Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Sylvabelle 1 stars

63 rue Sylvabelle, Castellane et Préfecture, 13006 Marseille, France

#101 of 104 hotels in Marseille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1975 hotel reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.7

  • Comfort

    4.7

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    4.4

  • Staff

    6

  • Value for money

    5.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are tiny. Anyone can walk off the street in. There is a light that is on a sensor so anytime someone moves past the door it turns on. There also wasn't any wifi for 24hours and nothing was said or compensated.

    Location was awesome! Beds comfortable. Very helpful "new guy" on reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing simple only it was close the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and the bathroom were dirty and we found a insicts in there, disgusting. The receptionist lady were really rude and unhelpful and she cant even speak one word of English. Even though I have a litte bit of French, she did not try to understand. I’d never stay at that hostel again and recommend to my friends

    Nothing simple only it was close the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Too expensive for what they offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the black hole of Marseille. Dirty, crowded, with little space to move around, the light in room is poor, half of the lights beside the beds are broken, 3 showers for 12 people and one of them broken too...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.5
    The worse experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place do not take this place , the guys at the reception hate his job so badly , he doesn't care about anything in the hotel, the bathroom had a really bad smell and we told the guys and his answer was, it is all we have.

    Sorry but I like nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My whole experience In the hotel

    We arrived at 1:30 pm and a member of staff at reception did the check in for us- he was very rude, he didn’t speak just ask for passport and gave us the key. We booked an ensuit room and all we found was a shower, to use the toilet we needed to go to a sharing toilet. A horrible smell was coming from the drains from the shower that we needed to put a towel on top to stop the smell. A very noisy hotel, not from the street but from other hotel guests (that’s not the hotels fault though) as it looks like it also a hostel as there are dormitory rooms too, the room was hot and there was no fan or aircon. Would not recommend anyone to go there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi, always losing connection regardless of your location. Rude staff (guy on night shift) Pictures do not reflect current state of the hotel All information not provided prior to booking

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    The location was fine, nearby the port and boulevard with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell of the waste in the bathroom and we killed 2 cockroaches during the vacation. Bathroom without doors and you can hear every noise in the hotel. Otherwise it was ok.

    The location was fine, nearby the port and boulevard with cheap restaurants. We travelled a lot to the surroundings and it is about 20 minutes by a walk to the nearest beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    the service was nice, the room was clean but the furniture a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service was nice, the room was clean but the furniture a little old, it matched the photo and, i only stayed one night, almost 50 euros for night for this room its a lot but its marseille standard and it was also next to the city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    You get for what you pay - the cheapest alternative in Marseille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady at the reception was nice at first, but didn't tell me which bed was mine, so I had to change two times, the first when I got back at night and realized someone took the bed I settled in (since I didn't know it was meant for someone else), and the second when I got to the reception the next morning to tell I took another bed, but I still had to change even if there was no one sleeping in the one I had to leave. When telling her about the bed, she became very unfriendly. She didn't speak English, even though a youth hostel mainly hosts foreign people.

    Breakfast was fine (bread, a croissant, some juice and hot drinks), and I advise to book it ; eating out in Marseille is so expensive (you wouldn't find any main course for less than 20€) so it is totally worth it to book it for 5€ extra. Also, the cleaning lady - which also takes care of breakfast - is lovely. The man at the reception is professional (but I wouldn't say he was friendly).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.5
    Worst place ever!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible place,saw it and ran away, it’s nothing like the pictures, it is really dirty and old, rooms are in a basement, not doors between rooms, not recomendable

    Horrible place, really dirty and old, rooms are in a basement, not doors between rooms, not recomendable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i dont know about other rooms ,but my room was stinky...whole night with the disgusting smell from bathroom … and no air-con ,so hot at night…did not sleep well… i wont choose it again

    location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.0
    It’s a good thing that I’ve stayed for one night only.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WiFi. No locks/keys to the room. Everyone can enter. Old building. Shower and bathrooms are outdated. Dusty rooms. EnoRmous pillows. Beds shaking. Noisy street. No free towels. Prices are unreasonable for this kind of service. Luggage room until 2 p.m./ 14:00 hrs. Only

    City centre. Easy to find. Bars/restaurants and grocery stores are just minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unfriendly at check in, check out the guy was nicer. In the 12-bed all female dorm, the ONE toilet had no toilet seat! The one shower that worked was tiny and flooded the entire bathroom seeping into to the bedroom as well. The photos are definitely of the place perhaps when it was run by different people as it looks slum-like in reality. There is no security, the door to the bedroom has no lock and is on the ground floor so the door entering the hotel also has no lock so anyone can enter without being questioned as the reception is on the first floor. Overall, the female dorm should not be allowed to generate money in its current state.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    it's was okay for the location and the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom in the room is convenient, but without a door which makes the whole room humid. Then it was really noisy since we are just beside the road. Got allergic because of the bed, not sure if it was that clean. The room was without a key, so anyone can get in the room easily, doesn't feel really safe for me. There's also literally almost no place to put stuff in the bathroom, and the room is really dark.

    good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Extremely uncomfortable and the staff were so rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely uncomfortable and the staff were so rude. Only one toilet for 12 people, there was a flood on the floor in flont of bathroom and it happens every day it was so disgusting. When I came back to the room a woman was sleeping on my bed and she said the staff led her to the bed in spite of there was still my stuff on my bed, we went to discuss to the front but they just gave me a paper written new number of bed without any apology besides I had to change my bed but they didn’t give me new sheets nor towels that was worst hostel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    I would not recommend staying here in a dormitory as it doesn't work in a hotel environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty closing doors. Ambiance was a little dark. Staff weren't particularly welcoming, but okay. Automatic light in the dorms was very disturbing when trying to sleep - buy a sleeping mask. Communal area quite small. No lock to main dormitory room, anyone from the street could walk in.

    Beds were comfortable and new sheets were laid out each day. Lockers in room - but bring own padlock as they charge 5 Euros.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Nothing except location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet (very poor connection) No lift. Bad room, bad smell from toilet, no door on attached washroom. Don’t go to picture on website of booking.com, its fake. Had a bitter experience last night, could not sleep for bad smell. The worst hotel I have ever seen in my life. I don’t know why Booking.com encourage their costumer such type of terrible hotel. It’s totally unhealthy environment.

    Nothing except location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    It´s "okay" for a night..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the showers didn´t work, the toilet had no toilet seat. The lighting in the bathroom was broken. The lighting in the room worked with a motion detector and then the light turned off again after 3 seconds. To get to the dormitory you have to go through a supply closet first.

    There is a metro station nearby. We were able to go everywhere by foot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, poor facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse maintenance of the facilities, for example the faucet in the bathroom. Worse cleaning of the room. Poor English.

    Near the subway station. Walking dustance to the city center. Reasonable price. Some staff tried to be helpful, but too poor English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    Awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean, the receptionist guy was impolite and it didn't speaks English, the room was smelling bad and it was dark with a just small window.

    I didn't - it was The worst experience I've ever had with hostels!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door in the dorm room didn't close fully. The bathroom was constantly damp and mouldy; could do with a clean and some work.

    Friendly staff, decent rooms and beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, moldy bathroom 1.) We had booked a ("superiour double") room with a double bed and got a room with two single beds. As the booking confirmation didnt show details on the booked room we could not prove that we had booked a double bed. Staff told us that there was no other free room. We had to take the room with two single beds. Storno was not possible. 2.) Shower is totally moldy everywhere, moldy areas in the size of a few centimeters. The door of the shower fell down when closing it, almost fell on my toes. 3.) When we arrived in the evening we booked and payed breakfast for the following two days. On the second morning we were told that we cant have breakfast because it is not part of our booking and that it needs to be reserved in advance. Conversation to explain that we had booked in advance etc was very uncomfortable, staff was not friendly at all. We will definitely not come anymore and we can not recommend that hotel!

    The only positive thing about our stay in that hotel was the location. Center, old port, nice bars and also the beach are in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect when you miss the last bus
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud doors. Squiky beds. Ripped off huge pillows. No blanket covers.

    Night light by each bed also electricity socket. Toilet inside the room so you dont have to travel to much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Good value for a night, but terrible security and no kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests cannot use the kitchen, this was a big negative. I was counting on preparing some sandwiches for the bus travels. Security is terrible! Anybody can go through the main door, then anyone can open the door to the room. No locks, no keys, completely open. One night, we woke up to the receptionist came and kicked out people from the next bed as they were not guests!! what the hell.

    The room was quite nice, separated by walls, but still in one big space with like 14 beds. There are lockers along the wall, you can even request locks from the reception for a small deposit. Location is not that bad, expected worse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    tiring and very unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, the dirty shower, the noise from other guests at night time....the staff not very helpful. Will never go there again, worse experience ever!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    the location , really close to the port , pretty cheap as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - no security , no key and the door isnt locked - no kitchen , no fridge , nothing we can use to cook or store food - pretty dirty and old washroom , dirty floors and bad shape shower

    the location , really close to the port , pretty cheap as well , cheapest in marseille

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Rather pricey for what we got, however didn't expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not the best and the interior is old. It is also a hostel, you have to hand in your key when leaving. There was also no toilet seat on our toilet, it was broken and sitting beside the toilet. Also the door to the bathroom didn't close, so make sure you are comfortable with your travel guest or be ready to get real close.

    Beds were decent and windows shut out the street noise sufficiently. It is close to the Castellane bus station for those needing to catch a bus to La Ciotat etc. Also not too far a walk to the Notre-Dame de la Garde and the old port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.3
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towells and sheet were wet, toilet seat was broken, bathroom door could not be closed, trash from previous guests was left in the room, thin walls, noisy neighbours

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.8
    Insulting Staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member (the only one I saw) was rude, insulting and just... mean! Blaming a booking mistake on me, and making fun of my disability! The hostel was not clean (I never saw a cleaner while I was there) mold in the bathroom, health hazard!!!. Building metereals in the lobby, and unsafe stairs... One shower for the men’s dorm. No keys, or locks for the room or the hostel. Someone took my sheets the second day, and could not talk to the staff member (in fear of being insulted). Please don’t stay here! It’s not worth it!

    Very little... it’s location in the Center of the city is useful but it’s a bit of a walk to the Railway station (and not much faster than using the metro).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Fine for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didn't work, the bathroom was disgusting, there was no counter space to put anything on the sinks, the wall to the outside was so thin it sounded like I was sleeping directly on the sidewalk, the pillow was absurdly thick to the point of being useless, and there were no locks on the doors to the bedroom.

    It was tolerable and well-priced for a one night stay passing through. Checking in and out was easy, and the hostel was very close to the metro stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.3
    All i wanted to do is get away from there as quickly as possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were disgraceful.the ceiling black with mould. The rooms have no doors,most lockers broken and mouldy inside.thin walls can hear everything everyone is doing and the whole street. The front door is never locked,absolutely anyone can just come into your 'room' from the street 24/7 so no feeling of security. The mens was also completely out of toilet paper on my second night. For half the price i had a hostel in lisbon which was like a luxurious hotel by comparison.

    The only positive is that the breakfast was better than in most places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    3.8
    The person who attends at night is a real zombie and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who attends at night is a real zombie and a disrespectful. The place is very dirty, including the bathrooms. The rooms ... forgettable. I'm sorry there are places like that! Oh, I forgot: the toilet paper is pink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    The position of the hotel is in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is really rundown. The sink in the toilet was not attached to the wall in a proper manner. It was not possible to close the toilet door because the wall around it was broken. Very poor breakfast: only one kind of cereal, one croissant per person and only one glass of juice per person (of course there was coffee and milk)

    The position of the hotel is in the city centre. The price is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    A nice location, located near the port and easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girls dormitory was close to the streets so it was a little noisy. But get what you get. Overall good stay.

    A nice location, located near the port and easy access to the center. And Staff was super duper awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very old, dirty and a lot of fungi and mildew, disappointing, when we came they give us one room and after we came back they remove our stuff in the other room becouse there was some their mistake, and in the end we were in room without toalet, but we paid private bathroom , not recommended at all!!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    The location is in the center for everything when you tour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't give enough information about the city for example I was asking where can I get the hop on hop off bus for my visit the staff don't know

    The location is in the center for everything when you tour the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.5
    stay away from this miserable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible smell in room, due to plumbing issues in shower and sink. Loud rushing water in pipes all night. Impossible to sleep. Wi-fi advertised but not available.

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    3.3
    No good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive since the location is not too good, theres no towel ,very small bathroom, girls living in somewhere looks like basement?? No light only reading light beside bed, no window, no lock on door and no lock on locker, and all off these cost me 20€ per night???I don't really advise u guys to live in here:(

    Clerk is nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Finally I was really satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no doors between the bedroom (in the women dormitory) and the basins so it was really hard not to disturb others while brushing your teeth or using basin in other way. If you have a breakfast included, be patient. At first it looks like there is just coffee, water, milk, tea and some chocolate flakes. After 2 or 3 minutes someone from the staff will give you croissant and baguette, butter, spread cheese, jam and glass of orange juice :-)

    The hotel was near the city centre, easy to find. Breakfast was finally good. All the toilets and showers were clean. The toilet and showers are right in the women dormitory. Boxes for your backpack or smaller suitcase are in the room also. Just don't forget to take your own little padlock with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    2.5
    Not OK, expensive
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    mold in the bathroom everywhere. bedcover with undefined yellow spots. Bunk beds not mounted against wall always swing even when person in down bunk changes Position. Price very high - in paris i stayed for same price with breakfast and It was Clean and good maintained

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.0
    Fast, couldn't wait until i sleep, wake up and leave.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell in the collective room (as dorms) was awful! i could sleep because of it, (feet smell, farts, sweat...). The bed above me was very unclean.

    It was practical for last minute reservation where you don't have anywhere else to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.3
    Read google reviews for the reality of the situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I regret coming here. Male part of staff unhelpful, wifi didn't work properly. One toilet for the entire floor, even though we didn't book a room with a shared toilet. Shower and sink kept cloging up, room really dirty. One think blanket and a radiator that barely worked.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Position great and its cheap for a reason but no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor of my room was massively out of level.

    I booked knowing the hotel was cheap . The beds were comfy and staff helpful. I got exactly what I paid for. If you expect anything Moyer for the price you will be disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    3.3
    Nothing, it was worst accommodation ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything! Please read comments and watch photos of users before booking because even one word and photo from website isn't close to reality. I'm pretty sure that it can be your worst acommodation ever. Only localisation is marked in proper way. Price is low, but in this standard you will have better conditions in flophouse. Could you imagine bathroom without toilet? Or when you book room with private bathroom are you checking if there is any wc? Here you can experience it - room smells like turd but you need to imagine toilet. There is only one per whole floor - with "surprising" interior design. Shower... is more healthy to have no shower for few days than to take one in this cabin. Disputable? Look on draining from my pictures! Mountains of dust not only in corners looks also impressive. Check bedside table behind glass or electric sockets and pipes. Walls slight like made from paper, if you understand languages you can join discussion from other rooms. On the wall you can see modern art - painting without painting, just shadow of dirtiness made while years without refreshing and restoration. If you searching for better view - don't look by the window, just turds of birds. Do you feel sleepy? Dreaming about blessed sleep in white bedclothes? You will also surprised. This is moment when you regret that you have only your own towels without sleeping bag. Towels from "hotel" are good to cover huge hole bellow entrance. When you are unlucky like me and temperature outside is around 3 degrees and in hotel is also very cold is good to stop wind from corridor. I don't even complained about it to receptionist. Staff doesn't speak english fluently, or is too lazy to give you an exhaustive answer. Marseille is very dangerous city they said - imagine that stay in this place was the worst experience.

    Nothing, it was worst accommodation ever.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    3.8
    Initially felt OK but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asking €10 to leave luggage despite checking out early. Had to spend about an hour to go to St Charles station to find leave luggage service. Did not appreciate such money gouging policy and the unwelcome morning delays.

    Allowed early morning leave luggage which helped with my travel plan. But this was only before checkin time. See (-) below. Room was quite ok & spacious. Location is good; near to lots of public transports.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's really cold at night and thicker quilt is needed. there is no hairdryer can be borrowed.

    good location light with every bed (however mine is broken)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    3.8
    A place to store luggage and freshen up, that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is very shabby and heating system doesnt work properly. There were problems with wifi because of the rain. The room is very small, there is no door to the shower tub only the shower curtain, which is old and dirty. I got ill there after the shower, cause the room was cold. Pictures are not accurate.

    The staff were nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.8
    Shower is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room especially the flooring needs to be properly cleaned for new guests. Heater is not that strong especially when we visited on winter season. The room is not soundproof and you can hear noises from all over the place. The room is not being cleaned everyday by the hotel. Towels are not changed everyday as well. The luggage storage facility mentioned is actually a false advertisement. They will only hold it for free til 2pm. Beyond that time, they will charge you with a cost which is rididulous. No lifts. Some staffs are not fluent in English.

    Shower is good. Bed is comfortable. Location is near the metro. We asked for extra blanket because the one they initially provided is so thin. No duvet but one of the staff gave us a thick blanket which is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.3
    Happy we only booked one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked like something from the medteveal, dirty sheets, crap towels and a bathroom not seen since I was a kind in the sixties. No electric outlets.

    Not much, staff however vas friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    3.3
    Worst hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean and room heaters are not fitted properly, rooms are so cold and not suitable for guests also they don't provide washed blankets, we have to use old blankets which were used by previous guests.

    Location is quite good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.5
    It was just cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The male afternoon reception staff had very bad attitude with ZERO customer service skills at all. The room was dark with no proper lighting and the hotel was dirty. Dorms are faced to the street and you can here every noise coming from the street, very noisy.

    It was just cheap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    I like how the toilet and showers were inside the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont think there was enough heating for the room. Good thing my bed was just near the heater. The room was too big for just 2 heaters. Toilet runs out of paper everytime.

    I like how the toilet and showers were inside the room. Breakfast was good value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff. It's a hostel, not a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a bit musty. Make sure to pack warm pajamas if you're staying here in the winter- the dorms are a bit chilly!

    Very friendly staff! Located close to Vieux Port and many great restaurants. Just a few minutes walk to the metro! The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    - location, close to the metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night

    - cold in the room - only one toilet for female dorm (12 beds) - very small showers - not very talkative staff, didn't recieve many informations on check in

    - location, close to the metro station - price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    2.5
    do not choose the hotel for the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    do not choose this hotel not good for the stay not clean and bathroom and toilet is not bed and pillow is not clean floor is wet and room is filled with bad smell

    nothing to like

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    2.9
    The city is amazingly beautiful especially when it comes to sunset!
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room conditions, services

    Room conditions are not good including the bathroom. The room is cold. I have booked a room for two people beforehand which means my room is double-bed type, however, when I arrive, the reception said that my room is only for one person and charged us 10 more euros.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Not so satisfying but still ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room, a bit different from the one shown in the pictures. We stayed 4 nights but they did not change our sheets or towels not even once. We also expected small shampoo/shower gel in the bathroom but there was not... Our room was on the 2nd floor and there was not an elevator. Last one, the building is really old (but you will see lots of old buildings in Marseilles!).

    It was very close to the port. After we left the room, they accepted to keep our luggages until 2pm, so we could have a walk in the city and pick them up later.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    Discusting and we hope you got tetanus shot before this 'magnificent' experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my friends are really disappointed with this accomodation. It was terrible, clean is a strange word for them. Definitly, we won't reccomend for this, we will tell to avoid this place. Location is great, but everything rest is awful. Next time,the better choice would be 10km away, but sleep in peace in clean room and not worring about the dirty around you. Discusting!!!

    Me and my friends are really disappointed with this accomodation. It was terrible, clean is a strange word for them. Definitly, we won't reccomend for this, we will tell to avoid this place. Location is great, but everything rest is awful. Next time,the better choice would be 10km away, but sleep in peace in clean room and not worring about the dirty around you. Discusting!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.3
    If you can find somewhere else to stay do so!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security of the dorm room is so poor that I am convinced 3 out of the 6 people who stayed there on the second night of my stay weren't actually booked guests. There is 1 toilet for 12 guests and it doesn't have a toilet seat

    The location is close to the harbour

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms need general cleaning. Breakfast is cheap but i can't recommend it.

    Receptionist was really nice. Location is excellent- it's so easy to get there from the airport or reach the most popular places. If you arrive before your room is ready you can leave your luggage in the storage room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    the hostel was exactly what you paid for
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work, it was very loud and dirty and you need to pay for towels but the hotel was exactly what you paid for, cheap

    The staff was friendly. I would recommend the place when you travel on budget because the location is good but when you have enough money I would choose another place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.8
    Poor hotel at a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of hygiene and cleanliness, There was no ironing facility Bathroom was in very poor state Breakfast included 1 croissant, 1 piece of bread , coffee and porridge food

    Location is very good But hotel itself is very disappointing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.3
    They are liers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made me pay again in resort because i arrived one Day later, however i called them before hand to let them know and they told was fine, but then once there they charged me one extra night.

    Nothing, really bad service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    2.5
    Never ever stay in this dump.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that the photos they show on the site do not correspond with the room that I got and that they did nothing with my complaint about it. And I was not the only not happy guest.

    the fact that I could leave this dump.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    The location is perfect, some 20 mins walk to Notre-Dame...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personel looked like they didn't care less I was there and the room is unlocked all the time, while the front door openes to everybody. I got just one sheet for the bed and the one that was already on it seemed dirty. Although the check out was till 12, the cleaning lady was there around 11 already, providing no privacy while I was getting ready, almost literally mopping my feet. All in all, I felt like I slept at some public housing.

    The location is perfect, some 20 mins walk to Notre-Dame dela Garde and app. the same to the city centre. Seeing that I was staying in a dormitory, it was also quiet enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave the key everytime we had to go out Room with a strong smell when checking in No window in the bathroom Dirty bathroom Badly soundproof

    The room was ready earlier (12 instead of 14)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Exceeded my expectations on cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old decor, old furniture, old building and flooring, not very quite or private.

    Very good value for the money. Facilities were old and outdated, but very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    2.9
    Please don't go. Read carefully.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recepcionist was extremely rude. First we booked two beds in a room that seemed to have 4 beds but actually had 12. I sat on one unnocupied bed for a moment because I was given one of the upper beds and didn't want to bother my friend who was sleeping and the recepcionist came in screaming that I cannot ocuppy a different bed than the one given to me -there were three guests in the entire room- so I asked if I could change the bed and she said it was not possible (?) in a very rude way. Check out according to booking was at 12pm but she came in and woke us up and told us it was at 10am. We left our luggage for five hours until our departure and were charged 10 euros for it -first time ever happened, nobody does that-. The room was spacious but there was only one toilet for 12 people, no light were the mirror was and the showers were so small that you literally couldn't change in there, they also got floaded every single day and a lake was formed in the mirror area. To eat you couldn't use the dinning area and could only eat in one of the two couches that were in the lobby with a table that was not straight and you couldn't cook or heat up anything. A DISASTER.

    Relatively close to the port -about 10 blocks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Fair price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one toilet for 12 people. How can it be possible? The bathroom was all flooded. Terrible wifi !!!!! and the personal was not nice...

    It is an old hotel, located 20 minutes walking from the port. The price is fair enough. The ladies room, has beds for 12 women.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Quite good for poor traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    but It's right besied the road.. maybe there are many walker, car... it's somewhat noisy. but it's ok

    the Staff was so nice. She was so outgoing and well in English(u know, in marseille , there are so many people who don't speak english even a word). It is quite cheap and quite clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.3
    It smelled like urine, black mold everywhere in the shower,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled like urine, black mold everywhere in the shower, dirty.. Everyone I saw there was like "it's the worst hostel i've ever been to"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    Bad overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and smelly bathrooms, no proper cleaning in the morning, little space, loud, lockers are spacious but the lock is a joke, no kitchen or common area, the guy at the reception was always grumpy and not willing to help, breakfast is also a joke, curfew is at 1am or they lock you out. If you're looking for a hostel go to vertigo, it's worth the extra money.

    The location was the only good thing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    The location of the property is good and can be easily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didnot get the kind of room we booked. The room was dirty and flush of the toilet was broken and there was no carpet on the floor. The position of the room was not good with no sunlight coming in. I guess other rooms facing the courtyard were still better although the kind of room we booked also looked very good in the picture. However, the staff was extremely helpful, nice and always at our service.

    The location of the property is good and can be easily located, the behaviour of the staffs was extremely nice and friendly, and metro access is very close to the hotel. I would recommend staying here for a weekend if when you are travelling on a tight budget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    3.3
    Terrible place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - men only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible place. But the worst about it they are cheating with cards you indicate while booking. I was charged first night in the moment of booking, even if it was Free cancellation and No down-payment indicated. Then when I came to the property I was charged again the same night. They told me the previous wasn't payment and it should return to my card. Never happened. The phone number doesn't answer, no e-mail address... Now I'm dealing with my bank and Visa about this fraud to get my money back.Try to avoid this place!

    Happy not to get bedbugs and head louses from there...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    The hotel was dreadful, but for some reason I met a whole lot of nice people there:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room - women only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets were dirty and the receptionist agreed to give me some clean ones only after a short argument. Using the showers was quite a challenge, as the water didn't drain properly. There were cockroaches in the dorm. Right inside the lockers.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: