Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea & Spa 5 stars

Domaine de la Pointe, 20166 Porticcio, France

#7 of 35 hotels in Porticcio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Amazing beach, friendly staff, good breakfast, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside pool is closed for classes.

    Amazing beach, friendly staff, good breakfast, fantastic view, super comfy bed and a nice treatment from the guest relation for our honeymoon :) Couldn‘t choose a better place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with large private terrace and sea view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just one detail - it would be practical to have an ice bucket and ice automat on the floor (as in most hotels in the US). Given the balcony and the possibility to have a drink on the balcony, this would be practical!

    The staff was extremely professional and friendly. The food was excellent. The beach was particularly beautiful and peaceful. I also liked the different sitting areas on the lawn.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful facilities and surrounding area, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hugely overpriced restaurant for below average food, extremely expensive spa and not much around in the way of restaurants

    Beautiful facilities and surrounding area, very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel but rooms probably a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the Hotel was unlikeable.

    The location is the best in the area. The Tapas during sunset at cocktails time. The staff were outstanding. The Hermes amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Simply superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic room with balcony - Sea view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the hotel but the location won't be for everyone. The setting is superb but, unless you have a car, you are pretty much confined to the hotel. Suited me but it is a 2km walk to nearest other restaurant or shop and the airport's an expensive 40 euro taxi ride away. But don't let this put you off staying at this fabulous hotel just be aware and plan accordingly.

    Just superb. I went for one night at the end of a trip round Corsica. It has a superb setting on a headland on the bay of Ajaccio, opposite the city. You get a great view of the Iles Sanguinaires. The food and service are top quality too and rooms are very comfortable. Fish in particular was great as was mango at breakfast. The Corsican wines are brilliant. The restaurant deck is the place for leisurely top-class meals with friendly, attentive service. Yes, in France. I know.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience, poor value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe room with 1 queen bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for the money. Small rooms, poor quality and decoration of the bathroom . No entertainment available in TV. Very average quality food for breakfast. Swimming pool wasn’t functioning. Hear too high in the rooms and no possibility to adjust it.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Most romantic and luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was adequate but a little small. But was good for my companion and me.

    The luxury of the room and hotel in general. Most was the staff who were extra helpful and friendly from the man who helped with luggage to the reception and concierge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Luxury stay at a stunning setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative point to mention is the small and outdated bathroom.

    The location is stunning, surrounded by the sea, a really beautiful setting. The service is very efficient and professional. We enjoyed the gardens, small private beach, deck lounge chairs, pool, fitness center, massages and the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms have great sea views and confortable bedding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, good staff, more food options needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firstly, we were misinformed by the reception about the time of the brunch. (He told us it would start at 11:00 whereas in reality it was 12:00). Thinking it would start at 11:00 we skipped breakfast and my daughter got grumpy because of hunger. Thankfully, the staff offered her breakfast and they didn't charge for it admitting it was their mistake. Secondly, I don't know the exact reason but our swim suits were stained after swimming in the pool. Third, the first day we have arrived, the reception told us that the check-in timing is at 16:00 which surprised us a lot because we had made an early check-in request. Later on they managed to prepare our room at 11:30 am which was good. Fourthly, the food was limited and not the best value for money.

    The location is excellent with a nice sea view, has a small private beach and a pool with sea water. The staff was very friendly, kind and always trying to help. The room had a nice terrace with sun beds and the bed was extra comfy. The facilities (restaurants, SPA, bar, pool side) were never crowded despite the hotel was fully booked. Good breakfast and snack options with original and tasty cocktails. Concierge was helpful as well. I would be happy to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    super comfortable all the way around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic room with balcony - Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower: we were put in a room adapted with handicapped bathroom--although very spacious, the shower could have been better fitted for a 6 foot 5 person...

    super comfortable all the way around

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel, great views and spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The choice of food was limited, there was higher end dining which was excellent but it did not really cater for a quick or more casual meal. However lots of great restaurants 15 minutes walk down the road

    location and views were superb and I am not sure could be better

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, very nice hotel ( some service flaws but overall lovely;)!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa institute is v hard to reach, they didn't often answer phone & couldn't give appointments ahead of time ( as they give priority to those w "cures"). Food esp Lunch outside of hours is v limited and takes a long time to order. The menu needs to be expanded and the service needs to be faster.

    Great, peaceful setting right on the water.. comfy beds, nice toiletries, & warm saltwater swimming pool ..!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Position and sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic room with balcony - Sea view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor signing to hotel from road and poor entrance road.

    Position and sea view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly, helpful staff, incredible pool and the outdoor pool location was amazing right on the water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay .Confortable and relaxing place. Will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic room with balcony - Sea view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard rooms are small

    The breakfast and the plage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Amazing property and an experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing property and an experience. Everything from staff to service it is a great place to stay and relax.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unprepared for adventure tourism.

    Food and view excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    6.7
    Very good breakfast, excellent view, very nice rooms with 5*...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We went there after the Easter break, but the hotel was badly managed: Pool closed, main Restaurant closed (both not announced on booking / website and was not mentioned during check in) all Electric Bikes broken and the Tennis court completely run down

    Very good breakfast, excellent view, very nice rooms with 5* matraces, friendly personnel

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.1
    Fabolous room with view to the see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of eating facilities (the restaurant was under renovation without prior notice). The wash basin in the room was crep. Surface of the road to the hotel to be renovated. Little bit noicy due to the landing airplanes from 5 a.m till 11 p.m.

    Fabolous room with view to the see. Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    When I booked on the website I understood breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When I booked on the website I understood breakfast was included but the hotel charged me for two breakfasts for $60. I was not happy. Booking can you check into that please?

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    The location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food offer was limited , inconsistent in delivery although good quality but limited value for money. It did seem unnecessary to charge for fitness classes and electric bikes.

    The location and the staff. The concierge and Jason in the restaurant were particularly helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    The bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    Slept like a log on very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Slept like a log on very comfortable beds. Fantastic staff

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything was perfect : staff, facilities, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was perfect : staff, facilities, location

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: