Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel St Claire 3 stars

29, place Nicolas Bachelier, 31000 Toulouse, France

#39 of 95 hotels in Toulouse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Very nice small hotel in good location with helpful staff
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee in the room. Not great range of toiletries in bathroom. No shower curtain over bath. Not enough sockets. One bedside light had been removed.

    The breakfast was good with fresh orange juice. The bed was comfortable in our large double room. Air conditioning which meant we could shut the windows so it was fairly quiet at night. Location very good for us and close to lots of cafes/restaurants/station/local supermarket. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think there was anything to dislike.

    Quite good location. In between station and centre. Close to metro for airport access if using tramway. All the staff were lovely and very helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Bathroom a bit of a squeeze in my single room, but not a problem. I didn't try the nearby restaurants, but they looked quite good if you couldn't be bothered to venture further than one block!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location and the staff are excellent, rooms need to be refurbished (very dated and TLC nneded)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower broken. Room smelled of cigarette smoke, despite being a non smoking hotel. Very, very firm mattress

    Location was excellent and the staff were all brilliant. Really nice view of the square in front

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay at this nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It felt like an authentic French hotel. I loved the simplicity of the decor, the comfy bed, the picture of the dancer on my wall, the view of roof lines and seeing life on the streets below. The staff were very polite and helpful. The place was calm. I enjoyed the breakfast.The Italian restaurant nearby was great (and there were nearby restaurants to choose from). I'd stay there happily again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be cleaner. Breakfast very poor value for money. We parked outside which we have done on previous visits without problem. Reception did not warn us there would be a fair the following day and we could be towed away. Luckily we went to the car very early to find the parking ticket.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The little square in front of the hotel has become a meeting point for homeless people: they drink and argue until well into the night, making the rooms pointing toward that square *very* noisy.

    Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful. Very well kept hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful and friendly staff one couldn't fault the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The square outside of the hotel appears to attract "winos" which isn't the fault of the hotel but it was noisy during the night. My wife and I didn't find it as quiet as some comments have suggested. The hotel is now quite dated in parts - carpet outside of lift very worn and reading light on one side of bed missing to name just two examples - and needs some TLC to bring it back to the standard it was a few years ago. It's starting to look run-down.

    Very helpful and friendly staff one couldn't fault the service it was exemplar. Excellent value breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Lots of good points notwithstanding my comments below.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few area may need some maintenance but there is nothing to complain considering the price.

    Friendliness of the staff. Excellent breakfast with local products.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    4.2
    There is a party facility near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a party facility near by. Noise went on 11:00 PM to 5:30 AM. I couldn't sleep at all and I checked out after 2 nights stay. It was awful experience to me.I don't recommend to anybody.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Close to the center of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing, and my room on the first floor had poor sound isolation.

    Close to the center of town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    Very kind and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room, 1 small window above eye level, overlooking the backyard

    Very kind and helpful staff! Quiet room, quiet colours

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    mixed feelings
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is not worthy for a 3 star hotel, sorry

    Very nice staff, friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient for business or pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street.

    Location and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient for business or pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street.

    Location. Accommodating staff. Great shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Super-staff, Good position
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the Rooms is made of a material that does not help the cleaning

    Perfect position The staff is very gentle and efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    locatio, friendly, clean, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usual in france, small room. But very comfortable

    Perfect location, simple but very correct. Very friendly welcome

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    good location reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    carpets worn need to be replaced

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor seemed to made quite a loud sound in each step i did in my room.

    The staff was very kind

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    breakfast was poor for price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was poor for price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    convenient location, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not like the bar next door, drunks were loud all night long, but the hotel is so nice and they charge so little for what they offer that I even was fine with those crazy people in the bar.

    convenient location, clean. Very decent price for such quality.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    Very comfy bed, newly renovated bathroom, super-friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Relatively small room and some audible city noise in the morning.

    Very comfy bed, newly renovated bathroom, super-friendly staff. Very close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    5.4
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was expensive, very small and there wasn't even hot water in the morning.

    The location was great! Lots of bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    An excellent, friendly, central base for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It doesn't look anything special from the outside and it's very ""compact" - but these are just comments - not at all detrimental to a very good quality experience.

    An excellent, friendly, central base for a short stay. Only 5 mins to the airport bus (Aero bus stop@ Jean Jaures).

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    cleanliness of the whole hotel, helpfulness of the two young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from the street bad if one had a window open, so forced to use airconditioner

    cleanliness of the whole hotel, helpfulness of the two young men on reception. Also very convenient for the bus to the airport

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.0
    Lovely welcoming & helpful reception staff Room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only problem was the noisy disco just down the road - earplugs advised!

    Lovely welcoming & helpful reception staff Room wasn't huge but bed was very comfortable & newly renovated bathroom Perfect location between Toulouse-Matabiau station & downtown Toulouse

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    The staff were extremely helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small & the bed was lumpy otherwise it was a good place 2 stay!

    The staff were extremely helpful! They always gave us great directions& suggestions re where 2 eat etc!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice, small hotel with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Om Friday and Saturday there are many bars open around the hotel which cause noise until late in the night

    Nice, small hotel with a very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived on a Sunday afternoon and there seemed to be quite a few drunk people around in the street. Some a bit roudy and we were a little concerned with the area. The next day seemed to be completely different and we felt quite comfortable wandering around that area.

    Excellent staff. Quiet room. Fastest internet in room which was great.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.6
    I was super pleased with my stay at St Claire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. It would have been handy to have a bar fridge & kettle, but it wasn't a deal breaker.

    I was super pleased with my stay at St Claire. I booked a single room last minute for a rate of €53 and found it to be excellent value for money. The hotel itself is charming & very well presented with very friendly & helpful staff. The location is also superb. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again the next time I'm in Toulouse, the only thing I missed was a mini fridge & perhaps a kettle in the room. But that's honestly small potatoes compared to the positives.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Very nice and clean hotel perfectly located in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and clean hotel perfectly located in the city centre, unfortunately we stayed only 1 night in Toulouse. The staff is very friendly, helpful and flexible. I do absolutely recommend this place, whenever I'll come back I would choose it again.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very small room. Hard bumpy fans carpet floor that felt weird under your feet. Tiny elevator but there is no lighting in the stairwell to take the stairs instead.

    Great location. 5 minutes to the subway. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was tiny but had everything you need and was nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable well laid out room, with an excellent bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would be nice if the room had a kettle.

    Comfortable well laid out room, with an excellent bathroom. Roller shutters on windows meant that total darkness could be achieved for sleeping. Wifi worked well consistently.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fairly basic room, limited breakfast.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to station and airport shuttle, short walk from city centre. Reliable air-conditioning and wifi.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    10
    We stayed for a night in Hotel Saint Claire and wish we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed for a night in Hotel Saint Claire and wish we would have stayed more. Our room was ready with the extra bed we asked for, they gave us a welcome beverage and a little snack and the staff was extremely kind.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and smiling staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy street in the evenings (Artybar!).

    Very friendly and smiling staff. Convenient location - near the train station and the Canal du Midi, lots of restaurants, bars and cafes in the area, 10 minutes walk to the Old Town. Nicely arranged rooms.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    9.6
    Staff genuinely helpful and very polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. There was a bit of passing noise on the street below, people talking only, but was not a problem for me.

    Staff genuinely helpful and very polite. Loved the pot of tea brought to my room in fine china both on arrival and early on the morning of departure (and at no extra charge).

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    nice rooms,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    couldn't sleep with open window, outside bars are a bit too loud. however, with windows shut it was quiet...

    nice rooms, recently renovated, clean

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff and the room, though small,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Very friendly and helpful staff and the room, though small, was pleasantly furnished with a homely feel about it. Five minute walk to the centre

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    8.3
    The area around may seem a bit off-putting but the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As so often in French hotels, the pillows were very soft. No shower curtain in the bathroom meant paddling after the shower! The carpet in the room, a bit like coconut matting, was rough and unforgiving.

    The area around may seem a bit off-putting but the hotel itself was delightful and convenient for airport bus and station. The reception staff were charming, welcoming and always ready to help. I was up-graded from a single to a double room as I was there for four nights. The buffet breakfast, though not included in the price, was enough to start the day. Tea and coffee was offered on returning after time away - a welcome touch.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.6
    - Very friendly and helpful staff, including one who spent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really. Only a couple of minor things: - The wifi didn't work on Christmas morning, but the staff told me that Orange was having problems and so I believe it really wasn't the hotel's fault. - There was some confusion about the hot drinks, which I understood were free and so I said yes when they were offered to me (I asked 'c'est compris?' and the answer was 'oui'), but on check-out I got charged. Since they were only 90c each with some little cakes thrown in as well, it didn't bother me too much, and I just thought maybe my limited French caused the misunderstanding - until I saw the comments here from another reviewer which suggest that the hot drinks are in fact free! (Just to clarify, the staff could in fact speak good English, but I was on a 'French-only' mission and therefore spoke only French during my stay…)

    - Very friendly and helpful staff, including one who spent quite some time helping me check if my train was affected by the strikes (which seem to happen everyday in France!). - Quaint décor + modern comfort = perfect room!

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Not a hotel for big people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a hotel for big people. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    The breakfast was delicious - and included a homemade...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was delicious - and included a homemade apricot pie which was gorgeous. Great location - central, and near railway station.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.6
    Compfy bed and great room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bigger shower, but that's being really picky as it was fine!

    Compfy bed and great room

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    7.5
    Convenient location within 500m from the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location within 500m from the train station. Close to Jean Jaures Metro Station. Very clean and comfortable. Curteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    Small but cute rooms, comfortable beds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi not in room available , too weak

    Small but cute rooms, comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    6.7
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Much overpriced! The room was facing a wall of the building so, there was no light coming through the window.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Very cosy environment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very cosy environment. Nice breakfast. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff. Modern comfortable design. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is poor and access to rooms is very difficult.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Hosts are very friendly, excellent breakfast
    • Solo traveller

    Hosts are very friendly, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't remember anything I didn't like.

    Great location. Cute room. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.1
    Reliable wi-fi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor breakfast. Room is really small.

    Reliable wi-fi. Good location. Near shuttle to the airport, metro, and center. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and engaged,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and engaged,

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    5.8
    wifi pass was incredibly long
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi pass was incredibly long

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    location, friendly staff & room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy from nearby club on Saturday night & early Sunday morning

    location, friendly staff & room

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    Goo location, pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit small but comfortable. Shower was very small, so bathing was I teresting :-)

    Goo location, pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    good value for money
    • Solo traveller

    thin wall, you can hear everything

    good value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    It's simple but clean and nice old fashioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's simple but clean and nice old fashioned hotel. it's very good staffs and easy access from airport too.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Fantastic breakfast even real fresh orange juice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Fantastic breakfast even real fresh orange juice. Someone always around whatever the time to provide assistance if required.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    7.9
    The staff were very hard-working and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very hard-working and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The stairwells were dark and a trip hazard.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    The friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller

    It was very noisy outside during the night.

    The friendly staff. Someone carried my bags to my room and also brought me a coffee.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.9
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was ok in general.

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    The location - excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location - excellent The staff - wonderful The room - cosy The tea and madeleine on arrival - warming

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    Está bien situado y el personal es amable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dificultades de aparcamiento. Parking cercano pero caro

    Está bien situado y el personal es amable.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.6
    Excellent friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent friendly service

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    Lovely well located hotel in Toulouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slight issue with a missing plug for bath but sorted in 24 hours

    Lovely well located hotel in Toulouse.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    The staff were first class they were very helpful ,very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were first class they were very helpful ,very pleasant ,we thank the gentleman on the desk very much for his kindness.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.9
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi signal not so good

    good location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: