Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thalacap Camargue 3 stars

Avenue du Dr Cambon, 13460 Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer, France

#36 of 39 hotels in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 589 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Adequate hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is tired and in need of some upgrading. The rooms and bathrooms in particular are tatty and the bar is soul less.

    Great location with views of the sea and a short walk into town. Spacious hotel with lots of options for spa treatments.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Room prices cheaters
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on paper allocated a room with a view on the sea on 2nd floor but given a narrower one on the 1st floor with no view instead at a booking.com price higher than the price of the room for the season. We complained unsuccessfully. Hotel was not even 20% full.

    The thalasso spa is staffed with nice and courteous people making a dramatic contrast with most uncourteous hotel front desk staff with a few exceptions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Although we had a pleasant stay the room facilities are somewhat tired and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite expensive for what we got. There was a slight drain smell at the foyer. The beds were a little hard. The bathroom looked a little dated and it was impossible to stop the shower from spraying onto the floor. Access to our flat from the garden required us to go up two floors to the bar then down a floor to our level. The breakfast was expensive @ €12 each and was very basic - we found a much better breakfast at a significantly lower price in town. We were told we needed to book any meals we wanted in the hotel one day in advance, which meant we never ate there! One of the electric sockets in the room was loose so that there was a danger of pulling it off the wall when withdrawing an electric plug. There were two bedside lamps, but one of them could only be turned on if the other was on too. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    The view from the room was excellent. We asked for sea view and were given a first floor room which looked over the gardens towards the sea. It was good to be able to walk through the gardens to the beach. There was a decent shower - hot and reasonably powerful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Dinner and rooms are what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What eggs? The one complaint I do have is your selection at breakfast. I know that I was in a different country and tastes differ. But you could have something on the buffet that Americans are used to eating.

    Dinner and rooms are what I expected. Your front staff ,especially one woman, was exceptional. Weather was very bad and she even loaned me her umbrella. I will recommend y.our hotel because of her.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    OK, but wouldn't go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet/WiFi not working; extra costs to use the spa (15 Euros per day per person); basic breakfast; all in all it's not a very welcoming place.

    Nice location very close to the beach. We stayed in a clean room with a big bed. The internet/WiFi does not work if you are at the far end of the Hotel. Extra costs if you want to use the spa (15 Euros per day per person) even though you are a resident. The spa is basic and not worth the extra 15 Euros). The staff is friendly, but does not go the extra mile (eg. WiFi not working, nobody cares). Breakfast is at 12 Euros a day per person and it's also rather basic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Really nice - but everything besides the room is a (pricey) extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think you should have to pay extra to use the indoor pool etc - or at least not 15 euro. It seems like a bit of a rip-off considering the price of the room.

    Amazing location - can't imagine a better sea view. The restaurant was lovely. The staff were also very accomodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Good, quiet location next to the beach and very near town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel looks quite shabby. Very poor WIFI. We had breakfast once only - luke warm tea water, chocolate in the coffee, empty fruit salad bowl and meat platter were not replenished (over 1 hour before breakfast finished), cheese portions packed in plastic. All this for 12.- euros Needs rack to dry towels/bathing suit on the balcony. We didnt use the extra expense wellness facilities. I tried to use the outdoor pool twice but it was only open from around10:00 until 18:00. No lockup for bikes - just the fenced off carpark - so we took them into the hotel and left them in a corner.

    Good, quiet location next to the beach and very near town centre with many excellent restaurants. Nice balcony. If you stay clear of the restaurant, bring your own kettle, and make good use of the room refrigerator, you'll have a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property is a bit dated and could use some renovation. But clean and safe. Decent value for the money.

    Great location. 50 meters from the beach. Short walk to the heart of town. Really beautiful location. Felt very safe and relaxed there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room, nice balconey.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location obsolete room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obsolete bathroom Air conditioner malfunctioning

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Great staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Lovely location and friendly staff. Hotel a little dated 70s style but that's part of the charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, food, a/c!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    the Ultimate Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Spa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Superbly located and very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Superbly located and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel doesn't accept dogs, even during low season.

    everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, on the ocean front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.5
    we had to leave as we were so disappointed!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on the phone we were told that we can see the sea from our room, but were shocked on arrival to only see a wall, with the sea hidden behind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Great position . Bathroom facilities must improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was scruffy.

    Not taken

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipment sanitaire léger !

    Situation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    Lacking maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment Sea Side (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lacking maintenance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Most things
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to wait too long to order our dinners each night.

    Most things

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    comfortable fun spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.7
    La situation face à la mer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La situation face à la mer

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    5.4
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The general appearance of the hotel and our bedroom was shabby and needed an overhaul. The balcony floor of our bedroom was dirty. The hotel looks uncared for and neglected, filthy windows.

    Comfortable bed. Soft & clean towels. Good location

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.7
    Location overlooking the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a Spa hotel and I think the hotel caters more for its Spa guest than others. We wanted to use the outdoor pool which was free to use but were told we would have to buy towels at €15.00 each. I have never heard of this in a hotel. Any hotel we have stayed in with a pool always had towels available for guest use. The quality of the towels on sale for €15.00 was rubbish. Needless to say we didn't buy them. We also were not allowed use our room towels for the pool.The staff with the exception of a lovely guy on breakfast duty were not friendly. Won't be back.

    Location overlooking the beach. Quiet end of town. 5 min walk to centre. Good breakfast. Lovely views from Breakfast room on top floor.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.5
    Close to the beach and close enough to down town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Security was poor. Anybody could access the hotel from any of open doors from the car park. It was a long walk from reception to my room.

    Close to the beach and close enough to down town

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    Location, sea view, balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of service at breakfast. Only one member of staff at breakfast, mainly taking room numbers, not checking food stocks or clearing tables. Guests cleared own tables. Too many cats about for my liking. Mosquitoes by the pool.

    Location, sea view, balcony. Bike storage on the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic location with easy access to shops, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slight unpleasant aroma in the foyer of the Hotel (not sure if it was drains due to the heat) but the main problem for the canvas camp bed which was very poor, uncomfortable and the slats kept falling out which we paid 30 Euro for the pleasure !

    Fantastic location with easy access to shops, restaurants and the sea - plenty of free parking, the breakfast was fine and the room was a nice size with a lovely ground floor veranda - felt safe and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    5.8
    View & locoation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in early June and the price was in the High Season bracket but we felt let down because some facilities were only available in July August. You could not buy an alcoholic drink before 1830 which I find disgracefull in a holiday resort hotel.

    View & locoation

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.8
    Good sauna and hammam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You had to pay additional 15 euros a day to use the wet facilities, and at 80 euros a night, these facilities should be in the price, or alternatively the additional charges highlighted more clearly.

    Good sauna and hammam

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    Peaceful calming atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Peaceful calming atmosphere. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    6.3
    Extremely bad wi-fi connection i rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely bad wi-fi connection i rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    Hotel is few meters from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel is few meters from the beach. Fantastic view from the breakfast terrace. It's perfect if you combine spa procedures and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Location, food, room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, food, room with a view.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    good position close to beach and short walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good position close to beach and short walk to town

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    superb location close to beach and all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    superb location close to beach and all amenities

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: