Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel d’Angleterre Grenoble Hyper-Centre 3 stars

5, place Victor Hugo, 38000 Grenoble, France

#13 of 62 hotels in Grenoble

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1642 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Great service and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed and most of all great service — the concierge was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    volgende left een ended hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast is for 13,80 not good, scrambled eggs are off prefabricated sponges, marmalade was diluted with water and the egg cooker did not work after 16 minutes still a raw egg

    lokatie. dichtbij diverse restaurants

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Quiet central haven in Grenoble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location, with a good cafe around the corner. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room exceptionally quiet at night -- no sound at all from outside the room -- until church bells start up at 8 AM. A real haven, with very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    The concierge was incredibly helpful and patient as we dealt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress had a small valley in the middle. We didn't like losing all our stuff and then 2 days of vacation and lots of money having to go to Paris to get new passports issued. Breaking into rental cars is a sport in Grenoble. Drop all your bags directly at the hotel before parking on the street!

    The concierge was incredibly helpful and patient as we dealt with our stolen luggage and passports from our car.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Very clean old-style hotel with nice Junior suites (even the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee machine was down in the morning (but this is a problem that you should not encounter, they were fixing this). The bell of the church tower aside unfortunately plays at 6 AM :)

    Very clean old-style hotel with nice Junior suites (even the hydromassage!). Very good breakfast with local-producer jam. The position is optimal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was on the 5th floor the lift only went to the 4th was very cramped with limited natural light, and the children were bitten bed bugs? staff just seemed like robots that had been programmed back in the dark ages.

    the location was very good central to bubble cars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Central location and great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was broken and we were on the 4th floor so a bit annoying.

    The room was cool even in the august month of our stay, bed comfy! Breakfast was good and the location was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Charming, but a bit cramped and very hot in the hot weather.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift did not go to the top floor; you had to walk the last flight of stairs. The family room was very cramped. When I booked the pictures looked like there was more space. It was unusually hot weather and the air conditioning was not effective - they had offered us a room swap, which I should have accepted, but initially it had felt OK so we didn't bother, but it got so hot later we couldn't sleep very well and it was too late by then! The sloping attic roof window was also noisy in the rain.

    Nice staff - helpful and knowledgeable. The whole place had a pleasant slightly nostalgic feel to it - I think some guests might say old fashioned or less kindly well used but I found it charming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room was in the roof and was very warm when we stayed. The parking was elsewhere but it worked out ok.

    The location was great, we loved the square the hotel was in. The breakfast buffet was excellent and worth the money. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs to be renovated a bit. It's not sparkling clean but it's ok. A bit hard to access by car the parking garage is around 4-5 minutes to walk.

    The location is good. Stuff is good overall ok hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Quick stay to see Grenoble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better but it was good enough.

    Everything was fine. I expected a better breakfast, as it was mentioned several times in reviews, but it was ok. Fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again if ever in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit old-fashioned, but very clean and the bathroom was very modern.

    The young men at the front desk were SO helpful and courteous! The location was perfect too -- just blocks from the cable car and the main historic downtown area with lots of cafes and restaurants. The tourist office was also very close and we could easily walk to the main attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location in the middle of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift only went to the 4th floor, not the top floor so we had to cart suitcases up 1 flight to our room. The room was in the roof cavity with beams and a sloping ceiling that you bumped your head on when moving about. And we are short!

    Great location in the middle of town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    no alternatives for parking have been suggested except the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no alternatives for parking have been suggested except the expensive one, the property pushed towards using the parking which is partly (?) owned by the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay for a couple of nights but beware the car parking arrangements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'preferential' parking arrangements with a local car park didn't work and we spent the best part of an hour on departure sorting it out ( and we are French-speaking, it would have been impossible otherwise!).

    The central location, and our room (although rather small) had a great view view over the beautiful Place Victor Hugo. We liked the traditional French style of this hotel, such a pleasant change from the modern chains of identical boxes. Good wifi and coffee. And a proper small bathtub too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Short but perfectly fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have no comments

    We didn't have breakfast or dinner here so can't tell you about the croissants. The hotel was plain and simple but perfectly fine and well positioned. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A great holiday 🇫🇷☀️🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to put here !

    Excellent hotel, the staff were so helpful & the location was perfect. We'd recommend Grenoble for a holiday anytime & would recommend they stay here Thanks for a great holiday 🙂

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Just 2 nights and a great hotel close to eating and places we wanted to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location for Bastille. Car parking tricky as we had a roof box. but managed to find some rare on-street free day parking. Free from 19.00 to 09.00 everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is amazing, very central, very close to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpeting was old and dusty. Plus the bathroom is not that big. Another minor problem: I asked a staff member to wake me up the next morning and they did forget to do it, fortunately it had no consequences for me.

    The location is amazing, very central, very close to everything in the center. The staff is lovely and they are helpful (with providing an iron, or keeping your luggage after check-out). The bed is very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Central but looking very tired.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All rooms are old and small. Shower is in the bath with half screen so you have to hold the shower head or flood the bathroom.

    Position is good in centre of Grenoble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Third time I stayed here and welcomed every time in a friendly atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is okay but not what you would call modern. The room is lacking plugs for laptop, phones etc.

    a someyhat older, but well located hotel. Well managed, though, with extremely friendly and helpful staff and a super breakfast with a wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Charming; old hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price? Nothing could be better.

    Helpful, bi-lingual staff. Excellent location. Easy to unload, check in and drive to car park. Ideal location. Less than 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops and tram stop. A Juliet balcony looking out to Place Victor Hugo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel in a City that is off most peoples radar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we didn't like

    This hotel is a in a hidden gem of a town. The hotel itself is well located and easy to get to and has a partnership with a nearby Parkade that makes bringing a car simple and easy. Modern rooms with great wifi. Very easy to walk everywhere and driving was very easy in this town. The staff spoke English well and went far beyond helpful. The Continental breakfast was the best we have encountered with most of it featuring fresh local foods including meats and fruits. The Hotel is great and this is definitely on the return to list.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed. The room info pack could be a little more comprehensive as it took me a while to work out how to use the hairdryer and was unsuccessful in getting the TV or room phone to work - though am sure this was due to my lack of technology rather than the items not working. As I was staying only 2 nights neither was an inconvenience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    perfect location in the city center for a very fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the church bells in the morning

    on the first view the room looked a bit old fashioned. But everything was there. And-even compared to much more expensive hotels this was the cleanest hotel I've ever seen. And the staff was extremely friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing accomodations at relatively high prices, with no hotel parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    5-person apartment turned out to be room under rooftop, leaving little space to move in between beds... No aircon, so opening the windows was only way to get fresh air in. The hotel advertises having parking - but that's paying parking elsewhere in the city centre, which is hostile to car traffic in general and excludes non-residents specially. Assume there is no long-term parking near the hotel, and getting close is not trivial/may get complicated due to traffic restrictions.

    Good location at square, walking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and central stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. Everything was satisfactory.

    Very good value for money (on a weekend), location is Central, staff is nice, room was very comfortable and clean. Bathtub even. Didn't try the breakfast buffet but looked good. Soundproof walls and windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Perfect city centre hotel!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great value.

    Lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a small problem with our room, but were able to change. The hotel is in a good location close to centre and nice shops, restaurants. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Fine for a one night stop over but not for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms were small and decor shabby, although clean. Man on reception was rather unfriendly. Terrible coffee!

    Very good location in the heart of the city and close to the river, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    The room was what we needed--enough sleeping spaces for 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have a bigger vehicle, so we parked at a garage nearby. Onsite or closer parking included would be nice.

    The room was what we needed--enough sleeping spaces for 5 people, basic and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and a great variety. The location was center of downtown, so it was a great point to get to the cable car and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good hotel and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the hotel was pretty good and in a good location near the old town. We arrived during heavy rain so didn't go very far from the hotel. Very good for an overnight stop and we would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is not worth the rating 8 in Booking! The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows too high. For €13pp breakfast we got old salami, slimy ham and one croissant each (they were replenished slow to never have enough for everyone in the room), let alone they ran out of orange juice midway. Don't stay here!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    location, cleanliness, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WI-FI did not work in neither of our two rooms, only downstairs if front of reception - very disappointing :( beds quite narrow, not very comfy...

    location, cleanliness, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Really cosy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was great, but the receptionist wasn't very helpful with the info provided about airport transfer. I was advised at reception that the taxi would cost me up to 40 euro, but actually it was 120.

    Really cosy place. They managed to accommodate an early check-in even though I hadn't given the heads up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Lovely location in old town opposite park and close to public transport. wonderful staff.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there was plenty of light fittings I would have liked a brighter fitting in at least one in the main room.

    Staff were excellent. We extended our stay several times and they let us know in advance when they were fully booked. The staff spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    Unaccommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had little in way of amenities. Very basic. Bed side lamp provided but no plug for it. Cleanliness not great. They will not allow you to check in until after 3 pm. Even if waiting in lobby since 11 am, no room is available until after 3 pm. They have list of new guests for day and room number but are unable to get a room cleaned before 3 pm. I can only assume they have 26 cleaners who only work from 2.30 to 3 pm each day! Either that or for some reason the hotel chooses to be totally intractable. Staff were abrubt when asked about it.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Older apartment but had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Older apartment but had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent! Both hot and cold dishes. Friendly staff. Great discount for parking close by if you have a car. Really nice view out to the square and mountain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Central, family friendly. Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath still had stubble from the previous occupants but everything else was clean and good. Really a very small niggle in the grander scheme of things

    Super central. They were amazingly accommodating for kids

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel and perfect location for city center and transportation.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was published to the Booking with breakfast, but when I booked it the breakfast disappeared.

    The breakfast hasn't so many things but they offer things with good quality. Also the first day of our arrival the reception had chocolates offered to their clients.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Booked last minute as missed flight from Grenoble due to heavy snow on way back from Alps. Changed a disastrous journey into a wonderful experience. Great hotel, attractive building, spotlessly clean, traditional, fantastic location, very comfy beds, excellent value for money. This is a traditional hotel with dated furniture but kept and maintained in very good condition. Do not stay here if you want an ultra modern looking hotel. Efficient helpful staff who recommended a wonderful restaurant. We really enjoyed our unplanned stay in Grenoble in this hotel without breaking the bank

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location but a very tired and old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few facilities and the room was very tired. I doubt any money has been spent on this hotel for decades.

    Good location. Staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Big room, reasonable price, right in the city centre with the tram service to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To reach the family room, we have to walk up one floor without the lift, which is no problem for adults but can be quite tiring if you have small children with a lot of luggage

    Reasonable price, right in the centre of town, family room option available with plenty of space which is great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Very run down hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down hotel. Very poor standard bathroom. No lift going to the 4th floor where the family room we had booked was located. Since the receptionist was the only one there, nobody could help me - travelling with two kids aged 4 and 5 - with my suitcases...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    GREAT location. Love Grenoble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a double room and they brought a cot in for the second bed. Room needs a facelift. Mold under sink.

    Loved the location, close to many great shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Family friend hotel in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unique small detail is slow WiFi

    Location is great with easy access to everything and covered parking 10-minutes walking distance. Staff is really attentious and contact from their part started since booking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay in Grenoble after a disappointing entry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During our staying all the roads were under recunstruction nearby the hotel, but we'd got the standard information package 1 day priot to our arrival, about the accessibility, parking. When we arrived we spent 45 minutes searching a parking (paid...) not too far from the hotel, in order to take our luggages, bags. By the way the normal parking is solved by an underground parking, roughly 200 m to the hotel with a reduced price (11 €) for the guests.

    Rich breakfast. Friendly and supportive staff. The hotel is at the edge of the city centre, everything can be reached very easily by walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    We did enjoy our stay even though the hotel wasn't up to what we are used to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren't big and breakfast not included. Accommodation prices are too high for this type of hotel

    The hotel is right in the centre city with all facilities around (public transport, shops and restaurants, etc...)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Atmospheric, but modern and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Atmospheric, but modern and fresh. Excellent service! Very good breakfast included traditional food as well as specialties. Extremely clean and neat. Advantageous location. Can be recommend to anyone for a city trip visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel. Would definitely use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A perfect location for exploring in and around Grenoble. Opposite a lovely park which has an excellent bar for evening relaxing and taking in the surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Very nice place to stay, right in the centre of Grenoble
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior of the room and the common spaces seems a bit outdated, but this did not impact the comfort.

    Very central location. Nice and friendly staff. Great size family room. High ceilings. Extra sound insulation of the windows, with a second layer of doors. Made a big difference in this very central, but also naturally noisy location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    Situated in the middle of center of Grenoble with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All hotel facilities simply need a full shape up. Family room under the roof feels like a left over place.

    Situated in the middle of center of Grenoble with restaurants closeby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Small, but comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Somebody can be disappointed by the bells from the church nearby. But they were ringing after 8 in the morning, so no problem for me.

    Small, but comfortable room. Excelent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location central to most of the popular sites.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location central to most of the popular sites. Discounted secure parking, room was a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and always greeted you with a smile. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Great city break. Photo is a view from hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location. Wonderful mountain views. Excellent transport system just a few minutes away. Good shops and restaurants. Triple room for 3 people is a little cosy. Best for just 2 people. Staff are excellent and all speak good English. Use FlixBus or Ouibus from Lyon airport. Reliable and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed tired and in need of and serious update. The shower was 3 rays of water in each direction, which was barely enough to wash out the shampoo.

    I was not a pleasant stay, so I would not recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an excellent hotel, with the friendliest and most helpful staff that you could wish for. The location is superb and the general facilities excellent. Our only point would be that the rooms would benefit from a little modernisation, but they are still excellent. We asked for a kettle in the room and it was provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice and quiet hotel, good management and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better to make access to Internet simplier and suitable for all gadgets and OS.

    Nice and quiet hotel, good management and comfortable localization in the center of Grenoble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    1 Room for family of 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room on top floor was hot. In room A/C cooled it off some but not completely however Staff was super friendly and brought us a fan.

    Hotel was charming. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Beds are comfortable like a high end hotel. Family room fit 5 people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    Old hotel. Great stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old. It felt like nothing in the rooms was changed for decades.

    The stuff was really helpful. The friendly people at the desk cared about us. They helped us get food in the middle of the night and borrowed us an umbrella for a rainy walk outside. Sometimes a burger king midnight dinner is all you need for a perfect night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightmare to get to until the roadworks finish in September ... although Grenoble is a nightmare to drive round at the best of times. Car park is several hundred yards away, so remember to drop off bags when you check in.

    Nice deep bath with plenty of hot water. Effective (if slightly elderly) air con. Convenient central location. Friendly and helpful staff. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Winderful staff, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    The staff are the biggest asset. They all are very nice, and helpful. They made us feel speacil The location is in the center of downotown, next to all botiques and shopping malls.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Happlily recommend as a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was small, the bathroom could do with up-dating as the shower squeals quite badly. The parking was a nightmare. stopping at the hotel is difficult with traffic wardens ready to pounce - MAKE SURE you park round the side and get a 20 minutes free ticket. You will be caught out if you don't. Then move your car to a subsidized car park a 10 minute walk away.

    Breakfast was good, the bed was comfortable, great views over the square and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    If you are going by Car.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are going by Car...don't go there. My car was broken into just at the corner of the hotel. The area is extremely dangerous and it seems robberies are very common around Glenoble from the comments that the police themselves have made afterwards. I highly recommend you don't park anywhere near the hotel.

    If you are going by Car...don't go there. My car was broken into just at the corner of the hotel. The area is extremely dangerous and it seems robberies are very common around Glenoble from the comments that the police themselves have made afterwards. I highly recommend you don't park anywhere near the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.7
    Overrated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathrooms. And i mean everywhere: dust on top of the mirror, on the shower curtain, even dirt on the toiled flush buttons. Stains on the hair dryer, broken showerhead holder (in several rooms, luckily for me i have brought several customers with me). The empty minibar needs a key to be opened. Old and uncomfortable mattresses in several rooms. No electric sockets near the work desk. Had to move furniture from the wall to get power for laptop. No central light switch, all lights controlled individually.

    Stable wi-fi, nice buffet breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location but no onsite parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were quite small, and the hotel was a bit old. Also, there is no free parking onsite. The hotel has a partnership with a nearby parking facility and you still have to pay 13 Euros for overnight parking.

    Location was great! It's a walk away from the good parts of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    perfectly located old style hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Those who prefer modern style hotels may not enjoy the very old-fashioned furniture in the room. WiFi simply did not work. Staff was helpful as expected but some of the more inexperienced members showed a rather strange and cold attitude towards me.

    Hotel is perfectly located, right in the historical center, restaurants and shopping areas of Grenoble. Good bus and tram connections to everywhere. Hotel is old-fashioned -which changes a bit from modern style hotels that one sees everywhere - and of overall good quality. Almost everything worked there, bed was comfortable. Did not have breakfast there so I cannot judge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't really like the smell of the soap in the shower, but that's just a matter of preference.

    The view from the room (we had specifically asked for one on the top floor), the cleanliness of the room, the comfort of the bed. I don't generally like carpeted floors but they were very clean so nothing to say there. There's someone at the front desk 24/7 and everyone is friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for seeing Grenoble on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a bit of noise on the plaza at night. We had to keep the windows open for cool, fresh air, but the foot traffic (especially when the bars close around 0200) was very noisy.

    The location was perfect. The view of the plaza and mountains was fantastic. The staff were friendly and informative. The bus and train stations were less than a 10 minute walk. Bus and metro stops were 1 minute away. Shopping, eateries, and historic sites were all very close. This was a gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.0
    Good location in need of an update
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the hotel is seriously in need of updating: old carpet, awful furniture, old bathroom fixtures. With an investment, this could be a great address in Grenoble.

    Great location in the center of Grenoble and close to public transportation. Friendly staff gave us an excellent dinner recommendation. Good sized triple room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a tad expensive, wifi a bit of a pain to use.

    Great location, great view from room, excellent soundproofing from outside, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Very well placed hotel, possibly subject to noise, at weekends..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard double was very small and cramped. The main problem is the central location, which at weekends in very noisy with traffic passing (we needed an open window for ventilation) and then night clubs were very noticeable almost until dawn. Not the hotel's fault in any way, but Grenoble is a student city..

    Very helpful staff, breakfast is fine. Excellent central location, though the parking is some distance away (in a pleasant modern underground multi-storey ( more like 4-500 metres, not the 200m advertised). Very close to pedestrianised shopping and old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar wasn't working.

    Fabulous location with beautiful view from my room. Very helpful and welcoming staff with good English. Comfortable bed and pillow.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Surprisingly, high variety of bio products, nuts, figs,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very very small, even hard to imagine how men can fit in!? A hot water machine and tea, coffee would be fine too. Also, no fridge in room.

    Surprisingly, high variety of bio products, nuts, figs, dates etc. for breakfast. Also, they say they will charge for the food you waste!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    6.3
    Old style
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a good renovation of the rooms and shared spaces would be needed as really old style. Rooms can be really noisy, but ok for a short business trip of 1 night

    Position is strategic and easy to reach. Hotel Staff really helpful and kind

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable city centre base
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking is now paying (at a reduced rate). There is a free car park 10 minutes walk away - busy, but we always found a place.

    Excellent situation for centre of Grenoble. Very pleasant staff. Excellent wifi. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: