Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Louis Versailles Château - MGallery by Sofitel 4 stars

2, bis Avenue de Paris, 78000 Versailles, France

#27 of 34 hotels in Versailles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    A very nice entrance area, I liked the nice touch of a cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive in my opinion, so much so we actually had our breakfast in a near-bye street

    A very nice entrance area, I liked the nice touch of a cold drink being available as you come in. Staff very curtious. A lovely clean feeling throughout the hotel. Fantastic position with regards to The Palace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Location decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service. Room service took an hour and 1/2. Made us late. Had to give up on bar twice, too slow not enough staff..front desk service nice

    Location decor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was not 4*. Mucky Large empty jamjars left on the counter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A member of staff at the reception was abrupt and rude. We had travelled to the hotel arriving at 12.00 and needed to wash and dress to go to Versailles for a timed appointment at 1.00. She said No when we asked if there was a room available for this purpose. We had to use the disabled loo , taking our suitcase to do this. Only then did another member of staff inform the reception we were doing this and they eventually gave us a room.

    Beautiful de luxe room. Lovely airy lounge. Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Dry nice hotel but the staff need to up their game!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel the restaurant staff were appalling. From when we arrived for our (booked) table they seemed to forget us. We had to hep ourselves to menus after waiting 20 minutes, then we had to ask them to take the drinks and food order. And after all that they even got the order wrong. This meant one of us was effectively eating while 3 of us watched... not very social.

    The hotel is ideally located for the palace and enjoying the town centre by foot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Warm and friendly, close to the Palace
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect and we were able to park the car securely onsite. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and the decor well done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    We arrived very late due to the train strike in France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior king Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very late due to the train strike in France. The staff was so nice and even though the restaurant was closed they still brought us room service. They went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The location is superb being on the same street as the palace of Versailles and a half a block away from the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and the rooms had a strange bad odor. Room was small but I guess that’s the case with most hotel rooms in France. I think it was overpriced for the value one gets.

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Romatic weekend with the wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is in a great location for visiting the Palace; its a couple of hundred meters from the entrance, and you can buy entrance tickets at the Tourist information nextdoor. Its also only around the corner from the train station. The hotel itself was excellent; the staff are friendly and informative. The room was a good side (which for Paris Area is an acception); with the window open there Traffic was very audible, however it has great glazing/aircon and with it shut we couldnt hear any traffic at all. We didn't have diner at the hotel as there are quite a few local Bistro to enjoy, however breakfast was great, a nice selection of cooked food as well as continental breakfast. There is a nice patio area to be the back of the breakfast area which is lovely for some time in the sun. Overall I would recomend this hotel and stay again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a problem with a smell from the drains on the third floor. When we complained a member of staff opened the windows, put some bleach down, then put the had held shower into the drain to flush. As this did not solve the problem we asked to move rooms and were told the hotel was full. Only after escalating the complaint were we given a room that didn’t smell and met the standard that you expect from the this Hotel chain. Odd the Hotel was aware of the problem and still rented the rooms.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great location for a visit to Versailles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous location for visiting the Palace of Versailles and the lovely town of Versailles. The hotel is an Oasis if calm before and after visiting the busy bustling palace. You literally come out of the hotel and you can see the palace at the end of the road. The hotel is a lovely standard and the rooms are really nicely decorated with paintings on the room roofs. The breakfast was fabulous with a great selection of continental and cooked breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant as there were so many brasseries, etc nearby. The hotel reception area is very glamorous and all the staff were lovely - would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, would highly recommend this hotel. Location to the Palace could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch menus was very expensive...... €17 for croque Monsieur!!! Otherwise it was all good.

    The bed was indeed very comfortable and our room was very quiet. The shower was really powerful, so good. Breakfast was awesome, probably the best we have ever had in a hotel! The staff were extremely friendly. Perfect location for the Palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a great weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were glasses and cups only for 2 in the room although we booked the room for 3 people. The housekeeping could not provide a wine opener .

    Sauna & Hammam facilities are great, food is great, the room is very comfortable . The location is superb . Coffee machine in the room is the best .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, friendly staff, early check in, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is a bit small

    Excellent location, friendly staff, early check in, nice ambiance, nice toiletries and towels , good wifi and secured car park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Romantic and beautiful hotel close to palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is brilliant! Next to the palace (2 min walk) and bars, cafes and restaurants within 5 min walk Hotel is Easy to find. Secure parking inside of the hotel. Helpful staff. Beautiful decor. Beds were very nice and comfortable. We stayed in room 314. If you like sleeping with open windows, can be a bit noisy, earplugs would help. We had dessert in the room, it was delicious and delivered very fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Had a really enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a really enjoyable stay. Staff were nice, and on the whole the hotel was very clean. I booked this on a value deal through booking.com, so feel the value for money aspect was brilliant. Would I feel the same way had I of paid the full room rate? Perhaps not. Don’t get me wrong, the hotel is beautiful and location can not be faulted (just over a minute to the palace!) and I would 100% stay again should I be in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.7
    Accommodation in the room are nice and cosy but I will try a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bartender was rude, ignored us until I asked the manager if they were still serving food and drinks. Maintenance man walked into our room even though we had a signed outside the door “do not disturb”. Rang and asked if they did room service, was then hung two times. The third time the phone was off the hook.

    The room was nice and the location is only metres from Versailles. The bell man and manager were very good. Great service from them unlike the bartender.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the waiter ... we felt he didn't like his job and didn't interact with clients and us ! apart from that the rest of the staff at the bar and restaurant were very efficient and happy people and professional .

    Loved our stay at the hotel, the staff were very helpful at the reception. We ate well in the restaurant too, one member of the staff wasn't brilliant but the rest compensate very well so all round we had a great time thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Glitz and glam
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled, we slept with the window open so this made it rather loud since we were a few floors above the shops and a busy street/intersection. My earplugs helped as did the heater.

    The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Loved the lox, eggs, fruit, fresh yogurt, coffee, and croissants. The staff was helpful and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the room lovely. Coffee, tea, juice, water, and cookie in room appreciated. The conference facilities were great for the group size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    luxury and for a special occasion well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent except for the fact that staff were very thin on the ground and were obviously doubling up on what they had to do. You could sit at the most impressive bar but wait 10 mins to be acknowledged as behind the bar NO staff. The meal taken in the the restaurant was of the best quality (steak like velvet) and both cooked to perfection. Breakfast was vast but just to expensive at 26 euro each if not included. Would still return as the location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel with great facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were advertised with a balcony however only had windows that opened and overlooked the large and sometimes noisy airconditioning vents... this was very disappointing compared to the photos.

    Fantastic location for visiting Versailles Palace and Gardens and very helpful Tourist Office right next door. The room and amenities were all extremely comfortable and perfect for relaxing after a long day walking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Simply not good enough. Fortunately this was only a mid-point travel stop for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior king Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked and prepaid for Junior King Suite and allocated a room. Room not serviced properly. Refused a table for dinner but then given one after complaining to General Manager. Waited 1hr 40minutes for stater to arrive. Fillet steak was cremated. Salad was limp and brown around the edges Didn't have time for desert. Room power outlets not working Kettle not working Room had a desk but no power or connectivity. Recent refurbishment is simply painting over the old cracks.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice. Can’t fault.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra €20 for parking on site.

    Very near the palace. On site secure parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Every thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location when visiting Versailles .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Suite with Sofa-bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location when visiting Versailles . Very comfortable bedding, delicious dinner options and breakfast buffet was impressive ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant and bar was very slow.

    The hotel meet our expectations in nearly every way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    What we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean room

    Close to Versailles

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is minimaliatic, this hotel deserves Michelin worthy brekkie.

    Amazingly friendly staff, exquisite location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for its value

    Food service is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    proximity to the Castle, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit dusty. Service at the hotel a bit understaffed and disorganized.

    proximity to the Castle, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Super attentive staff prepared a bed and bowls for our dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super attentive staff prepared a bed and bowls for our dog. Quiet and comfortable hotel a short walk from the beautiful palace

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Very good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Na

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff gave an excellent service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or massage.

    The decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Perfect choice for Versailles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    It was a great place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a great place to stay at. The staff was friendly. Super close to Versailles castle, also very close to the RER station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location; refurbished and well presented room; consistent poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service (needs a QI programme).

    Excellent location; refurbished and well presented room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Lovely weekend break in Versailles in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Lovely large comfortable room and bed, good toiletries in the bathroom and the breakfast was absolutely delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: