Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Square d'Anvers 2 stars

6 place d'Anvers, 9th arr., 75009 Paris, France

#1331 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1477 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms door slam during 6am-10am, not suitable for who has light sleep or/and like to sleep late.

    Location is great, 1 min. or less away from Metro station. Bed comfortable. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the person attitude at the time of check-in - hotel lift - the room itself, especially washroom conditions and broken door

    person meeting at the reception on the last day of stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is our third time at d’Anvers. We like it’s location to the metro and Gare du Nord as we arrive from New Zealand. As usual our flight arrives around 7.00 am and we appreciate the early check in. We also like the whole Montmartre location with the park, cafes and streets to explore. The staff are always positive and the room serviced each day - clean sheets and towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and bed was not what we expected from a hotel. You will get better food at a shelter. They said it’s a buffet but there is no buffet there. And the bed was like it have not been changed for 10 years

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little small & not very well maintained.

    The location was excellent for the places we wanted to visit, quite close to Gare Du Nord and very close to Anvers Metro and bus station with G-20 supermarket close by. The receptionist on our last night was very helpful as was the receptionist who checked us in. Pretty location with Sacre Coeur so close and easily visible from our hotel balcony... The room was cleaned daily!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very clean. The room is old. The carpet is at his end.

    Friendly English speaking staff. Great location near the metrostation and Sacre-Cœur. Breakfast was simple but good enough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small elevators :-)

    We asked for an early check-in because we had traveled from Canada and our plane arrived in the early morning. We also added an extra guest at the last minute and all of this was taken care off promptly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small TV. no soap or shampoo.

    Great service. Great location. Underground parking just in front (35EUR for a little less than 24hrs). Room was quite quiet with good views of Sacré-Coeur. Think of bringing your own soap and shampoo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst part was the total lack of sound-proofing : my neighbour was on the phone until midnight and I could hear him as if we'd been in the same room - I could even hear the voice of the people he was having a phone conversation with!!! The room needs to be refurbished - the furniture is falling apart, etc...

    The receptionist was friendly and efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, the bathroom even smaller, but it was quiet, good hot shower, hairdryer and the bed was no so bad. Good location, close to the international train station(10-15mins walk). Small local market just outside of hotel on friday. Few nice places for breakfast just minutes away from hotel. Metro/ underground station 2 mins walk. Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Room lighting could be better- no desk light an issue as I was on a business trip,

    Good location not too far from Gar Du Nord. Friendly service. Good value for what I paid. Breakfast ok - nothing special but served its need!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very much used and very tired and needs a makeover. The carpets are old and need cleaning, the bathroom was old and needs a full renovation, the walls need replastering and painting, and the curtains and sheers were stained and damaged. The shower only dribbled water.

    The location is good, near Metro. Desk staff helpful with directions, breakfast basic and ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room, but got twin room. The bathroom was not super clean. Beds not so comfy.

    Room was cosy. Location perfect. Price good for beeing in Paris.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Phone stopped working and the maintenance guy didn't arrive in time, we can't dry our hairs. The blanket at the first day has some hairs on, probably it wasn't cleaned from the previous guest.....

    The staff is super helpful, they are always available and you can reach them 24/24h. Location is amazing! Highly reccomended :) The hotel is pretty nice, however still 2 Stars so you can't pretend a lot :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi didn't work during my stay.

    The location is very handy for its proximity to Gare du Nord if travelling the Eurostar. No need to catch the Metro as it's just a short 12-15 min walk away. Also a short walk away from Rue de Martyrs which is full of nice shops, gourmet food stores, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A better lighting in the room and electrical plugs closer to the beds would have been appreciated.

    The location is excellent. Just 1 minute walk away from the metro station and 8 mins walk from Sacré-Coeur.The staff is kind and helpful.If you reserve a room in the higher floors you can enjoy a nice view as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was a tad on the small side.

    Really beautiful and safe area. The metro line was a 2 minute walk with access to the Eiffel Tower line. Affordable for what you received. Room was cute. Breakfast was traditional French.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed / pillows were awful. Also, the bath was too small.

    one of the receptionist was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was nice, although ended a bit too early than normal (9.30am). Best thing was the location, near metro and Sacree Coeur (10 min walk).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only negative comment, being British, a kettle in the room would have been good!

    The hotel is in a great location, 2 minutes from Anvers metro in Montmartre, with central Paris a 15 minute walk away. Having stayed in the area before I knew the hotel and it lived up to expectations as good value for money. Staff were helpful and breakfast included, though basic, was a good start to the day. Heating and shower performance exceeded my expectations for an older building. Happily stay again next time I visit Paris.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lights were not all fully functional and a little noise due to location.

    great value for money - rooms are comfortable and has everything you need for a quick stop in Paris. super clean, bedding and soap changed everyday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used to live in this area and this was my first trip back after leaving. I asked the hotel if we could possibly have a street view with our room. They gave us a room on the top floor with gorgeous views of Parc d’Anvers, tour d’eiffel And Sacré Cœur, which for the price we paid was much more than expected. We also arrived 30 minutes early for Check in and it wasn’t a problem at all. Bravo!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does need some renovation, especially in the bathroom. On few places the paint is coming off, there were holes in the floor, and the sink was just really old and NOT clean.

    The location is great for exploring Paris, and the neighborhood is lively and feels safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was great! Every day the room was clean and tidy! Also, It was really close to the metro station "Anvers" (100m maximum). Additionally, the staff were very kind and discreet. I would highly recommend this hotel because it is value for money hotel and with the features that it offers, it helps you a lot to "explore" the magical Paris and more!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -the breakfast -one electrical socket out of three available there was working

    -the location - very close to Metro and a stone's throw to Sacré-Cœur -the price; good value for money -the staff: very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was somewhat slow the second night with frequent disconnections. The walls of the room are thin - I could hear my neighbors talk.

    Room was clean and location is convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was pretty uncomfortable and there was a lack of any amenities, even though its stated that there are some. There was a water cooker but nothing else for example and the bathrooms had some soaps but were pretty stingy. I recommend the hotel could go just a little bit further to make this a great value for money place.

    The hotel is in an amazing location overlooking Anvers square. The views up to Montmatre and over the city are great - make sure you ask for a street facing room. The rooms were simple but relatively good value for money. We didn't get to try breakfast, but they do have a buffet for a reasonable price. The staff were also really lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was dated. There were places to eat nearby but they weren't very good. The area was fine.

    Very useful area for me as near two main-line railways stations. The staff were terrific.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was incredibly hot and despite my attempts to turn down the radiator, the heat persisted and I had to keep the window half-open. The hotel's location is ideal for transport but the area has its seedier side.

    The hotel's close proximity to train and metro stations is a plus and on the day I arrived the young male receptionist was welcoming and friendly. My room was also on the quiet side of the hotel, as requested.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was an original from the 70's. Hard. Old. The cleaners needed training. The bathroom was not dirty but neither was it sparkling. Dust in the corners and the balcony had cigarette butts..

    The receptionist was very helpful guiding us on use of the metro

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was ridiculously small. The bed was tiny and rolled together nicely in the middle. Sheets etc were very clean but blankets were ripped and very aged. Decor was dated and everything looked drab and not very inviting. Cleanliness was average and the towels in the extremely small bathroom were thin, small and old. There was an alarm set on the television that we could not figure out how to turn off as it was in French so we got a wake up call at 6am. Trying to explain this to the staff was impossible. Hopefully the next guests spoke French!

    The Hotel is in a good location to access tourist buses, restaurants and the lovely Montmartre area. The staff were helpful and friendly. The lift is so small, travel in it with someone you are happy to be intimate with.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not really cooperative and we had prob wid sinck and flush and we even complain abt it but in 2days our stay nobody come to fix tht really disappointed and even most of staff wasn’t helpful only one person was in reception who help but he wasn’t there all the time

    Hotel and breakfast was really good and room as well

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was very convenient as we arrived at and were leaving from Gare du Nord the following day. Good restaurant nearby. Very quiet, even although it was Saturday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken furniture in the room (work desk, bedside tables), bathroom light was not working when we arrived (they immediately changed it, but still it was not working normally). Lots of transportation around the hotel, but the neighborhood is quite different. Not dangerous, but not in the list of the 50 spots you want to see in the town.

    Helpful staff, good location (close to trocadero bus stop, Anvers Metro station and Gare du Nord).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Bed was hard and room was cold.

    Location was very close to the metro and close to Sacre Couer. I loved having a bathtub with very hot water. Great for the end of the day!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very dated, shower curtain and tub should be exchanged urgently, curtains in the room should be washed. So much dust on radiators it is apparent that they have not been cleaned for decades. On the other hand, you could find all of the above in hotels that are twice as expensive.

    Excellent location, 12 minutes on foot to Gare du Nord. Totally quiet, spacious room facing an inner courtyard, desk in the room, friendly employees, elevator, clean sheets. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 Adjacent Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor quality of the room and bathroom facilities

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to leave our luggage there after checking out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are flat and sooo old. As well all furniture is very old. The bathroom - for a long time have not seen such awful one - mold on the ceiling and in the corners. Breakfast for additional price - terrible. Some jams, butter, cheese (one option), not so fresh croissants, cake, boiled egg, flakes. For the same money better stay in some smaller cafe and enjoy really tasty small breakfast there. Maximum stay for one night!!

    Helpful stuff, very good location to have a walk in the center, pretty quite room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only for one Night it was ok for me. I choose it because was close to the traían station.. You help me with the taxi phone call. Ir helps me a por. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hotel! We booked this hotel wrong and made a call to the Booking Customer Service right after we click the button. I also called the hotel, but the staff there said they are not good at English and refuse to talk to us. Booking agent helped us send two to three emails to the hotel, but I did not hear back from the hotel until the check out date.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was simple, but absolutely fine.

    My room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. The room had a lovely view onto the small green space in the square and was quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kinda dirty, mold in the closet, no convenient plugs in the room to charge your phone (had to unplug tv and let my phone hang from the ceiling), no air conditioning. In dire need of renovation. One Receptionist fell asleep one night and nobody was there to open the door for 15 minutes

    Friendly and helpful staff, good for budget travelers, good location, solid breakfast (though not included in price and a little expensive, though still cheaper than having breakfast out)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Please note that there are not any fridge or a kettle in the room.

    Tiny, but comfortable apartments. Friendly personnel. There was a cafe on the ground floor of the hotel, but we have never visited it because a lot of convenient places around in the area. The location is very good and safe. Just a few steps to Basilique du Sacré Cœur and Moulin Rouge. Metro station "Anvers" (Line 2) is right on the corner of the hotel building so you can reach any point of the city very fast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was very clean, but we got one of the older bathrooms that may or may not be renovated at some point. If not, I think a small little shelf under or next to the mirror would be extremely helpful when you're trying to find a place for your toiletries. On a positive note - I am very impressed with the windows because our room was on the street next to the d'Anvers Square, which seems to be a late night hangout - and sometimes noisy. But once we closed the windows we couldn't hear anything.

    We really liked the staff - very helpful and spoke English very well. Great cafes and the metro were super close. Loved the breakfast. Good value - with a great Parisian feel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditionong at the height of summer. They did not offer a fan it was only when I asked (due to sleepless nights of being uncomfortable without proper cooling system) that they got a fan that was not oscillating but at least was functioning.

    Metro was 2 mins. walk. Close to most landmarks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds poor standard , pillows not fit for purpose, rooms and public area after ground floor needed decorating and repair work. Room with 3 beds in more like for one bed.

    Staff friendly and helpful considering facilities beyond the desk area basic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, spotlessly clean, comfortable, friendly staff. This is a good value hotel for central Paris, it is ideal if you want just a comfortable, no frills base. Anvers metro is at the top of the square and there is a lovely artisan bakery where we had breakfast every day and Le Grand Comptoir d'Anvers is a friendly brasserie just a couple of doors down from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, with dated furnishings. Broken chipped tiles in the bathroom. Pillows were lumpy and need replacing. Reception staff were helpful.

    Location OK close to Sacre Coeur. Opposite a park.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A spare room key would have been good. Shower head wasn't that clean.

    Loved the location and the view, we could see the Eiffel Tower from our balcony. Sitting on that balcony was a highlight of our trip. The staff were helpful and friendly. A walk-in shower and comfy beds. Hotel is right next to Anvers metro station. Nice bars, cafes, restaurants, shops within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They really walked the extra mile when we checked in early. Rooms were ready and made up every day. Friendly staff and helpful. Easy to locate and lots of restaurants and shops. When leaving the Anvers metro station you turn left and at corner you go down the street. Lovely market on Friday opposite hotel. Also good breakfast. Near to one of the top 10 must sees and busy street with lots of shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like almost anything. The hotel needs an update, it's quite worn out, horrible towels, dusty rooms, weird smell in the room and the coridors, breakfast is really simple. For this price, I wouldn't expect a luxurious place, but it could at least be clean.

    The location is convenient. Easy to get to the city center, and a few steps away from Sacre Coeur.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing is properly maintained. Despicable poor condition. Electric mains and window locks look loose and dangerous. I can't believe this hotel manages to get good review! It was really shocking and uncomfortable.

    Every thing was old shabby and broken. Shower booth was covered with moulds, electric kettle was leaking, no tea&coffee set provided, filthy carpet. I will never come back here. Unbearable! The receptionist even tried to charge me for two person although I shown the booking confirmation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price (quite expensive for that kind of room). Room looks very old and creepy (its a movie scene where im locked in an old eastern european room - if youve seen the spy starring melissa mccarthy where she rented a hotel room in paris, thats exactly the feel!).

    Location and the look/feel of the building (very parisian). The view from the window is nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel/rooms are in desperate need of repair. But if you're on a budget and looking for a room where you can just crash every night, this is perfect!

    The location was absolutely fantastic! You step out of the hotel and you can see the Sacre-Coeur which is less than 500 mts up the road. Also, lots of very good cafes just round the corner and a garden across the road. If you're on a budget, this place is perfect because of the distance to all the places-of-interest in this area of Paris as well as the distance to the Metro station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is very small. Not too clean.

    The hotel is on average for the cheap hotels in Montmartre, although some nearby hotels offer a better value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small but in the end, you spend most of the time outside that's why, for my need - it had everything i needed!

    Position was great, 2 steps from metro and lively zone! Lots of nice restaurants and bars around! Really liked it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only thing is that wi-fi wasn't stable.

    Fairly good hotel, nothing to complain about. Nice room, nice bed, nice shower, nice view, nice small balcony. Everything was French-like, just what we expected.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was initially given a room with the worst bed I've ever seen. When I told the guy at the desk all I got was an indifferent shrug. He told me that was the only room though when I said I was leaving he suddenly found another.

    The hotel is in a really good location for Gare du Nord and on a lovely little square.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 Adjacent Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff who put up with my appalling French without laughing or speaking English to me! Great brasserie to eat very close by and a really quiet location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located a few meters from Anvers subway station (line 2), this cosy hotel is "at the foot " of Montmartre, with wooden floors and staircase, in a remodeled old Parisian building. The staff is very friendly. Restaurant a few meters away, shops etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish they would install something in the small shower to hold soap and shampoo.

    Great location near Anvers metro and Sacre Coeur. Faces quiet street and pleasant square. Nice neighborhood with shops and restaurants. We want to stay here again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls are quite thin so you can hear whatever is being said in the rooms on either side. However this is probably typical of these old buildings. The shower cubicle doors slide open with too narrow a gap for a larger gentleman like myself.

    Great location for it's district and the Metro. The bed was comfortable (but could be a little wider for a double).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was too small for 2 people with baggage...

    The hotel was near the metro station (Anvers) and just 10 min walking to central station. The room was warm enugh with an appropriate heating. The bathroom was clean. The room was old fashion but comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Comfortable bed, quiet place, classic old building, great location close to metro and Monmarte with a very nice cafe on the corner. I left some important valuables there and when I returned to retrieve them they were at the desk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could do with a vending machine (for hot drinks) in reception instead of just a fridge for water & juice. In need of some repairs

    Great location with friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cushions for pillows!!! Very basic but functional accommodation. Proper pillows would make a massive difference. Also, no view from windows as we had imagined therer would be bit we got what we paid for so cannot complain

    Location was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is very good for the price , clean rooms , clean bathrooms , quite area , close to the metro wich takes you everywhere ,have a very good and rich brekfast , close to many bargain clothing stores and nice and freindly staff .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally there wasn't something horrible.Maybe the bed and the pillows.

    The location is perfect. Right next to a metro station and near Monmarte.The employee at the reception (Mr Anis) was very friendly and helpful.Specifically he helped us according to a health problem that we faced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was billed without my asking for it; a refund was very difficult in spite of my needing to be at the airport early. Noise from other rooms was a problem I booked a smoke-free room, but the room smelt strongly of smoke.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We disliked to discover on our departure night that all the larger bank notes from our foreign currency wallets left in the room during our one-week stay were absent. No fault of any degree was ever admitted, neither by staff nor management. A bad aftertaste remains from A) the fact that we got only one keycard which we were asked to always leave at the reception when going to town, B) that small bills were left in place as decoy, C) the fact that the front desk staff refused to aid in finding out the location of the closest police station, and D) that management totally blocked any discussion and immediately mentioned "going to the police is of no use anyway because they will not investigate thefts of cash".

    I liked the professionalism and friendliness of the 3 police officers visiting our room at 4 a.m. on departure night to investigate the theft from our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Worn bathrooms, but this is completely outmatched by staff friendlyness.

    Very close to Montmartre/Sacre Cæur. Ask for a room with a view to Place de Anvers - look to the right and it's there. Most friendly and serviceminded staff I've ever experienced in France, day and night. Ever met a hotel mangager greating you with a smile when you meet him on the street when he is out to shop for next day's breakfast? This is Hotel du Square d' Anvers. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard and the pillows terrible. Noisey. Could hear everything in adjacent rooms. Provided a kettle but no mugs or tea/coffee etc. One plug socket really high up. Need a multi plug. Can only plug one thing in at a time

    Great location. Near the metro with easy access to sights. Lots of restaurants nearby. Man in charge was really nice. Allowed us to leave our luggage there till we came back to pick it up. It was basic but very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were efficient but not very enthusiastic. Could get a little warm as no a/c.

    Close to gare du nord, safe pretty neighbourhood opposite a park, lovely cityscape views from our room. Very French. Pret a manger nearby for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very cramped

    Only in Paris one night for a gig. Short walk from Gare de Nord and the venue. Lovely quiet location but close to lots of restaurants and bars. Perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    False publicity. First was billed 73€ instead of 71.25€ secondly the room was old the bathroom dirty the beds need to be changed completely , instead of having a so small tv rather stay without any was much better. The bed covers old , to cut things short all discribed in pictures was absolutely not what was seen there. So extremely pissed off

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really....you get what you pay for and Paris accommodation is expensive,so kinder on the budget.

    Location - close to the Sacre Couer and overlooking a lovely little square/park.Lots of bistros,cafes and shops around.Laundromat close by.L'Ecrin bistro around the corner has the friendliest and most helpful waitress surely in all it Paris. It's a 2 star hotel,so the rooms are quite dated,but clean and they obliged when we asked to be moved to a bigger,free,room after the first night.Breakfast for 8 euros was ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel du Square d'Anvers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: