Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5 stars

20 Quai Gailleton, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#57 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1283 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    When modernism meets absolute comfort
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying longer

    It seems that this hotel is each time better and better The staff is incr dible ( yuki and Christophe) Its modern but easy and always joyful Beds are perfect and services too THE place to stay in Lyonit was just too short!😉

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Great location for exploring Lyon, fairly basic facilities and the drinks are too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For a 5 star hotel the facilities are basic. TV facilities are minimal. The drinks are extortionately expensive which took the edge of the occasion.

    Location is ideal. Most of the staff speak good English. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel but preferred the Royal Hotel where we stayed a week later. Also a Sofitel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant waiter at the roof top bar. Rather rude and abrupt, decided not to have a drink up there and never went back.

    Location. Reception and concierge staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast options except a very expensive buffet with way too much food.

    Shower was great. room comfortable. Staff nice and helpful. Great Location. Enjoyed the Roof Top Bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean room, great view of the Rhone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower floor was not slanted enough and water would overflow from shower area after a couple of minutes after beginning shower.

    Nice and clean room, great view of the Rhone. Helpful staff and attention to detail.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Not as expected
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed in superior riverside room 102 was really terrible. Backpain, early awake. Hotel in general was not like we were used to in Sofitels. Breakfast was poor.

    Locatie

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    A perfect place to explore Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cocktail bar in the Hotel was very expensive. Although the view were amazing the drinks were just too expensive.

    The staff were very friendly, efficient and professional. The hotel is perfectly placed to explore Lyon. We would recommend a trip to the old town. The atmosphere was fantastic with lots of restaurants and bars to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location expensive bar ($14) for a gin! Main bar and resturant closed Sunday and Monday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was my main gripe very poor service from young staff not interested in carrying out the only job they had bringing a coffee over. I had a refund once I complained that covered 40% of the cost and never had breakfast agin.

    Large bed (not two singles pushed together) clean room all the facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Staff were very rude and told us we had to make our own Beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very rude and told us we had to make our own Beds unless we told them we wanted turndown service. In a 5 star hotel you would expect them to offer that service without needing to ask. Parking was very expensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    In need of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building would benefit from some renovation, and checkout was not very efficient. Not worth the money spend conpared to Sofitel Brussels which is less expensive but definitely much nicer

    The beds were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    3.3
    not 5 star but 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    property appearence, no proper bar, uncomfortable terrace, the old air of 70s, staff nice when you find them, not very clean, old furnitture. no way a 5 star but 3 . probably will be closed or sold soon

    the bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Won’t do it again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an airport pick up while booking. No one showed up! Upon checkin I asked about it and no one had even noticed. Not a 5 star service. Kitchen closes at 3 pm so if you checkin in the afternoon there is no food you have to wait till 7 till the kitchen opens again! Not a 5 star service!

    I liked the fact that it’s empty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet seemed a bit chaotic. We had to ask our server multiple times for the basics: salt/pepper, a spoon for coffee, silverware.

    The Sofitel Lyon Bellecour is a good hotel. For a one night stay, it was comfortable, clean, and had a decent variety of food for the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Just returned from France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just returned from France. The hotel is comfortable. It is on a very busy thoroughfare, but looks out on river with river walk. Convenient to walk into old town. The rooms are dated, but comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    5-star hotel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here two days and had no refills of toiletries, the air condition was quite noisy and no English tv channels. The breakfast was not very well organized and the receptionists were not the friendliest we have come across. And the fact that we had to pay 28€ a day to park in their garage!

    The breakfast variety, the view from the breakfast area and the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Tired SOFITEL ..... needs a facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very tired rooms, blinds did not work in 2nd bedroom so daylight at 4am. Bathroom towels and products poor, whole place is tired

    Great location and secure underground car parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Nothing amazing as regards the hotel and cheaper options that were available around the same area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was delayed we could only get the rooms at 1600 despite having asked for one of the 2 rooms to be available as from 1400. Luggage was delivered after 40 Minutes once I went down to reception to check on where it was.

    Bed is comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    was very comfortable the staff very polite , good service
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the WI FI was very poor those days had a stirke in the railroads and that got me stuck in Paris , I sent an Email of the situation to the hotel because I will miss my first night, they didnt answer, and when I arrived I explain again , the lady in registration told me she will try to refund my night ,but I never received a feedback

    was very comfortable the staff very polite , good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the hotel and furniture require updating. The hotel building is not very inspiring

    The bed was excellent and we ate at the silk brasserie within the hotel. Our meal was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Our stay at the Sofitel was a wonderful experience and we sill seek out Sofitels in future travels.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our breakfast experience was tarnished by one boisterous, loud child using an annoyingly noisy electronic device of some sort. In my opinion these devices should not be allowed to be used in hotel restaurants where they can be disturbing to other guests. It would have been nice to have plain black tea and some milk in the room.

    The service was impeccable: the car valet service was extremely professional. My husband was reluctant at first to hand over the keys of his brand new car, but the man dealing with the cars was clearly experienced and inspired confidence in a friendly way. The young man at the front desk gave excellent tips and inside inforamtion on the 'vieux Lyon'. The bed was super comfortable. The room was well designed and equiped. We loved the mini walk-in closet. The breakfast was excellent, run by professional, friendly staff. The buffet was superior. The restaurant being on the top floor, our table overlooked the rooftops of Lyon and the Rhone below; a lovely breakfast experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Not completely happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not happy and smiley as they should be. Our first room had been smoked in so went to reception and to be fair the lady was amazing apologetic and found us another room quickly with no issues. The rooms are a bit outdated.

    Door man was lovely and helpful. And Offered us a bottle of water while waiting to check in. Location was perfect. Views where good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    I did like my stay. Professional staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers, no bathrobe in the room. Used furniture, scratches on the chair. Only one plug for phone charging. Impossible to switch off air conditioning.

    Large bathroom, comfy bed. Nice Lanvin bathroom amenities. Good restaurant on the 8 floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the check in was bad and the staff wasn’t friendly or helpful, and have not that much of knowledge, unfortunately I don’t know his name Other staff were very supportive and friendly especially the one who did the check out for me, she was really nice and sweet

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    This is not 5 Stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel has nothing to do with a 5 stars hotel, we know the Sofitel hotels and this is absolutely not the Standard. This hotel is not to recommend. Regards Henrik

    Only the location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    The room's conditions did not meet expectation as a five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in shower is small and the bathub drainage is clogged. The check in counter only had one person although many customers wanted to check in or out.

    Location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff was great but my room was very undesirable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked an upgraded room with a view of the river. The room was on a lower floor and had a very, very bright spotlight that the hotel had mounted outside shinning in my window.

    Staff was very good. Restaurant had a beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Our room number 619 was a corner room with plenty of light...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room number 619 was a corner room with plenty of light however for a 5 star hotel the room was remarkably small. smaller than my own bedroom at home in Dublin which is not that big. The furniture was quite dated almost like a grubby throwback to the 1970's. I think really the decor of the rooms could be updated to justify the price of a stay there. The foyer was nice. the bar and restaurant upstairs on floor 8 also nice but pricey

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in the centre of Lyon - top service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lifts were being serviced and I had to wait more than 10 minutes - the rooms and furniture are a bit dated, at least the one I stayed in.

    Nice breakfast with a fabulous view of Lyon. Quiet, much better than for instance Radisson where there is noice from railway. Good and friendly spa - all in all a good experience and I will probably stay there on my next view also. Really appreciate the five star service that makes up for the somewhat dated feeling of the furniture and room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    modern hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room is pretty small so a bit cramped when travelling with multiple suitcases

    modern hotel with excellent staff. Great restaurants (both the trois domes and brasseries were nice meals)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean room and comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked the hotel to book for a front /river view room but room was not available at the time of checking-in.

    Nice and Clean bed room and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great location excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing !

    This is a really superb hotel. The front desk staff are among the most professional and courteous that I have encountered anywhere in the world. All spoke perfect English and couldn’t do enough to assist us with our stay in Lyon and onward travel arrangements. We were lucky enough to be taken care of by Olivia who deserves a special mention but everyone we dealt with at the hotel from front desk to concierge and room service were excellent. The hotel is in a great location. Convenient for shops, restaurants and sightseeing. We simply couldn’t fault it in any way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is 24€ and they ask extra 12€ for sunny side-up ?!?!? Unbelievable, for such a reputation of this hotel I don‘t find it fair , plus the rooms are super small and have sewage smell ... not worth the money in my opinion , and all things old in the room !

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lifts kept malfunctioning of the 3 only 1 was functional most of the time. Lobby furniture may need an update.

    Excellent location and beautiful view pf the Rhone. Friendly check in staff and very helpful concierge. Food and service at the Silk Brasserie was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Perfect hotel where you easily can explore whole Lyon by foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little old and it was not so welled cleaned.....

    The bed was fantastic. Hermes soap, shampoo and conditioner was a highlight for me i enjoyed the luxury feeling. // Karin

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Expensive, but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rate what one would expect, but services such as breakfast , laundry, parking, etc were very, very, expensive., and the room was on the small side.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.3
    A great disappointment from a hotel group who are usually very reliable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where to start? We arrived about 1600, and one of our rooms wasn't ready. The other must have been the smallest in the hotel (212) and really should not have been sold for double occupancy. When the cupboard door was open you couldn't get into the bathroom, nor was there space for two people to pack or unpack simultaneously. The wifi was in and out, and you had to constantly log in again. My husband was waiting for me in the lobby, one of the waiters went into the outdoor smoking area, leaving the door wide open and my husband in a draught. When my husband asked him to close it, he refused, curtly. His name was Antoine (he told my husband to remember it!). The smoking area was totally closed by 1130, despite the fact that the restaurant was full and there were lots of people coming in and out. Overall, apart from the restaurants, one had the impression this was a hotel run more for the convenience of its staff than its guests.

    The doorman's welcome was the best thing about the hotel. The "Trois Domes" restaurant was excellent with delicious food and good service. Breakfast service, and the coffee shop Silk, were all good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Would consider staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to ride/drive through bad traffic and many traffic lights to get to it....bland corporate feel

    Secure parking for motorbike....close to restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay aided by very helpful concierge staff. We would come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bottom bed sheets not changed. Armchair too uncomfortable to sit upon and very worn tired chairs generally. They could not find our reservation on check in. Our name was spelled incorrectly. We agreed a price for room upgrade and they tried to charge us more on check out together with charging us for breakfast which we did not have!

    Very comfortable large room. We upgraded and had a river view. Complimentary soft drinks in mini bar. Luxury robes and slippers. Wonderful location and good parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Well worth its rating and the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The central location was ideal for restaurants with several within 10 mins stroll. Easy access to museums and places of interest. Extremely comfortable bed. Hotel immaculately clean throughout. Staff very helpful. Excellent advice from concierge. Worth its star rating. Not cheap but worth the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Spoilt by deceit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a dishonest rule that they request your credit card even though you have fully paid for the room some 12 months before. No sir we will not use the card but rules are rules. Turns out the hotel debited the card for 100 euros that day and we must now await a full refund which to date has not occurred. NOT happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath took ages to fill!

    Very convenient location . Lovely hotel and extremely luxurious bedroom . Loved the walk in wardrobe . Great coffee machine and wonderful enormous bed. Good breakfast, professional staff throughout .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Good bet for a modern, centrally located hotel in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ugly exterior Busy at breakfast - go early!

    Stunning 8th floor dining area, also location for breakfast. Excellent friendly staff Modern facilities, as expected at a Sofitel. Easy valet parking (at a price!) Handy location (on foot - Place Bellecour 5 mins, Old Town 10-15 minutes) Free welcome cocktail (Genius)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure if that's a common thing in France but lobbed has some shops inside of it, like a mall.

    Location is good, just a short walk from the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Easy, comfortable and convenient for the lovely city of Lyon.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the prices to be high for incidentals and bar - even for Lyon. The concierge was not as helpful as the one was last time we stayed - he was excellent!

    Location and ease of parking were key considerations and we had visited the hotel before.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Great location, very clean, and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked everything.

    The shades on the window were great since my window opened to the morning sun. The free (non-alcoholic) drinks in the room was also a really nice touch. I was attending a conference at University Lyon 2, and the location was superb. It's also right on the river and in walking distance to the old town and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Nothing about luxury
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't feel like luxury:smelly carpets,dirty walls in rooms,the hotel definitely needs renovation!

    Very friendly reception and staff in general Comfortable parking Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.8
    Triple threat, triple rate Total 650$ / original 250$
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -1 Wrong Bed , got a double single bed instead of a big one -2 For à extra time check In they taxes me 200$ -3 Maid enter twice in my room eve though card sign was hang on in handle "please do not disturb , one when I was showering with my GF, 2 when I was not in my room, figured out they put some water -4 They didn't tell me that it was not a smoking room , I smoke and got 250$ extra cost 5 Grand Total of my staying on 7th June (00h10) till 7 June at 16:30 = 200 Initial cost + 200 Exta Staying + 250$ = 650$ + 50$ parking

    I booked Sofitel since my father died , it reminds me always when he was bringing me all around the world to travel do his businesses. So I like old time , a real 5 stars !! But since 3 years we always talk with old staff (20 and 10 years staff)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Lyon, a calmer, quieter Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff, and particularly the Concierge were excellent. His recommendations were accurate, obviously based on personal experience. He went out of his way to make our stay easy and pleasant. And he exhibited a sincere passion for his job and concern for his clients.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    One of best Lyon hotel 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They hold an amount of EUR 100/- on my credit Card when Check-in for any extra charges since hotel was fully paid (which I don't mind) but they didn't share that wz me or get my pre-approval or signature and I discovered that by coincidence by SMS from my bank and when I made a claim; appear as no interest !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Can't go far wrong with the Sofitel hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet and curtains in the room appeared worn and stained, at least in this room needed updating. A few hooks for towels etc in bathrooms would be good too.

    The free minibar was very nice. Staff were excellent and accommodating Comfortable bed and the Hermes products in bathroom were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    Room not ready at check-in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the location at 1630 or so and our room was not ready. Check-in was at 1500 so we were not happy that we were asked to sit in the lobby to wait for a room that should have been ready 1.5 hours earlier.

    Bed was very confortable as were the pillows

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room looked very tired and needs a refurb. Never enough English tea available The spa is just a steam room with tropical showers and to get to the spa you have to walk through reception in your robe and slippers!

    The bathroom was spacious and well equipped. The bed was large and very comfortable The breakfast was good if a little overpriced Free soft drinks in the minibar good choice Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Definitely would stay/recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping person did not replace used cups & glasses & empty bathroom trash.

    Beautifully presented breakfast & delicious! Concierge, Sebastian, was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    Staff very nice and supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booked room was a junior suite. For being a five stars hotel the room should be renewed and better maintained. Noisy Air Condition and the minibar did not offer a good products mix only water and juice. Breakfast can be improved offering wider variety of fresh fruit as well as a coffee machine for self-service (espresso or cappuccino) rather than depending by the service at the table often too slow.

    Staff very nice and supportive. Good location nearby to all the main tourist attraction. Good quality of the food served at the brasserie. Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain about anything Maybe the price, but it matches the quality, so, nothing to complain

    Superb staff Great location Nespresso e free bar

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    3.5
    Needed another day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting too long to sit for breakfast

    The room was very clean , spacious and comfy ,the tv and radio were superb Receptionists are gorgeous and perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent overall choice for a stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked the central location on the river. The condition of the property was a little dated, but common spaces were renovated and welcoming, and rooms were clean, crisp, well-appointed with oversized walk-in showers and very comfortable beds. Friendliness of staff was exceptional, and secures our overall impression of the property. We will definitely choose Sofitel Bellecour again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.2
    A perfect stay in
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve the colors design of the room to much the design of the entrance and restaurant

    Excellent bed Room furniture not bad but the room and corridors give the impression that they need to be refurbished

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    3.8
    I'm not high maintenance but this was terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not attentive. Everything ordered was wrong or late. Room was not refurbished, smelly, and very expensive - I felt mis-sold by the pictures on the website.

    The view from the breakfast floor.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Lyon Sofitel for Business
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in room 719 and everything was as you would expect from a quality hotel, except the shower was very poor quality. It was mounted very low and had poor water pressure. The floor also got soaked when you used the shower - very disappointing

    The hotel is very well located and the staff are extremely helpful and professional whilst remaining friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, the hot buffet breakfast was limited and so so quality.

    Reception staff were excellent. On arrival and departure. Very comfy bed. Great location for heart of Lyon.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    The building is well located but decoration clearly needs refurbishment now.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is well located but decoration clearly needs refurbishment now. It's price is no longer in line with the current level of standing.

    The view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Really comfortable place to stay and easy walking into centre for great choice of restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed with the choice at breakfast

    The best Bed we`ve slept in. Great breakfast Restaurant which had fantastic city views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great! The staff are super friendly, the prive parking is so useful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit tired and over priced.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    JS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check-in was messed up. The room we were sent to wasn’t ready and we had to wait until 4pm for a room.

    It was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no sauna in wellness area

    Position

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Hotel in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    Every thing about the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, cold eggs, spoiled juice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice place close to the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old building

    Excellent location and accessible

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, delicious breakfast and super comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, delicious breakfast and super comfortable bed! Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dressers in the rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location and friendly staff. A modern hotel in the heart of Lyon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Great views especially from the breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views especially from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: