Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Vendôme 3 stars

26 Rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France

#56 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small. My tall husband had his feet resting on the wall when he was lying in bed. Barely enough to squeeze pass to get to the other side of the room. Older bathroom.

    Position in relation to shops and town was great. Restaurants were plentiful. (except on a Sunday evening). Nice ambience in the hotel foyer and lounge areas. Nice little balcony (when you squeeze pass bed).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything I’m afraid. The hotel was very tired, terrible hotel toilets in the bowels of the hotel by the laundry room. Tiny room (107) The bathroom was awful!

    Good location The linen and towels were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was on the small side and the air conditioning system is not great, we stayed in May but I wouldn't like to stay in the height of summer. The hotel in general could do with a little refurbishment it is looking a little tired.

    This hotel is in a fantastic location and easy walking distance to all the attractions, shops etc that Nice has to offer. Rooms were clean and functional. The room key didn't work when we arrived but this was sorted quickly and efficiently for us. We also used the hotel to book a taxi for our return to the airport which was there early and extremely reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older facilities: air-condition did not work; noise can be heard through walls; doors had to be pulled hard in order to be shut, etc. Farther from main attractions in Nice, than other hotels located near Cours Saleya or Place Massena.

    Across the street from good value restaurant Ovale.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get a double room as requested and had to move rooms the next day. Seconomy room cramped and tired looking. Had problems with the door, sink and no safe. Daytime staff not very cooperative. Did not get later check out time as a genius member.

    Superb location if you want to be by the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very Hot in the day and night, the Air conditioning was not working, If the window was open at night the Traffic Noise was Dreadful! and couldnt Sleep, I asked if there was a problem with the Air Con and the Man at the Desk said we are not turning it on until next week! No Help to Us!

    bed was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above,the breakfast

    Croissants soggy. Fruit salad full of hard apple. They provide meat, cheese etc. French hotels should stick to their heritage and provide just Excellent bread and pastries with coffee and Fresh fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a serious problem: There were mosquitoes everywhere at night in the room. The last night, I think I was literally bitten about 50 times. I asked someone about it at the front desk. It should be noted that I lived in France for 14 years. This is not a typical problem. Perhaps there is a solution at the front desk?

    The day staff...awesome. The location was perfect. Really sweet hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    (Room 501) Bathroom extremely dated-floor dangerously slippery when wet, which was quite often as the glass shower screen had lost the rubber strip along its lower edge and, therefore, had nothing to stop it from drifting open. Meant to mention it to the reception but forgot.Bath extremely short even for us who are both quite short. Net curtain ripped and grey with age needed replacing

    Excellent plentiful breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a lot of investment.ie new furniture throughout the public areas . but i am sure the new owners are doing that gradually. Also the cleanline ss could be improved and checked . Lastly mosquito traps at the front entrance to the hotel. As there was a cloud of them outside above the steps.

    Lovely staff at reception helpful and friendly.really close to old Nice and going into the pedestrian area where all the restaurants are also near the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi! When I eventually managed to get WiFi- speedy it was not! Impossible to download anything other than emails; certainly not able to view Netflix!!

    Location Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside was that the safe was completely detached from the wall which I did mention to Management. The curtains were hanging down slightly from the rail. The tea cups were way too small for a cup of tea in the evening.

    Location was excellent and breakfast very nice. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t fault the hotel.

    This hotel was absolutely spot on. It was very clean, very accommodating and friendly. We had an issue booking in for example we booked a single room by accident and they located a twin room for us with very little extra charge. The breakfast was good. It’s in the new part of town but is really is about 10 minute stroll to the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel is in need of update and a good clean very old fashions some of the furnishings looked very grubby asked to move room first one offered very small and dingy torn curtains

    good breakfast comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, air conditioning was very poor. The room was very small with a tiny spiral staircase to the messanine bedroom which for two pensioners was dangerous, the bed was very uncomfortable and much too hot to sleep as well. Opening the window the sound of the traffic noises caused more disruptive sleep. We even tried to sleep on the sofa downstairs thinking it would be cooler but that didn’t work. To have a shower in the bathroom on the messanine was tricky and you couldn’t be more than 5ft 7inches tall to use it as your head hit the ceiling. Downstairs shower was unusable. we asked to move rooms but nothing available according to reception. We felt that as we had used booking.com they were not interested as we saw new arrivals coming in. Our feelings were that the hotel was not full.

    Clean, fresh towels good location and building superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed here in 2009 and it was lovely to be back with my partner and enjoy Nice from such a convenient location - and the breakfast is as wonderful as ever!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel because it said it had a parking lot. But when I arrived here in the evening, they said I coudn't park here beacue it was all full. (FYL: The capacity of the parking lot was only 5 cars..) I had to wander around streets looking for parking space.

    Antique style, and I love it. It felt like an old, small castle :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy lift beside our room (501), but it was a gorgeous, spacious and very comfortsble room

    Spotlessly clean with beautiful period features and furniture. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had a great balcony so we could sit out in the evenings and watch the sunset. The location was perfect, 10 minutes walk to the promenade de anglais and the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to control temperature in the room. Room was small but confortable.

    Hotel staff was very helpful. Location is perfect. Many options for a meal nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quiet but a bit small.

    Nice old fashioned hotel in its own grounds in central Nice. Very nice, as they say. Loved the bath even if it was small. Pity the plug leaked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do think that the breakfast could be a bit more substantial and a much better quality of breads.

    I like small boutique and cozy hotels. So this was a perfect place for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not included in the price but it was very good. The room was small but okay. However, it was very cold and the heater did not work. We had an extra heater and so the problem was solved. The bathroom with bathtub was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearly everything. The safe didn t worked. It was too hot in the room for winter. The door had a problem to close it sometimes, not all the time. The towel holder nearly was fallen down. The wake call was three times, the first time half an hour too early. The water came out of the shower in a too big form, so it was not to handle in a normal manner.

    The news paper Nice Matin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 2 days we did not have any hot water and had to have two cold showers despite telling staff this . I expected to be offered a discount or at very least brekfast but nothing was offered . Only on 3rd and final day was I able to have hot water . Staff apologised but this is not good enough in my opinion

    Location , cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the night and the next morning. The staff knew, but did not warn us when we were checking in. This is fraud. No parking space, though I mentiont that we need one while booking. Promised to contact us about the problems but did nothing.

    Location. Close to the center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful old building with lots of charm and nice details, enjoying a truly superb location. One could so easily reach in a short walking distance everything: city center or seaside, tram or train, cafes/bars or all kind of shops... The service and staff were always helpful and kind. The room is very well appointed, and had a very appreciated balcony on the 4th floor. Everything clean and comfortable, all the facilities and some extras for low rates, private small parking by the main entrance. The place that you can hardly leave, with very nice memories... Merci!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for such old and dirty forniture, noisy bed, cold shower in the winter, 15 euros to park the car in the property after paying so much for the room and not even a bottle of water to be offered to us. A waist of money and time.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice, quiet hotel located in an old Villa within 15 minute walking distance of the Promenade Anglais, Old Town and Railway Station. Staff were friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    Amazing room on the top floor with a little balcony that looked out over Nice! Exceptional value for money. Clean and safe and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was pretty small and the amenities were very basic. The biggest problem was the hot water. It sometimes took us 15 min. to get warm (not hot) water for shower and it only lasted for 5 min. or so.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's conveniently located from most of the major attractions in the city. The lounge was spacious and cosy. The room was clean and they changed the linens everyday during our 5-day stay. Good selection of breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was too hot, and you had to sleep with a warm duvet or nothing over you. Breakfast was ok, croissants were tough

    very attractive room and hotel, good staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bath/shower. Very difficult and dangerous getting in and out. Tea and coffee in hospitality tray not replenished every day, had to use our own. Small antiquated safe with €200, yes 200, for loss of key!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could tell the room was once used by smokers (and I think the balconies still are!) You could smell stale cigarette odour upon entering the room. My room was situated on the main street - it was noisy. The air conditioning didn't work so the room was very stuffy and you couldn't leave the balcony door open as the shutters didn't close properly or lock, and also because of the noisy street. The room had a strong sewer odour upon entering.

    Good location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning after 1st October and it was very warm for the time of year in Nice. Room too hot as a result, windows not an option once the mosquitoes decided to visit! Water not hot enough first day but once we informed staff it was perfect after that.

    Great hotel in a good location, friendly and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel was comfortable and clean. The staff were helpful. We were able to walk from the train station to our hotel, then down to the old town for dinner. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated. Told at reception that air-conditioning not working. Had to sleep with open windows, but the noise from traffic all through the night was unbearable. And then there were the mosquitoes. No sleep for 3 nights. Linen was cleanish, a few stains. Breakfast was below average and served in a tiny cramped room. I think I'll stop now.

    Not much. Staff were helpful and polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was small - an add-on to reception. The breakfast area is a bit cramped, but the selection was good. The croissants were disappointing.

    The hotel is in a very good location, a short walk to the main shopping area, old town and beach. It is designed in a French classical style. The entrance area is very pretty with an attractive, comfortable salon. We were welcomed on arrival by Jeremy, who was extremely helpful for the duration of our three day stay. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. Good Wi-Fi. Good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is overrated Staff are not particularly friendly and felt unrelaxed staying there Towels are not very soft

    Good location in city centre Nice clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and need urgent renovation. Bad ar conditioning. Parking is not guarantee. Only 10 parking spots for more than 50 rooms.

    Friendly staff in a good location. Very nice room size and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, we had two floors suite. Good breakfast, good location 10 mins to the beach, 15 to the train station. Beautiful building. The furniture is clasic, like most of the hotels in Nice I believe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs better sound/proofing within the hotel: couldn't hear street noise, but unfortunately could definitely hear the neighbors. Runny eggs and only one fruit selection at breakfast...recommend finding breakfast in the city. Hotel could use a refresh...getting rid of carpets in any room is always a plus!

    Fresh squeezed orange juice and tasty coffee. Air conditioned room saved us from the heat of the summer. Excellent location with limited free parking for those who drove. Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel could use a bit of a refreshing and a larger breakfast room to accommodate people on the weekends. Suggest ripping out the carpets to replace with solid flooring. Very nice crepes, but would save the money and recommend getting breakfast out. Eggs were a bit runny and needed more than one fruit selection option for breakfast.

    Hotel in a very convenient walking location to city center. A nice 3 star, hotel, super friendly and accommodating staff. For those with cars, limited free parking. Nice neighborhood and close to the beach. Fresh squeezed orange juice and tasty coffee selection for breakfast. Comfortable pillows and bedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were ants!

    The lady receptionist guided me about the buses and places to visit. she was very sweet and genuinely wanted to help! The room was also cleaned by lovely ladies!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture is quite old and shaky (I beilieve "old" is a part of the hotel style, but "shaky" probably not). Rooms are rather small, but it's the same in Nice for the hotels of this level. And a price is quite high for such rooms, but again it's Nice and it's not cheap at all - before I stayed in the hotel which was more expensive and with even smaller rooms.

    Good bed, good aircon, good WiFi (though you have to re-login if your laptop went into sleep mode). Small electric kettle, cups and tea in the room - I like that! Breakfast is rather good for France, but not cheap.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was the same every day, good though; the rooms were a bit old-fashioned and a bit noisy, but still nice and clean

    very helpful staff, great location, comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes what so ever.

    Excellent, very clean, with the most amazing staff. I forgot a dress in the cupboard, and the staff went out of their way to get it back to me. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the room was lovely. Close to the main shopping street, bars and restaurants and yet still quiet and peaceful. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will definitely be going back the next time I am in Nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location and romms are nice and optimal to the price. The parking might be more bigger but that's Nice ...... so the staff was very helpfull. I recommend the hotel for the short stay in the center of the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin, probably standard for a building that age. We heard the next room but they were a bit noisy.

    The breakfast had a good variety. Proximity to the beach and old town was great, also the main boulevard and train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful French decor, perfect sized rooms. We stayed in a quadruple and it was like a studio - an upstairs part of the room so 2 rooms and 2 shower rooms. Perfect! Location is in the centre of anywhere you'd want to be in Nice. Thanks for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside the hotel is beautiful, on the inside is another story.

    The image you see on the site is nothing like the rooms. The rooms are dirty and need a make over. I had to check out as the hotel felt unclean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was a joke they don't guaranty a spot. either you're lucky or you are not Desk Staff needs more English practice and a smiley face

    location, breakfast was very good and service staff very friendly beautiful old building convenient to center and old city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the desk clerk arrogant.He stressed that I must not lose the safe key and would charge £100.He also kept me on hold to satisfy three ladies Have stayed here on three previous occasions.it has deteriorated when it was good.Never will it be a 4 star Perhaps he did not like my casual attire.

    Tolerable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not meet our expectations at all as it was too small for 2 people. No place for suitcases as well. We asked for change however the man at the reception told us that there were no options since the hotel was fully booked which was not true in fact (as we've managed to check via internet). It could have been OK, if we did not previously mention that we needed a quiet and spacious room for the last day of our honeymoon and if we did not book the hotel long in advance... The next day we communicated with another person at the reception and he was very helpful and supportive indeed. However it has spoiled our trip a bit. Slow Wi-Fi

    The location and outlook of the building is charming. The area around is very pleasant, central and quite at the same time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included with booking.com but included of books directly at property, why? Rooms a bit basic, lacks charm and decoration.

    Location, confort of room, beautiful building, easy parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower could have been better. The hair dryer had a too short cable.

    Good and well-kept hotel. The staff very friendly and helpful. The location was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So much we did not like. Two of us arrived late on 1st June due to roadworks in Nice not our fault. We called the hotel the hotel twice that day to confirm late arrival. The first room was dingy and dark with a strong musty odour. We booked a triple for 3 ladies and it was a double bed with two sofas beds. There did not seem to be clean linen on the sofa beds. The second room they showed us was even more dingy. The third room was a tiny twin room with hardly any room to move around. It was basically a single room with two beds squeezed in. We were extremely disappointed. After all this hassle with the rooms (one hour moving from room to room) we ordered beverages and that seemed to be an inconvenience even though they say its 24 hour service. Next morning they showed us to a triple room which was basically slightly larger than the single room with three beds all squeezed in together. We politely & respectfully checked out the next day (did not complain about the horrible musty rooms and the inconvenience) paid our bill and left. To add more hassle to this already bad experience, there was a mix up when we originally booked and my friend had booked a twin by mistake. Despite asking us to complete registration forms for both of us - Hotel Vendome duly charged my friend an additional 130 Euros fee as "No Show" charge on top of the 180 euros for the one nights charge in the tiny single room masked as a twin. My friend called Booking.com who were exceptionally understanding but Hotel Vendome refused to budge. My friend called the Manager directly, politely and respectfully to explain our complaints and disappointment but he did not care. This hotel does not provide adequate Customer Service and totally spoiled our first night in Nice. We have happily used Booking.com for years and this was the worst experience ever. We are 2 respectable professional,well travelled ladies and have never experienced such appalling Customer Service.

    The building from the outside looks lovely and the decor in lobby is quaint. Bedrooms are a total disappointment. We moved to 3 different rooms and we are very laid back and chilled on holidays.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything about the property.

    This is a historic property right in the heart of Nice. Everything is within walking distance. The property is clean and comfortable. The breakfast is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Watch out for the taxi drivers charging extra for night time fees - the fee doubled from 25 euro to 50 euro! (Obviously not the hotel's fault).

    The comfiest bed in all of Europe! And the coldest Air Conditioning! This place was awesome - centrally located, beautiful, with great service. Quiet area. 10 minutes to beach, 10 minutes to flower market, 10 minutes to everywhere! The room was perfect for one person and I loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had some problems with the wifi staying connected, and had to be careful that I didn't get kicked off onto my mobile network.

    The hotel is located in a fairly quiet neighborhood, but an easy walk from the busy tourist areas of the old town and the Promenade des Anglais (and the sea). The front desk staff were very friendly and the entrance and sitting room downstairs are lovely spaces that hint at "Old Nice". Having on-site parking in that part of of the city is a huge bonus, but having to leave the keys to the rental car at the front desk so they can move the cars around will make anyone with a high damage deductible uneasy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceilings of the room were low. The carpeted floor was smelling. The bathroom was small and was not very clean. No balcony.

    The hotel has its own parking place. It costs 15 euros a day. It looks and gives impression that it is a nice, three star hotel from outside. The lobby and entrance were also good. However the rooms were not as expected. It is okey for 1 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, smallish but clean & had everything we needed for our short stay. Good location 10 mins to beach front & old town & train station. staff were very helpful . A little noisy but it's a busy road which is to be expected. & the French love using their horns lol .. lovely stay x

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no iron or iron board available for the rooms, it is only in a room on the -1 floor. Not handy when you are already late! Also, the hair dryer was not great, took me 50 minutes to dry my hair since the power was low.

    good location and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from inside the hotel. Particularly squeeky doors. It' so easy to fix with a little oil. Parking.

    Nice staff. Beautiful building. Comfortable beds. Fast internet. Restaurant diagonally opposite. We each had 2 great big slabs of foie gras for only 12,50 euro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the internet connection was poor and it was dissconnected most of the time

    The location of the hotel is close to shopping centers, public transport and 10 minutes away from beach by walk. Clean room and good staff. Value for money!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hotel of great charm and (slightly) faded elegance. The building is beautiful and in a good location near the old town. The staff were wonderful, and nothing seemed too much trouble. For the price, it's extraordinary!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can´t think of anything.

    Breakfast was really good. Especially if you are not the sweet breakfast type. ;) The Location of the Hotel is really good. Very Close to the old town and to the main Shopping street. Also the Train Station is in Walking distance. The staff was very friendly. The parking is - well -basically you park your car in front of the Hotel as there is not a lot of space you will have to leave the key at the reception so that the can repark the cars as you will almost always be blocked but as the parking Situation is not good or cheap in General it is just perfect I think.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I find it very hard to give hotels a bad rating, but thoroughly disappointed with this hotel on the whole. The room did not look anything like the room we had seen in the pictures. The room was tiny and pokey as was the bathroom, very difficult for a couple and our luggage to move comfortably around in. They did not have parking available for us when we arrived, and apparently couldn't tell us when parking would next be available so we could avoid the 30eur charge 3 streets down. Wifi was terrible, I am in the process of interviewing via Skype and had to reschedule because it was totally impossible to connect in the room. Staff not particularly helpful or pro-active. Nothing good about location, not much close by. They did not make our beds during our stay. They changed our towels, but didn't make the bed. Very loud with the road outside and noise from other rooms closing doors or walking watching tv or talking. if you are a light sleeper avoid. Genuinely surprised when reading some of the good reviews this hotel has received as did not match our experience at all. Old, run down and not up to standard in almost all areas.

    Bed was surprisingly comfortable, despite the fact they never made the bed once during our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was amazing. Quality breakfast especially the option of pressing your own orange juice. Staff were both great! Onsite parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I disliked.

    Perfect location, very friendly staff, very clean, and parking on site in the middle of Nice. I would be staying again at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad aircondition! Was really hard to sleep. Keep open window wasn't possible due our trip was at winter and not so warm. Staff need upgreat knowledge of local transport.

    Idea for double floor in same room is really great, cause children sleep separately from parents

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuning exterior that does not match the interior (little bit outdated but well maintained). Nothing to be blown away - clean rooms, really comfortable beds, great heating and basic ammenties available. Don't take the breakfast if you are used to good buffet table and planning to stay there for more than max 2 days cause it is quite unvaried.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer of our room was a little dated, but the one in our friend's room was fine.

    The breakfast was amazing. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel is halfway between the old city and the station, in the heart of Nice! There is a very good sushi restaurant right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby looks so kitschy and the 15€ charge for both parking and breakfast didnt even include the TVA, which is another 1€. It seemed a bit off. The hotel also looks like it is past its prime. The lock was very fiddly.

    There was a balcony and a nice view. The room was large and had a certain nostalgic charm. The staff were very nice!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Really can't fault this hotel. In a perfect location for visiting the old town, sea front or shopping streets. The place looked great and the staff were lovely - really friendly and helpful. Room was a nice size, lovely and clean with a good sized bathroom - and a bath as well as a shower. Tea, coffee and soap/shower gel etc were all provided.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air condition didn't work properly so we suffered from the dry air in the room, but probably it is possible to solve this problem if you like to sleep with the open window. The view from the window also not the most impressive

    Lovely hotel in the old building far from noisy streets but close to the centre and old Nice. We were stunned by beautiful living room in the first floor in old-fashioned style. Room is specious which is quite unusual for the french hotels. Breakfast is good but coffee was a bit disappointing

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: