Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tamaris 3 stars

14, rue des Maraîchers, 20th arr., 75020 Paris, France

#1448 of 1,600 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room but OK. small bathroom , especially the shower space. sound insulation is not good,so you can hear sound from next room,even water tap.

    all staff are nice. clean hotel. near metro station. many restaurants and shops are nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Location convenient to metro, reception staff friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night as walls/doors don't stop noise transmission enough. Bathroom small. Bed maintenance needs attention and a spruce up.

    Location convenient to metro, reception staff friendly and competent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Convenient from subway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast too simple, and I had to ask to get refill of orange juice in the machine and of croissants, not enough for the guest in hotel.

    Convenient from subway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Not a fancy place, but convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some rooms are better than others. First room had mould in the bathroom and in dis repair. After changing rooms it was better. You can hear everything depending on what floor you are on. Showering, toilets flushing and doors closing. It's not a fancy place, so don't expect that and the pictures are of the better rooms.

    Close to Porte de Vicennes Metro Station. Lots of Restaurants, Bistros and Bars nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    The bed was quite comfortable, but the rest of the furniture...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not at all isolated. One could hear easily all the noises from the other rooms. The wifi connection does not work very well. In the end, quite expensive for what it offers.

    The bed was quite comfortable, but the rest of the furniture and appliances a bit outdated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.8
    There was almost nothing to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The light was poor, there was no light in the corridor. There was no electric plug in the room - I mean absolutely no electricity plug!!! I had to unplug the TV to charge my cell phone.

    There was almost nothing to like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.3
    Dismal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are too small , they are not clean and the "continental" breakfast selection was just poor it would have been better to just eat at the McDonalds down the road or buy your own. There are no tea making facilities in the room, we had to ask for a kettle just to make porridge for the baby. The key to the adjoining door was not available until the next day we were just too tired to complain about this because of the key was missing then you should not give out the rooms 😡😡. If you have children do not go it's just not a child friendly place. Don't trust the pictures they show you and those 3 stars are the ones they have themselves this place is a 1 star at best.

    The hotel is close to the metro station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    good hotel, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - We visited Paris during the summer and it got extremely hot. The room didn't have air conditioner. The kind stuff provided us with a fun though, but it was really hot anyways. - Not that close to main attractions. On the other hand, the metro is less than 5 mins away.

    - Amazing breakfast - Great Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    3.3
    Heavily overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms are super small, basic facilities are missing or just broken, there's no air-conditioning, the bathrooms are old and dirty. I would expect this from a cheap hostel, but not from a 3 star hotel. It is NOT a 3 star hotel.

    The location is good, next to a metro line #1 station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    I enjoyed the simple pleasure of having my own space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin I could hear everything. Babies crying, couples having sex, bathroom showers running. I had to turn in my key every time I left the hotel. The hotel was so hot and did not have air conditioning. When I asked for a fan, I tried to plug it in but there were no outlets to do so. So I just had to keep my window open during day--but it was hot.

    I enjoyed the simple pleasure of having my own space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    2.9
    It does not have air conditioning for summers (only has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not have air conditioning for summers (only has heating). You will be burned out. It does not have WiFi. They use their neighbor's Wifi network!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.4
    Deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advert on the website is not for this hotel. Cobwebs, no bulbs in bedside lamps, toilet too small, you had to use the toilet with the door open! No bottom in the bedside drawer. No hair dryer no refreshments in the room.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.7
    Not bad hotel for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small. The toilet seat was just under washbasin. Difficult for a little healthy people to adjust.

    The bed was good. The location was good, just steps away from Metro.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was very small can't put 2 traveling bag, toilet was very small one person can't have a wash in the bath cubicle.. break fastt was bad same every day.. not a selection

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.4
    Avoid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the quality offered, Kind of hotel where you lay on the bed and have to put your feet outside the room, bad breakfast!

    Clean and near to the metro

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfort, safe, has elavator, renewed building.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the stuff members told my friend I bring strange men to the hotel in french. Less cool. (:

    Comfort, safe, has elavator, renewed building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the room - uncomfortable in summer! Staff were not overly friendly.

    Excellent location and great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, one block from Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, one block from Metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Good Hotel (room, facilities, cleanliness), but very unpleasant reception staff !
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    comfortable
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Propreté relative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Propreté relative Photos as forcement en adéquation un peu cheap

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    the amability of personal
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 25 nights

    small rooms, very Noisy. you hear everithing from other floors.

    the amability of personal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location, easy access to public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, hard to move around.

    Good location, easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    aircondition not available

    very good staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.9
    Very poor would not recommend would never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed four days never changed bed covers. Breakfast very bad. Not family rooms as advertised.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    We like staf
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facslity

    We like staf

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast lightweight, ie not much choice and no fruit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast lightweight, ie not much choice and no fruit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel, near to metro
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smaller than I expected

    Lovely staff very friendly And helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    8.3
    Good location, and clean room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, and clean room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    Was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we got a full breakfast and not a continental breakfast

    The staff were great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.8
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed disaster and when somebody take water in other room so much noise

    good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    7.1
    The facility is well located near a metro station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the hotel workers are not conversant with English language. I was bored with the same type of breakfast every day.

    The facility is well located near a metro station. Some of the hotel workers speaks English language.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.3
    All the staff were very helpful, breakfast was very good
    • Solo traveller

    Shower was very bad. I also fell the first night. Very slippery with more tile with a high ledge. I sat on that after. No English news channel. No fridge.

    All the staff were very helpful, breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    7.5
    - Problems with Parking - in description is annonced that is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Problems with Parking - in description is annonced that is possible park there but its not for free and its on street where is often no place. Hotel has no own parking spot - Super small bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    6.7
    The bathroom newly renovated and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was small room in the ground floor, bedding - blankets on the bed not embedded, only placed on the bed sheets, enough old and dirty. But it shouldn't be expected better room for such the price in Paris, I guess.

    The bathroom newly renovated and spacious. There is the availability to purchase soft drinks in the reception. Metro station in 50 m only.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    Safe neighborhood and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was so little. Also bathroom too. But it was clean and usefull. It is a little far from main attractions but very close to metro

    Safe neighborhood and clean rooms. We liked it. Staff were nice. Just you need to speak little bit french

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    The hotel od near metro station and if your stay in Paris is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom and shower stand are really small - just to turn around. The room wasn't too big either but we left at 8 am and returned after 9 pm and went to sleep so we did not mind much.

    The hotel od near metro station and if your stay in Paris is on low budget it is nice choice. The staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was quite small, but it is not a big deal.

    Very nice hotel. Really close to the subway station. The room was clean and tidy. The staff was warm and nice.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    close location to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    tiny bathroom where you can barely move. Breakfast was ok but I would be good to add at least some vegetable (cucomber, tomatoes,pepper)

    close location to metro

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    the location was great, 1 minute walk to the metro and 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we booked a deluxe double room, the room was basic and so tiny, far from deluxe. A toe stubber! I hate nasty throws on beds, a lot hotels do this and they're horrible, they never get washed and only a sheet provided for cover we had no use but to use them. The shower took so long to heat up! the tv had a big dent in it so some of the screen was black, half the remote didn't work. when asking reception for advice on getting around I was asked to speak French. granted im in france but im also a visitor and in a hotel, bit rude.

    the location was great, 1 minute walk to the metro and 1 stop from connections to everywhere in paris! brilliant! corner shop and supermarket, restaurants and rental bikes close by, big windows and clean room. The lift was so quirky and hilarious!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    Great location,comfortable room,although the bathroom is too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was bad and didn't work at all in the bedroom,and i asked the staff of the hotel,they told me that wifi in guest room were under maintenance,so it won't be work until next week,hope it will be okay and won't dissapont to other next guests.

    Great location,comfortable room,although the bathroom is too small,but it's ok. At the first day i arrived was too early -/+ 7:30 am,i could put my luggages in the room without pay more,and i could use the bathroom at the lobby to clean myself. Nice!!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    5.8
    The hotel is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Standard French breakfast, which was too expensive for what you get. Thin walls let you know all the neigbours activities. No internet in the rooms.

    The hotel is ok. Good location, close to the Metro. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.0
    1. Location as it's only a 5 minute walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -not sleeping well due to no air conditioning with 37 degrees outside (July ). We were given a fan, but this had to be kept on all night to cool the room slightly, but it was very noisy. 2. You were woken up at 8 am by the builders banging and sawing in the yard underneath our window. 3. Stained carpets in the hall don't give a good impression of the hotel. 4. They ran out of black tea and didn't replace it or apologised for it.

    1. Location as it's only a 5 minute walk to the underground(metro). 2. Staff were generally friendly and helpful, but one night we were woken up by a call from reception. The receptionist asked us to reduce the noise coming from our room as another guest had complained about noise from a room next door. We had been asleep and the next morning the receptionist said, he had called the wrong room!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    5.5
    Within the Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillow was tooo small. There was no internet in any room, but it was declared. Room was tiny. Walls were tooo thin so you can hear how one pee in the room above you...

    Within the Paris

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    6.3
    Las habitaciones están muy limpias.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Habitación y baño demasiado pequeños. Muy costoso para las facilidades con que cuenta.

    Las habitaciones están muy limpias. Tienes bastante tomacorrientes para cargar varios equipos a la vez. El personal es muy educado

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are too close. You would eventually hear the noise from nearby rooms. TV is too small as well.

    Staff were very friendly. Location is not that close to city center but on Metro Line 1 though which is the fastest one.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    3.8
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My bed was a cot, which kept breaking. We booked for 3 beds and the room was the size of a closet, location is not close to public transport, can barely stand up straight in shower because it's so small, Bad value for the amount of money I spent.

    Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.6
    I liked almoust everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could hear my neighbours very well, even their conversations =), so it felt a bit awkward, but since I was only sleeping in the hotel, it did not metter. And another thing, the breakfast was not common for me. They serve muesli with milk, yoghurt, and give on the plate to everyone 1 croissant and 1 small baguette, which you can eat with butter, jam and nutella, and the thing is that I'm on the eutrophy or a separate nutrition, so for me there was absolutely nothing to eat! =) But since I already paid for breakfast, I had to get used to drink green tea with buns every morning =) But I'm sorry to say, this breakfast does not cost 9 euros! =) But I guess all the french people have for breakfast a cup of coffee with bun, so if you travel somewhere you have to be prepeared to change your traditions a bit. However, other than that everything was just fine!

    I liked almoust everything! The room was very nice, pretty and comfortable. Made was cleaning and changing me towels every day, which very surpriced me, but I was very much pleased. The only thing, you should take a fen with you, they don't have it. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is good too, the metro station Porte de Vincennes (line 1) is right by the hotel, it takes about 20 minutes and you are in the center of the Paris. Lots of small stores and caffees around. Read in internet that the 20th arrondissement is a not safe and criminal place, but nothing ever happened to me there, came back to hotel late in the evening by myself, took a walk to the center, was jogging in the early morning and everything was just fine. Maybe on Belleville or Menilmontant is not safe for tourists, don't know because did not go there, but the area where this hotel is located is quite safe. So I recomend this hotel for staying.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Nice staff, clean for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smoke smell in the room (probably previous tenant)! should separate smoker/non rentals I believe!

    Nice staff, clean for the money! Toilets though small are clean enough!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.5
    It was clean, well located close to several metro stations,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is not great. It's continental/French brrakfast.

    It was clean, well located close to several metro stations, stuff is very nice and helpful. Also, it is located close to the highway, for the ones who come by car, which makes it easy and fast to get to the hotel. The area is quiet.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.1
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    walls are really thin a bit noisy

    Very good location..close to tube station and local restaurants

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel and good location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Location, calm, very near to Metro and Tram and helpfull...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was old, bathroom small and had traces of mold in some corners

    Location, calm, very near to Metro and Tram and helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    6.7
    Location good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to complain about according to the rate.

    Location good; facilities OK; staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old facility

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.0
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were doing construction and failed to mention it anywhere when we were booking.

    N/A

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    Rooms were clean and staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was very hot and there wasn't even a fan.

    Rooms were clean and staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    best location good staff good room

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.5
    wifi is not working in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi is not working in room

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    6.7
    - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - the street is noisy - the walls are very thin so we could hear the neighbours - no WIFI in our room

    - location

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.5
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    - it was cleaned up every day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - no WIFI in our room

    - it was cleaned up every day - good location (safe and clean) - close to metro station (about 3 minutes)

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    Memory foam bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Memory foam bed!!! Great, friendly and knowledgable staff

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    6.3
    Somebody was doing repairs in the apartment next to my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Somebody was doing repairs in the apartment next to my room. It was noisy. Also there is no wifi on the 5th floor.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    location (very very close to metro line 1)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of WI-Fi in the room, but it I was aware of that before booking

    location (very very close to metro line 1)

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    Clean rooms, metro, supermarket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet, except on the reception area

    Clean rooms, metro, supermarket

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    5.8
    Far from underground and halal food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from underground and halal food

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    2.5
    No thing
    • Group

    Every things

    No thing

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.9
    The reception was warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The one person who smoked next to my room. Probably you separate smokers from non smokers in different wings

    The reception was warm

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.5
    Good rate quality/price.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Small bathroom. No wi-fi signal at 4th floors.

    Good rate quality/price. Silent rooms. Metro 1 station just around the corner. Free wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    7.9
    - room is good, staff is friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - no wifi

    - room is good, staff is friendly

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.2
    staff was really friendly and kind, the room always clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room was a bit small

    staff was really friendly and kind, the room always clean

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Hotel Tamaris traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: