Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Vannes Le Port 4 stars

19 Rue Daniel Gilard, 56000 Vannes, France

#25 of 53 hotels in Vannes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 585 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area around the hotel was not very nice late evening/early morning. The close by conference centre car park seemed to attract many loud activities after dark. It actually woke me up on 2 occasions. We have stayed there before and I didn't notice this previously. For such a great location I am surprised that Mercure haven't made more of this hotel - its clearly geared up for conferences and large meetings - it can feel 'crowded', breakfast for example, especially for independent travellers. Sadly our trip was marred by our experience in the restaurant - clearly the kitchen was struggling with the mass catering which was servicing a large meeting when we sat down for lunch in the separate Brasserie. The service was slow and when our lunch arrived it was so poor that I sent mine back. Unfortunately my French isn't good enough to explain why I sent it back - Chicken and chips must be a Brasserie staple but mine was greasy, tough and warm. The restaurant manager was clearly not happy but he did take the food off the bill. Such a shame as there are no other restaurants close to the hotel apart from the Piano Bar which is not open generally for a late lunch.

    The location is great. Just outside the main centre of Vannes with a great walk along the water to get to the many restaurants and bars; There is a regular bus service to get you into town if you don't fancy a walk. The hotel discovered that we were staying as part of a celebration and upgraded our room and left a bottle of wine - great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unhelpful when asked about a taxi into centre, totally unable to give me a guide to what the price would be or where I could get one.Looked at me with total disbelief at my questions.

    Beds very comfortable rooms very clean, showers and toilet facilities were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows very uncomfortable, but maybe that is just personal choice.

    Accessibility to the port, restaurants and parking. The Aquarium next to the hotel was a very enjoyable experience,well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has no character and is similar to any chain hotel anywhere in the world. There is no sense of being near ine of the most historic towns in France. There are no views you are in the middle of nowhere. You are not close enough to vannes to walk to the restaurant so you are isolated. Efficiently they charge 16 euros for breakfast. And as you know breakfast is coffee and a croissant. This is significantly more than any of our other hotels charged.

    Room is a nice size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was very noisy, it is opposite a large public car park which serves a casino, night club and bowling alley, the noise of music, cars and people shouting continued until 6.30 am this was on a thursday / friday night i assume not the busiest night of the week. it is about a 2km walk to Vannes

    the staff and the hotel were excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of variety for breakfast, we have to go all the way at the back to get into the property as there is No entrance at the front of the hotel

    We had a good meal at La Brasserie Edgar and their parking was spacious,. The room was clean and staff are helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and there are a good range of breakfast items that will suit most people. All in all it is a very good place to spend a night with a young family. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting for the arrival of the receptionist when we arrived - it took a few minutes.

    I liked how no fuss was made with our later arrival to eat - we arrived just as the restaurant was due to close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is surrounded by other commercial activities and lacks an area in which to relax and a pool would have made a difference.

    The varied items at breakfast and the seafood for evening meals, quite location with easy access to the road network. the area is one of outstanding naturel beauty and well worth a visit, we revisited several places visited before and found them just as good as the first time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, family room. V quiet. Nice walk via port to the centre where you can wander. Ramparts very nice. Walked into town one day & got the bus on day two (5 euro family return) Mercure is next to aquarium & butterfly garden so handy for families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are some building works in the grounds at the moment

    Breakfast was relaxed and excellent. The hotel is a bit out of town but an interesting walk. The sat nav was confused taking us through the middle of town rather than the ring road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is near the river but two kms from the main town of Vannes.

    A large room was very well equipped with separate toilet to the bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast choice was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had chosen the location based on being by the water, but had not realized it was really more of an industrial area. It is next to the aquarium and the convention center, but neither of those were on our agenda. It was not the pretty port / seaside setting I had expected, but the hotel itself was great.

    The staff were fantastic and were very helpful and responsive when we had requests for them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a four star hotel the breakfast dining was a total shambles!! Dirty tables, buffet trays and hot drinks empty, staff appeared to have only one speed and lots of shrugged shoulders. All of which meant we walked in and walked out again and took our breakfasts elsewhere. Very poor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location too far from city center. no offer of shuttle to city center. room too small. no cafe or boulangerie nearby except brasserie at premises.

    Free parking in the back of hotel was good. Hotel lobby was spacious and welcoming. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, you get what you pay for, tricky wifi, perhaps a little far from town center if you don't have a car

    Friendly staff, functional hotel, car park, good breakfast, the brasserie is OK for a quick dinner, good sized rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI could have been faster, not enough creamers for the coffee, expensive for the area - even in off season. For the price, prestige room should also include breakfast. View of water is not very good.

    Nespresso maker in room, quiet room and comfortable bed, good size, nice bathroom with rain shower, free drinks in mini bar for prestige room, nice 20 minute walk to Vannes center along canal, good restaurant nearby (piano barge). Nice staff, very fast check-in and check-out, free parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro was a disappointment as we had a badly cooked meal. There is not a close alternative for eating, without driving into the centre of town.

    The rooms were very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room must have been on the end of the modem's reach so the signal ranged from 1 bar to 0.

    No complaints, the breakfast was good, the room was clean and the shower good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free bottles of water in the room would have been nice.

    The shower was fabulous! Excellent water pressure, and plenty of water! The blackout curtains were perfect, the bed was hard. Everything was good for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The associated, on-site restaurant was a huge disappointment. The food was less than mediocre and the female member of staff was surly and rude.

    Exceptionally large room and ensuite. At last - 2 towels each instead of the mean 1! Also a fridge, which was handy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to get a drink early evening and staff said they were too busy checking people in to serve me

    Quite a big and comfortable room. Secure parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok, no problem

    Comfortable and big room, parking space enough, modern equipment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could be better isolated

    Welcome by staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor quality restaurant, long waiting.

    comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    Quieter than town with close by parks and boating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For English people there was little choice of English tea and not enough milk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was expensive for what was offered.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was the best we have had on our trip covering 8 hotels . The room was spacious and the bed even more so .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar shut when we needed a drink

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad selection of breads at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite warm.. Aircon not working

    Room was nice.. did the job

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Le bruit nocturne en sortie de night club.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'immense lit, la qualité du restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Breakfast was enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Helpful and friendly staff. Nice location. Room and public areas clean and spacious. Comfortable bed. Very nice meal in restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little far to town on foot

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tiny loo and the loo roll holder prevented us from entering without scratching an arm

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hanging wardrobe space, but no drawers or shelves to store underwear and folded clothes

    Comfortable room with extra large double bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper cups in the room

    The bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean and receptionist was friendly and very helpful. Good to have free hotel parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better recommendations of restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and close to the centre of Vanne. It " ticked all the boxes" for us on a one night stopover

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area is under construction and not walking distance to city center!

    Good parking lot!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from night club next door 3 teams of young cyclists Very noisy not kept under control

    Staff very good. Overall very nice hotel easy to find. Short walk to le port

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar never staffed ! Big construction works next to hotel made it all a bit industrial.

    Good room at a great price after being relocated from a real smoker ! Good buffet breakfast [for France !] On site brasserie excellent for lunch and dinner.Nice walk into town or regular bus for 2 euro.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant was a bad experience, incompetent staff offering wrong glasses and cuttlery, not attending at all, an entrecote like a shoesole, fish was Ok but too cold, etc...

    Location and parking are fine, rooms are quite well.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is tired. No maintenance of building.Pot plants dead or dying. Reception staff on arrival, a man, was very offhand. Sofa by lift covered in dust and torn.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday which is inconvenient. The hotel is currently surrounded by a huge construction project which makes the walk into town a lot longer.

    Nice hotel,good free bus into town during July and August.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of our best hotels, very good value for all the comfort and attention. We wanted to arrive in Vannes via the Gulf of Morbihan but weren't even sure if it was possible. It was, and we savoured every moment.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room service options very limited. Only available during restaurant opening hours & not much choice. Had very poor meal in brasserie on 2nd night. Management dealt with situation well & we didnt pay, but that wasnt why we complained. Had been really looking forward to dinner there after day on the water.

    Very comfortable & convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from night club from midnight to three kept us awake very tired in the morning, staff at hotel said they complained to the police but it does not stop

    New, clean, modern, good facilities

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far from city center

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely large room,friendly helpful staff,free shuttle bus into old port

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    drinks service in lobby on arrival rather slow...under staffed

    Good value, good location, plenty of free parking

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Easy check in.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of construction work next to hotel

    Easy parking, clean room but being Sunday restaurant was closed

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximité de la gare maritime

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room smelt very srongly of smoke

    big television, very very clean

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: