Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel les bains de Camargue by Thalazur 4 stars

227 Route des Marines, 30240 Le Grau-du-Roi, France

#9 of 64 hotels in Le Grau-du-Roi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 738 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surcharges. Pool is additional 9 eur per person and only for afternoon 17:30 - 19:45. There is option to pay from 14, which costs 20 eur, which is OK if it wouldn't be possible to use it also next morning! This would require new 20 eur, for just between 9:30-11 (which is check-out time). Balcony doors could not be fully closed. It was windy day, so we could hear and feel wind blowing.

    Location, kind staff, sauna (although maybe too hot), sea water pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report ... all ok.

    Food excellent both dinner and breakfast the following morning ... if we had had the time we'd have stayed for an extra couple of days! Very comfortable room and good facilities, kettle etc. We'll be staying again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service at the restaurant in the evening, the food didn’t always correspond to the description of the menu. Disappointed The lift smelt of rubish as the restaurant in the 6th floor use the lift to take down the garbage

    Choice of pillows, bed confort, proximity to the beach, beach restaurant and the food, spa with thalasso facilities, bike rental, private car park, private beach, view form the 6th floor restaurant is fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - reception staff sending conflicting messages at check-in - spa area is chaotic and disorganized

    - nice location right at the beach - views from the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad mattress (each small movement from my partner woke me up). Not possible to take a decent shower (half open curtain system). The scrambled eggs at breakfast were terrible.

    The location, great to see the sea from your window.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly and helpful - We spoke very little French and they didn't mind at all. Hotel and room were modern and clean inside. Lovely big room with a balcony and enormous bed. Hotel right on the beach!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold in the room during the night. Only 2 plastic cups, so after 1 use you bin in and don't have a glass anymore. The shower in the bathroom is not comfortable, because water goes everywhere on the shelf. The staff could be more friendly, it was strange that I needed to go down to the reception to take the iron (which was vetu bad, I couldn't use it), because usually it is brought straight to the room. VERY BAD WIFI, you need to fix it, it is not that hard.

    Location of the hotel. Balcony, the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Every thing was perfect and it's a great place to relax , but if you want to visit the cities around this place like Motpellier , Arles... you must have a car , because the hotel is far from all cities, if you want to stay in Camargue , it is ok.

    The Hotel is very comfortable and clean, we had a great view to the sea. The breakfast was perfect in a panoramic restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resturants within the hotel were poor for the price.

    Very clean and great location right on the beach. Lots of facilities available and access to multiple resturants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were quite rude and unhelpful. No one seemed to want to tell us about the hotel faculties- we felt like we were somehow disturbing them from the moment we arrived. The bar staff by the restaurant and the beach (M restaurant) were rude and actually avoided us when we tried to get their attention to be served after 15minutes waiting (in a half full restaurant after 4pm). The spa was a joke, and annoyingly one of the reasons for why I picked the hotel. We were told before arrival by email that no swim trunks were allowed, and then when we arrived I was made to purchase swimming trunks. No one was prepared to explain what was wrong with my shorts, or why trunks were necessary when their own email said no trunks allowed!

    The 6th floor panoramic restaurant served lovely food, we are there twice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You needed to pay extra for everything. Even for using the indoor swimming pool.

    The view from the hotel is stunning. The rooms are spatious. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa, staff in Spa did not speak any English and to be honest could not be bothered even trying to help us. They were almost rude. I tried to book a pedicure and thankfully I understand a little French, however, I was told they could provide a pedicure but not paint my toenails??? Quite strange to say the least. Food in restaurant was very poor, could not eat the steak.

    Location. The staff at the Beach were very Friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room with view to the sea, albeit nice, was not as new/big as in photographs. The view was also a little to the side. It is really difficult to find something (except the beach, which is gorgeous) within walking distance of the hotel.

    It was clean and personnel were very nice. In front of the beach!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Celebrating birthday , Reception staff good, hotel breakfast good, beach bar , good for drinks , booked for large group for meal and although no others in restaurant food was dissapointing ,

    Like area very French , we may of been only english

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    Friendly staff, quality of English spoken, standard of room, quality of housekeeping, quality of Air con, overall standard of hotel, the manner of upkeep, the area of hotel position, proximity to beach and the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All services, I gliding access to the swimming pool additionally paid, too far away from city centre to walk there, bad smell in the restaurant floor

    Proximity to the beach, long trails for biking and walking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although our room was on the 5th floor, there was a constant disturbing noise around the clock coming from the direction of the outside pool (something like ventilation or water pump noise). The bed was a bit too soft in our opinion.

    Stunning harbour and sea views (5th floor). Nice, clean and modern room with large panoramic windows (room category "privilège"), nice terrasse.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the charge of €20 per day for a pet is unusually high (for france), and was nowhere mentioned. the quality of the food presentation was below standard and was tasteless like a hospital-diet. but the price was double as much as one of the excellent beach-restaurants in grau du roy. so i recommend to stay in the hotel but never eat there.

    the location is great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Both lifts did not always work, leading to long waits especially in the morning; our first floor "sea view" had little view of the sea; two tv channels, France 2 & 3, had drastic reception problems; mosquitoes forced us to keep the window closed at night, there was no air conditioning, so it was very warm for sleeping.

    The room was clean, the food in the restaurant excellent both breakfast and dinner, the staff pleasant, the parking efficient and safe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool was closed as it had been raining, which my children found disappointing as that was the reason we booked the hotel.

    The family room had a separate room with bunk beds for the children was excellent. For once the family room was set up for a family instead of two double beds or a pull out bed. Beds for all very very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not for you if you travel without a car and like to use public transport. Taxis are atrociously expensive, buses and the boat that takes you across the marina unreliable, and a train from the resort to Montpellier (40km) takes two hours, changing at Nimes. Also, staff on different shifts at reception gave us different information about the area and how to get to places. Very confusing. The rooms are fine but in need of an upgrade in places. Expensive, but then this is the South of France.

    We enjoyed a half-day bike ride to and from the glorious beach at L'Espiguette, which would not otherwise have been possible if we hadn't been able to hire bikes (48 Euros for four of us) from the hotel. Everyone in France seems to know about bikes, so when one of the bike chains came off, a jogger stopped and helped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For those of us visiting and not having a grasp of the French language, people were unhelpful even unfriendly like we were intruding in their space

    great location, really nice hotel, which would explain why it is a popular location for French families.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suit as a conference venue, but otherwise very impersonal decor, especially in bar/dining room. Air freshener in lifts particularly overpowering.

    Comfortable but functional room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4pm check in- far too late Wifi reception was abysmal. Reception staff should offer to provide details of area and a map on check in.

    Good location Selection of bars and restaurants in locality Friendly staff Bicycle hire on site Good sized fridge in room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Good breakfast Good Spa, may be a little small Staff top performance, very friendly Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice of restaurant outside the hotel

    Nice location close to the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le restaurant panoramique

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit outdated.

    Restaurant on the beach. Excellent view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and the very surly and unhelpful staff

    The beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Correct

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad breakfast for that money.

    Next to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from center of town..........

    Lovely private, sunny terrace!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptions staff girl!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hamman not included in price, and expensive. Closes too early for working travellers. Cost not clearly mentionned in booking.com

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable room, and pool facilities, location excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They say they have a SPA but when you arrive they inform that it is not included and that it has a 35 euro fee. The staff speak a bad english and nothing about the hotel is translated to english. Either you speak french or bad luck. The rooms look old and the smell is even worse. Not recommend at all!!!

    at least the see views are great

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very restrictive rules for spa facilities. Wait staff not friendly at all.

    Near the beach but poorly sited so the views are less than what would be expected.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Business trip...far from town centre (not your fault ;-) no desk to work on - price / perf. (out of season) not so good.

    restaurant ok view perfect

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant quality high but abit expensive. Menu's only in french.

    Location near to the beach. You can loan the hotel towels to the beach. Reception and cleaning personnel very friendly and they could talk english also. Room was slilent at night even it was next to the elevator. Free tennis courts and rackets + balls.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff wasn't friendly exept the restaurant staff. Room wasnt ready when they told me it was. No room service, no boiler in the room had to call the restaurant to get hot water. Very poor service.not a 4 star service at all in every aspect. More like a 2 plus.

    Well, i was very disappointed. Nothing was as expected. So nothing.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    At check-in, the staff said that breakfast is included in our accommodation even though I was sure I didn't book it with breakfast so I requested for him to double-check. He did by looking through the system and confirmed that it is included. Then I asked how much does the breakfast cost, and he said it costs nothing. Later we were charged a hefty 16 euros per person and the check out staff wasn't interested in what happened. I am very sure this is a purposeful sales gimmick to get customers to pay more. Because of this, despite everything else that is fantastic, I will not stay here again. Also, there are no signs at the doors to external staircase that guests will not be able to re-enter the hotel once they get out to the staircase. I was trapped outside for 30 minutes when the lift we were trying to use to get to breakfast was out of order.

    Clean and comfortable room, air-conditioned, great location, free on-site parking, good view and good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel was overbooked when we arrived. Our two rooms with sea view ended up as two adjoining rooms sharing one bathroom on ground floor overlooking public footpath ( did negotiate reduced rate). Moved after two nights to correct rooms. Charged €12 /person/day for sunbed on beach by hotel. Pool had little shade with few umbrellas and hard plastic sunbeds without mattresses. Reservation was for 5 nights and couldn't wait to leave. 4* - really?

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel does not focus on daily details like shower for sandy feet before entering the hotel... Staff is very loud when clearing the table, organisation if spa treatments not flexible... Fitness room way too small! Prices in beach bar way above average, smelly drains, skin of building needs paint!!!

    Location right next to the beach!

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As usual, the b/room is a sour note. No ventilation & no deodorant. The shower head was high enough for a 2 fter, with no adjustment possible. Notifying the front desk had no effect. The neighbor's doors slammed at 6 AM as well as at 2AM.

    The location, the pool, access to the beach, the quietness of the AC.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you have to pay to use the spa

    Amazing location (on the beach) great rooftop restaurant with stunning 180 degree view of sea/harbour

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super hotel personnel tres agreable 😉

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view wasn't that nice - "parking view"...

    Nice, clean, quiet, comfortable hotel Staff very nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and private plage - both should be improved. The rest is OK.

    Very friendly staff of hotel. Good location. Excellent thalassotherapy.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurants Private beach

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great location, friendly, good food and services. great value. modern décor new.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff is wonderful, very helpful and very very nice. We are planning to come back

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor value for the money, pretty expensive and breakfast is stupid money

    Nice location, great for the beach

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: