Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Côte Ouest Hôtel Thalasso & Spa Les Sables d'Olonne - MGallery by Sofitel 4 stars

Lac de Tanchet CS 20339, 85109 Les Sables-dʼOlonne, France

#2 of 37 hotels in Les Sables-dʼOlonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed here a few years ago when it was a Mercure and loved it. Not so much now. The design upgrade seems contrived. It also seems penny pinching - toiletries consisted of one tiny shampoo and one gel for the whole of the stay - fortunately I had brought the body lotion from the previous nights stay at a lower grade Mercure. No coffee machine and only one teabag and coffee sachet per person, little things which spoil Nice bar but little in the way of casual eating unless you want room service

    the location is beautiful, set quietly about a 30 minute walk to town with vast sea views. but it is not on the beach, the pics showing quaint beach huts on the beach are an artful swimming pool. you need to walk around the lake to get to the beach - maybe not great with small children. Superb spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long waiting time to check in ,had to wait 1 hr for check in ,made reservation for resturant ,our order was taken and 1.75 hrs later we jad no food.We asked 3 times and hot cold food when we finally hot served.Bad service ,cold food really bad .

    Very expensive if you did not use the facilities.The location was the only tho

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels could have been thicker/larger. Bath robes though were fabulous

    A quiet haven during Sunday Storm Angus. Hotel was busy on Saturday. Liked decor nautical theme intentional simulation of a grand ocean liner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - service at the restaurant seems to be a in a hurry - non alcoholic drinks at the bar are a bit poor

    - sea view ! - breakfast with lot of choice - quality of meals proposed at the restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Totally brilliant. A complete package of relaxation. Perfect location. Clean well appointed rooms with staff who really care about you. Restaurant yummy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a 30 to 40 minute walk from the centre of Les Sables D'Olonne. On leaving the hotel via the restaurant exit, you have to walk along a path which is not lit at night, it is dark and difficult to navigate and leaves you feeling a bit vulnerable.

    The facilities were excellent. Nicely furnished and comfortable rooms, excellent bathroom, good facilities. The hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking the sea and is finished to a high standard. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional Sofa bed made up in room (not required) that should have had a king size bed (2 guests), made it feel like a youth hostel Dreadful hospitality tray with paper cups and wooden sticks for spoons. Total self-service breakfast - including getting your own tea/coffee. Only a disposable shower-cap for cosmetic toiletries Very poor value for money at €242.00 per night excluding breakfast (additional €15.00 per person) We have stayed at this hotel numerous times throughout the year, but never in August. Quite obviously the facilities, service and quality are seriously reduced to accommodate the abundance of tourists and holidaymakers.

    the location and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay for breakfast - in the UK breakfast tends to be included in the price of the hotel; for five of us it would have been too expensive. Instead we left very early, stopped at a boulangerie and enjoyed delicious coffee and croissants en route instead..

    This was just an overnight stay for us, to break up our journey down to South West France. We thought the bedroom and bathrooms were clean and the bed very comfortable, our children (18,16 and nine) had great fun in the swimming pool. My husband and I had a very pleasant afternoon watching the sea view, whilst enjoying a couple of cocktails (served by a charming waiter!)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening Menu we found was very limited so we did not dine in. Great restaurants in the town.

    We love that it is so close to the centre of town. The aspect looking out over Les Sables brillant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding not up to Sofitel standard (very far from it) Poor house-keeping and fridge empty

    in-house thalasso

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are rather small for this level of hotel.

    Breakfast excellent. Staff excellent. Class hotel. Spa facilities amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is quite a long walk from the town and the restaurants. Path back to hotel very dark at night.

    Good facilities with sea view. Good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location and excellent indoor pool. Breakfasts were the best yet!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though we requested an extra bed there were only two sets of towels etc provided so we had to ask for more. Should be anticipated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk from hotel to harbourside restaurant area.

    Excellent room with sea view and balcony. great spa, great restaurant although rather expensive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Sofa Bed - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent outlook from the ocean view rooms. Nice nautical theme through the hotel that gives a good ambience

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We found the beds wide enough but rather hard, and the pillows didn't offer much neck support. Ask for a room with a single bathroom if you have mobility problems and this will be crucial if you use a wheelchair. We booked two rooms between us (parents travelling with adult child). One was a Privilege room and it had a separate bathroom and WC, I couldn't have got into either, but was fine with the excellent bathroom in our other booked room; a standard twin room (101) If you want to use the indoor pool, be aware you need a swimming cap, whether male or female, and bikinis are permitted but no Bermuda style shorts for men. They have to be tight Speedo style trunks or shorts, which not all Brits will feel comfortable. I think you can buy caps at the hotel. There are other users of this pool, fitness classes, etc. Evening dining was either formal in the restaurant, or room service was available (omelette, steak tartare, salads) We ate in once and it was fine, lovely waiting staff and food quite good, barring the mysterious green-filled laboratory pipette that came with one of the desserts and made us laugh, : ) but we might have eaten in more often had there been an informal eating option in the very nice bar.

    Wonderful location, with a lake park and pathways to explore, plenty of parking right at the hotel, and an excellent small zoo and restaurant/s in easy walking distance - into town is a longer walk. Lovely sea views from both our rooms, 223 and 101. The other side of the hotel gets the morning sun and the view from there is probably also very pleasant, of greenery, but also of the car-park. Breakfasts were continental style but perfectly substantial and good, staff were very nice, and the salt water pool was fun.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pet gripe about all Mercure and this was no exception is the lack of tea and milk in the room. They only expect you to have one drink each a day.OK you can go to reception and get more but it would be easier if they stocked accordingly as we drink at least 2 cups of tea before breakfast and like a tea or coffee before going to bed

    Facilities in the hotel were excellent ;great spa and treatments and indoor swimming pool. Lovely outside beach pool for the kids as well. We ate in the first night and the food was excellent, albeit pricey. We opted for a prestige room with a balcony and sea view. Well worth the extra. Couldn't be faulted. Certainly the best Mercure we have stayed in and we've stayed at quite a few.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very badly organised, not enough coffee for everyone and had to wait for more to be available, scrambled eggs were not freshly cooked and appeared to be from powered eggs and both the eggs and bacon were cold. Bread and Fruit left uncovered and flies crawling all over them. Not impressed!!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff & hotel are marvellous. A place to relax. The restaurant is worth a visit have dinner & see the sunset. Staff & food are excellent. Rooms are so clean & spacious

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    so friendly particularly in the bar restaurant

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and restaurant/bar terrace. Plenty of parking space.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! From the excellent staff at reception to the spa facilities and our room!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very friendly staff and very clean room. have no bad points to mention.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not find staff very friendly & helpful. No English literature re- facilities

    Parking good & view

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and facilities

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: