Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Saint Roch 3 stars

Avenue Georges Braque, 13500 Martigues, France

#9 of 14 hotels in Martigues

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 455 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Free parking and within 10 minutes walk to waterside and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patio doors ledges needed cleaned and doors need to be renewed or fixed as secured by chains at not sides Very noisy as apartment doors are big and tend to slam. Large climb up to hotel from the road and after parking climb up more steps to reception ( looks like a lift is being currently installed

    Free parking and within 10 minutes walk to waterside and restaurants Very friendly and courteous staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    It was a nice one night stay on my way to a family wedding.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to wait until 5 pm to get into my room, the lady who carried my suitcase to my room, wouldn't let me, bumped it down the steps and practically broke it, I would not have done that. The receptionist didn't seem well informed about anything. Over-all though a little odd everyone was very friendly and nice.

    The dinner was excellent. Chicken in a sauce and a salad first. The public bus driver was most kind and went out of her way, I think off her route, I was the only rider and dropped me off at the bottom of the hill where she couldn't go that led up to the hotel. I liked all the pine trees and loved watching two little children playing with the little lights that danced on the wall at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Felt very at home with lovely staff, lovely pool and just a short walk to the centre of Martigues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The exterior of the hotel was "tired" but I had a lovely chat with the owner who was explaining the future plans for the hotel and it sounds great

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the pool was lovely and a perfect temperature, the rooms were clean and breakfast food was fresh

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Stay in La Roche, Martigues
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning could have worked better otherwise there is nothing to complain about.

    There are excellent views from the hotel. I greatly enjoyed the pool after a long cycle ride. Having breakfast on the terrasse, enjoying the sunshine and great food made it a perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.3
    Not a highlight of the holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and disappointing room. From photos featuring stone tower we were expecting an older building but reality is a basic 70's looking box. If was in area again would look for an alternative hotel

    Friendly staff, plenty of parking in hotel grounds. Set menu but we enjoyed the meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Take it or leave it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was obviously a problem in the kitchen. We were there for three nights and were told that dinner was served from 7.00pm until 10.00pm. However on none of the nights was the dinner ready to be served until at least 8.00pm. There was a very limited choice on the menu and floating islands and chocolate mousse were the staple desserts. To add insult to injury we wee asked by one of the staff if a translation of a menu into English was OK. It was fine and we were excited by the choce of three starters, three main courses and three desserts. However when we asked why this menu was not in use. This was on a Thursday evening. We were told that the menu we had checked was for the following Monday. No use to us !!!!!!! we were leaving on Saturday.

    Comfortable bed, very warm welcome on arrival at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    The manager was so friendly, even driving us to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy with everything

    The manager was so friendly, even driving us to the train station in her own car! Room was comfortable and quiet even with a wedding taking place. Martigues is a very pretty town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    4.6
    Not what we hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs from the car park and nobody to assist with luggage. No English Channel on TV and above all chaotic and incompetent staff. We were wrongly billed on our credit card and still await a refund.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.1
    Good location but hotel needs updating to match tariff charges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant facilities as kitchens being refurbished. The hotel is a little tired and in need of an update in certain areas. Overpriced on current condition.

    Comfortable room, friendly staff, clean pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Stay 14/08 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views and location.The pool was heated and the breakfast offered plenty of options. Gated access at night. The main positive point is the level of customer service offered, the owner was very receptive to my queries and offered solutions in a very professional manner. Recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic

    Great staff, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    I picked Martigues to stay on my way to Spain. It was ideal and a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal for walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Very nice surrounding
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't speak English

    Very nice surrounding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    A place to sleep for one night, nothing more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, decorated in the 70's style...no charm, no character...ok for a one night stay...

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    4.6
    big bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very expensive for what offers

    big bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.7
    Needs a spruce up.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel decor is tired and gives poor first impressions.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    The staff were great and very helpful, and the pool is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive taxis

    The staff were great and very helpful, and the pool is great. Breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    The staff could not have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    We wanted to eat at the hotel restaurant but was told that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted to eat at the hotel restaurant but was told that the chef was sick and did not have an alternative.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.8
    ziemlich heiss im Sommer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition out of order

    Sercice Restaurant, I lost my money :best support by the management and service ! Thanks

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    5.8
    The accommodation is 'tired' and requires...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The accommodation is 'tired' and requires updating/freshening. The menu in the restaurant was extremely limited and the staff had difficulties in explaining what was on the dinner menu, particularly when the manager arrived at 19:15 with bags from the local store, including sub-way. I was advised there would be more food at breakfast but after waiting 20mins, no more food arrived.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    5.0
    Very Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom in the room smelt of drainage, room and corridor strong smell of paint. No wifi connection at all, radiator dripping loudly in the bathroom, expensive breakfast for 10.00€ I was in a back facing room with view of a very noisy motorway even though there was plenty of rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay. Not too impressed with the value for money and is not in my opinion a 3 star hotel.

    Very Friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff was most accommodating - ensuring we received...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was most accommodating - ensuring we received pertinent travel notification, taxi arrangements, local phone calls, assistance with luggage to a designated cruise pick up location. We highly recommend Hotel St. Roch.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant had a very limited menu.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good wi-fi, Great view from terrace, clean swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Grubby, twee, woodchip wallpaper, dirty bathroom. Vastly overpriced. A complete waste of money. Never again.

    Nothing

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: