Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet Hôtel La Savoyarde 3 stars

28, route de Moussoux, Chamonix City Centre, 74400 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, France

#33 of 47 hotels in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 188 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvets has no cover on them (weird), pillows were lumpy and hot water patchy. Breakfast was ok but they ran out of eggs and the Nutella was out of date.

    Large room and comfortable bed. Awesome location right next to lift. Has own boot room and ski cupboard so no need to return to the shop each day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    being with a group of friends, we missed a lobby, or some sort of common space, to enjoy a drink before or after dinner...the property has such space but it is not open to guests.

    the location was fantastic! few steps away from the gondola, the ski rental shop, apres ski bar, and close to the center too...the views from the rooms and balcony were breathtaking. the property is well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to walk back 10 min uphill from the city centre.

    Very friendly staff and good location(The hotel is right next to the Brevent lift). The room was clean and cozy, with a nice view of the mountains from terrace. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly there is no bar/lounge to relax in, which would have made this little chalet perfect, with a young child with me is was difficult every evening having to make the steep journey into town.

    Superbly comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and in the very best position possible for Brevent cable car, I cannot count the amount of times I have stayed in Chamonix this chalet is one of the little gems that stand out in my mind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyday there was a problem with the hot water and heating system. Bed was not comfortable and room was so small.

    It is next to the Brevetz skilift. You need to walk 10 min down the hill to the nearest bus station and believe me on the way back it is a pain to walk back to the hotel up to the hill.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated, lack of facilities, hot water intermittent, room heating not controllable, no bar facilities. Needs money spent on it.

    For skiers it's right next to the chair lift!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff and excellent location (right next to ski lift)! Also next to ski hire shop. The bedroom was so lovely, like our own mini chalet and the views were unbelievable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were told the private/city parking was free at night and costed 8CHF per day. In fact it was 2CHF per hour (night and day), and so cost 96 CHF for 48 hours. This was really inconvenient that the hotel did not give us the correct information.

    The location was great for Brévent resort, and to walk to Chamonix centre. The walk back up is steep, so is not ideal for people with mobility issues. The room had an excellent view on the Mont Blanc. Thanks for the late check-out, that was great to be able to shower after the ski on Sunday. If you want to ski in Argentière or Vallorcine, you'll need a car, as the hotel is a steep walk from the bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for breakfast was a little pricey for the limited selection, however, it was still very good!

    The chalet was absolutely adorable, and the staff was so accommodating (and friendly) -- we're looking forward to coming back next year, it's such a perfect location! Cannot praise this place enough, words can't describe how perfect it is!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the water was barely shower-able. Barely warm.

    I wanted to have time away from the world, this was the perfect location. Private getaway with a log cabin feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the hotel policy of guests requested to be quiet after 10pm, the party next to our room was up at all hours with loud TV in room and loud talking on phone in room and outside especially from 2am to 5am. After two nights, complained to the staff and then quiet on the third night (to their credit.) Room looked to have some mold in bath and closet.

    View was nice. Convenient to the gondola. Breakfast was a good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location, beautiful setup and clean property, if you love an authentic classic chalet ambiance then this is the place for you, would also probably rate it one the best location in Chamonix for the beautiful view of Mount Blanc. Also the staff are exceptionally professional. Looking forward for our next visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a very traditional and historical European alpine chalet and with very pleasant and accommodating staff in such a picturesque environment made our vacation feel like a real French experience. We also enjoyed our trekking along the numerous trails in and around Chamonix.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was seriously erratic. Lightbulbs were missing in the room, towel drier in bathroom was not functioning, overall a bit of a feeling of the place being "run down".

    Quiet surroundings, friendly staff, the view of Mt Blanc from the terrass :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi only available in the lobby. Parking limited particularly in snowy conditions. A steep walk back from centre of Chamonix but as it turned out after a tiring day's skiing the walk proved very therapeutic in relaxing stiff leg muscles.

    Access to Brevant Lifts. Helpful staff and owner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was the perfect location as it was 150 feet from the Brevent lift. The walk to town was short but steep on the way back so we were able to work off some of the fabulous meals we had in the village!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely aggressive owner. Threatened us (a group of 40 year olds) with the police twice. Wanted us to pay 500 euro when a towel dryer fell off the wall. Said he would call the police when we refused. Surprisingly they never showed up. If you want to risk being affected by the owners mood swings it is an ok basic hotel at an ok price. There are no extra amenities such as a bar, lounge or sauna.

    Location close to the Brevent ski lift. Except the owner the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was a bit uninspiring. A small buffet laid out on a table. We had breakfast on our first morning - but went elsewhere for the remainder of our time there.

    We had a lovely mezzanine bedroom with very comfy beds (with duvets!). The location was ideal, just a few metres walk to the ski lift and nursery slope. Ski hire is available opposite the ski lifts. There is a bit of a hill walk back from the main town, but we didn't find it a problem at all as we never had to do it in ski boots - which people staying in the town did have to do! Overall, we were very pleased with the accommodation and would stay again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is poor. It's working only occasionally and only in the common areas. The connection is very slow as well.

    Location is amazing for skiers! Right next to the Brevent lift (50 meters). The staff are very nice, the breakfast is good value for money. Incredible viee from the room towards Mont Blanc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a car - parking is very expensive. You can park at the ski lifts parking lot, which is very close, but it is a euro per hour. The whole hotel is very cold, both our room and the breakfast area. We complained about being cold in our room, but no help was offered except extra blanket which is not helpful when you are not in the bed. Another inconvenience - requirement to keep ski boots outside of our bedroom, in the special room, as we usually dry our boots after skiing. In general, my sense is that there are lots of rules to make it convenient for the owners, but not for the guests. And you also need to wait at least 10 mean for water to become warm in the shower.

    The best is walking distance to the ski lifts.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The boot room was not heated and the skis were kept outside in a flimsy cupboard with a small lock - though this may have bothered me more had i brought my own skis this time. The' continental' Breakfast was a bit average for 9Euro and any extra supplements / hot food was very expensive....I ate at the small bar across the road, who also make sandwiches for takeaway & serve hot lunches at very reasonable prices for anyone on a budget. 3 nights was fine....any longer and i may have wanted to stay in a hotel in town for a few nights as the walk back up the hill at night may not appeal to some!

    The room was fairly basic as opposed to luxurious, but was exactly what i needed for a short break...a good size and had a fabulous view of Mont Blanc. A convenient location next to the Brevant cable car, Bozon ski rental and 'La Cab' apres bar. Very helpful and friendly staff (i had read a couple of reviews stating that the staff were unhelpful but they couldn't do enough for me whilst there, and greeted me every morning with a smile) I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant nearby which was ok for us as we were driving. May not be so convenient for those who do not like to walk downhill and uphill for the meal, especially in winter. The road outside hotel very busy during daytime of weekend with skiers coming, and lots of road side parking so may be a bit complicated when loading and unloading luggages. Weekday and evening is ok.

    Quiet and cosy. Good surrounding, it is uphill and very scenic. A few steps walk to the Brevent cable car. The staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Will like to stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater timer of the room was not really good as sometimes during the day we felt cold inside the room.

    Exellent location for skiers just next to the Plan Praz telecabin which connect you to the Brevent pistes and then you can have access to the Fleger pistes by sking. Just a short 15 minutes walk to Chamonix centre. We stayed in the room no 16 which had a fantastic view of Mont Blank with a cozy wooden atmosphere. The room was very clean and the staff were so nice and helpful. I definitely recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is the steep slope to go from Chamonix center to the hotel, my husband did not enjoy it but I didn't mind it so much - perfect to digest a heavy cheesy meal in town!

    Quiet, comfortable and charming. The views on MontBlanc and Aiguille du Midi from the balcony

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't have any negative comments, I would definitely be coming again next year.

    There is probably no better placed hotel in Chamonix. It has a stunning view of the whole mountain! It is very quiet, away from the noise in the city centre, the cable car to Brevent is literally next door. The staff is really nice and accommodating. We travelled with our 11-month-old son and it was just perfect. The garden is also beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can only say that the bathroom was a bit old, but that didn't change at all how pleasant our stay was.

    After doing the TMB we arrived at Chamonix and found the hotel easily, just next to the the cable car going to Le Brevent. The receptions was very kind and helpful and really made us very welcome. She took us to our room which was very nice and had a spectacular view of Aiguille du Midi. For us this felt like a 5 star hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for the hot chocolate - should be included as the hot drink offered at breakfast. Poor wifi in the room.

    Amazing hot chocolate at breakfast. Lovely views and warm welcome. And it is not that steep a hill back from town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very welcoming and cheerful. The location was ideal - away from the noisy streets and shops / restaurants but close enough to walk there (7 min) if you wanted to. Our room had a lovely view of the mountains and direct access to the garden. Same goes for the dining area which offered a great view of the Alps and the glacier. It's the silence inside and around the place that I enjoyed the most. Previously we stayed in hotels that faced noisy roads, rail tracks etc so this place offered a much needed change.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge Ski locker outside so not 100% secure

    Less than a minute from the PlanPraz lift Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nice View and Good service Comfortablr to stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of car park

    Booked due to the location - ideal for the gondola up to Plan Praz/Brevent. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room to sit and relax except bedroom.

    Position near Le Brevent lift.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi

    Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurants in the nearby.

    good location and magnificent landscape.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room has a garden, we could see the Mont Blanc from our garden, so the child could play in the garden,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a dated property. Rooms are dark and rather small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impossible de se doucher debout...

    Situation - calme - prix - contacts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at nine euros per person per day not at all good value for money

    Good location very close to le Brevent lift to ski area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location close to town and cable car.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No proper dry room for ski gear

    Great staff and proximity to ski lift

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is at the lobby only. Very inconvenient.

    Staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a little slow and took a long time to warm up

    Room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill back from town.

    It is right next to the lift and very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night

    small TV screen and no car park during winter time

    small calm cosy and clean hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located at top of a very steep hill

    Helpful and friendly staff Proximity to Brevent lift and nursery slope

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cosy atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, use of car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor WIFI in the rooms

    Nice position, with a view over Mont Blanc from the rooms. Nice room, balcony or access to the garden. Calm and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real "room with a view" !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mont-Blanc View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively close to the center but requires effort walk back to the hotel, up to hill

    Good view of the mountain, quite and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: