Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Thalassa Ile d'Oléron 4 stars

Plage de Gatseau, 17370 Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, France

#5 of 11 hotels in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Good but could be stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow gap on one side of the bed and little bedside shelf space. Small balcony. Otherwise smart room spoiled by chipped laminate on the coffee machine shelf.

    Nespresso coffee in the room. Large firm bed. Disappointment saved by the stunning location. First impressions were that the whitewashed walls of the hotel above the entrance were grubby green with algae. But the entrance hall and reception looking through to the restaurant and bar were quite smart. A very nice welcome from reception and we were quickly on our way to our room on the second floor. I had asked for the top floor to be sure to be way above the noise from the outside bar. But we were settled in before I realised the second floor was not the top floor. After the weekend it was not too noisy. The room had a nice view on to the beach and sea with a tiny balcony just room enough for two basic deck chairs. For an executive room it seemed very small. Only about 20cms down one side of the bed, difficult when you're not quite as agile as once upon a time, but otherwise just adequate. The best feature was the Nespresso machine with a box of 6 capsules which were replenished each day but that was let down by the paper cups that were provided. Luckily we had china cups in our picnic bag! No glasses were provided just plastic beakers and one bottle of water. How mean! All the staff were lovely and I had no problem borrowing two wine glasses from the bar. It is nice to go shopping locally and bring back a bottle of wine rather than relying solely on the hotel. We ate in the restaurant twice. Dinner on the first night and lunch on our last day. Very average food. My salmon starter at lunch looked as though the endive and apple had been on the plate all morning, very dry, not dressed and turning brown. I should have sent it back. But it's a long way to go to eat otherwise. We did eat once at L'ile aux Papilles in St. Pierre which was excellent and once at Le Jardin Romain in Grand Village which was OK though lacking in flavour. Where is all the great French cuisine? We did not go to the external tables or bar because of the smokers and the dogs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Marvellous location on the beach, we went back twice but rooms basic for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a little basic.

    The position is fabulous as was the reception areas. However, the rooms are a little basic for the price you pay but I guess you are paying for the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was exhausted because not enough people (éspecially only one barman,we had to wait 1hour and more for drinks and it was not he's fault poor man)

    location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    A very good ambience created by the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Awkward to get into one of the single beds when one has permenant back ache.

    A very good ambience created by the staff. Very calm. Again from what we saw made by the restaurant manager and the hotel manager.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, but in our estimation not 4 star in providing the hotel basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel had the facilities,such as a sea water swimming pool, restaurant, and had little events organised, such as a "welcome apero"which was really just to sell its massage, health facilities - but we really were just looking for a holiday by the sea, and this hotel has the beach right next to it. Unfortunately this section of the beach has oyster beds on the beach, so really paddling is about it. Acbit further on is a beach are which is monitored by lifeguards. To be fair, the beaches are very clean. In the room we had 2 paper cups, which is an odd choice for hot drinks - nothing like cardboard coffee. In a 4 star hotel, this is just wrong, and seems miserly. It looks and feels like they are penny pinching. We asked for proper cups/mugs, and had an "eyeroll" from the receptionist. Had to wait at the restaurant for someone there to help us, which they did eventually. Whatever happened to service? Given that the receptionist wandered over to the restaurant for a what looked like a casual chat with other staff, but never asked if we had been helped by the restaurant staff, we were a bit put out.The room we had was okay, but as far as non-smoking goes, it had a very obvious ashtray in it. The instructions in the room are smoking is only permitted on the balcony. Great if you smoke, but if like us you do not, and sit in your balcony enjoying the view, and sun, and then are blessed by the next door rooms having smokers, who share their smoke via their balcony, it is not good. Also finding toenail clippings on our balcony, which definitely were not from us, is little odd. The rooms are also a little noisy. Overall not big problems, just tiny issues, BUT, it claims to be a 4 star hotel, and that is not what we found. We can see why, because of the facilities, but it's the detail that was problem for us.

    Very big bed. Clean bathroom. View of the sea, and balcony, sea water swimming pool. Air conditioning is excellent, and a it also had an unadvertised ( in Booking.com's description) small fridge - great for keeping say 8 yoghourts , milk( for those who like the hot drinks with milk), cheese, or cold meats. Lots of parking, and walking around the hotel. We have no idea whether the staff have other languages, as we only spoke French to them. IIle D'Oleron has a lot of leisure activities, but we didn't do these as it was just too hot (June 2017)( e.g. diving school, oyster farming( the Marennes oysters are we were told, the finest in the world), wind surfing, kayak etc., as well as cycling). Cheateau D'Oleron about 3 kilometres away is nice place to visit - lot of restaurants..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Such a much needed relaxing time for me and my two daughters .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sofa Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Paper cups to make tea or coffee in the room ,Three of us shared a room , and each day only 2 paper cups were left , its such a lovely hotel I was surprised as there is a coffee maker that makes 8 cups per day , so every day we had to ask for some.

    such a lovely relaxing place , with good facilities staff were all wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very helpful and did their best to make us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the size of the room. It's perfect for a couple with toddlers but not for one with teenagers. I said maybe because we've booked the last room available and maybe we were 'lucky' to get the smallest. Probably there are bigger rooms in the hotel. Also, a pair of slippers for the swimming pool would have been nice to receive.

    The staff was very helpful and did their best to make us feel good. Everything was excellent: the food, the swimming pool and, on top of all, the LOCATION. Nice place to stay and we are sorry that it was only for one night. I would definitely recommend it and hope to go back there soon. P.S. There is a nice, sandy beach right at the doorstep...perfect for a hot summer day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.3
    The lovely sea views we had and walks.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room bit small heaters in bathroom and bedroom were not working. Didn't realise it was a health resort so the food was disappointing.

    The lovely sea views we had and walks.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    just by the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spa had no aquajets etc. just pool, sauna, steam

    just by the water

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: