Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Design Sorbonne

6 rue Victor Cousin, 5th arr., 75005 Paris, France

#338 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 690 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    3.3
    I stayed for 3 nights at an overpriced hotel that didn't even cover the basics
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was extremely overpriced for what it offered. I travel often to this area and would recommend staying elsewhere for the value. The plumbing and general hotel basic amenities need to be resolved. They also need to get an expresso machine, no coffee is just not acceptable. Booking.com definitely got this recommendation and rating wrong and their review is misleading.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.8
    We were in town for one night for a concert, and this was a perfect, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is a typical French elevator (small/useless), not a great view (inner courtyard). We were upgraded to a superior double, but not sure the price would have been great for a regular room (and it was still pricey for a superior).

    Cozy room, really comfortable bed, good bathroom, excellent shower, no TV, but an iMac in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    The location was wonderful and the staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was wonderful and the staff was very helpful. Our bathroom was very small, which was okay as we were there just two nights. The shower door does not seal so the first time we had water all over the floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.9
    A very well located smart little hotel, with lovely staff and a very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a bit of trouble with our shower - it needs a new seal - staff did try to fix it temporarily and we had to be very careful, but still ended up with a bit of flooding most days. Bedding was a bit hot - we don't want to use electricity on air con all night - thinner covers would be better.

    The breakfast was good - a selection of meats and cheeses, eggs, pancakes, fruit, yoghurt - nice breads and cake - much better than we have found in French hotels previously. Staff on reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable Parisien experience in friendly and clean environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't get a welcome drink. Breakfast ingredients could have been better.

    The staff were excellent. Always friendly and willing to help in whatever circumstance. Reception, cleaning staff and particularly breakfast manager George always had a smile and kind words. Made our stay feel safe as well as comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to landmarks. Notre dame, pantheon, luxenburg garden and metro stations. Staff is very friendly. Especially, who is helping in breakfast room. Breakfat is good. You have to know that, rooms are small but in Paris all houses and hotel rooms are small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Staff were professional and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is not a negative, in fact we loved It! It is a character older building, perfect for Paris.

    Staff were professional and very helpful. Location is exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again; the front desk was well staffed with great people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design top Floor room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although room was always clean, after the first day there was no extra shampoo or soap, which was one very small piece, and had to ask for more toilet paper. However, I think this is an American expectation and we did bring our own soap to supplement.

    Staff was friendly and helpful; room was lovely and actually larger than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    6.7
    Nice view in Sorbonne university..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No espresso machine in the room. A better bathroom would be nice.

    They changed our room as i asked. We got the red room at the end. Nice. The chef receptionist helped us a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Eggs great & very fresh, but Georges, the dr maitre d & egg preoarer was utterly charming & attentive. He’s a love! Also loved hotel location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent as you can walk to the Notre Dame...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration was more kitsch than we originally thought it would be. Our room was bright red/fuchsia and we felt a bit strange when we first saw it. You get used to it pretty quickly and we weren't that bothered by it but for those seeking a more "classy" feel, this could be an issue.

    The location is excellent as you can walk to the Notre Dame within 10 minutes! The area is full of nice cafes, bars and restaurants - Not dangerous to walk at night at all. The staff at the hotel was excellent, extremely polite and helpful. The room was small but comfortable - perfect for a two day stay. Most impressed by the fact that the rooms don't have a TV. Instead they have Mac desktops that can be used for browsing online as well as accessing TV channels. Although we didn't go to Paris to watch TV, it was very nice to be able to relax with a movie on Netflix after walking 25 km each day in this wonderful city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Location! Location! Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration was more kitsch than we originally thought it would be. Our room was bright red/fuchsia and we felt a bit strange when we first saw it. You get used to it pretty quickly and we weren't that bothered by it but for those seeking a more "classy" feel, this could be an issue.

    The location is excellent as you can walk to the Notre Dame within 10 minutes! The area is full of nice cafes, bars and restaurants - Not dangerous to walk at night at all. The staff at the hotel was excellent, extremely polite and helpful. The room was small but comfortable - perfect for a two day stay. Most impressed by the fact that the rooms don't have a TV. Instead they have Mac desktops that can be used for browsing online as well as accessing TV channels. Although we didn't go to Paris to watch TV, it was very nice to be able to relax with a movie on Netflix after walking 25 km each day in this wonderful city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Small but cute place to stay some nights in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Space is limited. The bathroom is really small. The breakfast costs too much 14 euro/person but the nice staffs offered us a free soft drink. Very warm welcoming.

    Vero clean and the staffs are all very kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for Paris visit, not to sulk in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is little expensive, compared to the cafe outside, but spread was better than nearby places

    Space is premium in Paris. Hotel rooms are pretty packed and tiny. Design Soborne has managed to provide all amenities and manage the minimal space very efficiently. Bed, bath, breakfast, and good TV/ internetvin iMac is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    Super location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Breakfast was not included, but was offered by 14 Euros which we found to be super expensive (compared to how much q full breakfast costs just right outside the hotel) - The elevator was super small! Only 2 people could fit and very tight (although it mentioned it could fit 3) - The shower was extremely small! - WiFi password gets changed every day, so you get disconnected and need to reconnect once again. The connection was not very good- definitely something to improve upon! - The TV had a volume starting super high whenever you turned on the tv. So you had to change it super slowly in orden to turn it down to a normal volume

    - Super nice design, for the whole hotel. Reception super comfortable! - Staff was very helpful and nice at all times, provided help and recommendations. Asked for help printing a couple of Times and they were happy to help - Location is outstanding! Just in front of le sorbonne, right close to St Germain and Latin Quarter with everything you might need super close by! - Room was Ok - a bit small but all in all, it has an interesting touch by offering a computer in each bedroom which becomes handy for planning purposes!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very dark and you can hear everything from the streets and the people in the hotel. There is a business within the hotels grounds that starts early in the morning. If you’re on the ground floor you will be woken up at around 7.30ish.

    The breakfast is really good. The location is ok, about a ten minute walk from the nearest metro station, 15 min walk to notre damn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great style , great customer service in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was fine for me but would have been a bit of a squeeze for 2 - nothing can be done about that though!

    Although room wasn’t large it had everything needed and more - I-Mac, lots of places to put stuff in bathroom and great lighting options. Also loved the quirky design. Breakfast interesting including cook your own . Staff called you by your name even though only there 3 nights . Quiet area but good location for walking down to the Seine .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice and helpful staff. Generous breakfast. Good location. Rooms are tiny but I understand that it is the standard in Paris. Very good Wi-Fi. We will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Curtains were a lil bit dirty. Imac on the room had a software bug and rebooted at 6 am the first days of our stay. Staff solved it shortly after we reported it.

    Location is great. Staff is very friendly and servicial. Hotel is very nice for a 2-3 night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    8.8
    -Location is very central, really easy access both on foot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - You have to leave the key to the reception evey time you leave the hotel - no glasses and bottle to drink tap water in the room - small rooms ( but doesnt bother you so much) - wifi was sometimes weak

    -Location is very central, really easy access both on foot and by metro - really close to st germain and cafes&restaurants -nice and helpful stuff - nice rooms and small but ok for daily usage - clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great place in an area of historical interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great place to stay and use as a base to explore. The surrounding streets (once you escape the larger thoroughfares) are very interesting with some real hidden gems to find. A range of transport was very close with Luxembourg station (on the line to CDG) within moderate walking distance. Breakfast was very good although the poor solo waiter was run off of his feet. He performed commendably well in the face of a huge influx of hungry guests. Providing reception with the time you plan to eat in the mornign was a real help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    The room came with an iMac connected to the internet which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No conditioner haha Room was small, but good for the price...plenty of storage anyway.

    The room came with an iMac connected to the internet which is useful...it’s clean, with good decor so is good value for money at the right price. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit small and we bumped a bit into each other.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was clean and with all amenities in good working condition and the Hotel is really in an excellent area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed in this "Design" Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed as "Design" in the property title alludes to the interior being stylish. My furniture had chipped paint and there was mould in the shower. My room definitely needed an update. The wi-fi was awful and there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room. I wasn't in my room much thankfully.

    The staff are extremely friendly and the location is good as it is close to two metro stations and next door to the Sorbonne. The breakfast room looked nice although I had breakfast meetings both days. I stayed during a peak weekend when Paris Design Week was on and therefore the cost for this room was very high and therefore felt very poor value. Rooms in Paris are always small so that was as expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    7.1
    having the breakfast to go on the morning we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the room are small the elevator is small no room service no minibar in the room

    having the breakfast to go on the morning we left. staff all kind and available for any needs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    6.7
    I think there are better alternatives in the Sorbonne & Saint Germain areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We found the rooms very small and very hot. We booked a standard room and were offered an upgrade for an extra EUR20 per night. We saw the standard room around midday that was across an outside courtyard and it was incredibly small and incredibly dark with little light & dark furnishings. It was disappointing to be looking at 5 nights in this room so we paid for the upgrade. Our upgraded room was bigger than their standard room but it was smaller than other standard rooms we have stayed in. We turned off the bar heater in the room but it was still too hot from the hotel heating outside the room. We asked for the air-con to be turned on but they said this was only possible in summer. In the end we slept with the window open slightly to anable the room to cool down. The single lift had room for 1 person with luggage and this meant people frequently rode the lift up to level 5 to our room to stay in the lift to the ground floor. This meant we frequently waited for the lift but couldn't get in the lift.

    The boutique feel of the hotel; the friendly greeting and interaction from more than one staff member; when asked they supplied a kettle & cups/saucers etc. for a morning coffee/tea; windows that can be opened; the location is pretty good [although some might say it wasn't central to either the Saint German shops (to the NW) & the Sorbonne shops (to the SE)].

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor improvement suggestion would be to have mini fridges in each room.

    Great location right next to the Sorbonne University and 2 metro stations nearby. Loved strolling around the area at night finding little restaurants and bars. The area, although centrally located, wasn't too noisy yet still plenty of activity going due to main streets nearby. The staff were very friendly and obliging... Thank you! Our sizeable and tastefully decorated room looked into a lovely courtyard and had double doors to be opened onto it. The rooms were well heated during our December stay. Touches such as supplying shampoo, a hairdryer and a complementary bottle is water makes all the difference.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, quiet and central, good access to public...
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, quiet and central, good access to public transport. Small but comfortable rooms. Very helpful host, very warm welcome. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    great stay, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was super friendly and helfpul with everything. Great position to access many different areas of the city, many restaurants and bars also nearby

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location,good breakfast,great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room no 15-there was no noise isolation,we could hear everything from the room next to us and the corridor.

    Excellent location,good breakfast,great staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.1
    We have booked this hotel more than once.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have booked this hotel more than once. The only thing we do not like is the fact that, during breakfast, they bake pancakes live in the restaurant. Because of the small space and lack of ventilation the smell of pancakes pulls in the clothing. Not something you want when you have a business meeting after breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.6
    Great experiment in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included in the room price. Tiny elevator with old fashioned manual door. Same as stairs. I got double room and quite small for 2 of us with 3 large luggages.

    Candies are put on pillow after room service. Semi - modern design hotel with weird atmosphere in green light at the reception space. Nice hotel, high - quality bedding. Locate at a small street near University of Paris and Latin Quarter; 10 minutes walk to shops and restaurants nearby. Metros are reached in 10 to 15 mins walking. Staffs are nice and speak English fluently.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    7.9
    Cozy hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel in general - Improvable: Noise isolation wasn’t too good. You can hear the neighbors not only when they slam doors, but also when they talk and laugh. Breakfast - Improvable: Would be great if breakfasts would have slightly more variety. Room - Improvable: The shower presented the most problems. It would leak a lot. More shampoo and shower gel would be appreciated.

    Hotel in general - Good: It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful at all times, during their shifts. Breakfast - Good: I personally liked the possibility of frying my own eggs, but doing it on a crepe frying pan wasn't too comfortable or fast. Pastry was great. Room - Good: Our room, #14, was rather small, but enough. It was clean and warm. Bedding was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    5.4
    Would not do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room & bed quite small despite that we'd received an upgrade to a "superior" room. Bathroom so tiny you can't turn around, except you leave door open. Breakfast is ridiculous, luckily we didn't pay for it, was part of booking included, but a simple baguette w/ butter & marmelade would have been better than bad croissants and cheap toast.

    Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable and a hotel I would recommend to friends visiting Paris as tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was cramped but that comes with the general dimensions of the building.

    The room was small but comfortable with good beds and linen. The staff at the desk could not have been more engaging and helpful. There are a number of restaurants nearby, one of which in Rue St Jacques was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay in comfort and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was on the ground floor and the window was facing the interior courtyard and the reception, so I had to draw the curtains for privacy. This made the room dark, as the lighting is not too bringt.

    Nice design of the hotel, great location. Breakfast is very good value. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    7.5
    Ver good location and overall would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great room and decor. Service was very good. Only issue was having to wait for milk for cereal as not put out on bench and breakfast time could do with an additional staff member to assist.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I found the rooms a touch too small and we could hear the people in the adjoining rooms.

    Lovely Hotel, their attention to detail is exceptional, great staff, very clean and situated in a nice area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    5.8
    Location in Quartier Latin in the heart of Paris is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small rooms The hotel is not as design as is states. To select only if a good rate is suggested

    Location in Quartier Latin in the heart of Paris is very convenient and close to many touristic spots

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    7.9
    I'm very lucky to have the chance to live in the classic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm very lucky to have the chance to live in the classic parisien old house with new fancy design. I like the very warm family feeling breakfast with very kind service. The idea of DIY breakfast fried egg is quite unique.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently located hotel with clean rooms and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are quite small (which is pretty normal in Paris). I had a window opening into a courtyard, which made the room a bit dark.

    This is a cute little hotel right opposite of the Sorbonne university. Very lively neighborhood with many students. The hotel is nicely decorated, staff was very, very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and had everything you would expect from a decent Paris hotel. The Jardin Luxembourg and the Odeon are very close, as are several bus and Metro stops. Over all, a good location and a good value for money ratio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Exce,lent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was tiny & difficult to negotiate.

    Great location, within walking distance to shops, restaurants & attractions. Excellent service from staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small breakfast area. Shower room needs fixing - water came out of shower room

    Excellent location - within walking distances to many attractions. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny minor point, since I know it takes staff time, but €4 for a pot of tea was a little excessive.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the metro and Luxembourg Gardens, and within easy walking distance of Notre Dame, Louvre and Tuileries. Our room was small, but our previous hotel rooms in Paris have also been thus, so it was no great surprise; it was well equipped and spotlessly clean. All of the staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    Perfect location & welcoming team
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom hairdryer to be replaced by standard hairdryer

    We arrived late after 11pm & we were made to feel very welcomed. Great location to go jogging in jardins du Luxembourg

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.2
    Convenient place to stop off while passing through Paris.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast service was haphazard. Arrangements weren't well explained and the food was only topped up when they were empty so if you arrived at the wrong time your choice was very limited!

    Lovely little typical Parisian hotel. Convenient for the sights we wanted to see. No need to upgrade for the view as we loved seeing the Sorbonne just across the road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    9.2
    Contemporary charm in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spaces are a bit tight, including the elevator, but typical of a boutique hotel in Paris.

    Great location for a busy couple of days in Paris - a favorite area, close to transportation and central sites. The hotel is very contemporary but warm and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms are small - typical of Paris - but done with charm and attention to helpful amenities. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We could hear people talking in the next room.

    The wifi was great. The air-conditioning was wonderful. The staff were really nice. The location was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    7.1
    nice hotel but not as I expected from the review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor breakfast, there is a nice issue in the breakfast - you made your own omelette by yourself but the problem is that every morning the cookers use it to make some pancakes and you need to wait about 15 min. the WiFi its not very strong. Room in the first floor is very noisy. Bathroom is too tiny although we paid for the deluxe room.

    the staff are very friendly, the hotel is well design, the location is very close to the Luxembourg station, comfortable bed and the i-mac TV/computer in the room is very useful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    7.1
    The reception staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely small rooms. No room for even one suitcase and there were two of us with a suitcase each. No wardrobe. Might be OK for overnight business traveller.

    The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    6.7
    Very tight for space in std rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny bathroom and bedroom. From the start tried to up sell an upgrade room. Classic rooms very small even for Paris. Leaky shower not repaired when reported.

    Helpful and polite staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    4.6
    Convenient but claustrophobic and old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been to the hotel in the past and i had a good memory of a quirk and cosy hotel. Unfortunately my experience this time was different. The rooms are really claustrophobic with a bathroom the size of a telephone booth and the sink the size of an ipad. Further to that the shower base didn't work so the bathroom and the bedroom was constantly flooded. Each room is equipped with a Mac computer to be used as TV. I was a bit disappointed that all English channels (3) did not work.

    The hotel is in a quiet and convenient location close to Odeon station and the Latin area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    7.5
    Just ordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The soundproofing is terrible. You even can hear sounds from TV in other rooms. - There is always heavy smell of smoke in the bathroom. Seems like guests in other rooms were smoking and the smoke flew into the bathroom.

    Location and the friendliness of the staff; the room was small but quite clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant small hotel close to amenities having walking access to main tourist sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 'classic' room we booked is too small for a couple with luggage. We were offered and accepted an upgrade (20€ per night) to a larger 4th floor room which was fine, overlooked the university and received early morning sun. The operation of the bathroom plumbing ( WC and sink) needs attention. We did report it. We had breakfast on two mornings. Space is restricted but the staff do schedule the flow of guests. Food is ok. Lots of alternatives outside to eat; we used the market near the Odeon.

    Good location close to Luxembourg Gardens and RER station for Eurostar / airport travellers. Excellent area for eating, café life and exploring. We were able to walk daily easily from location across all of Paris. The staff are very courteous and helpful. We used 3 of the restaurants recommended by the hotel; all were excellent. Street noise is reasonable at night albeit trash is collected every morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    10
    Very cosy and truly special - and just a step away from the Sorbonne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is simply superb and the hotel itself is very cosy and very different from all the other hotels I stayed at (and not only in France). The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was tiny but so nicely decorated and pretty, that there was no way I could complain about the size of the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small and the shower small, but not really a problem- normal for Paris.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed and computer to use in the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    10
    Strongly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Breakfast was not included and cost 14€ per person. Totally worth it though! The staff was extremely helpful and kind, spoke great English. Location was great, comfortable room (not too small), great shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2017

    9.6
    Great personal welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was quite warm, airconditioning is only available from Apr-Oct, but opening the windows solved this issue.

    Great personal welcome! We were offered a more premium room and could actually check the various rooms. Lady in the breakfast room was very kind and helpfull and the service was outstanding. Great location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2017

    8.8
    Quality in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are looking for more spacious rooms, this is not for you. Our room was around 14 square meters.

    Bed was comfortable, room was well designed, staff was very kind and smiling. In the room there was a Mac Desktop computer with free WiFi that you can use.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2016

    9.6
    Adorable little room in a fun area of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is the tiniest place I have ever stayed. Was like staying in a very cute train car.

    Was an adorable little place with wonderful staff that were available 24/7 and every amenity we could have asked for. In a very vibey part of Paris with a great nightlife. There was a little noise as a result but that's the payoff for staying in such a fun area which we really enjoyed. Great food vendors and drink places open till really late.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff in a great neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very small. But, it's Paris, what do you expect.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located in a cool neighborhood within walking distance of all the major sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2016

    8.8
    Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked for a quiet room and they tried to accommodate me. I am a very light sleeper. Problem was that if someone was upstairs or next door you can hear talking, coughing, even snoring. The last night I was woken by the couple next door just talking at 2 pm. Had to bang on wall after an hour. At 5 pm one of them was snoring so loud I thought he was in my room. Still that is me. I wake up with anything.

    Great staff. Location is perfect. Easy train ride from CDG without messing with metro.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2016

    10
    Comfortable and Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do watch the shower- ours overflowed all over our bathroom - it was our fault, as the shower head was pointed toward the door closure.

    Very friendly front desk & breakfast staff! Great location. Small yet comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautifully decorated room, spotlessly clean, tiny but very modern bathroom. Freshly squeezed orange juice enhanced a very good breakfast. Best of all the location, steps from the Sorbonne University it was very pleasant to walk to many major sightseeing sites and lots of good dining options.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    7.5
    The staff was excellent & location was really...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were very thin. Could hear neighbors tv, taking & all night sex for several days.

    The staff was excellent & location was really convienent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    9.6
    Fine hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    No a refrigerators in rooms. Two catch a cold on blankets need to be replaced with blanket covers or to leave one catch a cold under blanket. Internet by Wi-Fi is very bad because it is very slow: 0,5 - 1 Mbps in evening.

    Very clean in rooms, very friendly staff, good location. Recomend to all.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    9.2
    iMac!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You either like or hate the design. I love it as it's unique but my friend absolutely hated it because he thought black and green don't go well.

    iMac! Of course the staff were lovely too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    9.2
    Magnifique
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Rooms are small but this is common in this area of Paris

    -Friendly stuff and willing to help you -Location, location, location. Quiet and charming -Very clean room -MAC computer was a nice twist

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit on the small side ok for 1 or 2 nights but would upgrade to a bigger room to stay longer

    Friendly staff and excellent location ,clean and comfortable room , just what we were looking for and would book again if we go back to Paris

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I put my face flannell in the bathroom on the first day and after returning to the room in tge evening the cleaner had taken it along with the other towels, after inquiring sbout this I only got an apology and no compensation for my own belonging being taken.

    Comfy beds, quiet location, very central, lovely staff and excellent value for money!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    9.2
    Great location which is one of the first things looked at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location which is one of the first things looked at when booking hotel. Staff was great, room decor unique. Room is small but that is the norm in Paris. Very good value for the money and would return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    9.6
    Exactly What We Needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was a great deal in Paris. The rooms are not large and the bathrooms are even smaller, but for the price, who cares! We were barely in our room because we were outside exploring the city. The wi-fi was also a little difficult to connect to at times, but we were still able to stay in touch with family.

    The location of this hotel was great for us. Paris is a huge city, so it was a long walk to some of the attractions. However, we enjoyed staying outside the most touristy parts of the city. The hotel is only a few steps away from a lively square with cafes and only a few blocks from the quaint St. Germain area. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, neat, and safe. We would recommend this hotel to others staying in Paris.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    9.2
    A good hotel for a Paris minibreak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the hotel was lovely and the room was spotless there was one issue with cleanliness. The 'duvet' is two bedsheets wrapped around a blanket, which many countries do. The sheets were spotless but the blanket underneath had not been cleaned which I discovered when I went to pull the duvet back to get into bed and accidentally pulled one of the sheets off the blanket. There were previous guests head and body hairs on the blanket. As we got to the hotel very late I just took the blanket out and didn't use it. I asked for it to be changed the next morning, but found the blanket was either the same one or another that had hairs on it too. I ended up removing the blanket every night because to me that is very unpleasant and it put me off a bit. Disappointing as it was a really lovely hotel otherwise and would have got a 10!

    This hotel is in a great location and was a pretty good price even in August. It was modern and although the rooms were small they were nicely decorated and comfortable. We didn't go for the breakfast as it was quite expensive and there are lots of cafes and bakeries nearby but the breakfast area looked lovely. We had a great view out of our room of the university and it was nice and quiet at night. Only a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame, a 20 minute walk to the Louvre and a 45 minute direct RER train to the airport! Metro stations are close and we felt safe in the area late at night. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.6
    Great Deal in Great? Part of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just some slow drains. Everything else was great.

    Located on a quiet street in an excellent part of town. Close to Pantheon, Notre Dame, St. Germaine des Pres, Jardin du Luxembourg and the Luxembourg metro stop. I had some issues with slow drainage in the both the sinks and showers (I had two rooms), but the rooms are impeccably clean, have personality and are very comfortable. The staff is very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.6
    Little Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Design Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing major, but would have liked a minibar and/or coffee/tea facilies.

    Loved this hotel! Perfect location, not too busy, next to the Sorbonne and easy walk to Boulevard Saint Michel and Seine river. Every public space, and the room itself, beautifully designed, each with a unique theme. Our attic room was very romantic and had a great view of the Paris skyline. Food was locally produced and delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Design Sorbonne Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: