Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel & Spa Vatel 4 stars

140, rue Vatel, 30900 Nîmes, France

#7 of 34 hotels in Nîmes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information regard dinner is not clear enough and the service in the restaurant was poor including lack in English communication.

    Very nice hotel with comfortable facilities in good location outside the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really great place to stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with good facilities including a coffee machine. Free on-site parking. The swimming pool was very appealing after a long day driving. As part of a hotel management training business, many of the staff were young trainees accompanied by seniors and the level of hospitality from all of them was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a staff training hotel. We did not know this. The Housekeeping was also run by students and was not successful. The restaurant was also run by students. This is not a 4-star hotel. We were with four family members (3 rooms) everyone was upset at the surprise we were in a 4-star hotel which was run as a training camp but were charged 4-star prices. Will not return or recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt as if all the reg staff were on holiday for a month until the end of Aug (stated as the reason the restaurant was shut ) and replaced by v inexperienced trainees who seemed v nervous. The hotel decor felt tired and in need of updating. Hotel is really a 3* rather than 4*

    Comfortable bed and clean/well presented room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location...15 to 20 € per taxi per tour downtown

    breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was walking distance to the hospital

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was near road

    Nature around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff. Great bed. Great channels. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whirpool in Spa was very cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towel quality and cutlery could be improved

    Overall set up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa and swimming pool were not available due to a lot of trainimg

    Very nice hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel agréable !! Lit confortable. Very nice staff !! Confortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    could do with some food outside of lunch and dinner times

    excellent buffet food real French gourmet dinner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out is a bit labour intensive, but not a problem.

    Staff was super; arrived late and dinner was organised to ensure a good meal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le personnel extrêmement serviable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding party until 5.00 am. We got no information in advance... :-( We got a 33% price reduction... :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be careful folks, booking.com hotel images are NOT MATCHING THE REALITY. I don't know who checked this hotel and took images of it but the price you will pay will not match your expectations. Dirty bathroom with the smell of public toilet. Outdated furniture and overall ran down hotel The view that was stated on booking.com website wasn't really the one that one gets. I was surprised to have such a terrible experience as I always trusted booking.com site images. Balcony view looked awful! The room was ok but again old carpet with bleach stains on it and smell coming from the toilet.

    The top floor restaurant food was outstanding!!! Almost Michelin star food and presentation but menu only in French.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No shops or restaurants in the vicinity and the kitchen of the hotel only opens at 20.00. Although the personnel is very friendly, the restaurant is not very vegetarian friendly. No warm meat- or fishless dish available.

    Perfect location for me (close to the hospital), (but not close to anything else, so probably not a good location if you want to visit Nimes...)

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NO ENGLISH SPEAKING PROGRAMMES ON THE TELEVISION

    Excellent hotel . good food ,well presented by well trained staff . Well positioned hotel , comfortable bedroom with a very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    For a 4 stars hotel it was very surprising to spot very basic unefficiencies in hosting families: for example there was a line to enter the restaurant with very limited sits in the hall; it was very hard to have prepared a meal for our child (to get some baby food cooked, we had to ask 3 people, talk to the chef to finally get it not cooked enough); last but not least, we could feel the tension of the students working in the hotel and in same cases we could also see tutors being tough with them.

    Room was very confortable, silent and clean. The quality of the buffet at the brasserie restaurant met expectation. Very good solution for business travelers.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a long way out of the city centre. The breakfast cost was expensive.

    The room and bathroom were lovely. The bed was comfortable and our room was large and spacious. The car was parked beside the hotel and although not secure, it was close by.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff were too attentive and inexperienced; breakfast was expensive; we spent the first night unaware that there were shutters to hide the street lights and the traffic noise; we should have been told about them sooner.

    location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very young and a bit inexperienced staff to be found everywhere (they definitely do their best, but not 4*) Nice pictures in the presentation, but the swimming pool is tiny, Jacuzzi is a joke (microscopic) and sauna is the same. It was impossible to enjoy any of those.. especially for my female colleague, who didn't feel like sharing small sauna room with 4 other guys.. permanently full. Breakfast was an average. We asked female chef for omelette and scrambled eggs. We were alone in the room and it took her 13 minutes for the omelette and then another 15 minutes for the eggs. Despite she had two pans, she couldn't use both at once. Funny!

    Friendly receptionist Very nice & equipped room

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows ...

    Very good stuff , speaks good English Good service and good food Good value for money I paid ..

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stuff is very nice! Thanks Mr. Renault helped us to fixed the problem with car.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stuff are pretty nice, helped use fixed the problem of car. Thank you again Mr. Renault!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: