Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Viator - Gare de Lyon 3 stars

1 Rue Parrot, 12th arr., 75012 Paris, France

#640 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 724 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little on the small side, but as we were there for one night, it wasn't much of a problem. The elevator was very small (max two people).

    I was pleasantly surprised by the room, which was comfortable, air conditioned and quiet (top floor). Checking in and out was also a breeze. I needed a hotel that was close to Gare de Lyon, and this exceeded my expectations for a "transit" hotel so close to the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen did not fit to top of bath. When showering floor became very wet. Burn hole in one of the bed covers.

    Breakfast excellent! Staff pleasant and welcoming. Toiletries supplied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you are not given the room that faces the elevator’s door... I can’t remember it’s number. Sitting on the toilet and bending forward was rather difficult as it was very closed to the front wall. To get into the shower of the 504, pull the door towards you. Don’t push it towards the shower, otherwise, you won’t be able to close the door ;)

    Clean/well equipped with usual hair dryer, nice bathroom, thick and fairly soft towels, flat screen TV, kettle with tea and coffee, wardrobe, extra pillows, air conditioning and soundproof windows. There are soft drinks and water to buy in the lobby. You will also be able to pick up a map of the city and of the underground. I chose the 6th floor (603). A small room, with a bed big enough for two medium size people. Well located. I also slept in the 504 the day before. At 10€ more, it is worth it if you are a large frame person or are accompanied. Beds are not too hard. I found them very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of dust in the curtains. I opened the curtains and dust flew everywhere. And of course I’m allergic to dust. But still enjoyed my stay.

    Great stay. Comfy room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet didn't function very well, hopefully this problem can be solved soon. But the staff helped me.

    Room was charming. Although there was a problem with the shower I could shift to a different room immediately. Tea facilities in the room. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The staff was great! Someone always at the desk and was able to help with anything we needed. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff left something to be desired. We arrived in the afternoon, and when we were leaving for a day trip (to come back for another night), the staff member insisted that we must pay for the stay right away even though no one asked us to pay at check-in. I found it odd but said OK. Then he accused me of my card being invalid (he said, literally: your card is invalid). I asked him to try again and - guess what! - the card was valid. Then he charged me for just one night; when I pointed that out, he asked: do you want to stay two nights? I told him our reservation was for two nights; then he said that he had charged us for two nights. I said whatever. In the evening, another person confirmed that, yes, we owed for one more night and, yes, it was perfectly fine to pay upon checking out. I just wish all the front desk staff knew what they were doing... at least one of them clearly didn't. No big deal, though...

    The room and the location were fine, and so were the facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready on arrival, was then given another room on very top floor. Lift too small to carry 2 people and luggage.

    Great location. Close to gare de lyon station. Lady at reception smiley and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great comfortable hotel in handy location very close to Gare de Lyon railway station. Many bars and restaurants nearby. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I loved the location. The room was relatively small but I guess that most of the rooms in Paris are that way. But, it was extremely nice, the bathroom was clean and neat and very aesthetic. I loved it and will book it again. GP

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Yes- breakfast was delicious& plentiful. Good coffee machine. Our room was a delight - on the corner point of 5 level. Big French doors. Huge Balcony and a big bathroom. Stay there- you'll love it. Room 504. We walked over one block at 5.45am to catch the train from Paris Gare de Lyon. at 6.30 to Venice. Had wake up call at 5.00 am with a real voice.Very clean too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The closet door was broken and there is no lamp above the mirror, which for girl can be sadly. And just a little bit of dust on the lamps over the bed.

    Single room. Close to metro and train station, very helpful staff, a bit small room, but double size bed, comfortable mattress, clean bathroom, plenty silent room, possibility to leave my suitcase till the departure of my train. As I was spent all day outside, the choice of this hotel was a good option for me. I did not take breakfast, as around a lot of possibilities to find what you like. Near the good restaurant with seafood. March 2017

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid 141 Euro for a room. I didn't sleep at all. The walls between the rooms weren't good isolated. I could hear everything from the neighbours.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It's near the Gare de Lyon. It take a on foot about for 5 minutes . Staff were friendly and very kind . It's a excellent security. I will stay again at Hotel Viator.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think it's value for money.

    Hotel is ideally located near Gare de Lyon. There are many halal food restaurants, bakeries, pubs and cafes nearby the hotel. Staff are very helpful, friendly and receptive. I checked out very early in the morning at about 4 am but I didn't have any problem. Hotel staff arranged a taxi for me and I paid 42 euros for Orly airport Paris. There is a supermarket few steps away where I bought water bottles and other edible stuff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a lot smaller than the one in the photograph, it was clean though.

    Location is great, very close to Gare de Lyon. There are markets and cafes around and the neighbourhood is very safe. Staff were very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a very small closet with only hanging space. There was no "Do not disturb" sign that I could hang on the door so there were a few knocks on the door while I was still in my room. This can't realyy be helped and it's not the hotel's fault but there must be a pub around or perhaps just drunk people who pass on the street and make noise at night. The price very high, for me anyway but I did get a great room and service for it.

    The place is very clean, there was a safe and a kettle in my room with tea and sugar cubes. It's very close to la gare de Lyon so trains and metro lines 14 and 1 are close by. The staff was very nice and heloful (especially the night shift). I didn't eat at the hotel, since there are so many restaurants around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dark and I for one did not like the wallpaper. Price was a bit high for what you got.

    location near Gare Lyon was fine. Staff quite helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very easy to go to everywhere in paris by metro and to other country by train about 5 minute. Staff is ok when i go to hotel in the morning the room is alredy and he give me to check in too. Best price best comfortable next time for paris i stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast offer was pricey given the items on the menu. A couple of local restaurants offerred a full breakfast for less than the price the Viator wanted for their continental breakfast.

    We really liked the location. It was convenient to all the things we wanted to see on this trip to Paris and was very convenient when we took the TGV from Gare de Lyon to Avigon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sheets were very thin, almost threadbare. There was no fresh fruit with breakfast, despite advertising it on a poster in the lift. The bathroom basin was far too big for such a small space, so would be very difficult for many taller or larger people to fit with the door closed. The shower screen was only 2/3 panels, so a lot of water splashed out onto the bathroom floor and bedroom carpet.

    Desk staff were really helpful. Window opened wide to let in the fresh autumn air. Clean and tidy, very close to the station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal was weak Rooms are quite old fashoined. The surrounding area isn't the most pleasant.

    The receptionist was very friendly and professional. Close to Gare de Lyon train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is the major plus of staying at this 3 star hotel. However, our room was spacious and breakfast good. The lift to the 6th floor was only big enough for 2 people and made lots of nervous noises on the way up and down!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit awkward and leaked onto bathroom floor and hot water faucet pipe was so hot it burned us if touched by accident. Extra pillows would have been nice.

    Close to train, bus and metro. Good wireless, adequate bathroom and beds. NIce window that opened and good thermostat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was on the compact side - not unusual for Paris

    We were upgraded to a lovely double room on the first floor with a fantastic view over the bustling crossroads. This was done by a very pleasant and smiling guy on reception. The bed was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was perfectly happy, so the only thing I can think of is maybe a list of tv channels.

    The staff were really welcoming. Paris was extremely hot but my room was cool and my bed was very comfortable. Check-in was swift, just what I needed after a six hour train journey.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small but very comfortable rooms, very quiet and a good, clean modern bathroom. A stones-throw from Gare De Lyon, good restaurants and bistros all around the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ditto above

    Quiet area, trouble free, (stayed near Gare de Nord for 3 day prior- DON'T STAY THERE) good transport connections and good local restaurants

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very comfortable. The staff very helpful and good English for communicate. The location excellent, the hotel near the train station and a lot of restaurant around. I spend a night for get early train to Zurich, it's really good choice as they have the elevator which not trouble me regarding my large suitcase.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, but I guess this is typical for Paris. The wifi in the room was slow so it was challenging to get things done online.

    An affordable hotel with a great location close to the Gare de Lyon and metro. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with nearly no space for luggage, small lift. Breakfast room extremely small with limited choice of food. Hotel price nearly doubled due to the Euro football period, therefore the quality/value not as expected.

    Location near metro, railway station, restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Availability of rather fast Wifi.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had a good variety of foods, coffee was good. The bathroom was very clean and the room was quiet. The staff were really polite and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was quite hard and not comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast, very close to a big connection hub, the Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is a little sketchy but we always felt safe.

    Great location in Paris for access to the Metro and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has some unpleasant smell upon arriving

    The room is pretty and the bed is comfortable! Enjoy the beautiful sunshine in the morning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very badly bitten by bed bugs

    Staff were very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, far from city center.

    Location, near the metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom. Could barely move once door closed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lift

    Silent, good beds and very polite service persons.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy and it is quiet and friendly and close to every thing Paris

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is across form a sex shop.

    The room was very clean and the bed heavenly. The draperies and furniture were stylish.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unreasonable expencive

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean rooms and bed linen. Gray location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy ambience of the room lead to comfortable rest time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi connection was poor

    Nice variety of bread at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No room to put toiletries in the bathroom and water splashes to other parts of the bathroom when taking shower.

    Location was near Bastille

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Small rooms

    Location, Very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not very good

    Near to Gare we Lyon

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff is beyond amazing. Cheerful receiving u w a big smile

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very easy to find. Really clean. Tea in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast could improve

    the cleanliness, the pleasant and helpful staff, the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so perfect!you can go every with metro.the people is very nice .the room is clean and quiet.i like it ,like paris !!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and cramped. The elevator was single.

    It's near the train station. There are restaurants around. Wifi was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much noise from the street... In the night too.

    Friendly personal!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal location for a transit stay if using Gare de Lyon. Clean, friendly and great value for money. Highly recommended for stop over.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small

    Courtesy of staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If traveling by train to Paris, the location is excellent. Easy access to Metro as well. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room is small .

    Proximity to Gare de Lyon if arrive by train.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and no bar facilities

    Great location, small room But clean and tidy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and the room as well as the price. Very frienfy staff. Very low pRice for a very good quality!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quiet room, even if on street side. open 24h. can leave room by 11:30am.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location!! close to everythig!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally only had a bed and no other space. Okay for one night sleep.

    Close to lyon station..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small, it cannot be larger than 2m2

    The location is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and comfort

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La literie

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast expensive for average breakfast

    room with view into quiet street easy car parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Great Location not far from station. Friendly welcoming staff. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very dangerous to walk down.

    Very convenient to Gare Lyon

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room a decent size and a good bathroom. Breakfast limited but good. Located in a quiet road.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Viator - Gare de Lyon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: