Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port 5 stars

36 Boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France

#8 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1048 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa close too early!!!! I couldn’t use in my stay! In my stay, one day was raining, so I didn’t have an umbrella, it was so difficult to find one!

    The restaurant is wonderful!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Room spotless, bed extremely comfortable. Brilliant location. Buses stop outside hotel. Breakfast very varied and excellent, no limit to how much you can eat. Overall excellent. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice, comfortable night in sofitel, Marseille. View from the restaurant is so nice, and the food also variable, and edible. Also, thanks to allowing early check-in!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the Dante bar on the 7th floor leave a lot to be desired.They have an arrogant and surly attitude but once they realise you are a paying guest at hotel their attitude changed.On our last night avoided this bar as they certainly dod not make guesta welcome.More training required l believe....or just replace them...NOT a 5 star service in this bar..

    Superb setting...everything else wonderful and what you would expect of a hotel of this standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking lot was extremely tight. i believe the valet scratched my rental car. But i did not notice until later so i could not blame them for the damage. room is quite small for the price you pay, but still comfortable.

    5-star standard staff. extremely helpful and super pet friendly. wonderful view from both the brasserie and the roof top restaurant. comfortable big bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.speed of service response 2.Facility is old. Moreover, arrange unqualified rooms to clients(Door of one room cannot be locked. Window was still open for another since window did not work normally) 3. IT system was outage lead to room card cannot deliver to clients

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Port View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    short time period which I had to enjoy this hotel.

    An incredible view of the port and the fort. Simply beautiful. Excellent concierge service and treat yourself to lunch in the beautiful restaurant on the 7th floor. Excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff told me the breakfast information but not clarify me breakfast is not included, and it costs 25 euro per day per person.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is very tidy and clean. Location is in the center but not noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa closes down at 8 pm, which is earlier than most other places. In business might be hard to make in time. Had view to back-yard first floor, could have been better. Other vice room very good and spacey

    Views from top floor amazing! Brekfast served there so all can easily enjoy those views. Very clean, nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by car and no one was there to take tell us where to park or valet it, we were assigned a handicap room despite not asking for it and the hotel was not sold out. When I told them I was unhappy about that a manager didn’t charge us for parking which was a nice gesture. Concierge was not very helpful with restaurant recommendations.

    Coffee and tea in the room, good bed/linens

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room. The view on the Novotel room just beside the Novotel... (with no curtains...)... The amenities, many of them missing, possibly "on purpose" regarding the pricing through booking.

    The place / The view from the restaurant - Bar over the Vieux port (At sunset ***). The restaurant, for fine dining.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small housekeeping issues - there is always a room for improvement ;-)

    incredible views from the top floor restaurant and bar; top class spa; overall a very good experience; professional personnel; impressive breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel recommended a restaurant to eat out that was terrible the worst meal I have ever had The main restaurant in the Sofitel was closed the evening we arrived .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wedding anniversary drinks at the elegant rooftop bar were impaired by loud rap music with the most obscene lyrics I've ever heard. Not particularly romantic, although the staff seemed appalled when we mentioned it on leaving.

    The view over the old port is astonishing, especially if you book a room with a terrace and the staff were very efficient, friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service was average, décor was shabby without the chic and we couldn't book restaurants and spa because it was too busy.

    The view from the hotel was amazing and the beds where to die for...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to have a breakfast at 9:30 (opening our is until 11:00), as we have arrived there, we have been told to wait for over 40 minutes. As we were in a hurry, we could not wait for 40 minutes. So we went to the reception to ask any kind of compliment. Where we also waited another 10 minutes for the manager on duty. Whom also could not help us, in any ways. He only said "you should wait for your turn". We think to wait for 40 minutes in a 5 star hotel for a breakfast, and the attitude of the manager are unacceptable.

    View

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was advertised as with a pool. The pool was shared by the Novotel so twice as many people and with children poolside. Loud and unexpected disappointment. Broken loungers and cloudy outdoor pool.

    Quiet location just off the main strip, beautiful lobby and nice room. Amazing and tranquil spa pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is overrated and way too expensive. The breakfast is worth 15€ not 27€, especially the service in the restaurants is bad. you alwas had to ask for things like missing plates or cups. Ordering tea or coffee lasted often more than 15 minutes. There is no variety in the breakfast. Everyday it's the same, e.g. they just offer scrumbled eggs with milk, no omelette or anything individual. The maximum i waited to get a single drink in the terrace restaurant was 50 minutes - and it was less than half full!

    The view over the Vieux Port of Marseille is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1st move:Delux bedrooms have no view and overlook back over hotel roof and services. 2nd move: rooms on a services floor, outside a hairdressers and there is a distinct 'foul' smell in the rooms.Restricted partial view of harbour look into backs of buildings and extract ventilation from adjoining buildings prevent the use of the balcony and venting the room with 'fresh air'. Adjoining nightlife will keep you awake until 4pm unless you wear hearing aids to mute! On flushing the toilet, the sewerage came up through the shower, bath and wash hand basin which explained the initial foul smells experienced on arrival. 3rd move was to an excellent 6th floor with a lovely view however, our patience and holiday enjoyment was over. we left chocolate in the fridge of the second room but mysteriously went missing?

    bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of teh staff and their willingness to help with anything (restaurants mainly). Sadly to say they were rude and unprofessional

    The location and the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told our room would have a view of the "gardens". The first room we were offered had a view of a wall and pipe work. We asked to be moved and the next room was slightly better with some trees in the distance, but certainly no garden view!

    The hotel restaurant had an amazing view and a delicious buffet for breakfast. Glad we paid extra for this. Night time turndown service was a nice touch. Very comfortable bed. Massive double bath. Good location, bus stop nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Understaffed front desk and being kept waiting on arrival while other guests are allowed to chat on and on and on to the only person on duty. And it is rather a dull treeless walk into town. Needs good shoes for brisk walking. The pool is much too small for the number of hot bodies slouched around it.

    The view of the Old Port and a proper concierge, straight out of Grand Budapest Hotel, who gave good advice about the boat to the Isle d'If and where to breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture and room decor are dated (except the bathroom which is refurbished)

    The Vieux-Port view from our room was the highlight of the entire trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried to contact Sofitel by phone and email many times to discuss the details of our stay - I was told in the phone someone would call em right back, and no one ever did. This happened twice. I emailed using the website contact information three times and received no response. When I arrived I spoke to the staff about this and they admitted it's very difficult to reach them. This is not acceptable for any business, and especially not a "5-star" hotel. I was trying to contact them because the trip was a surprise for my husbands birthday, and I wanted to arrange some treats in the room for him. When I told them this, they said normally they would have something in the room, so they would send it to our room after we checked in. We never received anything. Also, we had to request some dental kit and coffee (the machine in the room was not stocked), and it took a very long time to receive these items, which was particularly annoying considering we had just checked in and discussed the problems with contacting them, and I was expecting better service after that....

    Breakfast up was great for food and the view. I could have stayed there all day. The food in the restaurant was good, and thy kindly let us dine even though they were a few minutes past closing time. The spa faculties were lovely, especially the indoor spa pool with its different jets - very therapeutic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you want your Credit Card BLOCKED for over 10 days even tho you have paid the Bill in full and want to be ignored at Breakfast....this is the place for you !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the beautiful 7th floor bar for a drink - however the lady who took our order wasn't pleasant. She then forgot our order and didn't prioritise our order after we brought this to her attention. There were more than enough staff and the bar was not busy. After 40 minutes we walked out without having received our order. Disappointing as all other staff were absolutely excellent. Reception, Concierge and gentleman who greeted us upon arrival were all really helpful, providing extra information and going the extra mile. Thank you to them.

    Really comfortable bed. Great room with terrace overlooking the old port. Great choice of areas for drinking and eating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to the Port. Making it central for exploring in both directions. Great walking/running track along the coastline& a map is provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was NOT good. There was NO AC that worked in the room! We complained and the guy that came to the room said all was good, BUT it was NOT good. It made for a bad and not good nights sleep.

    The view was very good and the evening dinner was also good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst service I have experienced from a high class hotel. No one was at the entrance to valet the car or take the bags. Horrible service at the restaurant especially at breakfast. 40% of tha table had not been cleared. We sat at a table and no one, I mean no one, approached us to ask us if we wanted coffee. Staff walked by as if we did not exist. was clear that they were understaffed. The food at Les Trois Fort was uninspired. Tasteless langoustine. View from. 400 euro room was of the roof and the HVAC. It was good the window was small as there was nothing to see anyway. Goodbye Sofitel chain. I think the attached Novotel had more energy, better bar. The concierge was very nice and was able to make good recommendations outside the hotel ( since little in the hotel was noteworthy)

    View from the restaurant Les Trois Forts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, excellent and very helpful staff speaking fluent English. Clean rooms (we were upgraded to superior). Nice lobby with bar. Good location, good Wifi, small pool but with an excellent pool side bar serving food as well. Nice view. Marseille is not the cleanest of towns and this hotel was a nice oasis to return to after a day of sight seeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was closed on Sunday at 15.00. You are not guaranteed a table in the restaurant on the top floor even if you book as you arrive so you need to actually book before your arrival day to guarantee a table.

    I had several problems that I brought to the attention of the guest services and the manger acted fast to bring things in order. Excellent response by the management. The restaurant on terrace together with the staff is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the bed was uncomfortable however my partner was happy.

    Location was good for us, we had a magnificent view from our room of the Marina. As we speak only English we found the staff to be very courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding a place to park to check in was a challenge

    The staff were so sweet. They left us a chocolate Easter egg in honor of our honeymoon and Easter. The bed was very comfortable and the complementary tea was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service in the Sky Bar was absolutely appalling and spoily what was otherwise a nice stay. If anyone wants to use the Sky Bar to relax, I would not recommend this hotel.

    Reception staff were helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things were overpriced and not worth it. The breakfast was nice but ordinary, we have had eggs etc cooked before us on demand in 3 star hotels for half the money. The staff were nice but over sugary, it's not necessary

    the bathroom was nice. The chamber over stuffed with furniture

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee should come quicker at breakfast. All this luxury comes at a price!

    Very comfortable with fabulous views from an upgraded room and a great restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They did not remind me the clocks all changed to day time saving the night before I left early in the morning. An amount reflected on my sms when I checked in & they swiped the card of R R12968.75 & then again the amount of R10 575.46 when I pd the bill I am hoping they have passed a credit on the first amount.

    Bed very comfy & staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. Staff great. We ate in restaurant for two evenings the brassierie last night. I had the oysters as starters but two nights later at home I was taken ill with food poisoning, which will take a week for me to recover according to my doctor Such a shame!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough attention to detail , e.g. Not enough milk left for tea in room, soap not replaced . On arrival, could leave more in the room, e.g. Fruit. Table not cleared very quickly at breakfast whilst not busy.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel reservation system was showing double reservation for all our party and it took a long time to get resolved.

    The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating and hotel location is nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bottle caps of the shower gel and the shampoo were too tight - could not be opened. Breakfast selection could be better. Wi-Fi connection a little slow.

    Bed was very comfortable, cleanliness excellent. View from breakfast room was superb. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cow milk. No soya milk or something similar for your Cereals. No table in the restaurant if you do not order. We arrived at 8.30pm it was full. Too sad!

    A warm welcome from the staff with a welcome drink at the bar. Fantastic view, very comfortable room and bathroom Very good breakfast Very good brasserie

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids cannot use the spa. Travelling with small kids this is a disadvantage.

    Everything was perfect. The view is amazing, rooms are spacious and the staff was very professional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy late at night, bands leaving, & guests. Early morning staff & garbage collection noise in parking lot. I suppose it would have been wise to pay the extra 50 euros a night for a room facing the view...

    bed was great, clean & good lighting

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant staff at breakfast need to be a bit more attentive...

    The Sofitel is probably the best address in Marseille, with a stunning location looking over the old port and the city. This is my 3rd visit over the last 15 or so years and I am never disappointed! The rooms are very comfortable, great bed and amenities. The staff is great (especially the concierges & reception) and they go out of their way to ensure that you have a fantastic stay - always with a big smile and nothing is a problem for them! The only slight letdown is the restaurant staff at the breakfast buffet. They seem a bit nonchalant and should be paying more attention to little details - for example eggs ordered took a while to come. But the breakfast buffet is quite impressive (recommended to us by one of the concierge) and we were note disappointed! And to crown it all, this great view early morning is enough to provide the right tonic injection for the day!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Port View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food overall, 3D floor restaurant room service and including breakfast was poor quality, not well prepared and poor value for money. There is big room for improvement.

    Staff was great, very friend and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband was celebrating his 70th birthday during our stay and we were very appreciative of a birthday card and chocolate dipped strawberries left in our room. The location of this hotel is very convenient for walking into town and the view of the Old Port is excellent. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were generally lovely, but were sometimes hard to get hold of when we were out and wanted to call the hotel itself. We had a slightly frustrating instance where we wanted the hotel to arrange a taxi for us but were put on hold for an extended period of time/transferred multiple times and then put through to a team member didn't speak English and wouldn't pass us on to anyone who could. We're sure it was just a bad day as overall the staff were very helpful.

    Very comfortable beds and rooms. Beautiful location and amazing views. The spa facilities were also very good. We really enjoyed hiring the hotel's electric car for the day to drive around the city. Breakfast on the terrace looking out over the sea and old port in the mornings is really quite fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is Great. We had durimg the Last Night three Alarms. The First and the Second we can understand. But not the third one. There was Nobody in the complete Hotel WHO could explain what was going on. This is why insist to get an dicount on our invoice!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool could open a bit earlier than 9am to give business travelers a chance to swim before working.

    Very considerate and helpful staff--reception, concierge, restaurant, bartender and waiter,disk-jockey....The best breakfast in Europe. Astounding view.superb design.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service was a bit expensive for what it is

    Very nice hotel in the old port. Rooms were very clean and nicely appointed, pool and outdoor bar area were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared pool with another hotel and area in was a little shabby with some sun loungers slightly torn and no attentive pool service.

    Amazing choice of beautiful food for breakfast and stunning 7th floor restaurant and cocktail bar. Beds were exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little soft for our taste.

    The staff went out of their way to assist all our needs. I booked first then 3 friends booked as well. I would definitely stay there again or in another Sofitel hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room with balcony was on floor 1 (low down) which is a bit like going into a dungeon where the common parts are not nice. OK once inside the room. Breakfast at €27 is expensive (and the hotel is over-priced) but it actually is very good - choice and quality - and taken in the best location on the 7th floor.

    7th floor restaurant and bar - fabulous location and view. Quieter part of town but withing easy reach of the old port and the corniche. Nice to have the room with balcony (once you're in it).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - we arrived around 15.30 and had to wait 30 min to get a room (cleaning in process and they were not ready) - after we settled down some other couple entered our room 501.... hotel has assigned them the same room with the same key just 30 min after we got the room. It is a no-go for a 5* hotel... the couple was as suprised as us...just unacceptable. - after we came back to the hotel our room key was not working, they storned the card without any notice to us - i have paid an upgrade for deluxe room to get a room with a view to the harbour but view was partially blocked by the side wall of the hotel left building side, it was not mentioned to me that it is kind of partially blocked view - hotel is out of the center, relatively far from the center and train station - room 501 was really run down and worn, many scratches, damaged furniture and dirty walls, should be renovated for a 5* hotel - hammam is opened at rediculously limited hours, they speak there poor english, i went there to ask if i can come around 20.00, they have confirmed and when i was there i was rejected an entry (previous staff person has not understood my english and then there was somebody new) - on Sunday hammam is open only between 10.00 and 15.00, normal days starts at 11.00 so you can not use it before your check-out - airconditioning in the fitness-room was not functioning and they opened the windows, it was not possible due to the heat to use running belt - no prices mentioned at the mini bar but drinks are not for free - there is a nice coffee maschine for special Illy capsules.

    + breakfast selection + support of the concierge in arranging me doctor visit during my stay + view from breakfast restaurant + comfortable bed & big bathroom (deluxe room) + guest relations manager operating next to the reception desk (unfortunately obviously needed :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Port View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared swimming pool with the Nova hotel . Asked for a late checkout which they agreed to at half the room rate . I agreed to this and the next day they renege on their promise

    The windows open and we had a great view of the harbour

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Port View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing - the location probably the best in Marseille and the rooms with the terraces are great. There had been a mix up over our booking via Booking.com and despite it not being the hotel's fault they did everything they could to improve our situation - which we really appreciated

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the Sky Lounge is awful. For example, 5 members of staff there standing around doing nothing of Friday evening and it took an age before we got any attention even though we were greeted with a 'bon soir' when we walked in. This was not a one off experience.

    Room excellent, view of Vieux Port from balcony outstanding. Reception staff and concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the middle of checking out the receptionist picked up the phone and had a very long conversation about room availability and just left me standing there!!! not acceptable

    The view from the terrace was amazing and lifted my heart every morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot. Couldn't adjust the temperature down enough to cool the room. Bistro was booked out except for tables inside but too hot to be indoors.

    The view from the terrace is why you stay here. All staff were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    arriving to a room that smelt like smoke. being transferred to a room with mosquitos... its like a fridge inside the hotel with ac blasting so you're cold all the time. even inside the spa it was too cold! very uncomfortable! slow service at the bar. door to the toilettes is a sliding door that doesnt fully close so you hear everything the other person does inside. lastly, the cleaning lady barged in my room after knocking just twice without waiting for me to answer (literally opened the door after 2 knocks which means about 3 seconds)

    the fact that you have access to the cercle des nageurs swiming pool is a plus. terrace with a view when you have breakfast at the rooftop. very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you expect a little more for a room in a 5 star hotel. It's not bad, but not awesome. Reception staff are super friendly but restaurant staff look kind of "bored".

    nice hotel, excellent location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully located with splendid views from public rooms. Excellent casual restaurant and outstanding gourmet dinner on the 7 floor. We chose a room with a view of the port and it was magnificent. Well worth the extra cost.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the cocktail bar and restaurant, but it's a shame we couldn't just relax with a beer without going to the Novotel next door. Similarly, the pool was shared with Novotel.

    We arrived several hours in advance of our check in time, but nevertheless we were made very welcome and a room was prepared very quickly while we enjoyed morning coffee with views over the old port. The breakfast was one of the best with so much to choose from. Our room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable (ridiculously so!). At the time we thought the Sofitel theme playing on a loop on the TV would drive us mad, but now we think of it, it's the theme tune to our holiday!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an awful smell of rotting carcass from the bushes by the swimming pool. Also, the receptionist forgot to call somebody to bring up our car from the parking until we went back to ask a second time about half an hour later.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable and the hotel interior is beautifully designed and furnished. Very convenient location, too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attitude by roof-restaurant staff not quite as cheerful as in other areas.

    View from breakfast restaurant excellent. Service and attitude at pool area, front desk and 1st floor restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Port View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit too expensive compared to the other offers on marseille

    a unique view on the city and the port

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was amazing and we really enjoyed our stay at Sofitel Vieux Port. We strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 forts restaurant. Food average and we both felt unwelcome,staff not very warm compared to all others in hotel.

    Excellent views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants was not available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Eggs!

    Incredible views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, Location, Location!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa pool

    Excellent staff service! The bed extra extra comfy😍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk, and breakfast staff were excellent. Best buffet ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff and outside restaurant staff were rude and miserable, so much it put me off drinking and dining there!!!

    Overall hotel was great

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: