Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tropic

Avenue Gustave Eiffel, 66600 Rivesaltes, France

#7 of 12 hotels in Rivesaltes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 899 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit outdated and small TV.

    First of all this is a value priced hotel. I liked: It was safe, staff was polite, everything worked; place was surface clean, not new clean but clean enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night after travelling for 12hrs, it appeared to be an inconvenience to the reception staff to check us in. The room had a definite odour of dog/smoke but the bedding and bathroom seemed clean enough. Breakfast was a disaster and we left without eating as we found a cat wondering around the food area (with uncovered food) and sat on the bar! Check out was very similar to our check in experience!

    Good location- that’s the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a srange empty air as though we were the only people in it . There were people at breakfast so maybe we were in a very quiet part kept for people with dogs . It was in an industral area and had no resturant . A six hour drive with two dogs didnt make me want to get back into the car and go hunting for food . Also finding a bath was good till I realised no PLUG ! After a long drive a bath would have been lovely . No staff around to ask .

    Very clean but very dated room . Stuck in the 80s I would say . Good size though . Easy to find and lots of secure parking . Breakfast was good .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed Hotel run down and dated Pool area nice but a builder was playing loud music and using a very noisy stone cutter as we sat to try and get some evening sun. No one apologised or even noticed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location, plenty of parking space. The staff were great, very friendly. Nice pool, plenty of outside seating. Rooms were comfy with view of the pool. Food was nice, all cooked on a barbecue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel as the site said there was an al a carte restaurant. There was no restaurant so we had to drive out to get dinner which was not good after such a long drive down. We were also very cold in the room as the heating was very poor. Probably in season this would be a very good hotel.

    Friendly staff good location good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    (on an new industrial estate)? ,but this didn't bother me really ,as I'm sure the hotel was there first.

    Eveything was good ,room, breakfast ,very friendly family based staff and a very stylish look to the hotel. I would have loved a dip in the pool ,set in a beautiful garden terrace area, but for the January temperature. Ideally situated for a half way , over-nighter to Spain

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not accessible by train.We had to get a taxi there and back incurring an extra charge of 25 euro.For anyone travelling by car it is ideal.

    The hotel is a very nice,clean and friendly place.The open air swimming pool was spotless and a nice temperature. Breakfast at 7 euro was very reasonable consisting of a diverse and extensive menu.We had a wonderful and extremely reasonable evening meal consisting of a very fresh salad entreé and a barbecued main course followed by a delicious dessert all for 20 euro.Hard to beat.The waiting staff were very charming and efficient. Room was nice with Air-Con and very clean. This is an extremely good value for money hotel and we would highly recommend it to other travellers. We would happily return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos of the hotel are very good, but the reality is far from good. The hotel looks disused as you enter the grounds. Its over grown, full of weeds and the building itself is in a very tired state. The pool was dirty and the grounds around the pool needed taking care of. It was not at all inviting. The fish pound was filthy and looked very sad indeed. It looked as though there was also a disused indoor pool, but this was also filthy. I had no idea that the hotel was on an industrial estate when booked, and too far away from any other night life.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the exception of the gentleman that checked us in, who was helpful and cheerful, I found that the reception staff avoided eye contact and gave no greeting when we entered the hotel.

    Good sized room on the first floor overlooking the swimming pool. The pool area was clean and very pleasant to spend an hour so there. Breakfast was good and available until after 11am. Although, on the last morning if our 3 day stay, there was no fresh fruit. Plenty of room to eat outside in the shade of the olive trees. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Close to highway

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant All facilities that were advertised were not available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy aircon and only one pillow

    Cheap and cheerful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Nothing it was awful and shouldn't be open in the winter. The room smelt of stale cigarettes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not very nice The hotel itself is very old-needs renovation

    The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle/coffee or tea in room. No hairdryer. Drinks too expensive, no menu, we were told what was on offer.

    Pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not easy to find such hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was poor, sending water all over the place when 1st turned on.

    The breakfast was very good with plenty of options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. Staff welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was NO bathstop in the bathtub, that is NOTDONE!

    Nice rooms, cosy, cool and light excelent for a hot summer day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No plugs for either the bath or the sink. Only one chair for two people!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hôtel vêtuste et sale.. Horrible

    Riem

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The non smoking rooms all seem to smell of smoke.

    Clean but drab decor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not order 1 glass wine had to take hole bottle. Strangs becaurce have te drive the next day 100km baack home. Than it is not OK to drink to much we think.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was tired and dated. It seemed strange the restaurant wasn't open at the week end.

    The guy that checked us in couldn't have been more helpful. We had a very cosy room.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They have air con, but in winter was a bit cold ( room did not heat up as we did late booking).

    Excellent place to stay overnight close to highway. Helfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Couple

    Evening meal not all that good, meat overcooked.

    Rooms were soundproof, bathroom large enough, could have done with extra towels. Reception friendly and informative, one employee in particular extremely helpful, had good command of English.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights requiring a drive to either Rivesaltes or restaurants on the Rousillon Sud estate.

    The location; the facilities; the friendliness; the food especially breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Couple

    We are both in our 70s And for the first time ever,walked out of dining room as gave our order,then nearly hour later had o give it again,the salad that were part of meal were then given to those who ordered after us ,so devices to go without ,there was 1 waiter fora ull restaurant. Won't be going bak

    Nice room for the money

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small dark room definitely shouldn't have been a triple. Too much furniture too little space!!. Very limited menu. Asked if could have portion chips with meal & was big discussion before agreed!! Expensive meal & drinks. Took forever to checkout. Wouldn't return.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We'd been travelling all day and needed somewhere for just the night and picked this place from the Booking app because of the amenities and rate, but when we arrived we were told the restaurant was closed which was one of the main reasons we decided to stay! Luckily there is a shopping centre not far so we went to Carrefour to pick up a few things - after all day in the heat on a motorcycle we were in no mood to go searching for a restaurant. The hot tub could have been warmer.

    We decided to stay here last minute- needed somewhere just off the motorway and this place fit the bill. The pool and hot tub were a nice touch and breakfast was decent.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool and jacuzzi were not yet open. Too early in the season.

    Comfortable room. The location is not brilliant but the grounds are nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/a

    Quiet location,easy access,friendly receptionist,friendly lady owner

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    3 minuts from motorway junction and very easy to find

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice and quiet

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a bit dated, the shower head unacceptable.

    The price

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient stopover for the motorway at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some cats walking in and outside the property.....

    Very friendly staff, nice ambience, good breakfast, and super comfortable bed and sheets!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Door looked like it had previously been broken into. Room was very cramped with 3 beds. Could not use WiFi.

    Staff very friendly, food was good.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smoking still next to non smokers outside

    Beautiful hot tub and swimming pool for a dip! Ideal for a stop over, evening barbe was lovely x

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value. Quirky hotel, in a good way.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quirky hotel, easily found. Bbq for evening dinner lovely. Very friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, can take the dog with you for meals on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No food and nearest eating house a drive away. Staff were not particularly helpful and service poor

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    made to feel welcome and comfortable dwelling

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated decor

    Reception staff

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. We encountered really bad weather on our journey so delighted to find inhouse restaurant, very good evening meal.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: