Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Vaneau Saint Germain 3 stars

86 Rue Vaneau, 7th arr., 75007 Paris, France

#480 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1266 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the staff in the hotel are helpful, but on arrival, we met one older guy who did not have any expression on his face when we checked in. The room we were given is on the 4th floor, when asking him if there was any lift, he said NO, so we had to climb up the stairs with luggages. When we reached the 4th floor, found the room, and surprise! surprise! our room was just next to the lift and someone was taking the lift down!!!

    Location is OK, Closed to Metro and Bus stop. There are lots of restaurants and some markets nearby, although food and fruits in the markets are very expensive compared to normal supermarkets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was quite small. No lift to floors 5 and 6. Water was dripping from the ceiling of my bathroom on the 5th floor of the hotel when someone was taking a shower above. Very unpleasant, especially in the middle of the night. The night receptionist was helpful, however couldn’t do much. The day reception did nothing, didn’t even offer compensation...

    Cozy room with A/C. Close to the metro station. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman on the front desk wasn’t always friendly....didn’t like having her coffee break interrupted otherwise the rest of the staff were all very helpful.

    A nice size room with a really comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom and in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Note that elevator only goes to the fourth floor, but there are a total of six floors (7 in American terms).

    Beds very comfortable, big room with a small refrigerator, two windows, nice big bathroom, quiet, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet flooring was old and looked dusty. Nearby restaurants were quite noisy at night.

    Very convenient location, a few steps away from metro station, shops and restaurants. Friendly staff. Clean and tidy bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit far from sightseeing places, but still a good place to stay as the transport system in Paris is excellent.

    The location was a bit far from most sightseeing, but the public transport was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Even though the lift was out of order (did not really affect us, as we were on the 1st floor), it was fixed immediately. So the owners/staff really respect their visitors and ensure that everything is in working order. Would recommend staying here if you don't mind being further away from the important sightseeing places. Room faced the road, but when windows were closed, we could hardly hear the sound/noise from the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was great, breakfast was good (but a bit pricey), room was terrific. Liked having a safe in the room. Vaneau Metro Station and a new grocery store just around the corner. Nice neighbourhood, felt very safe walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say about this hotel.

    We stayed at Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain in 2017 as well. Staff is friendly and efficient, hotel is comfortable, Vaneau Metro Station is just around the corner. There is a restaurant in the same building, and a nice new grocery store steps away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I loved that there was an in-room safe that I could keep my valuables in while my sister-in-law and I explored Paris. The room also had air conditioning, which was very much appreciated as there was a sudden heat wave. European hotels rooms are smaller than U.S. rooms so keep that in mind. We did not try the breakfast because you could have a delicious breakfast at a cafe for much less the the 14 Euros they were charging at the hotel. It is in a safe part of Paris and a very short walk from the Vaneau Metro Station. I was pleased with the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is only up to 4th floor. We got a room in 6th floor. It is not advisable for older people.

    It is in a very good location. Close to the shopping mall le bon marche and accessible to metro just right across the street. Helpfull receptionist and informative. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs maintenance work fast!!!! There were stains of infiltration on every ceiling I checked. If you are tall enough you cannot fit in the shower. Mission impossible! The minibar did not work. There were no power plugs in the room. The room was lit only by 3 small lamps but sadly only 2 worked! The men who worked nights at the reception were far from nice. One of them refused to give us extra toilet paper one night when we got back and saw there was only half a roll for a triple room. This hotel does not deserve the 3 stars it has.

    As soon as we got to the hotel we were told we would be staying at the 6th floor and that there was no lift from the 4th upwards. I kindly asked the receptionist to change our room because my mother cannot climb stairs. Although she seemed very angry at first she put us on another room with no extra costs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much, there was a odd smell when we first enter the room but we got used to it:)

    Great location, clean room and comfortable bed. If you want to stay in Saint Germain it is a good and economic option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super small room all the way on the 6th floor, elevator only went to the 4th so we had to lug our huge suitcases plus our carry ons up two flights of steps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms doesn’t look as good as the photos on website. They are old from inside, cupboards not very clean, mini bar fridge with stains! Staff not very helpful. The only thing that is acceptable is the bathroom because they are renewed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy when windows are open but this is to be expected in the centre of a city.

    Great location, friendly staff, really nice breakfast and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping walked into our room at 9:30am two days in a row without knocking. After complaining to reception I was given a blank stare, a shrug and the response "It's the cleaner." The wifi router in our room was so bright we had to put towel over it in order to sleep.

    The location is great. Just a short walk from Le Bon Marche and Vaneau Metro station. There are lots of lovely cafes and restaurants locally. The bathroom was bigger than expected and clean. The air conditioning was very welcome in the unexpected April heatwave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that our stay was very short :(

    Staff were all friendly, polite, and professional. Room was cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was very enjoyable. Location was awesome, very close to Metro Line 10. Took RER B from CDG to St Michel-Notre Dame, walked underground to catch Metro Line 10 at Cluny La Sorbonne, to Vaneau stop., which is just around the corner to the Hotel Vaneau Saint Germain. Cost €10.30 for each person (RER ticket is sufficient for this trip, no need to buy a Metro ticket as well) A bit of a walk at the airport, but very easy and much cheaper than a taxi. Also, took Metro Line 10 to the train station. Change to Line 5 at Gare l’Austerlitz, then to Line 1 to take you to Gare de Lyon. We thought the suitcases would be a problem going through the turnstile in the Metro, but they have gates for strollers, etc. So it wasn’t a problem. There are stairs into/out of the Metro, but we are retirees and didn’t find it difficult.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not easy to find.

    Everything was perfect. New renovated big bathroom. Location is nearby good shopping places and different good restaurants offer a variety of food. Staff members are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was warm for our tastes, and we couldn't really open the beautiful windows because a bed was in the way. We never had a chance to ask the front desk about it, perhaps it could have been adjusted, because we didn't spend much time in the room. The hotel needs some sprucing up, but is charming.

    The staff was friendly and helpful! We were able to check in early, and everything we needed was within walking distance to the hotel. Subway just a few steps nearby also! We booked the family room, which was 3 twin beds, and they were very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and modern, small, but expected that in France. Very busy area, but that was ok with us! Wonderful market across the street with fresh squeezed orange juice!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room key didn’t work during all of our stay. Every day we arrived at the hotel and got up to the 5th floor the key didn’t open the door and we had to go back down to the reception to validate the key again, and everyday the hotel said they fixed the problem. And very small shower.

    Good location, walking distance, nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent wee hotel in great location (30sec walk from metro station). Very clean and tidy. Tasty breakfast! Staff very helpful. I would stay here again when visiting Paris.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were v comfy and it was so quiet even though we were in a central location. Location-wise, this is hard to beat! Such a lovely area of Paris, not too touristy but close enough to walk to everything if you want. And Le Bon Marche 3 mins walk - what's not to love!?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the heating too hot at night - could work out how to make it less so. Everything else was lovely. Staff member was a little frazzled and abrupt when I arrived - but 3 mins later apologized and when I’d dropped my bags to wait until checkin time and take a walk she called to me in the street to say she had arranged to get me into a room straight away.

    Bathroom so much bigger and better than I was expecting. Location ideal close to bus - metro - plenty of shops cafes restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast DOES NOT represent value for money and this was the only real disappointment Did not always restock the tea and coffee

    Comfy beds, shower and toilieteries

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was extremely small - even smaller than the ones you find in a Sea Cruiser. A/C was not working because it was winter (so the rooms were too hot). And breakfast was also expensive (EUR14).

    Extremely friendly staff. Super close to subway Line 13 and a Carrefour across the street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything....

    Bakery round the corner if you don't want to pay €14 per person for breakfast. The Metro is literally 10 second walk away Staff helpful and friendly Restaurants nearby are nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compact & Bijou, not the biggest rooms but then not the smallest either! The shower cabinet was very small but the water pressure & shower heads were fab as were the free toiletries and there was a small mini bar with water, juice and crisps, nuts & choc at ok prices. Loved the little balcony and the bathroom floor tiles :-) Helpful staff too and great location 1 minute from Vaneau Metro. Great value!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is a bit outdated, and carpets very stained. Bed a little stiff. But we were very happy with our stay. However, I'd rather have outdated & old things and pay a bit less :)

    Lovely staff, wonderful location, quaint and simple hotel. Nice new bathroom with amenities. Quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was too warm and we couldn’t seem to lower it. The room window didn’t open, only the bathroom window.

    Very comfortable bed. Beautiful, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfy beds especially head board , no food service in hotel, breakfast not many choices but good

    Good location, close to city the centre , easy access to tube station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture was a bit dated but perfectly functional. A bit stingy with tea/coffee. Ironing board was a table top variety with nowhere practical to use it.

    Excellent location being only a 1 minute walk to the metro. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some staff spoke very little English and were unable to assist with questions on touring. The hotel promotes the velib bikes - it would be great if they had a little more information on hand, including recommendations to download or print out the bike station map. The hair dryer didn't reach to the mirror location.

    Nice room. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern. Large window that open. Quality drapes that kept the light out. Inc. mini-fridge and safe. Rental Bikes, cafes and grocery store all outside the front door. Great bakery/cafe just 2-3 mins walk. The staff were very helpful with arranging airport transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe more light in the room.

    Location is very central and with a good vibe and near all the famous attractions. Supermarkets, restaurants, mall with good shops and ATM very close. Close to Luxembourg gardens which are very beautiful and with restaurants too. Underground Metro train is round the corner. Service is very good and staff also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good value for money to compare with other places around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the Staff could be more polite. Small rooms but as normal in Paris, ok for family but with a baby would be difficult. Old Carpet in rooms

    Quit hotel, in nice area and super central Location, few steps from the metro and for a pretty fair rate. Small bathroom but renewed and comfortable with very good care products although 3* hotel. Good service of shuttle bus from hotel to airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located excellent place,very close to metro. Carrefour is just beside of the hotel, very convenient. Staff are so nice. Room is clean and bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth the price. Packaged cheeses and bread scraps. Did not replace food until almost out. Next door restaurant has breakfast for less money. We got stuck in the elevator for 1 hour. Elevator is very slow normally. Day person was concerned and kept checking on us until repairman arrived. However, the manager never acknowledged this traumatic event even though I was told the manager was there everyday.

    Hotel is in a great area. Grocery store, fresh market, pharmacy, and specialty shops are very close. Only half block to Metro. Restaurant next to hotel, and. 2 across street. Short walk to other restaurants and shopping. Room was very clean. Bathroom had been remodeled.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One morning while we were getting ready for the day a construction worker opened our door with a key, no knock or announcement. He seemed embarrassed, but it made us uncomfortable. Our complaint at the front desk (to a staff member we did not know) was dismissed as trivial.

    We shopped for breakfast and snacks at the grocery store across the street, very convenient. The Metro was so close it made our daily excursions a breeze. One of the day shift staff members at the front desk was very helpful with maps, directions and arranging our departure transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extra comfy, as the duvet. Location was perfect for us, lots of restaurants in the area and if you like to walk (like us) we’d walk to the Louvre, Eiffel Tower, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were large & spotless. Shower was hot and clean. Maid came in everyday to make beds and tidy room. Hotel is beside a lovely restaurant and very short walk to metro. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small shower cubicle, but the actual shower was good.

    Friendly staff and room as described which was very nice, clean with comfy beds, would happily stay again in the future. Great neighbourhood with cafes, bistro and supermarket all very close, as is the Metro which takes you within a few minutes straight into the centre of Paris or to one of the major attractions. Didn't have breakfast so cant comment on that but thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no hot water in unconventional hours. One night we got back around midnight and we could't take a shower. The receptionist basically told me to suck it up as he's not going to do anything about it. The wifi is rubbish. It's really noisy even when you close all the windows

    The only good thing about this hotel is the friendly girl with curly hair and glasses at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great location, close to metro stops, cafes, and boulangereries. Very easy to get around Paris from this location. Great room for the price and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was tiny and we had to make several trips to get luggage up and down.

    The location was fantastic and the staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The property was always clean and the kitchen facilities were available for heating up meals and extra utensils.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is small. Slow elevator.

    The hotel was a very good value for Paris. It was just a block from the metro and the bus line to the Eifel tower was also just a block away. The hotel was small by US standards, but quite comfortable for an old European hotel. The staff was very helpful. We did not have the breakfast but the breakfast area seemed adequate. The area was very safe for walking in the evenings with nice sidewalk cafes and shops in the area. We were looking for a hotel that was easily accessible to public transportation and that had air conditioning, within a reasonable budget, and this fit the bill. We were there over the Bastille weekend and it was a great location without breaking the budget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was simple and the quality of the bread should be improved. I had a special bread request (pain complet) for breakfast which they promised to fulfil but never did.

    Excellent, spacious and clean room. Superb location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was lovely - on a side-street in a lovely part of the Left Bank. Because it's not too close to any obvious tourist attractions, the area is quiet and very French. There are good local restaurants nearby, a pharmacy, a supermarket, a great patisserie, and there is a Metro station on the doorstep. The hotel breakfast is expensive, but we skipped it and bought delicious pastries from the patisserie round the corner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible. My young daughter, traveling alone, has a heart Condition and I contacted the hotel not once, but twice to verify that they would give me a room with an elevator. They promised me not once but twice they would. When She arrived, they gave her a room without an elevator because the person who works at the hotel could not speak french, nor english, and because my daughter looks like a Young person. When I called to tell them they gave her the wrong room, they told me, yes, they know, they did it on purpose, because she was young, and there was a couple that came in that were older, so they gave it to them. Well, I can't book a room on bookings.com and contact a hotel twice when my daughter has a heart condition and cannot take stairs to find out that the staff would just ignore it. I do not want to pay for this room. As they Breached my agreement with them.

    Good area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow a few tiny bugs kept on appearing in the bathroom, which was a bit unpleasant. Don't really know where they came from.

    The staff were all so friendly, and they helped me practice my French when I told them I was learning it. The room was lovely with a balcony and spotless. The fridge wasn't working at first, but they quickly mended as soon as I raised the problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning was not working and it took them too long to fix. Our room's one was still not working and had to change room. The Internet connection is not so good in rooms.

    The staff is very friendly, nice and helpful. Good location but over priced

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too expensive for what you got.

    Wonderful central location in the 7th Arrondisimont of Paris. Walked to Musee d'orsay, luxembourg gardens, Invalides and the eiffel tower. Lots of nice cafes and shopping nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location and the comfort (Room space).

    The croissant could be better and the bed was perfect but its location was not good because the cold was blown directly on our head. Besides, the wardrobe for the clothes is small and insufficient number of hangers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main thing I will complain about is the smell in the room. It actually smelled like mold. Also the fire alarm went off 6:30 Sunday morning. We got up and down to the lobby where it smelled like burned bacon and the staff tried to figure out how to turn off the alarm. When we came down, they came with no information or appologies. That was a bit unproffesional. No bacon for breakfast that morning... The last thing which is no big deal, but still a bit impractical, there were no shelves for your clothes. It was a huge cabinet there, but only a few hangers. It was plenty of room to install some shelves in cabinet.

    Very nice and welcoming staff, clean and nice looking rooms and very close to the metro. Cozy area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were wonderful - I had twisted my ankle and they were so helpful. The hotel was situated in a lovely area and the bar next the hotel provided a welcome end to a busy day. The air conditioning worked well and the breakfast offered a nice selection.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely beautiful. The location of this hotel is absolutely brilliant. Right next to the metro and super easy to find your way around! Great location and the staff were so sweet and tried really hard to accommodate us even though we were there almost 5 hours too early!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stall was quite small. The continental breakfast was good but not the best we have ever had at hotels. The property is dated but well maintained.

    The facilities were very clean and the staff was responsive and helpful. Walking distance to Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame and much more!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints!

    Clean and comfortable room, great staff! Breakfast was good, liked relaxing before heading out for the day. Metro station was very close, which was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given was absolutely tiny. Bed linen is of a cheap quality - rough and not cotton!

    Great location near shops of St Germain. It is overall adequate but not particularly comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    But, the shuttle service that described by the hotel was just making a reservation of kind of taxi service, so it the price was similar to using taxi and... in my case, the service provider denied my request because of their full booking situation. Hope it helps your choice. :)

    I didn't choose the morning meal option so not sure abt that, but most of the facilities were quite clean and neat except the jug kettle. And the location was quite good because Orsay and Louvre were quite close to the hotel and airport was too. Most of the staff were average friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the fact that I was able to manage a room located on the 4th floor, there was too much noise from the street (cars in particular) one could hear in the middle of the night. The hotel should seriously consider getting double glazed windows to better isolate the rooms from outside noise.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were comfy and bathroom was large and quiet. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that. Right around the corner from Metro that takes you to all attractions within a few stops. Restaurants and cute shops close by. Staff spoke minimal english but enough to communicate what we needed. She was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    be aware rooms are very small, and staircases steep and narrow.

    Very central location. Typical parisian size and style and good value for money. Great little bar adjacent serves super croissants and coffee, though you could have a complete mini buffet fast in the hotel itself. Friendly multi lingual staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is located on a corner of a very busy road and there is a lot of traffic noise, also a lot of noise from the local greengrocer and supermarket, but for a big city this is only to be expected. No bar at the hotel although there is a very nice one literally next door.

    A nice hotel located a few minutes walk from the metro. Some nice bars and restaurants nearby. The staff were very helpful. Good selection of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was put in a room on the 6th floor. The elevator stops on the 4th floor. We had two large suitcases that we had to lug around. Our room was lackluster and there was zero view. Would not recommend and would not stay there again!

    Not very much. The bathroom was nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels are thin and small. Lift is tiny and very slow and stops at 4th floor so if you aren't young and fit you need to ask for a room that's not on 5th or 6th floor.We requested this and there was no problem.

    Comfortable beds and very comfortable and soft pillows. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Nice neighbourhood with a good bar/restaurant next door with excellent croissants for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything terrific. Comfy bed. Great location. Wonderful staff. Late checkout. Reastaurant next door really good. Easy access to two metro lines but can also walk to major tourist spots if so inclined.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some trivial things about the room: 1. No shelf for toiletries in the shower cabin means you have to bend to pick up the shampoo and shower gel, and it is not easy with the cabin this size. 2. The lace curtains were one piece, getting the window/"balcony" open took some effort, and the heavy drapes were not very monile either, they easily got off the rings holding them. 3. The schedule of rooms cleaning was unfortunate. Twice I was in the room in the afternoon taking a rest when the lady came to fo the room, which was last on her list, do no way to postpone. So I had to skip two days of cleaning, not a big deal in my case, but something to be aware of. 4. Very weird check out - the reception lady could not get the number of nights right, then asked if I had breakfast 4 times- I corrected her to 2 times. Them she included 4 breakfasts in the bill, which I did not catch (as I thought we just had it cleared eith her). It is both the hotel system of registration of breakfast and the lack of attention at the front desk. She promised a refund the next day after I challenged her, but so far 28 euros are still being expected by my credit card...

    The hotel lived up to my expectations - I knew what to expect from the reviews I had read. The price was attractive, location very convenient, facilities adequate. Most of the staff were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly and very helpful stuff. was trying to help us to find the fastest and cheapest way to the airport. very cosy and clean hotel. very good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More options to eat at the hotel maybe but when you are in Paris it isn't a big concern really.

    The location above all, quiet in the evening and ideally located right next to the Metro stop.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rudest staff I ever met in a hotel. The lady who was in the reception basically the whole day was not happy to help us even with the most simply thinks . We have asked for a number of taxi and she would insist to give us the number ,because she was,supposed to be, too busy . When she gave us the number she was super rude, it was like she was doing us a favor.I believe also that was because we didn't know any French. Terrible experience , it's too bad because I am coming back in paris again this year twice , if she wasn't that rude I would go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Rose at the front desk was so helpful and welcoming. We were given a bigger sized room as we requested a room accessible by the lift. Wifi worked well, jug in room to make hot drinks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not much you can eat, so we only took it on the first day. The cleaners did not top up shower gel, face wash, soap etc. on the following days. There was a full set of toilet only on the first day.

    The location is superb!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Where can I start. When I got the room, there were fingernails on the sink from the previous room occupant. A food box from a delivery stayed on the floor in the room 3 days and the cleaning staff didnt clean it. I threw it out myself after several complaints. The room was dusty and the helpdesk said the cleaning staff left for the day and cant clean the apartment until the next day. The bathrobes were not replaced each day, when I asked the helpdesk to provide fresh ones, they said they dont have spare robes and I will have to wait 3 days until laundry is done. The bathrooms were not cleaned properly. The staff was very rude and hardly spoke English. Horrible hotel, horrible staff, bad service and not at all clean. The hotel is crap.

    Nothing at all. Horrible hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cubicle on the small side! However, a powerful, good quality shower.

    Comfy beds and pleasant room. Good breakfast choice and flakey croissants. Helpful night staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seems too old. There was a lot of noise coming from the outside. It was a terrible experience to use their elevator.

    The size of the room is large. The speed of Wifi is fast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed there for a week, changed rooms after a couple of nights which did not solve the noise issue. Female (the only female) staff member at the reception who was there every day all day was almost always extremely rude. It's an old hotel in need of renovation. The rooms are noisy unless, I was told, you are on the top two floors with no elevator, away from the corner. My second room had a renovated shower which was a definite step up from the initial one. Stay there only if you absolutely must location-wise. Otherwise do consider other options in the same general area.

    Location was very good, close to the metro and within walking distance to some attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Vaneau Saint Germain traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: