Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stars Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean

34 rue de Tauzia, 33800 Bordeaux, France

#71 of 72 hotels in Bordeaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2597 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    4.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    4.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    4.6
    Good location near bus and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service, place old and very tired, carpet stains everywhere, free internet for one hour per day and in a corner near reception

    Good location near bus and train station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.1
    I guess you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It feels like student accommodation, dark corridors and the room itself was poorly lit, small and rather basic. To be honest, a cabin on one of the larger Brittany Ferries ships is nicer. However, I guess you get what you pay for.

    This hotel has a convenient location for the train station and the shuttle bus for the airport. It's also a short walk from one of my favourite bars, the Bar de la Marne! It's aimed at the overnight stay, as I think you'd want more comforts if looking to stay longer in Bordeaux.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.9
    Bordeaux - interesting beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the hotel does not have Wi-Fi in the room (only in the lobby)

    Excellent strategic position: 5-7 min walking to Gare to Saint Jean and Parking Descas (Quai de la Paludate) for those who want to go to other destinations and 5 min by tram or 20 min walking to the city center (the tram station just in front of the hotel)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    4.2
    Very poor hotel will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were terrible with foam mattresses on wooden planks Room was very small No electronic door lock No light in corridors had to use my mobile phone light to insert key

    Location close to station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.3
    Well located with helpful staff but could do with a bit of a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets were stained and smelt as if they had suffered water damage. No light in corridor meant it was difficult to see room numbers. Mattress thin and not very comfortable

    Staff helpful and friendly. Well located near railway station and tramline. Good that have an elevator. Happily stored my bag for the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    Not the best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    This was a replacement for a hotel that cancelled at the last minute, and it did not come up to our standards. We would not recommend it because dirty, uninviting and badly needed refurbishing. The breakfast was not promoted and also not inviting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.0
    Awful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning despite being told at reception that there was. Tiny, almost unusable bathroom. Stained carpets. Uncomfortable beds. Limited power points. Unkempt appearance in all public and bedroom areas. Worn and tired.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Clean and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and in a good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Very good value for money if you are looking for somewhere inexpensive to stay and aren’t looking for a luxury hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.8
    Totally Disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this place is the pits the carpets in the reception badly stained and dirty, the corridor to our room had a musty odor, the room was tiny twin beds pushed together with 18 inches on each side for space, the toilet and shower where a joke the shower curtain was covered in mold, the middle of my bed collapsed during the night. I did not complian because i did not want to embarrass the staff who where very nice. I would like a refund on my room if possible. Booking .com should remove this property from thier site.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Modest hotel but certainly value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price I don't think one could expect more. I would have liked access to a computer and printer to check in and print a boarding pass on my homeward flight.

    This was a modest but comfortable hotel 10 mins walk from the main railway station. The hotel was chosen for price and for the cost was totally satisfactory. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent staff, good location but rooms are very dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness was appalling. The room needed a deep clean.

    The staff were excellent. Welcoming and friendly, and ensured I had a fan when I asked for it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    The most optimal BNB hotel for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing, what I didn't like in this hotel. I got what I wanted to get - just have a bed to sleep and cheap breakfast to eat.

    Everything was perfect, as I wanted to have. The hotel is in 5 min walk to the city centre (La Miroir D'eau) The breakfast is really cheap, just 8€ per person. The hotel is very quiet and quite simple. If you are here only for Bed n' Breakfast, this is the best choice near the centre and the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Decent, however not value for money. Very grandma-y style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the two plugs in my room was broken so I couldn’t charge my phone and use the fan at the same time which was annoying. The bathroom felt like a weird plastic hollow pop up extension to the room instead of a comfortable part of the room.

    There was an elevator which worked. Near several cafes/restaurants and less than a 5 min walk to the bus station/train. Close to the city centre, walking distance. Easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    No internet in room and the common area supposed to have it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No internet in room and the common area supposed to have it had regular interruptions. Would be told one thing by a staff and the opposite by another one; for instance, was told by a staff that I could pay for my expenses at the end, but another said the opposite, what I did. But when leaving, I couldn't be reimburse my moneys for not taken breakfast, and told only the director can approve this.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.3
    Horrible, left early as substandard and forfeited a paid night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are horrible, the bed is substandard. The room and bathroom were filthy. The sign in the street and on the building say 2 star but it is actually 0 stars.

    Nothing!!!!😞

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Nice location - low standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard

    The staff was nice. The sheets and towels were clean. Good location. But: the hotel standard was generally low. More like hostel-standard. Therefor, I think the price is way too high for this hotel. I’d accept it the pride was abound 20 Euro, not 60 Euro!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, one staff member was so friendly, helped me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit awkward to find at first but great tram way lines right outside hotel which takes you straight to the town centre.

    Great staff, one staff member was so friendly, helped me feel at ease and even accompanied me to get a tram ticket on the kiosk machine outside. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Location is good - close to bofh train and bus station.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even in non-smoking room you have this awfull smoke smell. Carpets on the floor might keep it. No socket by the bed. No AC, fan is available but it was so dusty that we didnt even try to launch it. Very small pillow.

    Location is good - close to bofh train and bus station. Breakfast not bad at all. Bed itself is ok. Bedsheets clean. Towels white and clean. Bathroom (cabine) is clean but small and all in plastic as in a camping car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    VERY budget... book at your own risk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Among the dislikes woud be the smell of stained and mouldy carpet in the building, the 6 steps at the front to drag your suitcase up to reception and don't be late for breakfast as the coffee may have run out. The matress centre support was bent which we fixed by putting the spare blanket in the hole. Room ventilation non exsistant, other than opening the window , which let the mosquitoes in. Interesting bathroom plumbing!

    The only thing this hotel has going for it is the lovely staff, who do their best to work with what they got. The location is brilliant, close to the station and next to the tram stop. Our room (109) at the back was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.5
    Despite great location, never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well... where do I start! One obstacle is the steps you have to negotiate with your suitcase. The first thing that hits you is the smell. I thought the carpet had a artistic design, however they turned out to be stains! The smell of mouldy carpet permeates the building. The room we had (109) is not big enough to swing a cat and the bed was sagging in the middle, with the pillows having so little filling, we had to ask for two more. The bathroom had an inovative approach to plumbing and shower construction and absolutely no ventilation in the room. Be early for breakfast or it will run out. Better get a Petit Dejeuner down the road, better value for money and better ambience. Stay here at your own risk.

    The staff went out of their way to be accommodating in what was really a below par hotel. Having said that, it was only 2 stars, so what can you expect. The biggest plus was the location , close to the station and tram stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.0
    Budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was actually a stretcher bed Pillow was the lumpiness I have ever had Shower head sprayed everywhere

    close to the bus and train stations Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Fair. Staff were friendly . But the beds are not a complement for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed planks. They are going to break soon. Thin mattress. No head board. And that wall needs repainting.

    Were good location if you are in transit, using rail

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.2
    We needed a place for one night and should have paid more for a nicer hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tiny with thin mattresses. Bathroom size of a phone booth. Room on street had noise all through night, with trams starting early in morning. Place is dingy and past its sell by date. Ok for travelers on a tight budget who need a place by the train station. Only one outlet in room.

    Had parking for only 10 € overnight. Staff at desk were pleasant and helpful. Easy access to tram.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    The shower tub is too low, so the water comes out easily to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tub is too low, so the water comes out easily to other area of bathroom and makes the bathroom very slippery and wet. Moreover, the water tap is inconvenient for using of shower and normal cleaning together.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    2.5
    Could not under any circumstance stay in such a bad hotel.
    • Group

    everything dirty rooms , Mattress stained rooms small shower tiny, asked for better room given bigger one but paper coming off walls again mattress stained. blankets on bed which has seen days, altogether disgraceful. Two star is way to many for this hotel

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Very basic but good value if all you want it a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. Almost no space between the two beds. Ventilation was poor so the room became very hot.

    Staff were polite and very helpful. Although the hotel was in need of refurbishment, it was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a street that has Tram rails, and the noise can be anoying for some people. But the worst was that cold air from the outside entered in the room due to bad window installation.

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    The location es the best, between the trainstation and a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is the worst as in all the cheap hotels in all France, the shower in very uncomfortable and small. Other uncomfortable issue is due to the oldness of the doors they use a metalic traditional key which you have to leave in the reception each time you leave your room and you have to pick it again in the reception when you enter back. Next time i will try annother hotel.

    The location es the best, between the trainstation and a center of a city, just in front of a tram stop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non-smoking room reeked of cigarette-smoke. Tiny, shabby, room of doubtful cleanliness.

    Location close to railway station. Staff pleasant and helpful. They deserve a better hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't really feel safe handing keys over every time you leave the property..there was a few people arguing next to my room all night no-one interfered to shut them up otherwise my stay was good..

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel badly needs modernising. The decor is dull and faded, the soft furnishings are tired and need replacing. The bed/mattress was worn out and very uncomfortable. The corridors are dark and dingy even during daylight hours. The hotel has a depressing atmosphere.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. It is within walking distance of both the main railway station and even closer to a tram stop. Check in was simple and the receptionist was pleasant and helpful, she even spoke English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    Stay at Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad point about our visit was that the WiFi was down through our whole stay, which was highly inconvenient.

    The staff was very welcoming. We were allowed an early check in at 9 am. The room was as advertised. The location was perfect, a 5 minute walk from the train station (with an elevator to get up your luggage) , and 15-20 minutes from all the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Surprising good value for money near to Bordeaux center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi down during our stay.

    Very good location, staff excellent, breakfast very good, spotlessly clean perhaps decor a little tired. Tram stop just outside Hotel, good value parking considering city location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    4.2
    Uncomfortable and disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower curtain was torn, the base of the shower stall was damaged, the room was not very clean, the bedspread torn and burnt.

    The staff was very nice, and it was quiet, but that does not make up for the lack of minimum standards.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.6
    Only if you have to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and unmaintained. Carpet in hallways was disgusting. Bathroom old and shower curtain broken so water went everywhere.

    Close to tge train station and St Michel area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wifi in the room. Only down in the hall. No socket to load a cellphone. I had to climb on a chair to unplug the television because it was the only socket. The room was clean but rather shabby and in need of renovation. One of the lights kept buzzing.

    Excellent location. In walking distance from the railway station and right next to a tram stop from which the tram will get you pretty much anywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Okay for short stay, sleeping only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets throughout building very grubby & dirty, the place needs a bit of a spruce up, no reliable Wifi in rooms, only one power socket

    Helpfull & friendly staff, good breakfast, good location for train & tram system.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    Staff were generally helpful and breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place needs a facelift. Room was dingy, shabby and not very clean; bathroom fittings were broken; shower curtain was torn; heater had fallen off wall and just been left hanging there.. Place did not feel clean or safe.

    Staff were generally helpful and breakfast was ok. Shower was hot and towels were the one thing that seemed to be fresh and clean. Low price was the main draw - but things were so shabby that it did not feel like good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Basic but affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy, the insulation etc must not be the best as you can hear other guests in the corridor or in their rooms. The room/hotel is certainly pretty basic (the toilet/bathroom feels a little like you are on a plane or boat and the bed was squeaky) but reasonable considering the price.

    Basic but clean and good value accommodation, very close to station. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    2.5
    If you want to save your health - never stay at this hotel: noise,INSECTS,smoke-filled,dirt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dangerous! Insects are in rooms!!! We lived in 306 room, and after second night all my hands and legs were in insect bites!!! (look at photo) Wallpaper is falling off. Toilet bowl is in cracks. Near the hotel is tram`s line, if you want to sleep in silence - it`s not that place! Rooms are smoke-filled, like a smoke-room in the airport... Сonclusion: If you want to save your health - never stay at this hotel.

    Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.6
    Location good but nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff werent great, tried to accuse me of not paying for the room upfront even though i had emails/bank statements to prove i did. Room was very small which was ok but the shower was poor pressure & not warm

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were stains on the walls, the shower curtain was didn't close properly, the bathroom light went on and off intermittently, the corridor was dim and dingy with stained carpets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    2.5
    Ничего.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horror and unsanitary conditions. Hell in every detail: from a stale mattress with traces of feces, stink in the room to a falling bed and lack of wi-fi connection. Do not believe me? Look at photos, but rather come and see for yourself. Spoiled rest! ((

    Ничего. Всё чудовищно. Nothing. Awful full!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    A good deal if you have to arrange a spontanteous one-night sleepover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance from the main train station of Bordeaux, so if you are looking for a place to stay very spontaneously for less money and want to hit the road as soon as possible the next morning, its a good option. The hotel itself is far from being even close to luxus, so its a total worst-case-no-choice option. My room smelled of smoke very badly, the bed was neatly done, the bathroom was clean any tidy - everything being very basic and old-looking though. The area is not worth seeing, unless you go to the riverside or take a street car to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is close to the Tram line and you are in 10...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tram is noisy and very frequent. Thus, if you have a room to the street you can't leave the window open. This is a problem as the cleaning agents they used were quite smelly especially on arrival.

    The hotel is close to the Tram line and you are in 10 minutes in the centre. It is also in walking distance to the railway station, which is also the end station for Bus line 1 from/to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.8
    I'm never going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is "tired". My bedroom was dirty, surfaces were cracked. It was a twin room- I do not know how two people would have coped. There was no where to put a suitcase, the bed covers were filthy and had at least one cigarette burn in. The bed below the dirty cover then had clean sheets and filthy blankets stored in a small wardrobe. The mattress was dirty foam and the pillows cheap foam. I awoke each day with inexplicable small itchy spots on parts of my body that were covered during the day Bed bugs? The shower hose ran from the sink taps and so the curtain around the shower area could not close properly. The toilet roll holder was broken. The door to the bathroom had grafitti scratched into it The lights on the corridor to the room did not always work and so I had to feel my way to the bedroom I cannot recommend any aspect of this hotel except the kindness and professionalism of the staff Also, my room was at the front, even on floor 4 it was REALLY noisy until at least midnight and from 5.30 am- especially the trams. I do have photographs, but think the words paint the picture

    The location is excellent and the pleasant staff were great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The presentation (all the carpets and paintwork) needed a good clean and update. We couldn't open the wardrobe door fully as the bed was in the way. There was no ventilation in the bathroom and the tap leaked over the floor. No air-conditioning and the room was hot, if you left the window open, mosquitoes attacked. Staff were very reluctant to let us use the fridge, the hairdryer and iron supplied had to be returned immediately. Wi-fi only available in the reception room and the connection was unstable and frustrating, only 1 hour at a time permitted.

    The room was quiet. A tram stop outside the door took you into the city centre in 5 minutes. We were able to walk to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    2.5
    Don't go. You are better off in the streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to start... - The beds were not made, we had to do them - There was only one pillow. We asked for another and told us they would bring one (passed 11PM) but they never showed up in our room. - They don't speak english. - The room had a wall full of little stains of black "thingamajigs" on the walls (ewck!) - The WiFi didn't reach our room (fourth floor) - Cigar holes in the bed sheets (even though we were in a Non-smoking room) And finally... The beds... They had springs coming out from the mattress and me and my partner have our backs punctured. It's been a very unpleasant stay and wouldn't recommend it.

    Mm... pretty much nothing (see What didn't you like section)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Very close to the station and next to a tramway station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in need of refurbishment. It was not in a good state. The hallway smelled and was dark. Bathroom is very tiny amd has very little space to move around. Only room for one plug. The room was dark. No airco.

    Very close to the station and next to a tramway station. Staff was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap hotel near the railway station. Has 24h reception. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room looked a bit run down but it was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    A very basic hotel not good on aesthetics but room clean and well serviced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in shock at the look of the place once you leave reception. Very run down and dark. The corridors were a bit scary with what looked like water stained carpets and poor lighting. They should paint it white to add light and fix or cover over the carpets. It's a bad look. To be fair though, my room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom well stocked with towels and good toiletries, and the towels and sheets changed every day. The bathroom was like a ship's cabin (that's the theme, if you have look at the reception desk decoration) and I'm a bit claustrophobic so I didn't like it. The shower had a too-short curtain and the shower head did not fit the metallic fitting to the wall properly, so the shower head came crashing down on me at one point. Make sure you hold it. No hairdryer in the room but reception has one for you to borrow. I couldn't find any English speaking TV channels but it is France, after all!

    It was very clean in my room (not the hallway) and the staff were lovely and helpful. The location is good if you are using the main train station and the trams. It was very quiet, thankfully!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location - easy to get anywhere in Bordeaux and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location - easy to get anywhere in Bordeaux and right by the train station where buses and trams could be used. Staff were very friendly and I was able to check in at 1am following a late night flight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.9
    Probably Europe's worst hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budgets are Meant to be cheap but for €55 this was expensive compared to other budget hotels. Carpets in lobby, hallways and room was absolutely filthy. I wouldn't dare walk barefoot. Thought we was going to fall through the lift it looked that shabby. Walls were dirty, furniture broken. Worst was being on 4th floor the window not only opened fully into the room but no safety feature in place if someone climbed up onto the already broken desktop. God forbid if someone stayed with a child and they climbed up onto it. How this hotel could ever pass any health and safety laws is beyond me. To top it off, to park your car cost an extra €10 that was not mentioned in the booking. Total rip off and disgusting hotel. We wished we'd slept in the car in the services. Stay away at all costs and spend that little extra for reassurance.

    Leaving it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.0
    Basic facilities but clean and perfectly adequate for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could do with a facelift

    Basic facilities but clean and perfectly adequate for our overnight stay. Very pleasant staff and good breakfast with fresh bread and croissants. Tram stop outside so very quick and easy into central Bordeaux. If you are fussy about decor it may not be the place for you, but we would return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    I do not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The building is run down and generally decrepit. The carpets are filthy in the public areas and in the rooms. There is no air conditioning and the weather is extremely hot. There are small fans, but they are not adequate to the job of cooling these hot rooms. I do not think Booking.com should include this hotel on their website.

    The location is near the train station and since I was traveling by train, this was very convenient. The breakfast was good. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Poor old bordeux
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap value for money that's all

    Very dated hotel needs major up lift, good for city but very noisy by the tram track and local housing who made noise all night. The place was boiling hot with window closed due to noise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location near tram which will take you to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really hot and the ventilation did not work. There was a fan in the room which made much noise and even in its lowest setting was too high. We had to sleep with open windows at night.

    Fantastic location near tram which will take you to city center within 15 mins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was tiny and non-descript. I had a double room by myself - I don't know how 2 people could fit in it! Very disappointing.

    Close to the station - only plus point!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Just managed to squeeze into twin room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little space in the room, advertised as a 'twin bed' room. The two beds were stuck together and there was little space to move round them. We're used to 'budget' hotels, but this was 'budget plus' in terms of space available. However one gets what one pays for.

    The hotel was fairly close to the station and the price was not high. The staff were friendly and helpful.That includes desk staff and cleaner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Acceptable for no more than 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi connection was awful. The room was very very hot, the walls needed to be painted, and it was very small. The furniture was very old and the TV sometimes didn't work. The bathtube was also narrow and small.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was good, near to the main train station and public transports. Actually there was a tram stop in front of the hotel. I was also near the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.2
    Traveller Beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start !!! Broken bed with thin mattress. One plug in room, no air con. Tiny wardrobe. Bad decor. Filthy carpets... bathroom floor ripped. Shower controlled from hand basin taps..with flex to shower head..with very ill fitting shower curtain. No lights in corridors, The place was a disgrace. Never again 😳

    There was a tram stop outside...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.8
    I liked nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't advise anybody to stay at this hotel. There's no AC ( and it really gets very very hot ), no WiFi,not a proper shower .

    I liked nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    2 star hotel was comfortable and adequate, and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 star hotel was comfortable and adequate, and the breakfast is good. A little way out of town, but trams run past the hotel, and a weekly transport ticket, which covers the whole of the transport system, including airport transfer, costs 13 euros, less for pensioners and students

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.5
    At the tram stop to the city center, not far from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty floor, very old bathroom, wallpaper coming off, generally no maintenance at all

    At the tram stop to the city center, not far from the train station, clean sheets, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    The bed was very uncomfortable there wasn't enough room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable there wasn't enough room to swing a cat and there were used condoms outside the window thrown from the floor above !!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.4
    Unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and toilet, toilet smells a lot, no wifi in room, no power socket other than that for fan, cleaners came knocking 2 minutes before my checkout time, wanted to watch football but couldnt find the tv remote and i think there are no sports stations from the info i heard. Generally poor value for money

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Good location (near the train station and tram and bus...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small and poor bathroom. Wi-Fi only in the lobby. Very old and tiered rooms. Of course, the price is nice, but I guess, for the small money it is possible to do some renovation.

    Good location (near the train station and tram and bus stops). The towels were changed every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't go back
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, it was over 30C during the day and it was unbearable, all the beds were very uncomfy, the slats of the bed frame were only attached at one side so any movement would knock them off the frame...

    Close to train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    OK budget option but not maybe for a romantic break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The general decor of the hotel and the rooms was very dated and a bit tatty. It really could do with a face lift.

    The location was good as the trams stopped almost outside and and whisked us into the heart of town in 5 mins. Every member of staff was very nice and helpful. Crisp clean sheets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, we expected the accommodation to be very basic but the decoration was all tired and very worn. The door to the bedroom (I think 219) had been repaired but not repainted (it looked as though it had been broken into previously). The door to the bathroom was hanging off its hinges and would not close properly unless you lifted it into place. The shower worked OK but there was a strange contraption connecting it to the water supply via the sink which was adjacent. We would not go to this hotel again in its current run down state even though it was very cheap.

    We spent a two-night stop-over on our return journey home following a cruise which ended in Venice then a flight to Bordeaux. The rest of our journey was to be by train. The train station was only five minutes away (which was why we chose the hotel) and the tram stop was just outside the hotel which was very convenient for visits to the city centre. We had to check out by 12.00 and our train was not until 18.00 but the staff very kindly stored our luggage securely until the evening whilst we toured Bordeaux. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast good. The accommodation was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Quite grubby, not great location apart from being close to the train station, will not book again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is not in a great location, apart from being close the the train station. The staff were helpfull and very friendy. I travel alone for work but the area of the hotel was not great (i wouldnt want my wife staying here alone!), even if there are a couple of restaurants etc close to the train station! After that the hotel was kinda grubby, not really dirty but needs an urgent facelift! i had marks on the wall, stains and wallpaper peeling from the walls! the 'bathroom' was a plastic insert that I often see in 2star hotels and not too bad but nothing to shout about. Walls not too thin but easy enough to hear the T.V from next door. Saying this i slept quite well as the bed seemed clean and was comfy. There was internet I am told but could not get a WIFI signal from my room on the third floor! The breakfast was OK with bread cereals, coffee and juice and served all morning, from 5am, great for me, an early riser! I would try to book a different hotel when i return to Bordeaux but if there are no rooms available for a good price I may consider staying here again, but will deffinately not be my first chioce!

    This hotel is close to the train station and has a tram stop just outside, the bed was quite comfy and these are the only good points apart from the price maybe!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Not bad, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of light in the rooms. Window would not stay open without having to put the small fan in the way.

    Good location, nice and close to the supermarket and river area. Easy access to everything very good if all you're wanting to do is explore the town and have somewhere to sleep for the night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Don't go there... really... to be avoid... seriously.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broken. The carpet floor was so dirty that it was difficult for me to breathe. The bathroom is from middle age. I recommend F1 but not this hotel. It should be forced to close or refurbished it totally. It is a trap.

    Close to the train station. Tv was functioning...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Good for one nights stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and tidy but is in desperate need of refurbishment / decoration, it looks very 'tired' in places. There was no tea/coffee making facilities and the shower in my room had no bracket to hold the shower head so showering was a one-handed job.

    The location is excellent. A minutes walk from the railway station and tram. The areas I used were very clean and tidy, including my room. The buffet breakfast is excellent value for money with a large selection. For one nights sleep the hotel was good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Overnight stopover in Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is a basic hotel near the train station the water in the shower is hot the bed is comfortable. There is a nice restaurant near by.. A supermarket is round the corner. Ideal for an overnight stop without breaking the bank

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: