Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Newhotel Saint Charles 3 stars

4, allées Léon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France

#85 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2565 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged me twice for the one room for 1 night. I would appreciate the second charge being refunded please. I have contacted the Hotel as soon as I realised the double charge. I haven’t heard anything as yet.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    The bed is always comfortable and clean and staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here several times and without exception something in the room does not function ie. Lights, sinkplug.doorcard. These thinks should be checked before the guest arrives.

    The bed is always comfortable and clean and staff are generally quite obliging. Good value breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. On busy road so noisy throughout the night. Room 304. No power sockets near bed, only those used for fridge, TV other side of the room. Some lights and fridge not working.

    Location. Within short walking distance of almost everything especially train station. Comfortable bed and decent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Alright
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refurbishment work needed in the rooms (painting, quality of the walls).

    Overall alright for this kind of structure, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast ok. Located just next to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel is in an excellent position, one receptionist charming and helpful, the other not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I don't eat breakfast and just had a cup of coffee and yet they still made me pay a full breakfast.

    The hotel is well located for the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Good Value Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair-dryer & only one bottled water per stay provided in room.

    Modern style hotel. Room has all the essentials for travellers,, and the location is good. Only 5 minutes' walk from train station, & walking distance to Old Port.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Not my taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very limited in the english language except one of them. Hotel looks old. Outdated bathrooms. Breakfast could be much better. Lot of people hanging around at all times.

    Hotel close to train station and just walkin distance to the port. Very easy acces from the airport and back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Uitstekende locatie vlak bij SNCF treinstation en de oude...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Geen specifieke dingen die voor verbetering vatbaar zijn .

    Uitstekende locatie vlak bij SNCF treinstation en de oude haven . De bus shuttle van luchthaven Marseille naar centrum rijd rechtstreeks naar het treinstation . Aardig personeel die in het Engels antwoord kunnen geven op vragen die je hebt

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    The port is nearby and public transport really easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything there you get what you pay for Be aware Marseille is very expensive

    The port is nearby and public transport really easy. We went on eurostar excellent stop near station recommend the eurostar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic place with lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. After a terrible experience in a nearby hotel I spoke to the receptionist who was very sympathetic and let us check in hours before the official time. I cannot tell you how grateful we were!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Clean, stylish hotel close to train station and old port - ideal for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ideal size for one person but might have been a bit small for two people.

    Within easy walking distance of train station and old port. Clean and comfortable. Mini fridge in room and good air conditioning. Pleasant, stylish room with large bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Okay but over priced and under maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under maintained and scruffy in places. Some areas not clean. Fridge and air-conditioning ineffective. Overpriced, more 2 star than 3 star.

    Staff were helpful, breakfast was decent and location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very comfortable bed and pillows, very clean place, spacious bathroom, decent breakfast. It is located about 10-15 min walk from the train station (google maps showed to take one stop by metro, but in fact almost the same distance from the train station). The Old Port is about 10 min walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Adequate hotel for a short stay but needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of one of the male members of staff when checking in was not good. We had left our bags earlier and he repeatedly asked us where they had been put rather than asking us for our tickett to get them. Room smelt of stale smoke and air con not sufficient for the hot weather we had. Room/hotel decor tired and outdated, particularly the corridors being painted dark red. Toiletries were not replenished, we asked for more and they could only find shampoo but no shower gel and there was no hairdryer in room.

    The location was ok as not far from rail / bus station and old port. Breakfast was good and plenty available. The bed was comfortable and room, although on mainn road was quiet when windows were closed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.0
    Good value for the money, excellent when you stay a couple of days to see Marseille.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noice from the traffic was a bit annoying, but this comes with the central location...

    Very comfortable bed, nice breakfast. Central location, near the train and busstation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The location near the train station but at the same time in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from other customers from the rooms next to us.

    The location near the train station but at the same time in a short distance of all the main attractions. The receptionist of the afternoon and part of the night shift (I don’t remember the name) was really nice. He gave us some restaurant suggestions and also some places to not miss in Marselha. The breakfast was really really good! It was a surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    A bad joke, still funny though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged extra for bringing a friend over for one night even though the room is for two (for which I paid). One staff said we don't need to pay extra for the room, only the city tax, but the other guy interrogated us as if we were criminals and cheated us because we were obviously foreigners. Funny story, he claimed that he saw the two of us except that we didn't stay at the hotel that day. When we asked to see the surveillance, he chickened out because he was just trying to cheat us and charge more. When we asked for the price difference between one and two persons, he couldn't show it and said that this website didn't have the correct information and we shouldn't haven booked here. There's no formal regulation nor mutual agreement behind their policies; only conflicting information, words of mouth and intentional fraud.

    On the other hand, tooling around with the reception guy was quite an unique and exciting experience. Definitely recommend if you're bored and have extra money and time to waste :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and the elevator is world smallest! But this is Europe, so that is pretty normal!

    The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Mohamed. We arrived vey late (2AM), and he actually rode with me to show me the parking garage, which was very hard to find. The hotel is located next to the cathedral and the tramp line to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    The room I've been given was really quiet, which was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I've been given was really quiet, which was really a plus for working in the evening (and sleeping well after work) and WiFi was working nicely. Thank you !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Marseille was hot and dirty but entertaining and the hotel had vey limited breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor.

    The location was close to the train station but a long hike from the waterfront in quite a poor neighbourhood. Inexplicably there was a cloud of flys around the entrance to hotel reception which never changed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A nice pied-a-terre in Marseille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Option of a cooked breakfast was not available: please consider it!

    Easy to move about (to town) from the hotel as is 5 mins from train station, where your airport bus arrives. The area is regenerating so there is a mix of small shops and older hotels, all quite charming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Literally nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighbourhood looked really disturbing and unsafe. There were not a single place in 10-minutes walk at any direction that looked safe enough for a woman to dine alone. Furniture and bathroom equipment looked old and were damaged. The breakfast was quite poor.

    Literally nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great Location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great as the croissants was fresh and tasty and juice was fresh. Clean rooms and great location for the train/bus station and only a 10 min walk to sea front. I would stay here again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    Close to the train station, and a short walk down to the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were lots of flies hanging around the front door. The reception staff were pleasant but not overly friendly. I felt very much like checking in was a routine rather than an actual conversation. The rooms were OK, but the house keeping needs real attention. I cleaned the wall by the toilet myself upon arriving as there were dark marks on it. The shower also has some lurgies in it and we weren't given any extra toilet paper over the 3 days we were there. Our room also seemed the be uneven, so our beds were 'downhill'.

    Close to the train station, and a short walk down to the old port, although the area just outside the hotel is a bit unsavory. Really nice breakfast room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    1. The breakfast is quite poor for such a price: it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The breakfast is quite poor for such a price: it is easier to go to a bakery across the street to have a delicious croque madame etc. 2. One of the receptionists asked the number of my room 2 times on one day. Why? did he want to check that I am using the elevator not for free? But why he skipped me on the day before?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Good value for a one night stay in lovely city of Marseilles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I had stated twin beds on the booking form, we were given a double room. Unfortunately this happens a lot, which means a trip up and down the stairs to ask for a room change. Booking.Com - can you do anything to make the process of booking twin beds a bit clearer for hotel owners please?? The room was on a main road, so it was a bit noisy if you wanted to open the windows.

    Good hotel for a one night stay, near to the station and 15 minutes from the Old Port area. Good value breakfast for 10 euro with nice choice. Room was big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Basic accommodation close to the saint Charles train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning not working througout the hotel during our stay. Trouble with the plumbing in the bathroom which was not fixed despite several requests. We were on level one and rhe plumbing from floors above was in the wardrobe and was very noisy when people on floors above used the toilet or showers. Shower is over the bath and is difficult to get in and out of if you are not very mobile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value for maney. Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot weekend, and aircon did not seem to work. It is very old fashioned one. But we tried all types of combination, and just could not get cold air out. And it was too late to start sorting out with reception.

    Marseille is surprisingly expensive. And this hotel was one of few affordable travelling on budget. Very good location. Quiet. Good windows isolation. Very comfy beds. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioner, fridge did not work. Shower basin was leaking. Could not open window due to traffic noise. Changed to "quiet" room next day. Fridge, aircon did not work. At least we can keep window open.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Right in the middle of the centre, good for a base if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of the centre, good for a base if wanting to see everything on a city break, 5 minutes walk from the train station. My particular room was smaller than expected, dark decor on interior walls, lots of hustle and bustle, but hey its marseille! Bed was comfy and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Great cheap option for central marseille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room seemed to just pump out hot air, so room was pretty sweltering.

    Helpful staff, great location. Breakfast in room was lovely even though it was a bit of a rip off. Good value in general!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    The front desk staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff was very friendly. Even provided a few tips of how to get around. For someone who doesn't speak the country's language very well, this was an amazing help!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange system of card preauthorization - amount had been blocked 1 day before arrival, then I paid with the same card on departure but this payment did not cancel preauthorization, and that amount is still blocked in my account :-( Otherwise I would only wish to see vegetables at breakfast - bakery, jambon and sweets is too "heavy" for me

    1 - very friendly and helpful guy at reception 2 - bathroom with bath 3 - good double bad 4 - 7 min walk to Gare St.Charles

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was really good for a small continental one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no restaurants nearby only fast food. As we paid the concierge forgot to give us the change back but we only realized it after.

    The breakfast was really good for a small continental one (fresh fruit salad, very good croissants) and the location good. We could easily walk to the vieux-port.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Well worth the visit from London via Eurostar and tgv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee in room but that’s quite normal in France I think

    Location excellent from train station and good for all attractions.plenty of places to eat cathedral well worth a visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect position and value for exploring Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe underground parking at 50 metres from the hotel at €15 for 24 hours. Nice clean warm bedroom and bathroom. Spacious. Good comfortable bed. Very helpful staff gave us perfect instructions for getting around Marseille. Hotel is just 10 minute walk from the port and 2 minutes from the metro and tram systems - perfect for a city visit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee or kettle in the room. No option for eggs for breakfast, cold breakfast only

    Really friendly staff, great location, just 5 minutes walk from the main train station and 5 minutes walk down to the port. Comfy rooms and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is very, very small & we were located next to a flight of stairs that went down 4 stories, which was bit terrifying. Female at the front counter wasn’t very nice. People in connecting rooms were VERY noisy.

    Great location, nice rooms. Guy at the front counter was great & very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Good price+quality+location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot due to heat, and the lift was tiny (we could barely get in 2 people + 2 carry on)

    It was really easy to find the hotel. The greeting was charm. Only few minutes away from the old port, however some of the streets around it are a little bit awkward and wouldn't recommend walking around alone late at night. The bed was extremely comfortable to the point that it was hard to wake up haha.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Fair value for money but don't expect luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor in hallways. Yuk!

    Just a basic hotel but very convenient for train station. Rooms were clean if rather tired and surprisingly quiet given location of hotel. Receptionist spoke good English and was very helpful. No bar or coffee available but many bars, restaurants etc right on the doorstep. Fair value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    One night, no more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad maintenance of rooms, lots of things were broken, and room was not well cleaned, with hairs on the floor and bed.

    Location is perfect for 1 night, for who wants to pick train or go to airport next day. Breakfast is fresh and good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Could have been excellent with minor improvements
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opposite to last booking, the room had some desapointing features: bedlight missing on one side, electric plug not operating, moving door of the bathroom out of its slides.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    We know that the check in time is in the afternoon, so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We know that the check in time is in the afternoon, so we didn't expect a room when arrived at 10:30 am (we had a very early flight). But surprisingly, our room is ready! So we get into the room and put down luggage and even took a short nap before going out! This is really nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was spot on, close to the station if you don't want to carry your luggage too much. Within walking distance from the port, the Panier, Julien, it couldn't have been located better. The bed was really comfortable, the room was clean and had everything that you need. Great value for money and the staff was really nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Being close to the railway station was important to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being close to the railway station was important to us. It was also a convenient location for walking into the city and the restaurants around the harbour. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Stay away if you need clean quiet room
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast, had to buy my own cheese, very noisy from street - rooms being adverted as a sound proved ?! impossible to relax, although i booked room for no smokers we got room which been used as smokers room, terrible smell, very poor bathroom broken shower head no hair drier in 3 stars ??!! It is a good hotel for 1 night nothing more

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Weekend trip in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the room should be improved, there was a pair of socks left behind the door when we first arrived to the room, and remained there for the 3 days. The room smelled of artificial scent, but at least the window looked to the back, to the other roofs, so you could open it for fresh air. The furniture is very basic.

    The location is the best about this hotel, you can get to the main railway and bus station (Gere Marseille Saint Charles) in 5-6 minutes, while the harbor (Vieux Port) is only about 12 minutes walk. There are a lot of shopping opportunities around, as it's situated on the main roads. Marseille generally doesn't feel like a safe city, but here you can enter the hotel just from the main road, so no need to wonder is shabby areas. There's a fridge in the room, the size of the room and bathroom is good. Good value for price anyway.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is not a far from central station and only 5min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hair in the bathroom. They make a pre-authorization for full amount, even though I paid with same card, they did not complete the pre-authorization, but charged the money again and cancelled the pre-authorization. A little complicated..

    The hotel is not a far from central station and only 5min walking to port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    2.9
    Dont bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were rude. Rooms horrible. Felt like we were going to get sick or contract something from the room. Not clean. Made us pay for another night when we hadn't booked it, then spoke over me when I tried to discuss it. I would never speak to a customer like that.

    Nothing. Great coffee shop around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location but details need improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not clean This Place is needs an Update Wifi Connection very slow Noise from the street

    Location very convenient Breakfast included but in an unfriendly place Staff very friendly excepted the person that checked us in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning - only seemed to heat no matter what the setting...but I suspect that this was true for all hotels we stayed in and is set seasonally. It tends to be an uncomforatable sleep when your room is above 25 degrees and you cant open a window as inadvertently, cigarette smoke somehow still gets in.

    This property is very close to the SNCF station and about a block from the bustling street that is La Canabiére and heads straight to Vieux Port where there are a plethora of restaurants to choose from depending on you tastes and budget. The reception had accommodating and incredibly helpful staff to answer qyestiins and point you in the right direction

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting of the room was too dim. It would be better if the water pressure of the shower was even better.

    Great location! Walking distance to everything and staff was helpful :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    This is my second stay, will book again for next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunate accident of water leak in corridor outside my room, when staff repaired/cleaned up mess on the carpets, very strong smell of chemicals, unable to clear this quickly. Staff very apologetic.

    My train from Paris cancelled as result of murder at Marseille St.Charles , SNCF very efficient at rebooking every one for the next day. I phones Hotel and staff very helpful, altered my booking, did not charge me for "lost" night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    sleepless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of the man at the reception. Useless and not correct since I have booked a quite room but got a very noisy one, facing the main street. Even after asking to change, he said not because the option selected via booking.com are not real neither official.

    close to the train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    A very convenient location from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very convenient location from the train station. The fellow on the desk was very helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.0
    Very helpful staff and comfortable size room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work in our room but the helpful staff changed our room quickly. Then everything worked fine.

    Very helpful staff and comfortable size room and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    quite acceptable place to stay in
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room is relatively small but it is possibly the case for all Hotels in France (from my experience) - The corridors are so narrow in a way you find it difficult even to enter the room. - I could not get in the lift with my wife and sun in trolley , the lift is so small to handle us together. - The location isn't the best choice to recommend in Marseilles. - Bed is OK and comfortable but it is not the best quality that I have seen

    -The hotel is near the Bus station which is a big plus ! . -The Breakfast is very nice with wide variety and good quality ( I give big plus for the Breakfast !! ) -Staff were nice and willing to help in every situation. - it is not far away from the Port ,which is the center of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.8
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double rather than twin room, shower not working, extremely rude staff who showed no interest in solving anything, just responded with a sort of 'if you don't like it attitude'.

    Location. Only had to stay here one night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel, friendly staff, would definitely reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with a sprouse up to make it look visually cleaner, the tiles etc but it was cleaned daily so I was happy regardless

    The hotel was in a good location, the staff were very friendly and open to questions about local attractions. Front desk was open 24/7 which was very comforting to always see someone whenever you went in or out. The hotel itself was on a busy road but that was nearly completely blocked out for a comfortable nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    4.6
    The location was good - about 10 minute walk to the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room hadn't been cleaned - sheets not changed / towels not changed / empty bottles and food packaging left in room. They did change our room but wouldn't knock any money off the bill. The man in the evening was helpful and friendly. The woman in the woman who checked us out was miserable and unhelpful. The walls were paper thin, could hear people in the next room and the elevator in the hallway. No tea/coffee facilities in room. They don't even have a restaurant you can buy it from.

    The location was good - about 10 minute walk to the port. Supermarket around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    a great time, saw lots and enjoyed the beautiful weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly louche area, colourful, but slightly edgy

    Great room - was offered an alternative, because quieter, and took it.very pleasant helpful staff. Super breakfasts. Close to Vieux Port-easy walking distance, close to station and public transport and Tourist office.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Good comfy stay in central Marseille
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, 10 min walk to old port, and 5 min walk to St Charles station. Room was very comfy. Bathroom needs perhaps some modernising (shelf falling off).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    The staff were helpful, the location was ideal however I wouldn't stay for more than one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean enough however very dark decor and in need of some renovation in places. The bathroom was satisfactory but smelt damp and mouldy. A distinct lack of plug sockets in the room we stayed in, the only available socket we found was in the bathroom?! The breakfast was disappointing, I am coeliac and found that I could only have a yogurt and fruit, no effort was made to provide me with any alternative which was not great but we made do

    The staff were very friendly and the property was very easy to find from the main bus station. The location was central with the marina only a ten minute or so walk away. Beds were very comfortable. We only stayed for one night and suited are needs but the hotel is very basic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Very close to train/bus station, to Cours Julien and Vieux Port. Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ayman the receptionist went out of his way to help me recover the phone that I'd left in a taxi and helped me with problems I had with my debit card. Very professional and friendly guy. The room, although basic, was clean, spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Very good wifi and A/C.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Useless wifi, sketchy area, no toilet paper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was completely useless. Although close to the station the area the hotel is in is really seedy (smells like piss everywhere) and feels unsafe. As two girls travelling together, we did not go out at night. The cleaning staff seemed to be incompetent, forgetting to provide toilet paper two days in a row, and one day left a random pillowcase draped over the TV. The lighting in the room is too low to see what you are doing if you have to pack your bag or anything before its light outside.

    Short walk to the station and beds were quite comfortable, hotel seemed clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.0
    When I checked out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything. The hotel was in such a bad area it made us feel uneasy. The bed barely fit in the room you couldn't really walk along the end of the bed

    When I checked out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not perfect (found a hair on the toilet), nice building, renewed, but not in all parts.

    Comfortable room and bed. Good location in Marsiglia center (walking distance from the port). Very good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    Abort abort! Find somewhere else, this place really is the pits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air con didn't work. Don't bother asking for any cutlery as you'll get some rude responses. Particularly rude member of staff. Flies at the door welcoming you on arrival. Location had no ambience and seemed like a dodgy part of town in general. Rudeness on leaving. No hair drier.

    Fridge in room. Helpful staff member on arrival. Location handy for the train station. TV in room. Wifi seemed to work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to everything, but felt not comfortable going back at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the hotel is close to the station St Charles, the area around feels unsafe with dangerous-looking people

    Nice and clean. Helpful staff, walking distance from major attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    2.5
    Worst hotel of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst hotel I've stayed in so far. Although it is supposed to be a three star hotel… 1. The bed was uncomfortable 2. Very noisy in the night even with closed windows 3. The breakfast was terrible with almost no variety. Also we couldn’t sit down for a couple of minutes because all the tables were full with used dishes, etc… 4. The room and the bathroom very cheap looking 5. Small refrigerator not even plugged in 6. They reserved(?) the price for the first night (instead of charging it immediately). When I checked out I’ve asked them to use that reserve as part of the payment but they just simply refused to do it.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Large and comfortable room in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair-drier or tea-making facilities. Breakfast room small and quite warm. Lift rather small.

    Spacious room, comfortable beds, quiet air conditioning. Large bathroom with hooks on the wall. Fridge and safe were welcome additions. Breakfast was good with quality products. Good location near the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    OK for a quick stop over, but better book something closer to the old port
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was patchy; on my phone it only worked in the lobby downstairs. The person who checked me in was not terribly friendly and kept being distracted by other tasks. The person who checked me out on the other hand was super chatty but kept making inappropriate remarks about the Romani people, and how they're not all that terrible, seeing as how I was from Romania. Well-meaning, I'm sure, but awkward nonetheless. The area around the train station is actually quite shady; you'd be much better off booking something right by the old port.

    Fairly close walk to the train station and also not too far from the old port; lovely breakfast area with a good selection. Clean room with everything one might need for a one-night quick visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Not so happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was extra slow, the person we got kept us (the only customer present) waiting for roughly 15 minutes and was pretty indifferent. Other personel met were more professional. At night we got fairly strong light effect to our room from the light sign accross the street, that couldn't be covered (totally) with curtains. I had paid the room for 2 nights and yet they took a 85€ deposit from my account, saying it should returned to me within a week or so. This hasn't happened for me before.

    The street view was fairly pleasant. Room wasn't too noisy yet it stands on fairly busy street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    best location / close to the port & train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bath is little broken here and there , a lot of flying bugs at the front door (why?)

    best location / close to the port & train station / food shop near by / nice staffs / nice beds / clean( sort of ) bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    The property was clean and rooms were light with big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area the property is in.lets the hotel down, although central to the port and the rail station the streets stink of human urine and phesees with rubbish all over the place. If this hotel was located at the port it would be a gold mine.

    The property was clean and rooms were light with big windowns, Aircon was great and bathroom clean

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: