like to do another. Walked long distances the last two days. Today is Notre Dame and Montmartre. Having fun with Nash and Trish. Nash's boyfriend Eric surprised her: flew in from working the US Open and proposed to her on a bridge over looking the Eiffel. Our St George hostess let us in, and took care of our bags until our room was vacated and then placed or bags in our room for when we returned. She and her husband were both very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Monsieur Leroy was extremely kind to us during our stay. Caring, considerate, warm service adds so much value to a hotel stay. We were travelling by bike through France and we had to send some luggage his way and he was really helpful and willing to store it there for us. His staff also were very caring. The breakfast was abundant. Cheese for the bread. The bedroom was comfortable and had all we needed. The hotel is very clean. His English is better then any staff of any hotel we have been to so far. You can see he and his staff take great pride in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor wifi connection. 15-20 minutes walking distance from the city center. Reception closes early.

    Very helpful and kind personel. Clean and comfortable room. Excellent for the price.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very helpful with information about the places I wanted to see. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old part of town. The parking area was very secure

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit of a hike to walk to the walled in city of Avignon (20 mins?). Best bet is to drive all the way around to the other side of the old portion, park and start walking in from there.

    Awesome owners - very nice and helpful! Breakfast food and area were amazing - not to be missed! Our rooms were great for us and our kids. Always found nearby on-street parking. The Pope's palace and the Roman aquaduct (Pont du gard) is a must see too.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great help on reception - gave all the info about the City and around and even helped Change the reservation☺ Very Clean Good breakfast and nice terace 10min walk from the City walls and 20 min from palace Secured parking!!since We were with motocycle very important Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Excellent service, reception made me feel comfortable, spoke english and provided maps and suggestions for sightseeing and eating. Secure parking and good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Although the bedding was clean there was tiny garbage on the floor giving the impression that the room was not throughly cleaned. The bathroom is tiny, not ergonomic. The door of the bathroom has big gaps and when used, smell is directly in the room.

    Our late entrance was properly arranged with a letter and keys in an envelope.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location a good 10 min Walk from the old town, still feasible

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great Host! Good Price for Avignon Nice breakfast! Simple valuabke rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff is very helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful, and it's great value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly reception staff with lots of helpful local information about Avignon. Close to city centre. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and light, and the staff helpful and pleasant. Good bathroom as well.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small bed

    Staff very friendly, of good advice

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to all attractions owners very helpful breakfast very nice ideal location walking distance to main area .

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The manager was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic hotel. Perfect for a one night stay. 15 min walk to old city center

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift.

    free parking

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very kind staff, clean room, god location

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: