Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Côté Thalasso Banyuls sur mer 3 stars

Route de Cerbère, 66650 Banyuls-sur-Mer, France

#7 of 16 hotels in Banyuls-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1144 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is looking tired and needs updating...expected a better standard of room for the price (paint ladders and dustsheets in the room and tin of paint in the bathroom when we arrived...). On first day, the room hadn't been made up by 4.30pm when we returned from a day out. Pool is excellent, but gym facilities poor and equipment is in urgent need of an update. Showers in changing area had no soap. Poor choice on dinner menu and pricey for what was on offer.

    Breakfast was good (though scrambled egg ran out most days...) but more often than not tables were not laid and we had to help ourselves to cutlery etc. Good view of bay, sea and town from bedroom and restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, overpriced, not a good shower, didn’t offered shampoo and conditioner in the room nor in the spa by the pool area. You would think that a spa would have this by the shower.

    The view is very beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got robbed during the first night, (well first hours technically) of our stay in this hotel. Someone having a copy of our key entered in our room and stole our 3 computers, jewelry, documents, house keys and other personal things. We have the strong feeling that it was someone working in the hotel who saw us arriving and saw us going out for dinner. During the same night other guests of the hotel got robbed as well.

    Nothing ! Since we got robbed a few hours after our arrival, we had no time to use our spa access or to enjoy our vacation. Moreover knowing that someone with bad intentions could enter our room anytime we didn't feel safe at all and couldn't wait to leave. We actually cancelled our trip and went back home...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not get a drink/mineral at the pool, had to leave to go into the separate bar. The selection of food at breakfast was limited. Musty smell in the hotel corridors. Could not find any staff in the bar to get a drink during the day.

    The views in the area were beautiful. Reception staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely doesn't worth the value of money. For 145 euros you will get small room with ugly toilet, old pipes installation and water heater above your head. Breakfast costs 42 € for family of 3. When we come there were no clean tables, no plates, no forks/knifes. I had to clean the table by myself and tried to find plates, cups and spoons. Coffee machines were out of order. Food mostly finished. The most unpleasant breakfast we've ever had. By the way dinner food was also tasteless. In the spa area sauna heated no more than 50-60 degrees, clorine smell from the pool is too strong. Totally we paid 260€ for one-night stay- and never go back.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View and Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather outdated . Apparently the 4th floor rooms have been refurbished but the lower floors ( I stayed on the 2nd floor) are quite drab and old fashioned. The hotel advertises free wifi but there was no wifi available the over the four days I was there . I was told there was a problem with the wifi caused by a storm but it's unacceptable for a hotel that charges that much to take so long to solve the problem. It's quite a long walk up hill from the town though the great views do compensate. I should say that I'd didn't really book this place for the spa facilities which may be very good - if that's what you're looking for then it may be place for you ?

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The outside pool was very nice. The breakfast was very good though quite pricey.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Access to Wellness
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quiet old, tired. Very poor interior, hot in rooms, the toilet anti sanitary. Old and cheap furniture, does not correspond to the "beautiful pictures" on booking. The photographer was very talentet:))) The pictures are made from a convenient angle. The real picture is far from it. It was a nightmare one day stay, we slept very bad, small beds, bad pillows. I will not definitely want to repeat this stay..SPA also old, bad smelling....only old people in the hotel...

    .....MAYBE the sea view from our balcony...that was really the only thing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the only hotel (out of 10) that was very disappointing. The photos on Booking site are very misleading compared to what we got in a double room. Outside at the front entry I noticed that the stone was broken and noticeably chipped. The hallway to our room is all black with black carpet; the room was old and shabby with large water stain on carpet very near the bed. Have no idea what caused this. The wood work was scarred and unpainted. The bathroom was the worst- permanent stains on mirror, a huge piece of equipment over the toilet and there was only a bathtub with a wand that didn't have an attachment to hold it, so it sprayed a lot of water on the floor. The tub looked old and dinged up; the tub surround tile grout was dirty. This place was not inexpensive and breakfast was an additional 18-20E/each even for coffee and none was provided in our room. The outside of the complex looked shabby. We probably would have stayed in the lovely small town of Banyuls sur Mer except for this hotel. Beware.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View and Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tap in bathroom Main indoor pool slippery steps to get in....Already mentionned 6 months ago! Road too close and noisy...

    Outside pool ideal Tea as you want Breakfast buffet The view and deck chairs Quiet terrasse from restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great but the walk back from the town was hard work with so many steps but we knew this so not a problem. Without a car it would be difficult to survive unless you relied solely on the hotel for everything. Building work still going on but rarely interrupted. Rooms still a bit outdated and lift always full of cleaners baskets and such meaning we sometimes waited or had to walk four sets of stairs.

    Great place although January meant very little to do outside the hotel. The spa was lovely and relaxing. The staff very friendly and spoke good English so could help us when we needed it. Wifi for very fast in our room 20MB/s Maid cleaned everyday

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View and Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apart from the reception area the interior was a little jaded The breakfast was good as long as you got there early - supposed to be 7.30-10 Am but i usually got there at 8.15ish & if things ran out they were not replaced- goodness knows what choice would be if you got down later - and at 12 Euros you would expect the complete menu to be available Hand held shower a bit weird

    The room was very spacious and the balcony was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was awful, very insecure and the wifi didn't work. Some of the staff were helpful but others were indifferent and even rude.

    Location. Spa facilities and views from terraces

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View and Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard climb down to the beach. I think the hotel needs to update its rooms. No partition in the shower so water goes everywhere.

    Staff very nice. In a fairly nice location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View and Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work all week. I mentioned this several times. The last time at check-out when I was informed that they hoped to have it fixed "by the end of the year".

    Great views and salt water swimming pools. Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View and Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a disappointment in so many ways it is hard to know where to start. Wifi atrocious. Staff mostly unfriendly and amateurish. Rooms a bit spartan. For example, shower is handheld. I will look for a different hotel next time I am in Banyuls.

    Banyuls is a great place. The hotel is close to the town, though up more than a hundred steps - difficult for a mature couple in the heat. Good to have fridge in the room, and working air conditioner.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literie

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are few free weights for the barbells and dumbells in the fitness training room.

    Breakfast was good and service also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    its very old, furniture, equipments are very old specially the fan

    ruined down place, not clean but very good staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was rather old.

    Probably it is one of the beautiful scenaries in France. Restaurant was good. A good service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are clean but worn down

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Access to Wellness Centre
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, Restaurant, Facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got severe food poisoning from our meal in the restaurant, which put a severe damper on our holiday. Our next visit we will do our own cooking in our suite. Too bad as the restaurant is vey beautiful, with lovely staff

    The pool, hammam, sauna and spa treatments

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a bit dated (rust in bath etc). During the night there were strong winds which created a loud whistling sound on the balcony and banging inside the room all night!! Very difficult to sleep.

    Location was great with a good view.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet not working and a room straight from the 1970's. All that for Euro 159/- per night (we did not use the spa facilities, due to tight schedule). You can find much better hotels locally for half the price. To be avoided!!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather rule orientated eg my husband was refused access to the outdoor pool because he had swim shorts on rather than briefs! The compulsory hats and robes made it have a hospital feel!

    Great location with views over the sea good base to explore the coast. Good spa if you are into all that.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our evening meal, was not a success. The starter came quickly and was good. The mania arrived half an hour later and had obviously been hanging around. The waitress looked embarrassed and gave.a sort of apology. It is a long walk, downhill, into Banyuls... Beware! Breakfast was only average, I thought.

    The location was the reason we came and it did not disappoint. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: